Pages:
Author

Topic: [Pool closed. Withdrawals closed] litecoin.miningpool.com,% donated to charity - page 2. (Read 15939 times)

Activity: 770
Merit: 502
I'm new at litecoin but not bitcoin, where else can I mine litecoins at? Is it anywhere? like slush's or deepbit?

If not, could someone link up a litecoin pool.

If not to any pools around, then litecoin is dead?
vip
Activity: 980
Merit: 1001
Sorry to see you go froggy - all the best in your future ventures Smiley

How many kH/s would a litecoin pool have to sustain over a month to be able to cover the hosting costs?

Doing some (very rough) math, it seems to me that:

a decent fully dedicated (non vps) server would run ~$100/mo.

if you're running a 1% commission, you would thus have to mine $10,000/mo worth of LTC.

at the current exchange rate, $10,000 USD/m ~= 4,000,000 LTC/m.  (or ~133,333 LTC/d)

in my (2 days ;-) of mining experience, ~ 3000kH/s roughly translates to 2600 LTC/d.  if you use that ratio, you would then have to mine at an average of 154,000kH/s to mine 133,333 LTC/d.

Thus, at the current exchange rate, with $100/mo expenses, and a 1% commission, your mining pool would need to be averaging 154,000kH/s to break even.

Extrapolating that out, even at a 5% commission, you'd still have to mine at 31,000kH/s as a pool to make $100/mo... are there any litecoin pools pulling that off?

Could someone check my math?

Seems like most of the pools are banking on a better exchange rate I guess?

Interesting math, though a Litecoin pool will run happily on a decent vps - you can get them for a few Bitcoins per month Smiley
Different pools, different setups,etc, for us it was pretty easy to split a vm off our US BTC server to run the LTC pool, extra cost involved- some time Wink

Activity: 127
Merit: 100