Pages:
Author

Topic: MultiBit - page 72. (Read 336309 times)

newbie
Activity: 76
Merit: 0
May 13, 2012, 10:58:10 PM
Hello
I'm newbie user of bitcoin, I chose multibit and got into a trouble. My money's lost.

Will describe the situation in details.

1) I have two wallets: oficial client qt-bitcoin and your client -- multibit. Qt-bitcoin waste too much time to synchronising with net, downloading new blocks history, so I started looking for someone else for everyday usage and people onthe forum (bitcointalk.org) adviced me Multibit as more lightweited clien, so I downloaded it and created my second wallet by Multibit.

2) Then I bought about 55btc in the stock (btcchina) and as a newbie decided to test the system and this stock: I sent 10 btc to my qt-bitcoin wallet. It was succeed

3) Then I sent thise 10btc from my qt-bitcoin wallet to my Multibit wallet and ordered another 45btc fronm stock to my Multibit wallet too.
It was yesterday and I still havent't got any btc to my Multibit wallet. It's quiet empty



3.1) I checked if the transaction of 10btc from my qt-wallet (i'll call it Q) to Multibit-wallet (call it M) came out to the net. It has come.



3.2) Then I exported privete keys from M and reset blockchain and transactions. No result.

4) The only strange thing I saw: Q wallet says there are 180060 blocks of history transactions



But M wallet says it's only 178916


And this number doesn't move. As I remember, 178916 blocks was approximately 1 day ago.

 I'm almost in despair, so I wrote to Jim and copy it here
Hope someome will help me to resolve this big trouble.  
hero member
Activity: 686
Merit: 500
May 13, 2012, 05:33:10 PM
So I'm guessing its not possible to add a Sign Message feature then? Sad
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1066
May 10, 2012, 09:53:33 AM
There is a new release of MultiBit at:

http://multibit.org


Version 0.3.5

Enhancements:
+  Internationalisation update, including Simplified Chinese.


Release info
Changes included - Apr 27th to May 10th inclusive
Scan of release checklist
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1066
May 09, 2012, 09:51:40 AM
Finway has updated the Simplified Chinese translation to include the most recent MultiBit additions (including the currency ticker)

Here is a screen shot:



It will go into the next release (v0.3.5) which should be in a day or two.
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1066
May 08, 2012, 02:05:54 PM
For the next month or two, I am going to be working on getting new functionality into bitcoinj and MultiBit.
It is things like:
+ coinbase transactions being dealt with properly (e.g. so that coinbase transactions cannot be spent for 120 blocks like bitcoind)
+ wallets knowing the last block they saw (so, for instance, you can have a wallet on a USB drive and plug it in and it will catch up)
+ encrypted wallets
+ watch only addresses
+ some "under the cover" improvements to how things are stored (elimination of *.info files)

As it will take me a while to do this (and because the changes to bitcoinj will be going into the NEXT bitcoinj version) I am going to run TWO versions of MultiBit simultaneously. There will be:

Version 0.3.x - Production version available on the website. This is the current v0.3.4 version together with whatever bug fixes are required to keep it tight and clean.

Version 0.4.x - New version using the newer (daily build) version of bitcoinj. This is where the new stuff will go. There will be some installers on github.com.   It would be great if some people try these out but they will have to be used with care as it will take a while to iron out bugs etc.

Then when the Version 0.4.x is in a "good enough" state it can become the production version and Version 0.3.x can be retired.

As most of the changes are "down in the details" I probably won't bother posting too much about them here. Only geeks can get excited about things like "rework TransactionConfidence API so that depth in best chain and amount of work is cached for quicker access".
This stuff will be worked out on the bitcoinj mailing list if you want to follow the details.

Hope that makes sense.

:-)
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1066
April 27, 2012, 03:46:59 PM
Thanks to the 5 people who donated to the multibit.org donation address in April !
Much appreciated.

:-)

legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1066
April 27, 2012, 11:45:10 AM
Cheers speedbus ! :-)
sr. member
Activity: 467
Merit: 250
April 27, 2012, 11:39:30 AM
There is a new release of MultiBit at:

http://multibit.org


Version 0.3.4

Enhancements:
+  Can now import blockchain.info wallet backups
+  Currency ticker aesthetic improvements


Release info
Changes included - Apr 17th to Apr 26th inclusive (NEW continuous integration build machine!)
Scan of release checklist




MultiBit keeps getting much more awesome release after release !!
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1066
April 26, 2012, 09:25:29 AM
There is a new release of MultiBit at:

http://multibit.org


Version 0.3.4

Enhancements:
+  Can now import blockchain.info wallet backups
+  Currency ticker aesthetic improvements


Release info
Changes included - Apr 17th to Apr 26th inclusive (NEW continuous integration build machine!)
Scan of release checklist


legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1066
April 20, 2012, 05:23:35 PM
I've just pulled piuk's patch into the MultiBit code so that you can now:

Export wallet from blockchain.info -> Import to MultiBit
1) Do a wallet export from blockchain.info
and then
2) Import into MultiBit using the 'Import private keys' screen.

It is pretty straightforward:
2.1) In the file chooser you choose the blockchain.info file suffix of ".json" or ".aes.json".
2.2) Choose the blockchain.info export file you want to import.
2.3) Add in either the single password or both passwords if it is double encrypted.
2.4) Press "Import private keys".

Because there are no private key creation dates in the blockchain.info exports I unfortunately have to replay the blocks from the genesis block (this takes a couple of hours) so it is more a "get out of jail" option than something you would use day to day.


Export from MultiBit -> Import to blockchain.info
It has been in our code for a couple of months, but also worth mentioning that you can also do it the other way round as follows:

1) Export your private keys from MultiBit (unencrypted)
2) Open the export file.  Copy everything.  Paste them in the blockchain.info "Import | Import Wallet" text area and press "Import wallet".
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1066
April 20, 2012, 11:21:03 AM
Hi piuk,

RE Jackson v json-simple
It would keep the executable jar as trim as possible so would be appreciated yes.   It is always a bit of a battle not to pull in the kitchen sink with dependencies!

I will have a look at your patch over the weekend - it is mainly that import panel and the action from it so I am sure it is fine.

Cheers,

Jim
hero member
Activity: 910
Merit: 1005
April 20, 2012, 11:00:59 AM
Made a pull request: https://github.com/jim618/multibit/pull/25

I presume your wallets are output in JSON as I have noticed your private key exports are JSON. There is already a Jackson parser on the classpath and in the installer (for the XChange data) so it would be good if you could use that. Stops 'jar-bloat' in the executable jar.

Sorry only read this message just now. I didn't notice jackson and added json-simple as a dependancy, if you would like me to modify the patch I can do.

Multibit is looking great btw.
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1066
April 20, 2012, 07:37:24 AM
@piuk

I presume your wallets are output in JSON as I have noticed your private key exports are JSON. There is already a Jackson parser on the classpath and in the installer (for the XChange data) so it would be good if you could use that. Stops 'jar-bloat' in the executable jar.
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1066
April 20, 2012, 07:29:48 AM
Hi piuk,

That would be a great patch.

I have been committing to the v0.3 branch here:
https://github.com/jim618/multibit/tree/v0.3

As you have probably already spotted, the class you'll be interested in is:
https://github.com/jim618/multibit/blob/v0.3/src/main/java/org/multibit/file/PrivateKeysHandler.java

Just PM me or email me at jim@ if anything in the code is not clear.

Cheers

Jim

hero member
Activity: 910
Merit: 1005
April 20, 2012, 06:16:10 AM
Jim, I'd like to make a patch for multibit to import blockchain.info wallets. Is https://github.com/jim618/multibit the latest source tree?
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1066
April 19, 2012, 01:04:46 PM
I think I will put a checkbox at the top of the Currency ticker section in the Preferences:

Show currency ticker

Then it will be clearer.
member
Activity: 62
Merit: 10
April 19, 2012, 12:50:15 PM
Hi freemoney,

In the view menu, there is an option to 'show currency ticker' that needs to be selected before it appears at all. Did you select that ?

Hi Jim,

that did the trick. Shame on me I did not find it.
Thanks for the hint.
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1066
April 19, 2012, 04:27:59 AM
Hi HostFat,

Yes it would be very nice to be able to switch MultiBit to present in the user's fiat currency. It would make the whole 'what is a bitcoin ?' question disappear for the average user.


As I am going to concentrate on upgrading wallets for probably the next couple of months it will just have to wait though.

In a commercial environment you would have a team of people working on a product like MultiBit (or Armory or Electrum). With open source you can only really concentrate on one area at a time due to the amount of manpower available.
staff
Activity: 4270
Merit: 1209
I support freedom of choice
April 19, 2012, 03:55:49 AM
Hi bitcoinspot.nl,

At the moment the ticker is pretty much standalone. The other screens do not know about exchange data (yet).

Mainly because I want to work on the wallets/ encryption I am going to get the basic ticker working and leave it for that now.

As with all things, it gets more complicated. You send 5 euros to me, the exchange rate varies : I only receive 4,50 when I look. So you have to keep the exchange rate at the time of transaction for each transaction as evidence etc etc.
I hope also to see this feature implemented ( or a way to archive it )
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1066
April 18, 2012, 05:20:03 PM
Hi freemoney,

In the view menu, there is an option to 'show currency ticker' that needs to be selected before it appears at all. Did you select that ?
Pages:
Jump to: