Pages:
Author

Topic: Phoenix - Efficient, fast, modular miner - page 31. (Read 760701 times)

full member
Activity: 219
Merit: 120
I am running a nvidia G102m, core 2 duo running windows 7 64 bit. With this and every time I try to run it this error comes up and if I run it with these particular settings my graphics card driver will crash with this error message. I am running the current graphics driver 270.61. If I use VECTORS BFI_INT then my driver doesn't crash but the same error message comes up.

C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\phoenix-1.48>phoenix -u http://username:[email protected]:8334/ -k poclbm

FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=9
[23/05/2011 16:39:49] Phoenix 1.48 starting...
[23/05/2011 16:39:50] Connected to server
[0 Khash/sec] [0 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [RPC]Unhandled Error
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "threading.pyc", line 504, in __bootstrap

  File "threading.pyc", line 532, in __bootstrap_inner

  File "threading.pyc", line 484, in run

--- ---
  File "twisted\python\threadpool.pyc", line 207, in _worker

  File "twisted\python\context.pyc", line 118, in callWithContext

  File "twisted\python\context.pyc", line 81, in callWithContext

  File "kernels\poclbm\__init__.py", line 392, in mineThread

pyopencl.LogicError: clEnqueueReadBuffer failed: invalid command queue




If I use these settings then this error message comes up and it just keeps on saying failed to connect.

C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\phoenix-1.48>phoenix -u http://username:password@bit
coinpool.com:8334/-k poclbm -v VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=7
[23/05/2011 16:59:23] Phoenix 1.48 starting...
[23/05/2011 16:59:23] Failed to connect, retrying...
[23/05/2011 16:59:42] Failed to connect, retrying...
[0 Khash/sec] [0 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [RPC]

First of all Nvidia GPUs don't support BFI_INT so adding that flag won't work. Secondly lowend Nvidia cards are very slow miners, which at the current difficulty are pointless to run.

I'm not sure how you are getting "clEnqueueReadBuffer failed: invalid command queue" though.
newbie
Activity: 1
Merit: 0
I am running a nvidia G102m, core 2 duo running windows 7 64 bit. With this and every time I try to run it this error comes up and if I run it with these particular settings my graphics card driver will crash with this error message. I am running the current graphics driver 270.61. If I use VECTORS BFI_INT then my driver doesn't crash but the same error message comes up.

C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\phoenix-1.48>phoenix -u http://username:[email protected]:8334/ -k poclbm

FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=9
[23/05/2011 16:39:49] Phoenix 1.48 starting...
[23/05/2011 16:39:50] Connected to server
[0 Khash/sec] [0 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [RPC]Unhandled Error
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "threading.pyc", line 504, in __bootstrap

  File "threading.pyc", line 532, in __bootstrap_inner

  File "threading.pyc", line 484, in run

--- ---
  File "twisted\python\threadpool.pyc", line 207, in _worker

  File "twisted\python\context.pyc", line 118, in callWithContext

  File "twisted\python\context.pyc", line 81, in callWithContext

  File "kernels\poclbm\__init__.py", line 392, in mineThread

pyopencl.LogicError: clEnqueueReadBuffer failed: invalid command queue




If I use these settings then this error message comes up and it just keeps on saying failed to connect.

C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\phoenix-1.48>phoenix -u http://username:password@bit
coinpool.com:8334/-k poclbm -v VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=7
[23/05/2011 16:59:23] Phoenix 1.48 starting...
[23/05/2011 16:59:23] Failed to connect, retrying...
[23/05/2011 16:59:42] Failed to connect, retrying...
[0 Khash/sec] [0 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [RPC]
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1006
Local PC is mining as RPC client, but i can't get phoenix to work at all. GUminer is not able to connect from 2nd PC.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin

you probably need to add "rpcallowip" into config file...

When I add that command to command line or conf file, this happens:



full member
Activity: 129
Merit: 100
Local PC is mining as RPC client, but i can't get phoenix to work at all. GUminer is not able to connect from 2nd PC.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin

you probably need to add "rpcallowip" into config file...
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1006
What is the format for command line mining (solo) while connected to LAN bitcoin server?

I am using win7 on both PC's. Local PC is mining as RPC client, but i can't get phoenix to work at all. GUminer is not able to connect from 2nd PC.

Help!
newbie
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
I've got a Sapphire 5770 with driver version 11.4 (because 10.11 did not work) and SDK 2.1, and I get this message when I start the miner:

Code:
FATAL kernel error: Failed to apply BFI_INT patch to kerne
l! Is BFI_INT supported on this hardware?

I thought BFI_INT was supported on all 5xxx and up cards?
newbie
Activity: 67
Merit: 0
Can you add a --sane-output (or similar) option that doesn't rewrite the terminal?

For now I'm just using this (hacky) patch to make it stop doing so:

https://github.com/jrmithdobbs/phoenix-miner/commit/024a66dbced7be2306662f40b67f1675486738d4

Edit: It'd also be helpful if you'd point me in the direction of the code that is writing/patching the final binary so i can change it to use /tmp instead of the kernel directory. I hate windows-per-app-install-directory-isms on my unix machines and am trying to move kernel/ to /usr/share/phoenix-miner but don't want to give the user who runs this write access anywhere in /usr/share. Wink

Edit: nevermind I found it. Here's a patch that changes the expectation of kernels being in CWD to being in /usr/share/phoenix-miner/ and writes the binaries to TMPDIR (if set) or /tmp (if not). I'm sure this breaks on windows.

https://github.com/jrmithdobbs/phoenix-miner/commit/4bad15f3df349fe07c69a0b82ca205e9c58c23d9

Edit: Replaced code blocks with github links since I noticed the whitespace breakage in those patches.
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
Hey Jedi95,

Would it be possible for you to have a config file which contains all the information that I would normally specify on the command line?  The reason I ask is because (in linux) when I run your miner, my login and password can be viewed by anyone else on the box who runs a "ps -a".  If there was a "-config " option, that would be great and would add a bit more security for those who share a box with someone else.

Thanks for being awesome.



Honestly I think this is an issue for the pools.  They shouldn't be using worker names that are connected to the main login.  For example deepbit uses [email protected]_0, _1, etc.  BTC Guild uses loginname_workerID.

But either, the most that can happen is they redirect your BTC transactions.  But both pools have security against this.  If you use an original password I think you will be OK. 
sr. member
Activity: 1344
Merit: 264
bit.ly/3QXp3oh | Ultimate Launchpad on TON
Hey Jedi95,

Would it be possible for you to have a config file which contains all the information that I would normally specify on the command line?  The reason I ask is because (in linux) when I run your miner, my login and password can be viewed by anyone else on the box who runs a "ps -a".  If there was a "-config " option, that would be great and would add a bit more security for those who share a box with someone else.

Thanks for being awesome.

full member
Activity: 129
Merit: 100
Someone all ready brought it up earlier, however I have proper usecase for this now.

I'm using windows 7 and if i run the client and then use ctrl+c to close it, everything shuts down cleanly and life is good.
If I click the close window icon or kill the process it crashes the nvidia driver, the screen goes blank and windows says "graphics driver recovered ok"

Would it be possible to put the same code that makes stuff end nicely on ctrl+c in the same place as closing the window via the top right icon or killing the process.

the usecase is I'm using Task Scheduler to run the phoenix when the computer is idle, works great except for the task scheduler killing the process when the computer is not idle anymore as it crashes the nvidia driver and the screen goes blank for a second etc...

Thanks Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
I had to escape the ;askrate on linux or else OpenCL would say it couldn't find the device.
phoenix -u http://USERNAME.WORKERNAME:[email protected]:8332/\;askrate=12 -k poclbm DEVICE=2 VECTORS AGGRESSION=12

Standard poclbm/poclbm-mod were giving me 317Mh/s.
Phoenix was giving me 310Mh/s.
That went up to 343.5Mh/s with BFI_INT!

If you're using askrate make sure to set it properly. Calculate (type into Google) 2^32 divided by your hashrate. So mine would be 2^32/343500000=12.5035438 (so 12)

Nice to see that BFI_INT is working for you!

As for askrate, it's not necessary with Phoenix because it maintains a work queue and only requests work when needed. Phoenix also ignores the askrate setting automatically for RPC servers with long polling support.

"The worker hash rates shown below are estimates based on share submissions in the last 15 minutes. These will rarely be the same as your miner's actual hash rate."

Wait a while and see if it improves. Right now my Total Worker Speed says it's 30 Mh/s slower than I know it is. I've seen it show 100 Mh/s higher at times also. It's going to fluctuate, it's really not anything to worry about.
legendary
Activity: 860
Merit: 1026
is it possible to set the poclbm frames flag? -f 40 does not seem to work.

or is there some other way to set priority within a gpu?

I guess you have to use the AGGRESSION=X switch, where x is the level of aggression you want to have (default is 4, lower -> more resources for other programs, higher -> more resources for phoenix)
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
The one problem that I have really is my computer will happily work for 2 days straight mining then the display drivers will crash. This causes phoenix to basically stall. It doesn't stop responding, it just stalls at it's current Hash/s and last sent hash. It doesn't get new work even when pushed. Is there anything you can do to restart it once a display driver crashes. I don't really want to lower the core clock or increase the mem clock as it's at a nice rate now and this only happens every so often.
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
I have been running flawlessly for a few days now with no more idling problems, thank you!
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1020
is it possible to set the poclbm frames flag? -f 40 does not seem to work.

or is there some other way to set priority within a gpu?
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1020
I *THINK* I finally figured out the idling problem and why I can't reproduce it. The current behavior is to use persistent (keep-alive) connections to the server. If the connection is busy when another request is sent, a new connection is made. However, this is limited to 2 connections. If there is an attempt to create another connection when 2 already exist then it will block until one of the other connections is closed. This never happens though, so it blocks forever with no error messages.

This explains why jondecker76 was getting the issue VERY quickly on the slow wireless adapter, because with a slow internet connection there is a much higher chance of the connection being busy when a new request needs to be sent.

It also explains my inability to reproduce the problem because I am running on a very stable wired connection.

In any case, I have temporarily removed the connection limit in order to confirm that this is indeed the cause of the problem. If this fixes the issue, then I will do a more permanent fix later.

However, as explained above I can't reproduce the problem myself so I need users to test this fix. You can either download the binaries below or checkout the latest SVN revision. (98 or 99 is fine)

[...]
sounds exactly like the problem I had. seems like 1.48 fixed it, no freezing today.


no, it did not. two miners stopped this night. I was using -q 2. I am on 10.12/2.1 and will switch to 11.5/2.1 to see if it helps.


newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
whats new in 1.48 compared to 1.47?

number 7 changed to number 8

BIG OWNED
full member
Activity: 126
Merit: 101
whats new in 1.48 compared to 1.47?

number 7 changed to number 8
newbie
Activity: 15
Merit: 0
whats new in 1.48 compared to 1.47?
full member
Activity: 185
Merit: 100
Thanks to everyone who tested the 1.48 debug build, it appears the problem is elsewhere.
Indeed. My Phoenix instance have now been chugging along flawlessly for over 24 hours. Most splendid!
Pages:
Jump to: