Pages:
Author

Topic: Phoenix 2 beta discussion - page 5. (Read 57899 times)

sr. member
Activity: 1428
Merit: 344
February 08, 2012, 10:50:35 PM
#81
Instead of the program creating a blank config file and aborting, that would be a good opportunity to run a little wizard questionnaire to set up the program:

"[02/08/2012 18:44:39] Welcome to Phoenix v2.0.0-rc1"
"I see this is the first time you've run Phoenix, please provide some information for your initial configuration:"

"Pool URL:"
[if not detected in URL:]
"Pool Port:"
"Pool Worker Username:"
"Pool Worker Password:"

"Available OpenCL processing devices:"
    [[0]] Juniper
    [[1]] Juniper
    [[2]] Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU    Q6600  @ 2.40GHz

"Please input the number(s) of the devices to use (Enter= Use All):"

"Do you wish to autodetect the best settings (Y/N) (Enter=Auto)?:"

"- Manual Configuration -"

"Available OpenCL software kernels:"
    [[0]] opencl (default)
    [[1]] phatk2
    [[2]] diapolo

"Please select the software kernel (Enter=default):"

"Available worksizes: 64, 128, 256"
"Please enter the OpenCL kernel worksize (Enter=autodetect):"

"Available vector sizes: 2, 4"
"Please enter the desired work vector size (Enter=autodetect):"

"Available aggression setting (work unit size): 1-14 (default 6)"
"Please enter the desired aggression (Enter=default):"
 
"Thank you, parameters saved to configuration file phoenix.cfg!"
[18:46:23] Connected to server
[18:46:23] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[18:46:23] New block (WorkQueue)


I just blew my happiness load. +69
legendary
Activity: 1512
Merit: 1032
February 08, 2012, 10:48:14 PM
#80
Instead of the program creating a blank config file and aborting, that would be a good opportunity to run a little wizard questionnaire to set up the program:

[02/08/2012 18:44:39] Welcome to Phoenix v2.0.0-rc1
- I see this is the first time you've run Phoenix,
  please provide some information for your initial configuration:

Pool URL:
[if not detected in URL:]
Pool Port:
Pool Worker Username:
Pool Worker Password:

Available OpenCL processing devices:
    [[0]] Juniper
    [[1]] Juniper
    [[2]] Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU    Q6600  @ 2.40GHz

Please input the device number(s) to use (Enter=use first GPU only):

Do you wish to autodetect the best settings (Y/N) (Enter=auto)?:

- Manual Configuration -

Available OpenCL software kernels:
    [[0]] opencl (default)
    [[1]] phatk2
    [[2]] diapolo

Please select the software kernel (Enter=default):

Available worksizes: 64, 128, 256
Please enter the OpenCL kernel worksize (Enter=autodetect):

Available vector sizes: 2, 4
Please enter the desired work vector size (Enter=autodetect):

Available aggression setting (work unit size): 1-14 (default 6)
Please enter the desired aggression (Enter=default):
 
- Thank you, parameters saved to configuration file phoenix.cfg!
[18:46:23] Connected to server
[18:46:23] Server gave new work; passing to WorkQueue
[18:46:23] New block (WorkQueue)
legendary
Activity: 1344
Merit: 1004
February 08, 2012, 09:53:42 PM
#79
The current code in Git has been updated with a few fixes:

1. Hashrate display should be working correctly now. Please report back if it still doesn't work.
2. Updated opencl and phatk2 to use Diapolo's method of detecting if the device is a CPU.
3. Autodetect messages will no longer appear for devices which have a config manually defined.

The Windows binary has also been updated with these changes.

Could you update the main post to point to the new updated phoenix2? I cant find the updated compiled windows version.

As far as I can tell from a little research, jedi95 deleted the old phoenix-2.0.0.zip, and reuploaded a new file with the same name approx. 3 hrs ago, the link in the first post should work, and I'm guessing it's the updated binary.

This is correct. Since I can't edit the first post it seemed like the most reasonable option.

Are you sure you didn't upload the same exact files as what was up before? I redownloaded and the crc for the "old" phoenix and the "new" phoenix is the same. This also goes for the .zip file itself.

The CRC32 of my copy of phoenix.exe is 89B9736A. The copy inside the zip file I downloaded 20 seconds ago is also 89B9736A and I still get the hash rate bugging out.

Please fix.
full member
Activity: 216
Merit: 100
February 08, 2012, 09:52:12 PM
#78
Oh, I tried that, but this happened:

Code:
name@hostname:/usr/local/src/phoenix-2.0.0$ ./phoenix.py ~/phoenix.cfg
[02/08/2012 17:05:29] Welcome to Phoenix v2.0.0-rc1
[0 Khash/s] [0 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [DISCONNECTED]Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./phoenix.py", line 37, in
    main()
  File "./phoenix.py", line 32, in main
    pc.start()
  File "/usr/local/src/phoenix-2.0.0/phoenix2/core/PhoenixCore.py", line 78, in start
    self.discoverKernels()
  File "/usr/local/src/phoenix-2.0.0/phoenix2/core/PhoenixCore.py", line 109, in discoverKernels
    kernelModule = imp.load_module(name, file, filename, smt)
  File "/usr/local/src/phoenix-2.0.0/phoenix2/core/../kernels/phatk2/__init__.py", line 38, in
    opencl = sys.modules['opencl']
KeyError: 'opencl'

I fixed it myself, huzzah! in "phoenix2/core/PhoenixCore.py" line 105 change:

Code:
for name in os.listdir(kerndir):

to...

Code:
for name in sorted(os.listdir(kerndir)):

Because o has to come before p, opencl before phatk2. Maybe you should rename it 00-opencl. Wink
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 250
full member
Activity: 219
Merit: 120
February 08, 2012, 09:24:00 PM
#76
The current code in Git has been updated with a few fixes:

1. Hashrate display should be working correctly now. Please report back if it still doesn't work.
2. Updated opencl and phatk2 to use Diapolo's method of detecting if the device is a CPU.
3. Autodetect messages will no longer appear for devices which have a config manually defined.

The Windows binary has also been updated with these changes.

Could you update the main post to point to the new updated phoenix2? I cant find the updated compiled windows version.

As far as I can tell from a little research, jedi95 deleted the old phoenix-2.0.0.zip, and reuploaded a new file with the same name approx. 3 hrs ago, the link in the first post should work, and I'm guessing it's the updated binary.

This is correct. Since I can't edit the first post it seemed like the most reasonable option.
full member
Activity: 226
Merit: 100
February 08, 2012, 07:42:18 PM
#75
The current code in Git has been updated with a few fixes:

1. Hashrate display should be working correctly now. Please report back if it still doesn't work.
2. Updated opencl and phatk2 to use Diapolo's method of detecting if the device is a CPU.
3. Autodetect messages will no longer appear for devices which have a config manually defined.

The Windows binary has also been updated with these changes.

Could you update the main post to point to the new updated phoenix2? I cant find the updated compiled windows version.

As far as I can tell from a little research, jedi95 deleted the old phoenix-2.0.0.zip, and reuploaded a new file with the same name approx. 3 hrs ago, the link in the first post should work, and I'm guessing it's the updated binary.
legendary
Activity: 1344
Merit: 1004
February 08, 2012, 06:51:23 PM
#74
The current code in Git has been updated with a few fixes:

1. Hashrate display should be working correctly now. Please report back if it still doesn't work.
2. Updated opencl and phatk2 to use Diapolo's method of detecting if the device is a CPU.
3. Autodetect messages will no longer appear for devices which have a config manually defined.

The Windows binary has also been updated with these changes.

Could you update the main post to point to the new updated phoenix2? I cant find the updated compiled windows version.
full member
Activity: 216
Merit: 100
February 08, 2012, 06:09:30 PM
#73
I'll have CFSworks take a look at this later. In the mean time you can use phoenix by starting phoenix.py instead of executing the config file.

Oh, I tried that, but this happened:

Code:
name@hostname:/usr/local/src/phoenix-2.0.0$ ./phoenix.py ~/phoenix.cfg
[02/08/2012 17:05:29] Welcome to Phoenix v2.0.0-rc1
[0 Khash/s] [0 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [DISCONNECTED]Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./phoenix.py", line 37, in
    main()
  File "./phoenix.py", line 32, in main
    pc.start()
  File "/usr/local/src/phoenix-2.0.0/phoenix2/core/PhoenixCore.py", line 78, in start
    self.discoverKernels()
  File "/usr/local/src/phoenix-2.0.0/phoenix2/core/PhoenixCore.py", line 109, in discoverKernels
    kernelModule = imp.load_module(name, file, filename, smt)
  File "/usr/local/src/phoenix-2.0.0/phoenix2/core/../kernels/phatk2/__init__.py", line 38, in
    opencl = sys.modules['opencl']
KeyError: 'opencl'
full member
Activity: 219
Merit: 120
February 08, 2012, 05:58:48 PM
#72
I'm getting what looks to be the same issue as mich, I'm on Debian 6:

Code:
name@hostname:~$ ./phoenix.cfg
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/bin/phoenix", line 8, in
    load_entry_point('phoenix==2.0.0-rc1', 'console_scripts', 'phoenix')()
  File "build/bdist.linux-i686/egg/pkg_resources.py", line 318, in load_entry_point
    def has_metadata(name):
  File "build/bdist.linux-i686/egg/pkg_resources.py", line 2221, in load_entry_point
    def __getattr__(self,attr):
  File "build/bdist.linux-i686/egg/pkg_resources.py", line 1954, in load
    entry = __import__(self.module_name, globals(),globals(), ['__name__'])
ImportError: No module named phoenix


I'll have CFSworks take a look at this later. In the mean time you can use phoenix by starting phoenix.py instead of executing the config file.
full member
Activity: 216
Merit: 100
February 08, 2012, 05:17:18 PM
#71
I'm getting what looks to be the same issue as mich, I'm on Debian 6:

Code:
name@hostname:~$ ./phoenix.cfg
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/bin/phoenix", line 8, in
    load_entry_point('phoenix==2.0.0-rc1', 'console_scripts', 'phoenix')()
  File "build/bdist.linux-i686/egg/pkg_resources.py", line 318, in load_entry_point
    def has_metadata(name):
  File "build/bdist.linux-i686/egg/pkg_resources.py", line 2221, in load_entry_point
    def __getattr__(self,attr):
  File "build/bdist.linux-i686/egg/pkg_resources.py", line 1954, in load
    entry = __import__(self.module_name, globals(),globals(), ['__name__'])
ImportError: No module named phoenix

full member
Activity: 219
Merit: 120
February 08, 2012, 03:55:30 PM
#70
The current code in Git has been updated with a few fixes:

1. Hashrate display should be working correctly now. Please report back if it still doesn't work.
2. Updated opencl and phatk2 to use Diapolo's method of detecting if the device is a CPU.
3. Autodetect messages will no longer appear for devices which have a config manually defined.

The Windows binary has also been updated with these changes.
full member
Activity: 281
Merit: 100
February 08, 2012, 03:48:52 PM
#69
I use a batch file to launch phoenix.exe so I can set the affinity to 1 core or else it will peg all 4 cores on my cpu. My question is can I also set what cfg file to use? I sync a btc working folder with wuala accross my mining machines and I would like to have cfg files for the diffrent machines and configs for like high speed and chill for desktop use through diffrent batch files.

Btw my dead shares in P2Pool has dropped to zero in the last 24hours after moving from 1.75 to 2.0
sr. member
Activity: 1428
Merit: 344
February 08, 2012, 01:07:07 PM
#68
I know Phoenix 2 has to mature a while, but please fix that hashrate-display asap, because I simply can't tell if a kernel modification makes things faster or not, because of that amazing and really wrong values Cheesy.

Dia

True dat! lol.

Any ETA on an update for Phoenix 2 to fix this issue?
hero member
Activity: 769
Merit: 500
February 08, 2012, 11:45:02 AM
#67
I know Phoenix 2 has to mature a while, but please fix that hashrate-display asap, because I simply can't tell if a kernel modification makes things faster or not, because of that amazing and really wrong values Cheesy.

Dia
member
Activity: 111
Merit: 10
February 08, 2012, 08:18:37 AM
#66
I see a lot of misuse of settings. phatk2 = true is not valid. autoconfigure is not needed at all when specifying device-specific settings, and so on. Here are some per-device settings I suggest under certain SDK's and certain GPU's. Aggressions are for dedicated miners. If you need to use the miner like a normal PC, suggest using an aggresion anywhere from 4-7, whichever is most comfortable for you. The settings go after each device which is denoted by something like [cl:1:1] where [cl:1:1] is the platform and [cl:1:1] is the device number.

SDK 2.1, Radeon 5xxx, 61xx-67xx, Underclocked memory
Code:
kernel = phatk2
AGGRESSION = 12
VECTORS = true
BFI_INT = true
WORKSIZE = 256

SDK 2.4/2.5, Radeon 5xxx, 6xxx, Underclocked memory
Code:
kernel = phatk2
AGGRESSION = 14
VECTORS = true
BFI_INT = true
WORKSIZE = 256

SDK 2.6, Radeon 5xxx, 6xxx, Normal memory (1GHz+)
Code:
kernel = phatk2
AGGRESSION = 14
VECTORS4 = true
BFI_INT = true
WORKSIZE = 64

If you are using 2.6 SDK with underclocked memory, I suggest installed 2.1 as well, or rolling back to 2.4/2.5 if you have 6800+'s in your miners as 2.6 is still garbage as far as speed goes. SDK 2.1 is still the fastest. 2.4/2.5 have the same speed as far as I can tell. The reduced aggression for SDK 2.1 is to reduce the chance that TDR will trigger and crash the miner (2.1 is highly aggressive in taking GPU time).

The opposite holds true; If you are stuck with high memory clocks, 2.6 is more efficient than 2.1-2.5.


Thanks! i'll try... but my pool is down, going to report back!

btw: i like phoenix 2! for me phoenix is still the best miner pushing my cards to really good speed! it is also really easy to use (if you know the settings Wink)

your post should be added to the first post to reduce questions!


[edit]

pushed each of my cards about 5-10MH/s each!!!!

phoenix is a turbo-biatch!
[/edit]
legendary
Activity: 3122
Merit: 1032
#1 VIP Crypto Casino
February 08, 2012, 06:34:54 AM
#65
What I doing wrong? Ubuntu:
Code:
$:/usr/local/bin$ sudo phoenix.cfg
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/bin/phoenix", line 9, in
    load_entry_point('phoenix==2.0.0-rc1', 'console_scripts', 'phoenix')()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/pkg_resources.py", line 305, in load_entry_point
    return get_distribution(dist).load_entry_point(group, name)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/pkg_resources.py", line 2245, in load_entry_point
    return ep.load()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/pkg_resources.py", line 1955, in load
    entry = __import__(self.module_name, globals(),globals(), ['__name__'])
ImportError: No module named phoenix
and phoenix does not starts (((
legendary
Activity: 1344
Merit: 1004
February 08, 2012, 06:30:27 AM
#64
I see a lot of misuse of settings. phatk2 = true is not valid. autoconfigure is not needed at all when specifying device-specific settings, and so on. Here are some per-device settings I suggest under certain SDK's and certain GPU's. Aggressions are for dedicated miners. If you need to use the miner like a normal PC, suggest using an aggresion anywhere from 4-7, whichever is most comfortable for you. The settings go after each device which is denoted by something like [cl:1:1] where [cl:1:1] is the platform and [cl:1:1] is the device number.

SDK 2.1, Radeon 5xxx, 61xx-67xx, Underclocked memory
Code:
kernel = phatk2
AGGRESSION = 12
VECTORS = true
BFI_INT = true
WORKSIZE = 256

SDK 2.4/2.5, Radeon 5xxx, 6xxx, Underclocked memory
Code:
kernel = phatk2
AGGRESSION = 14
VECTORS = true
BFI_INT = true
WORKSIZE = 256

SDK 2.6, Radeon 5xxx, 6xxx, Normal memory (1GHz+)
Code:
kernel = phatk2
AGGRESSION = 14
VECTORS4 = true
BFI_INT = true
WORKSIZE = 64

If you are using 2.6 SDK with underclocked memory, I suggest installed 2.1 as well, or rolling back to 2.4/2.5 if you have 6800+'s in your miners as 2.6 is still garbage as far as speed goes. SDK 2.1 is still the fastest. 2.4/2.5 have the same speed as far as I can tell. The reduced aggression for SDK 2.1 is to reduce the chance that TDR will trigger and crash the miner (2.1 is highly aggressive in taking GPU time).

The opposite holds true; If you are stuck with high memory clocks, 2.6 is more efficient than 2.1-2.5.
ZPK
legendary
Activity: 1302
Merit: 1021
February 08, 2012, 05:08:02 AM
#63
7 x64 11.6
5850 950/300 395
5850 960/300 399

use this setting.

[cl:0:0]
autoconfigure = False
disabled = False
bfi_int = True
vectors = True
worksize=256
aggression=12
member
Activity: 111
Merit: 10
February 08, 2012, 04:15:58 AM
#62
Hi,

tryed this on my 5850 and 5830 catalyst 12.1/WIN7, the performance on the 5830 (960/300) [301MH/s] is great but on my 5850 (920/300) [309MH/s] it sucks normally i use poclbm because this is a productional system and i get 356MH/s! With
Code:
autoconfigure = true
i can reach 319MH/s.

should i change anything ?

Code:
[general]
verbose = True
autodetect = +cl -cpu
backend = http://lala:[email protected]:8332

[web]
password = rpc_password # Set an RPC password to keep people from messing with your miners.

[cl:1:0]
autoconfigure = false
BFI_INT = true
VECTORS4 = true
WORKSIZE = 64
AGRESSION = 12
FASTLOOPS = false
phatk2 = true
Pages:
Jump to: