Pages:
Author

Topic: Monero Support - page 17. (Read 82975 times)

legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
February 29, 2016, 10:36:53 PM
I have two and a half hours left before the University library closes for the night.  I am using the Uni wifi because that's the fastest connection available to me.
If bitmonerod is still syncing when the library closes, how do I shut it down without losing what I've downloaded so far?

Cross post:

Just type exit in the bitmonerod window and it will close the database cleanly so you don't lose anything. You can restart from there and it will continue where it left off.
hero member
Activity: 869
Merit: 585
February 29, 2016, 10:25:38 PM
I have two and a half hours left before the University library closes for the night.  I am using the Uni wifi because that's the fastest connection available to me.
If bitmonerod is still syncing when the library closes, how do I shut it down without losing what I've downloaded so far?
legendary
Activity: 1624
Merit: 1008
February 29, 2016, 10:15:53 PM
I started up bitmonerod.  Thanks to all who helped.
It's doing something but I have no idea what, so I am going to describe it.
Maybe you can tell me if it's working right.
Many lines are scrolling by.  Each line has the date and time, followed by
[P2P_][92.222.201.247:18080 OUT]Synced _____/______
where the underscores represent numbers that change on each line.
Just now, the contents of the second set of brackets changed to
[37.59.53.25:18080 OUT]
Every so often the LMDB memory map size gets increased.

Late breaking news:  I got a line that reads
2016-Feb-29 20:50:04.767999 [P2P7]WARNING: No two valid MoneroPulse DNS checkpoint records were received

When syncing from scratch and you will get what you described.  How long it takes is dependent on your hardware with AFAIK the biggest factor being whether you have a HD or SSD.

I am unsure of the warning but I don't believe it is anything to be concerned about.

Disclaimer: Even though I am clueless compared to anybody else helping you here, I figured you needed a timely response .  Hopefully somebody else can chime in.
hero member
Activity: 869
Merit: 585
February 29, 2016, 09:56:12 PM
I started up bitmonerod.  Thanks to all who helped.
It's doing something but I have no idea what, so I am going to describe it.
Maybe you can tell me if it's working right.
Many lines are scrolling by.  Each line has the date and time, followed by
[P2P_][92.222.201.247:18080 OUT]Synced _____/______
where the underscores represent numbers that change on each line.
Just now, the contents of the second set of brackets changed to
[37.59.53.25:18080 OUT]
Every so often the LMDB memory map size gets increased.

Late breaking news:  I got a line that reads
2016-Feb-29 20:50:04.767999 [P2P7]WARNING: No two valid MoneroPulse DNS checkpoint records were received
full member
Activity: 183
Merit: 100
TaurusBit.com Administrator
February 29, 2016, 02:03:54 PM
I'm just checking all options here.... you have the port open, right? if this is ubuntu, sudo ufw allow 8082

UFW is disabled, I'm using CSF but simplewallet won't listen on the port even with CSF disabled.

hrm. I'm trying to find some log files for my simplewallet that I've used like this, but I think its on another device that is off right now. I'm not 100% sure, but what you might be experiencing is the fact that simplewallet might have to refresh your wallet. A wallet refresh, even on a brand new wallet, can take a while.

as with all things Monero, patience is your best resource.

So, my advice - set it to port 8082, and keep an eye on the log file or on the screen session and see when the status changes. Indeed, I think i recall seeing the final log entry being something like "listening on port blah blah blah". so if the above was the extent of your log for simplewallet, that means the wallet didn't finish refreshing.

Thanks for the suggestion. This should be mentioned in the Developer docs..

Code:
monero@server:~$ netstat -nat | grep 8082
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:8082            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN

Apparently it took around 1h30m for simplewallet to sync..

Code:
2016-Feb-29 15:25:53.836768 Loaded wallet keys file, with public address: [....]
2016-Feb-29 17:08:00.210981 Loaded ok

It's listening now!  Grin
legendary
Activity: 1260
Merit: 1008
February 29, 2016, 10:39:44 AM
I'm just checking all options here.... you have the port open, right? if this is ubuntu, sudo ufw allow 8082

UFW is disabled, I'm using CSF but simplewallet won't listen on the port even with CSF disabled.

hrm. I'm trying to find some log files for my simplewallet that I've used like this, but I think its on another device that is off right now. I'm not 100% sure, but what you might be experiencing is the fact that simplewallet might have to refresh your wallet. A wallet refresh, even on a brand new wallet, can take a while.

as with all things Monero, patience is your best resource.

So, my advice - set it to port 8082, and keep an eye on the log file or on the screen session and see when the status changes. Indeed, I think i recall seeing the final log entry being something like "listening on port blah blah blah". so if the above was the extent of your log for simplewallet, that means the wallet didn't finish refreshing.
full member
Activity: 183
Merit: 100
TaurusBit.com Administrator
February 29, 2016, 10:26:30 AM
I'm just checking all options here.... you have the port open, right? if this is ubuntu, sudo ufw allow 8082

UFW is disabled, I'm using CSF but simplewallet won't listen on the port even with CSF disabled.
legendary
Activity: 1260
Merit: 1008
February 29, 2016, 10:06:32 AM
I use this and it works fine:
Code:
 --rpc-bind-port 8082 --rpc-bind-ip 127.0.0.1 --wallet-file /monerodo/wallets/pwallet.bin --password poop

I'm guessing that binding it to 18082 is causing some kind of conflict. 18082 is the rpc port that the daemon uses. So basically, you have your daemon running, and its using port 18082 to communicate to simplewallet. Now you need another port for your application to talk to simplewallet. So, I think you need to specify a different port.

edited to add: I've also had a lot of *fun* troubleshooting different permission spaces. It looks like your running simplewallet from a user directory, and then checking to see what the port is doing in a root space.

Tried port 8082 but nothing changed. By the way, the netstat command shows no application is listening on port 18082, so I don't think the problem was the one you mentioned.

I'm just checking all options here.... you have the port open, right? if this is ubuntu, sudo ufw allow 8082
full member
Activity: 183
Merit: 100
TaurusBit.com Administrator
February 29, 2016, 10:01:30 AM
I use this and it works fine:
Code:
 --rpc-bind-port 8082 --rpc-bind-ip 127.0.0.1 --wallet-file /monerodo/wallets/pwallet.bin --password poop

I'm guessing that binding it to 18082 is causing some kind of conflict. 18082 is the rpc port that the daemon uses. So basically, you have your daemon running, and its using port 18082 to communicate to simplewallet. Now you need another port for your application to talk to simplewallet. So, I think you need to specify a different port.

edited to add: I've also had a lot of *fun* troubleshooting different permission spaces. It looks like your running simplewallet from a user directory, and then checking to see what the port is doing in a root space.

Tried port 8082 but nothing changed. By the way, the netstat command shows no application is listening on port 18082, so I don't think the problem was the one you mentioned.
legendary
Activity: 1260
Merit: 1008
February 29, 2016, 09:46:53 AM
I'm launching the simplewallet daemon with:

Code:
monero@server:~/monero$ /home/monero/simplewallet --rpc-bind-ip=0.0.0.0 --rpc-bind-port 18082 --password [password] --wallet-file [pathToWallet].bin --daemon-address=127.0.0.1:18081
Creating the logger system
Monero 'Hydrogen Helix' (v0.9.1.0-release)
Logging at log level 0 to /home/monero/simplewallet.log
2016-Feb-29 14:13:41.132865 Loading wallet...
2016-Feb-29 14:13:41.165504 Unknown refresh-type value (32767), using default
2016-Feb-29 14:13:41.165818 Loaded wallet keys file, with public address: [....]


But it's not listening on the specified port (18082), I also tried with other ports but no luck.

Code:
root@server:~# netstat -nat | grep 18082
root@server:~#

Anybody can help?  Sad

I use this and it works fine:
Code:
 --rpc-bind-port 8082 --rpc-bind-ip 127.0.0.1 --wallet-file /monerodo/wallets/pwallet.bin --password poop

I'm guessing that binding it to 18082 is causing some kind of conflict. 18082 is the rpc port that the daemon uses. So basically, you have your daemon running, and its using port 18082 to communicate to simplewallet. Now you need another port for your application to talk to simplewallet. So, I think you need to specify a different port.

edited to add: I've also had a lot of *fun* troubleshooting different permission spaces. It looks like your running simplewallet from a user directory, and then checking to see what the port is doing in a root space.
full member
Activity: 183
Merit: 100
TaurusBit.com Administrator
February 29, 2016, 09:27:54 AM
I'm launching the simplewallet daemon with:

Code:
monero@server:~/monero$ /home/monero/simplewallet --rpc-bind-ip=0.0.0.0 --rpc-bind-port 18082 --password [password] --wallet-file [pathToWallet].bin --daemon-address=127.0.0.1:18081
Creating the logger system
Monero 'Hydrogen Helix' (v0.9.1.0-release)
Logging at log level 0 to /home/monero/simplewallet.log
2016-Feb-29 14:13:41.132865 Loading wallet...
2016-Feb-29 14:13:41.165504 Unknown refresh-type value (32767), using default
2016-Feb-29 14:13:41.165818 Loaded wallet keys file, with public address: [....]


But it's not listening on the specified port (18082), I also tried with other ports but no luck.

Code:
root@server:~# netstat -nat | grep 18082
root@server:~#

Anybody can help?  Sad
legendary
Activity: 2282
Merit: 1050
Monero Core Team
February 28, 2016, 06:14:53 PM
...
I downloaded and extracted the files.
It's been a couple of years since I've done any command line stuff.  The programs have been compiled already?
What's the terminal command to run bitmonerod or simplewallet?

To run bitmonerod
Code:
./bitmonerod
To run simplewallet
First time
Code:
./simplewallet 
With an existing wallet where is replaced by the name of the wallet file eg: wallet.bin
Code:
./simplewallet --wallet 

This is from the directory that contains the binaries. Also one has to make sure that the execute permission on the binaries is set

Edit 1: The above is for GNU/Linux since you mentioned terminal.

Edit 2: For Microsoft Windows command prompt replace ./bitmonerod with bitmonerod.exe and ./simplewallet with simplewallet.exe in the above.
hero member
Activity: 869
Merit: 585
February 28, 2016, 04:13:42 PM
`make` is what compiles the source code.

birr, you can download the binaries in that reddit post you linked. they already have been compiled, so you don't even need to worry about building them. hyc seems to be just saying what he did to get to that point. you can extract the tar.bz2 file and then run bitmonerod
I downloaded and extracted the files.
It's been a couple of years since I've done any command line stuff.  The programs have been compiled already?
What's the terminal command to run bitmonerod or simplewallet?
legendary
Activity: 1610
Merit: 1004
February 28, 2016, 03:56:05 PM
`make` is what compiles the source code.

birr, you can download the binaries in that reddit post you linked. they already have been compiled, so you don't even need to worry about building them. hyc seems to be just saying what he did to get to that point. you can extract the tar.bz2 file and then run bitmonerod
hero member
Activity: 869
Merit: 585
February 28, 2016, 03:48:42 PM
I'll try to figure out what that means.
You're talking to someone who just opened the google search page and typed in
"What is a makefile target?"
Computer says,
A makefile consists of “rules” in the following form: target: dependencies system command(s) A target is usually the name of a file that is generated by a program; examples of targets are executable or object files. A target can also be the name of an action to carry out, such as "clean".
bedtime reading:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Makefile
When I arrive at the point that I can ask useful questions, I'll get back to you.
legendary
Activity: 1512
Merit: 1012
Still wild and free
February 28, 2016, 03:45:22 PM
I'm considering running a node on my ubuntu laptop, which is 32bit.  I found this on reddit, from hyc

I built on Debian with multilib installed, so the same compiler can be used for both 64 and 32 bit builds. To force it to do a 32 bit build, I run cmake with
LDEMULATION=elf_i386 make CC="gcc -m32" CXX="g++ -m32"
The LDEMULATION is needed to tell ld the right format for blocks.o etc.
There are a few other build tweaks needed to reproduce the binaries I built - played games with -Bdynamic and -Bstatic to force it to use static crypto and boost libraries, while leaving the rest (-lpthreads, -lrt) dynamic.


This makes it look difficult.  Does a coherent set of instructions even exist for someone without advanced problem-solving skills?

You don't need to do that. Just do "make release-static-32" (or whatever it is called, can't remember, just check the makefile targets).
hero member
Activity: 869
Merit: 585
February 28, 2016, 03:38:29 PM
I'm considering running a node on my ubuntu laptop, which is 32bit.  I found this on reddit, from hyc

I built on Debian with multilib installed, so the same compiler can be used for both 64 and 32 bit builds. To force it to do a 32 bit build, I run cmake with
LDEMULATION=elf_i386 make CC="gcc -m32" CXX="g++ -m32"
The LDEMULATION is needed to tell ld the right format for blocks.o etc.
There are a few other build tweaks needed to reproduce the binaries I built - played games with -Bdynamic and -Bstatic to force it to use static crypto and boost libraries, while leaving the rest (-lpthreads, -lrt) dynamic.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Monero/comments/433w2u/new_32bit_binaries_for_v091/

This makes it look difficult.  Does a coherent set of instructions even exist for someone without advanced problem-solving skills?
legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
February 23, 2016, 04:51:12 PM
Anything more than 8 outgoing connections means you have some in a "stuck" state (some of the incoming connections may be stuck as well). This is a known issue that is being worked on. As a workaround you can restart the node.

As far as other differences I can't think of a reason. As long as you are getting any incoming connections it means the port is unblocked and there isn't much more you can do other than wait. It does take some time for the IP address to propagate around the p2p and other nodes to start using it.

Thanks for the reply smooth, I will keep on monitoring it for a bit (actually the reason why I fired up VPS number 3 for comparison).
Regarding the bold part, what would an average amount of incoming connections be?

There is no set answer. It depends on the number of nodes on the network and the number configured to allow incoming connections. It should be >8 as an average, but an average means some nodes will be higher and some lower.
legendary
Activity: 2242
Merit: 3523
Flippin' burgers since 1163.
February 23, 2016, 04:18:04 PM
Anything more than 8 outgoing connections means you have some in a "stuck" state (some of the incoming connections may be stuck as well). This is a known issue that is being worked on. As a workaround you can restart the node.

As far as other differences I can't think of a reason. As long as you are getting any incoming connections it means the port is unblocked and there isn't much more you can do other than wait. It does take some time for the IP address to propagate around the p2p and other nodes to start using it.

Thanks for the reply smooth, I will (restart and) keep on monitoring it for a bit (actually the reason why I fired up VPS number 3 for comparison).
Regarding the bold part, what would an average amount of incoming connections be?
legendary
Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198
February 23, 2016, 04:12:08 PM
Anything more than 8 outgoing connections means you have some in a "stuck" state (some of the incoming connections may be stuck as well). This is a known issue that is being worked on. As a workaround you can restart the node.

As far as other differences I can't think of a reason. As long as you are getting any incoming connections it means the port is unblocked and there isn't much more you can do other than wait. It does take some time for the IP address to propagate around the p2p and other nodes to start using it.
Pages:
Jump to: