Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 584. (Read 5806088 times)

legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Hi folks

If I connect more then 10 BFL's....cgminer crash down after 2 second?Huh
If I start 2 instances of cgminer with <10 BFL's ....cgminer run??
Any idee why?
System: Win8 x64, CGminer 2.3.6

Many thanks for help!

Post more details.  Are you mining on GPUs or just BFLs? What crashes?
Do you have an exception?  What is the exception offset?

Also, details of where you got the windows binary from?
(if you go it from anywhere but http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-2.3.6-win32.zip ?)
legendary
Activity: 2702
Merit: 1468

Here you go. Smiley

...
Thus with that code (above) the ordering naturally should be BFL first and ICA 2nd if you don't specify "-S bitforce:COM6" or "-S icarus:COM6"
...

Then the bitforce detection is broken as Tinua has reported.

Tinua try putting -S bitforce:COMXX
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4

Here you go. Smiley

...
Thus with that code (above) the ordering naturally should be BFL first and ICA 2nd if you don't specify "-S bitforce:COM6" or "-S icarus:COM6"
...

Then the bitforce detection is broken as Tinua has reported.

Tinua try putting -S bitforce:COMXX
Bitforce is checked first in cgminer (but not in that 'other' one) so I wonder if that might have something to do with it?

So although your suggestion makes it clear what it is doing, it won't make any difference.
legendary
Activity: 922
Merit: 1003
Then the bitforce detection is broken as this user has reported.
Why do you conclude that? I don't see where Tinua has reported broken bitforce detection. The only reference to any FPGA in Tinua's posted output is this:

Code:
[2012-05-01 19:41:07] Found 0 ztex board(s) 

As per Kano's explanation of how detection works, the above reference to ztex is not unexpected and does not indicate an error. FWIW I get the same startup message for my Single setup (also using --disable-gpu), except cgminer doesn't crash after that.
legendary
Activity: 2702
Merit: 1468
3. Windowsbox coming:
Code:
cgminer1.exe not working anymore.....blablabla

Means....cgminer crashing

Put a screenshot of that message box.  The blah, blah part is what I'd like to see.

The detection of PGAs is something that should be fixed.  Users should be able to say, I want these com ports to use BFLs, and the other ones to use
ZTEX or Icarus.  

I think that might be something luke_jr can add to bfgminer as it looks like cgminer is blindly trying to guess what is connected to COM ports.
(and failing).  Putting device type in the config file for each COM port would speed up detection and hopefully eliminate these issues.

Doing BFL detection on ZTEX or Icarus is just asking for it.  Users know what they have connected to each port, so let them add that in the config file.
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4

Here you go. Smiley

...
Thus with that code (above) the ordering naturally should be BFL first and ICA 2nd if you don't specify "-S bitforce:COM6" or "-S icarus:COM6"
...

Then the bitforce detection is broken as Tinua has reported.

Tinua try putting -S bitforce:COMXX
As my post Krak quoted above states, there is no Bitforce auto detection in windows ... yet.
(I haven't got my BFL yet either)
hero member
Activity: 591
Merit: 500
The detection of PGAs is something that should be fixed.  Users should be able to say, I want these com ports to use BFLs, and the other ones to use
ZTEX or Icarus. 

I think that might be something luke_jr can add to bfgminer as it looks like cgminer is blindly trying to guess what is connected to COM ports.
(and failing).  Putting device type in the config file for each COM port would speed up detection and hopefully eliminate these issues.

Doing ZTEX detection on BFL or Icarus is just asking for it.  Users know what they have connected to each port, so let them add that in the config file.

Here you go. Smiley

The detection code is quite straight forward for each FPGA.

If you wish to force it to be specifically BFL or ICA you can e.g. "-S bitforce:COM6" or "-S icarus:COM6"
ZTX detection is completely different so there is no real overlap (you don't specify the ztex devices, it always directly detects them)

It checks for BFL first:
It sends it a command (ZGX) which the BFL replies and is checked for the string "SHA256" in it - part of the reply is also where the "Model" in the API command 'devdetails' comes from

Next it checks for Icarus:
It simply just sends it some work and waits 0.1s for the answer
(I checked the block chain for a low nonce and found Ozcoin block 171874 nonce = (0xa2870100) = 0x000187a2 takes ~0.53ms on Rev3 Icarus to be the lowest nonce in the thousands I got a script to look at until the script bugged out)
This is mandatory for ICA since there is no identification anywhere other than the USB device identification
(which course could be used by other non Icarus devices since it's not unique)

Thus with that code (above) the ordering naturally should be BFL first and ICA 2nd if you don't specify "-S bitforce:COM6" or "-S icarus:COM6"

ZTX is detect third since that was added 3rd (though I might consider moving it up to first since it's very direct how it works and unlikely to ever affect any other device)
You don't specify -S for ZTX

Edit: for auto detection of course ZTX is always auto
ICA doesn't ever do auto
BFL does auto only in linux and only when you specify -S auto - however it has 2 methods:
 1) where it looks in /dev/serial/by-id (which can sometimes only show 1 BFL on some linux versions if you have more than 1 BFL)
 2) by libudev checking the USB Model when libudev is compiled in
legendary
Activity: 2702
Merit: 1468
Using cgminer 2.3.2
Cgminer hangs or freezes, the curl display is unresponsive not accepting any keyboard commands, mining has stopped, system is not frozen or locked up.
What is the recommended method to start up mining again?
Is it OK to 'kill ' before starting a new session?


APIs work?  Send "quit" command.

Sounds like a deadlock somewhere. If nothing works, just kill it and reboot.
hero member
Activity: 871
Merit: 1000
Hi folks

If I connect more then 10 BFL's....cgminer crash down after 2 second?Huh
If I start 2 instances of cgminer with <10 BFL's ....cgminer run??
Any idee why?
System: Win8 x64, CGminer 2.3.6

Many thanks for help!

Post more details.  Are you mining on GPUs or just BFLs? What crashes?
Do you have an exception?  What is the exception offset?

Hi
1. Starting cgminer.bat
Code:
cgminer1 -o http://pool1:8332 -u worker -p pass -o http://pool2:8332 -u name -p pass --disable-gpu -S COM5 -S COM6 -S COM7 -S COM8 -S \\.\COM9 -S \\.\COM10 -S \\.\COM11 -S \\.\COM12 -S \\.\COM13 -S \\.\COM54 -S \\.\COM55 -S \\.\COM56 -S \\.\COM57 -S \\.\COM58 -S \\.\COM59 

2. cgminer starting:
Code:
[2012-05-01 19:41:05] Started cgminer 2.3.6
[2012-05-01 19:41:07] Found 0 ztex board(s)    

3. Windowsbox coming:
Code:
cgminer1.exe not working anymore.....blablabla

Means....cgminer crashing
legendary
Activity: 3586
Merit: 1099
Think for yourself
/**FPGA's will not take over once I release my Zero-Point Energy Generator. The enrergy it produces will be free, but the device is gonna cost you.  Cool Cheesy

The environmentalist nut cases will never allow that.  Smiley
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 500
cgminer does not seem to detect my connected bfl single ... is there a setting that i'm missing?
If you are in Windows, your basic command line should look something like this:

Code:
cgminer -o  -u  -p  --disable-gpu -S COM6

The '-S COM6' is the relevant part for your Single. It happens to be COM6 for me, but it will likely be something else for you.

You'll need to open up Device Manager, go to the Ports section, and you should see an entry that looks like 'USB Serial Port (COMx)'. Whatever 'COMx' is in your case, that's what you put into cgminer's '-S COMx' setting. Then your Single should be detected.

edit: I should add that if your COM port is greater than 9, you need to use the 'longhand' form for cgminer. So if, for example, your assigned COM port for your Single was COM12, your command line would need to look like this:

Code:
cgminer -o  -u  -p  --disable-gpu -S \\.\COM12

Hi folks

If I connect more then 10 BFL's....cgminer crash by starting?Huh
If I start 2 instances of cgminer with <10 BFL's ....cgminer run??
Any idee why?
System: Win8 x64, CGminer 2.3.6

Many thanks for help!
Before anyone bashes him on using Windows 8, I would like to say I'm using Windows 8 to mine, with cgminer, and it's working flawlessly.  Mind you I don't have FPGA's or 10+ devices, though.
legendary
Activity: 2702
Merit: 1468
Hi folks

If I connect more then 10 BFL's....cgminer crash down after 2 second?Huh
If I start 2 instances of cgminer with <10 BFL's ....cgminer run??
Any idee why?
System: Win8 x64, CGminer 2.3.6

Many thanks for help!

Post more details.  Are you mining on GPUs or just BFLs? What crashes?
Do you have an exception?  What is the exception offset?
full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 100
Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician
Using cgminer 2.3.2
Cgminer hangs or freezes, the curl display is unresponsive not accepting any keyboard commands, mining has stopped, system is not frozen or locked up.
What is the recommended method to start up mining again?
Is it OK to 'kill ' before starting a new session?
hero member
Activity: 871
Merit: 1000
cgminer does not seem to detect my connected bfl single ... is there a setting that i'm missing?
If you are in Windows, your basic command line should look something like this:

Code:
cgminer -o  -u  -p  --disable-gpu -S COM6

The '-S COM6' is the relevant part for your Single. It happens to be COM6 for me, but it will likely be something else for you.

You'll need to open up Device Manager, go to the Ports section, and you should see an entry that looks like 'USB Serial Port (COMx)'. Whatever 'COMx' is in your case, that's what you put into cgminer's '-S COMx' setting. Then your Single should be detected.

edit: I should add that if your COM port is greater than 9, you need to use the 'longhand' form for cgminer. So if, for example, your assigned COM port for your Single was COM12, your command line would need to look like this:

Code:
cgminer -o  -u  -p  --disable-gpu -S \\.\COM12

Hi folks

If I connect more then 10 BFL's....cgminer crash by starting?Huh
If I start 2 instances of cgminer with <10 BFL's ....cgminer run??
Any idee why?
System: Win8 x64, CGminer 2.3.6

Many thanks for help!
full member
Activity: 373
Merit: 100
I have not used GIT to get the latest copy of CGMINER. I've downloaded all archives of 2.3.x versions of it, and tried to compile in Debian 5.0 "Lenny". All versions before 2.3.4 compiled successfully.

In case Inaba's suggestion doesn't work, could you try the latest git pull to see if that compiles? And if not, do a git bisect to trace the commit that is causing your problems?
legendary
Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000
I've run into that problem.  Try:

make clean
./autogen.sh
./configure
make

sr. member
Activity: 362
Merit: 250
Well all I can guess is there must be something wrong with your compiler or something messed up about your git pull/clone or some issue with the ./configure options you used.

The "die:" label has been there since 2011-11-24 (go to https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blame/master/api.c to check for yourself)
Also the code compiles fine on quite a few architectures including xubuntu, fedora 16, debian, MinGW on windows
I've even just done another git pull and compiled it.

What git pull/clone command did you use and what ./configure command did you use?

If you pulled on top of an old version, make sure you './autogen.sh' './configure --xxx' and 'make clean' again before compiling.

I have not used GIT to get the latest copy of CGMINER. I've downloaded all archives of 2.3.x versions of it, and tried to compile in Debian 5.0 "Lenny". All versions before 2.3.4 compiled successfully.
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Error when CGMINER compiling. Versions 2.3.4-2.3.6. Versions 2.3.1-2.3.3 compiles fine.

Code:
  CC     usage.o
  AR     libccan.a
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/kanotix/cgminer-2.3.6/ccan'
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/kanotix/cgminer-2.3.6'
  CC     cgminer-cgminer.o
  CC     cgminer-util.o
  CC     cgminer-sha2.o
  CC     cgminer-api.o
api.c: In function ‘api’:
api.c:2409: error: label at end of compound statement
make[2]: *** [cgminer-api.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/kanotix/cgminer-2.3.6'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/kanotix/cgminer-2.3.6'
make: *** [all] Error 2

Tested with NVIDIA and ATi/AMD OpenCL's. OS: Linux x86. GCC: 4.3.
Well all I can guess is there must be something wrong with your compiler or something messed up about your git pull/clone or some issue with the ./configure options you used.

The "die:" label has been there since 2011-11-24 (go to https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blame/master/api.c to check for yourself)
Also the code compiles fine on quite a few architectures including xubuntu, fedora 16, debian, MinGW on windows
I've even just done another git pull and compiled it.

What git pull/clone command did you use and what ./configure command did you use?

If you pulled on top of an old version, make sure you './autogen.sh' './configure --xxx' and 'make clean' again before compiling.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
ckolivas, any chance you can take a look at the possibility of churning some code out to take advantage of the Intel HD GPU's integrated into Sandy Bridge CPU's (and now Ivy Bridge)?  Apparently they just released OpenCL SDK to allow access to the GPU portion of the CPU instead of just the CPU itself.  See post #22 here - https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.870723
If it's opencl then they should already work. Performance, on the other hand, is likely to be shit. Not because of my opencl code, but because they are pissweak.
sr. member
Activity: 362
Merit: 250
Error when CGMINER compiling. Versions 2.3.4-2.3.6. Versions 2.3.1-2.3.3 compiles fine.

Code:
  CC     usage.o
  AR     libccan.a
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/kanotix/cgminer-2.3.6/ccan'
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/kanotix/cgminer-2.3.6'
  CC     cgminer-cgminer.o
  CC     cgminer-util.o
  CC     cgminer-sha2.o
  CC     cgminer-api.o
api.c: In function ‘api’:
api.c:2409: error: label at end of compound statement
make[2]: *** [cgminer-api.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/kanotix/cgminer-2.3.6'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/kanotix/cgminer-2.3.6'
make: *** [all] Error 2

Tested with NVIDIA and ATi/AMD OpenCL's. OS: Linux x86. GCC: 4.3.
Jump to: