Pages:
Author

Topic: other work for GPU's (Read 2171 times)

hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 500
October 30, 2011, 08:06:30 PM
#25
Unless you were planning on only doing the same work every time (eg rainbow table generation) then you'd need a new client or at least a new module to produce the work to send back. Like doing work for seti@home or folding at home.

Why the 10 MD5 hashes at the start?

There is a GPU rainbow table project in boinc  -  http://boinc.freerainbowtables.com/distrrtgen/ and http://www.freerainbowtables.com/
newbie
Activity: 34
Merit: 0
October 30, 2011, 09:30:47 AM
#24
If you were to bruteforce a single MD5 hash, it would take x time to go through all combinations up to 8 characters.
If you were to bruteforce two MD5 hashes, it would still take x time to go through all combinations up to 8 characters.


If two+ hashes/whatever? needs to be cracked, do them at once and it will take half as long.

I guess you can get where I am going with this. Pay more if you want it done instantly, or less if you want to wait for another of the same type
donator
Activity: 2058
Merit: 1007
Poor impulse control.
October 30, 2011, 08:45:25 AM
#23
Unless you were planning on only doing the same work every time (eg rainbow table generation) then you'd need a new client or at least a new module to produce the work to send back. Like doing work for seti@home or folding at home.

Why the 10 MD5 hashes at the start?
newbie
Activity: 34
Merit: 0
October 30, 2011, 08:38:47 AM
#22
I was thinking a worker/server system, or perhaps a p2p system?

workers download a file that contains information about the job at hand, after multiple jobs of the same kind (eg, 10 md5 hashes) the work would begin.
donator
Activity: 2058
Merit: 1007
Poor impulse control.
October 30, 2011, 08:20:06 AM
#21
No, there's no need for a blockchain if you're not doing crypto. Just work received and work submitted. Is that what you meant?
newbie
Activity: 34
Merit: 0
October 30, 2011, 08:15:21 AM
#20
Are you implying we base it on a block system like bitcoin?
donator
Activity: 2058
Merit: 1007
Poor impulse control.
October 30, 2011, 07:10:28 AM
#19
Boinc does it but not well apparently. Need to have someone with the time to develop a pool and a bespoke miner, something modular so other calculations than SHA256(SHA256)) can be performed.

Then you'd have not just corporations and crims but also researchers who can't get time on their local supercomputer to model climate change (ha! gpus modeling and causing climate change at the same time).
Ad
newbie
Activity: 15
Merit: 0
October 27, 2011, 12:56:36 PM
#18
So back to the orgional question. Can we provide our collective GPU power to a company or company(s)
 in need of crunching alot of data?
newbie
Activity: 34
Merit: 0
October 26, 2011, 07:46:05 PM
#17
I have a few gpus also.


Sadly I'm not fluent enough in C or openCL D:

I know of gpu cracking programs but I don't know of anything distributed. (besides distributed.net)
sr. member
Activity: 461
Merit: 251
October 26, 2011, 06:47:55 PM
#16
Yeah I've been looking as well and every time I google all I come up with are articles about bitcoin mining.
sr. member
Activity: 448
Merit: 250
October 26, 2011, 06:31:17 PM
#15
I think there should be a way to automate this into the bitcoin network. A client should be able to be able to broadcast a brute force problem with a money transfer (reward) embedded that requires proof of the solution to receive the money.

Yeah, I wouldn't mine if that was done. You would become unwillingly complicit in all sorts of shady shit.
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 500
October 26, 2011, 04:06:45 PM
#14
I think there should be a way to automate this into the bitcoin network. A client should be able to be able to broadcast a brute force problem with a money transfer (reward) embedded that requires proof of the solution to receive the money.
Ad
newbie
Activity: 15
Merit: 0
October 26, 2011, 03:53:20 PM
#13
So what do you guys think? I have no programing skills to start a cracking operation but,
 I do have 19 GPUs that could be put to work on such an operation.
Anyone else, programing and startup skills? GPUs that could process/crunch the cracking?
newbie
Activity: 34
Merit: 0
October 26, 2011, 03:25:04 AM
#12
Ofcourse, we would need to know HOW it's encrypted before attempting to crack it, no use trying twofish when it's serpent Wink

Ofc, this shouldn't matter when cracking truecrypt volumes, unless we are using some extremely fast custom written software.
donator
Activity: 1731
Merit: 1008
October 25, 2011, 11:44:10 PM
#11
I guess I never really though about the fact that volume size/contents are irrelevant. Teach us more about brute forcing stuff.

Truecrypt is very well documented,

http://www.truecrypt.org/docs/encryption-scheme
sr. member
Activity: 448
Merit: 250
October 25, 2011, 11:38:16 PM
#10
OP mentions truecrypt. If something is encrypted with AES+twofish+serpent or whatever it is(the default setup for truecrypt), isn't that into the millions of years to crack?
The default for truecrypt is AES,

It only depend on the password length,  as you may have noticed truecrypt ask for confirmation when using weak password, 14 character is considered weak I think. (very conservative)

When cracking truecrypt one does not process the whole volume to see if password match, only a part at the beginning.

I guess I never really though about the fact that volume size/contents are irrelevant. Teach us more about brute forcing stuff.
donator
Activity: 1731
Merit: 1008
October 25, 2011, 11:37:30 PM
#9
Isn't it unrealistic to hope to crack SHA256?
If you mean finding the hash generated from a random array of 40 or more bytes.
No, it is impossible,

If you mean finding the hash generated from a 12 or less character word,
Yes it may be possible.
donator
Activity: 1731
Merit: 1008
October 25, 2011, 11:31:59 PM
#8
OP mentions truecrypt. If something is encrypted with AES+twofish+serpent or whatever it is(the default setup for truecrypt), isn't that into the millions of years to crack?
The default for truecrypt is AES,

It only depend on the password length,  as you may have noticed truecrypt ask for confirmation when using weak password, 14 character is considered weak I think. (very conservative)

When cracking truecrypt one does not process the whole volume to see if password match, only a part at the beginning.
sr. member
Activity: 448
Merit: 250
October 25, 2011, 08:40:47 PM
#7
Isn't it unrealistic to hope to crack SHA256?

No.

It all comes down to what's hashed. If it's a whole document, well good luck. If it's a word or two it shouldn't be too difficult if it's just a single hash.

When someone encrypts something its different to a hash though Wink

OP mentions truecrypt. If something is encrypted with AES+twofish+serpent or whatever it is(the default setup for truecrypt), isn't that into the millions of years to crack?
newbie
Activity: 34
Merit: 0
October 25, 2011, 07:44:56 PM
#6
Isn't it unrealistic to hope to crack SHA256?

No.

It all comes down to what's hashed. If it's a whole document, well good luck. If it's a word or two it shouldn't be too difficult if it's just a single hash.

When someone encrypts something its different to a hash though Wink
Pages:
Jump to: