Pages:
Author

Topic: [ mining os ] nvoc - page 62. (Read 418529 times)

full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
January 29, 2018, 03:42:46 AM
Hi All,

I am trying to use zpool's multialgo switch with nvOC but don't seem to get my head around the configuration. Do I need to type "Zpool" in Coin portion of configuration and where can I mention multi algo for zpool switching? I would appreciate if someone share the configuration file or exmaple.

Thanks,


Hey Papampi and team,

Could you please suggest some settings with Zpool multialgo switch. How can I achieve automatic switching to the best algo in zpool using nvOC. I am using  nvOC-V0019-2.0. I have 7xGTX 1080 and 2xGTX 1070 in my rig.

Thanks in advance for all your help.


Salfter has written a zpool switch: zpool-switch: a cross-platform zpool switcher



I now have a working zpool auto-switcher:

https://gitlab.com/salfter/zpool-switch

A note of caution: the description of their API is pretty much non-existent, and the normalized-profit statistic they report isn't in the same units from one algorithm to the next (it's BTC/day per MH/s for most, per GH/s for several, per PH/s for sha256d, and per kS/s for ethash).  Based on the data I've seen elsewhere, I think I have the right correction factors to correct all of them to BTC/day per GH/s, which matches up with the hashrates (in GH/s) in my miner configuration file.  If you notice that a particular algorithm seems high or low by some multiple of 3 orders of magnitude, let me know.

Further development of my auto-switchers will be under Gentoo instead of nvOC, but they should still work under nvOC with no changes to the Python code and just binary path updates in miners.json to reflect the different miner locations (the miner binaries live under /usr/bin on Gentoo).  Also, the shipping miners.json refers to a miner (at https://github.com/krnlx/ccminer-xevan) that nvOC doesn't currently provide.  Blake2S can be reconfigured to use tpruvot's ccminer at a minor performance hit.  XEvan is a relatively new algorithm only supported by the aforementioned ccminer-xevan; as a fork of ccminer, it should be relatively simple to get running under nvOC if desired.
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 502
January 29, 2018, 03:41:04 AM
I included # to indicate the shell is running as root instead of
Code:
$ sudo

I tried with sudo too but it was giving me permission denied too.
May be I added sudo wrong place?

I ran 
Code:
sudo cat < /etc/systemd/system/nvidia-xconfig.service
AFAIK you need be root to
Code:
# cat < /etc/systemd/system/nvidia-xconfig.service
instead of
Code:
$ sudo cat < /etc/systemd/system/nvidia-xconfig.service
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
January 29, 2018, 03:38:15 AM
I included # to indicate the shell is running as root instead of
Code:
$ sudo

I tried with sudo too but it was giving me permission denied too.
May be I added sudo wrong place?

I ran 
Code:
sudo cat < /etc/systemd/system/nvidia-xconfig.service
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
January 29, 2018, 03:31:39 AM
Hi All,

I am trying to use zpool's multialgo switch with nvOC but don't seem to get my head around the configuration. Do I need to type "Zpool" in Coin portion of configuration and where can I mention multi algo for zpool switching? I would appreciate if someone share the configuration file or exmaple.

Thanks,


Hey Papampi and team,

Could you please suggest some settings with Zpool multialgo switch. How can I achieve automatic switching to the best algo in zpool using nvOC. I am using  nvOC-V0019-2.0. I have 7xGTX 1080 and 2xGTX 1070 in my rig.

Thanks in advance for all your help.
newbie
Activity: 113
Merit: 0
January 29, 2018, 03:27:30 AM
How exactly do I overclock with nvOC?  Regardless of what I change in the config (core / memory), the clocks never change.

For instance, I have 12gpu's running, target one GPU that I want to modify, enable "Individual Clocks" and "Individual Powerlimits", make my change to both core and memory, but the one specific card never changes in when I go to look at the current specs in the nVidia X Server settings.  Clock and memory always stays the same. 

I've enabled and disabled Powermiser, and dont see any other config that I can change to modify my gpu.  Matter of fact, i've tried changing it on all my cards,  nothing changes.

Powerlimiting does work just fine however.

Any input would be appreciated.

(I'm using v0019-1.4 + community patch)

Thanks!
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 502
January 29, 2018, 03:19:42 AM
I included # to indicate the shell is running as root instead of
Code:
$ sudo
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
January 29, 2018, 03:06:29 AM
My Linux system file knowledge is rusty and was very limited when well oiled!  Smiley

Would you care to help explain where this code was added and what location?
I see /etc/systemd/
With several files and folders inside.
Thanks for any help.
Code:
# cat < /etc/systemd/system/nvidia-xconfig.service
[Unit]
Description=Generate xorg.conf
Before=lightdm.service

[Service]
Type=oneshot
RemainAfterExit=true
ExecStart=/usr/bin/nvidia-xconfig -a --cool-bits=28 --allow-empty-initial-configuration

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target
EOF

# systemctl enable nvidia-xconfig

It gives me a permission denied and I think it should be run with su
Run this first:
Code:
sudo su

Then:
Code:
cat < /etc/systemd/system/nvidia-xconfig.service
[Unit]
Description=Generate xorg.conf
Before=lightdm.service

[Service]
Type=oneshot
RemainAfterExit=true
ExecStart=/usr/bin/nvidia-xconfig -a --cool-bits=28 --allow-empty-initial-configuration

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target
EOF

exit from su session
Code:
exit

And at last enable it by:
Code:
systemctl enable nvidia-xconfig

It will ask for password twice
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
January 29, 2018, 02:23:14 AM
Hey fullzero, firstly thanks for the great OS it is very stable once setup.  One issue i'm having is i cannot get my worker to authorize on mining pool hub for coin switching on equihash.  I keep getting "authorization failed" after the first GPU connects to the server.  This makes me think my username/worker is not setup correctly but I've tried just about everything.  I've setup pools similar to this using my username and worker name (i.e. coinmine, suprnova, zclmine.pro, etc.) so i'm familiar with the setup.  I've tried ports 12073, 17023, and 20570.  It just won't authorize...thinking this may be a setup issue with the OS, any ideas?

Example:

MPH workername = broheim
MPH username = blah

Quote
#MPH_EQUIHASH
MPH_WORKER="broheim"
MPH_ADDRESS="blah71"
MPH_EQUIHASH_POOL="us-east.equihash-hub.miningpoolhub.com"
MPH_EQUIHASH_PORT="12073"

Also tried using blah71.broheim as a workername as well as blah71.broheim:x to include password (following MPH setup instructions) to no avail....

There has been a problem in 1bash which has 2 MPH_ADDRESS, one for Ethash another for Equihash
fixed for next version
Remove one or set both
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
January 29, 2018, 02:19:28 AM

I create a systemd service to run nvidia-xconfig every boot before X starts.

Code:
[Unit]                                                                                                                                                                                                     
Description=Generate xorg.conf
Before=lightdm.service

[Service]
Type=oneshot
RemainAfterExit=true
ExecStart=/usr/bin/nvidia-xconfig -a --cool-bits=28 --allow-empty-initial-configuration

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

Amazing ...
Thanks a lot, will add it to next image install.
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 1
January 28, 2018, 10:49:47 PM
Hey fullzero, firstly thanks for the great OS it is very stable once setup.  One issue i'm having is i cannot get my worker to authorize on mining pool hub for coin switching on equihash.  I keep getting "authorization failed" after the first GPU connects to the server.  This makes me think my username/worker is not setup correctly but I've tried just about everything.  I've setup pools similar to this using my username and worker name (i.e. coinmine, suprnova, zclmine.pro, etc.) so i'm familiar with the setup.  I've tried ports 12073, 17023, and 20570.  It just won't authorize...thinking this may be a setup issue with the OS, any ideas?

Example:

MPH workername = broheim
MPH username = blah

Quote
#MPH_EQUIHASH
MPH_WORKER="broheim"
MPH_ADDRESS="blah71"
MPH_EQUIHASH_POOL="us-east.equihash-hub.miningpoolhub.com"
MPH_EQUIHASH_PORT="12073"

Also tried using blah71.broheim as a workername as well as blah71.broheim:x to include password (following MPH setup instructions) to no avail....
newbie
Activity: 18
Merit: 0
January 28, 2018, 10:49:21 PM
I see on the 1st page a post from FullZero about this exact problem.  So... my apologies.

I will try what he mentioned.
newbie
Activity: 18
Merit: 0
January 28, 2018, 10:34:53 PM
How exactly do I overclock with nvOC?  Regardless of what I change in the config (core / memory), the clocks never change.

For instance, I have 12gpu's running, target one GPU that I want to modify, enable "Individual Clocks" and "Individual Powerlimits", make my change to both core and memory, but the one specific card never changes in when I go to look at the current specs in the nVidia X Server settings.  Clock and memory always stays the same.  

I've enabled and disabled Powermiser, and dont see any other config that I can change to modify my gpu.  Matter of fact, i've tried changing it on all my cards,  nothing changes.

Powerlimiting does work just fine however.

Any input would be appreciated.

(I'm using v0019-1.4 + community patch)

Thanks!
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 502
January 28, 2018, 10:02:20 PM
Thanks! I'll give this a try tomorrow before the next reboot.
I take it this runs automatically on boot, so no need to do something "manually"?
That's what
Code:
# systemctl enable nvidia-xconfig
does. If you want to run this manually then
Code:
# systemctl start nvidia-xconfig
or
Code:
# systemctl restart nvidia-xconfig
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
January 28, 2018, 09:58:09 PM
Thanks! I'll give this a try tomorrow before the next reboot.
I take it this runs automatically on boot, so no need to do something "manually"?
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 502
January 28, 2018, 09:24:09 PM
My Linux system file knowledge is rusty and was very limited when well oiled!  Smiley

Would you care to help explain where this code was added and what location?
I see /etc/systemd/
With several files and folders inside.
Thanks for any help.
Code:
# cat < /etc/systemd/system/nvidia-xconfig.service
[Unit]
Description=Generate xorg.conf
Before=lightdm.service

[Service]
Type=oneshot
RemainAfterExit=true
ExecStart=/usr/bin/nvidia-xconfig -a --cool-bits=28 --allow-empty-initial-configuration

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target
EOF

# systemctl enable nvidia-xconfig
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
January 28, 2018, 09:21:42 PM
My Linux system file knowledge is rusty and was very limited when well oiled!  Smiley

Would you care to help explain where this code was added and what location?
I see /etc/systemd/
With several files and folders inside.
Thanks for any help.
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 502
January 28, 2018, 09:08:28 PM
I have now added 2 GTX1060 GPUs to my rig that previously had only one GTX1080.
Hash rates look reasonable but I noticed that both of the GTX1060s were running below their expected power numbers, ~62W vs. 75W.
The GTX1080 is still running around 200W as before I added these two and that is expected.
So I monitored the "screen -r temp" printout for a while and noticed this:

Code:
ERROR: Error assigning value 75 to attribute 'GPUTargetFanSpeed' (m1-desktop:0[fan:2]) as
       specified in assignment '[fan:2]/GPUTargetFanSpeed=75' (Unknown Error).

I see a similar message that mentions the other GTX1060.
Is this problem occurring possibly because I have mixed GPUs now?
Do I need to set individual OC/power numbers?

Thanks for the help.

I have made some progress clearing up this ERROR and it has to do with the NVIDIA driver not recognizing a card as having a "SCREEN" setup in /etc/X11/xorg.conf
When I run this command:
Code:
sudo nvidia-xconfig -a --cool-bits=28 --allow-empty-initial-configuration
After a reboot, I get full control of all parameters on all cards installed including the individual power, temp and clocks which is why the 1060s I added previously were not going to full requested power.
This holds true until I change something in the system that causes the XORG to balk on reboot, at which time it resorts back to the same error again.
I run the command above again and all is well.
For some reason, some system changes cause a reset of all the parameters in xorg.conf back to default values.
I can't explain it but through trial and error I am able to work around it.  Smiley

I create a systemd service to run nvidia-xconfig every boot before X starts.

Code:
[Unit]                                                                                                                                                                                                    
Description=Generate xorg.conf
Before=lightdm.service

[Service]
Type=oneshot
RemainAfterExit=true
ExecStart=/usr/bin/nvidia-xconfig -a --cool-bits=28 --allow-empty-initial-configuration

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
January 28, 2018, 08:57:53 PM
I have now added 2 GTX1060 GPUs to my rig that previously had only one GTX1080.
Hash rates look reasonable but I noticed that both of the GTX1060s were running below their expected power numbers, ~62W vs. 75W.
The GTX1080 is still running around 200W as before I added these two and that is expected.
So I monitored the "screen -r temp" printout for a while and noticed this:

Code:
ERROR: Error assigning value 75 to attribute 'GPUTargetFanSpeed' (m1-desktop:0[fan:2]) as
       specified in assignment '[fan:2]/GPUTargetFanSpeed=75' (Unknown Error).

I see a similar message that mentions the other GTX1060.
Is this problem occurring possibly because I have mixed GPUs now?
Do I need to set individual OC/power numbers?

Thanks for the help.

I have made some progress clearing up this ERROR and it has to do with the NVIDIA driver not recognizing a card as having a "SCREEN" setup in /etc/X11/xorg.conf
When I run this command:
Code:
sudo nvidia-xconfig -a --cool-bits=28 --allow-empty-initial-configuration
After a reboot, I get full control of all parameters on all cards installed including the individual power, temp and clocks which is why the 1060s I added previously were not going to full requested power.
This holds true until I change something in the system that causes the XORG to balk on reboot, at which time it resorts back to the same error again.
I run the command above again and all is well.
For some reason, some system changes cause a reset of all the parameters in xorg.conf back to default values.
I can't explain it but through trial and error I am able to work around it.  Smiley
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0
January 28, 2018, 01:45:55 PM
Having some issues with zm miner and zencash on 2 of my rigs. using miningspeed.com for the pool and port 3062. Rigs work fine for ZCL but when switched to ZEN i recieve an authorization failure notification. I mirrored what was done on my other rig which doesn't have this issue and still see the same message before the terminal shuts down. I would appreciate some help if anyone can offer it. Currently using 19_1.4 on all 3 rigs.

I just tried to open my ZEN wallet and it gives me a server error and will not open.
I am thinking your issue is a result of something wrong with ZEN and not the pool, your rigs or nvOC.

I dont think its an issue with zen because i can still mine with one of my rigs. Which is also on nvoc and running just fine.
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
January 28, 2018, 01:41:32 PM
Having some issues with zm miner and zencash on 2 of my rigs. using miningspeed.com for the pool and port 3062. Rigs work fine for ZCL but when switched to ZEN i recieve an authorization failure notification. I mirrored what was done on my other rig which doesn't have this issue and still see the same message before the terminal shuts down. I would appreciate some help if anyone can offer it. Currently using 19_1.4 on all 3 rigs.

I just tried to open my ZEN wallet and it gives me a server error and will not open.
I am thinking your issue is a result of something wrong with ZEN and not the pool, your rigs or nvOC.
Pages:
Jump to: