Pages:
Author

Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner - page 33. (Read 1239035 times)

legendary
Activity: 1284
Merit: 1001
February 15, 2011, 05:24:56 PM
dadittox: Run the script with python -u poclbm.py

edit: guess that won't work with the exe file. Try running it from a .bat file and add
set PYTHONUNBUFFERED=1
before running the program.
newbie
Activity: 23
Merit: 0
February 15, 2011, 04:52:55 PM
Would it be possible to add a log option and flush the output to log on every line? Redirecting output to a file in windows is buffered and it's very tricky to flush the output. It would be great to see the latest log entries without waiting for output buffer to fill up.
newbie
Activity: 5
Merit: 0
February 15, 2011, 04:03:06 PM
Maybe this issue touch server side?

Today i run "poclbm_py2exe_20110204" and also see this error message.
Ok, i check update for miner - found "poclbm_py2exe_20110215".
Next i download and depack to self dir. Error continue appear .... so i wrote to forum (maybe its being helpful).
sr. member
Activity: 406
Merit: 250
February 15, 2011, 03:28:40 PM
In Windows 7 x64, I got those same errors right after unzipping directly over the old stuff and then double clicking my batch file. I then went to the command shell and ran it from there and everything was fine. I closed it, went back and ran the batch file again, and everything was fine.

Don't know why it started working on its own.
newbie
Activity: 5
Merit: 0
February 15, 2011, 02:40:48 PM
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 210, in mine
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 187, in getwork
  File "httplib.pyc", line 974, in getresponse
  File "httplib.pyc", line 391, in begin
  File "httplib.pyc", line 355, in _read_status
BadStatusLine
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 210, in mine
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 187, in getwork
  File "httplib.pyc", line 974, in getresponse
  File "httplib.pyc", line 391, in begin
  File "httplib.pyc", line 355, in _read_status
BadStatusLine

Win7 x64 ATI 4870
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 100
February 15, 2011, 02:16:09 PM
Using the new version in Debian Squeeze, I get this error when the pool doesn't respond:
Unexpected error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/sensored/svn/BitcoinMiner.py", line 210, in mine
    work = self.getwork()
  File "/home/sensored/svn/BitcoinMiner.py", line 187, in getwork
    response = self.connection.getresponse()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 990, in getresponse
    response.begin()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 391, in begin
    version, status, reason = self._read_status()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 355, in _read_status
    raise BadStatusLine(line)
BadStatusLine

It does continue running, though.

+1
Code:
15/02/2011 22:13:23, 3249b4d/, accepted
15/02/2011 22:13:34, Unexpected error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 210, in mine
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 187, in getwork
  File "httplib.pyc", line 974, in getresponse
  File "httplib.pyc", line 391, in begin
  File "httplib.pyc", line 355, in _read_status
BadStatusLine
15/02/2011 22:13:34, bedda33/, accepted
win7 x64 , ati hd6870
legendary
Activity: 1284
Merit: 1001
February 15, 2011, 02:07:35 PM
Using the new version in Debian Squeeze, I get this error when the pool doesn't respond:
Unexpected error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/sensored/svn/BitcoinMiner.py", line 210, in mine
    work = self.getwork()
  File "/home/sensored/svn/BitcoinMiner.py", line 187, in getwork
    response = self.connection.getresponse()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 990, in getresponse
    response.begin()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 391, in begin
    version, status, reason = self._read_status()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 355, in _read_status
    raise BadStatusLine(line)
BadStatusLine

It does continue running, though.
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
February 15, 2011, 11:23:52 AM
Just wondering if there's any more info on these changes...

Keep-alive reuses same connection if the other party (pool) supports it. Using python standard libraries 'httplib' and 'json' makes poclbm to not depend on python-jsonrpc anymore. I was actually unaware that there is 'json' in python.

If '--verbose' is specified there are no more '\r' (carriage returns) in output. You can redirect all output to file (poclbm [params] > filename). In this mode everything is on its own line, including hash rate. You may wish to use '-r 60' to have less hash rate entries in the log. Also, every single 'difficulty = 1' candidate is logged unless actual difficulty is 1.

Version is now embedded in miner - allows user to check actual version. Pools can gather statistics about different miners and report eventual problems.

Handler methods allow someone willing to create GUI for example to receive more information from the miner.
sr. member
Activity: 302
Merit: 250
February 15, 2011, 10:36:36 AM
New version, please update.

Changes:

- using httplib + json, keep-alive
- handler methods for hash rate, difficulty=1 candidate checks, failure

Just wondering if there's any more info on these changes,
I didn't see anything related to hash rate in the -help documentation, I'm probably missing something, just wondered if theres any more info on what these changes entail? Thanks for any info
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
February 15, 2011, 09:35:27 AM
New version, please update.

Changes:

- using httplib + json, keep-alive
- optional verbose output suitable for redirection to log file
- version in code
- handler methods for hash rate, difficulty=1 candidate checks, failure


Do you know what's changed since poclbm_py2exe_20101126 so the new version doesn't works correctly anymore on slave core of 5970 in Windows ?
Current version works fine on primary core, but after finding first "accepted" share on slave core it starts flooding console with that "check hardware" error. Older, poclbm_py2exe_20101126 version works on both cores...

Yes, I'm aware of this problem. Unfortunately I'm still unable to resolve it. Any help from someone with 5970 on windows will be appreciated. The problem does not exist on Linux, but I can't figure out why it appeared on Windows only after the 20101126 release.
legendary
Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097
February 15, 2011, 08:16:45 AM
I think it's 120 times, isn't it?
I thought it was 120 times too, then Gavin said 100.  I haven't dug through that part of the source code myself.

If I have correct info, bitcoin network itself forces at least 100 confirmations, but bitcoin client wait for 120 confirmations.
hero member
Activity: 742
Merit: 500
February 15, 2011, 02:49:15 AM
Hello, m0mchil. Thanks for your miner Smiley

Do you know what's changed since poclbm_py2exe_20101126 so the new version doesn't works correctly anymore on slave core of 5970 in Windows ?
Current version works fine on primary core, but after finding first "accepted" share on slave core it starts flooding console with that "check hardware" error. Older, poclbm_py2exe_20101126 version works on both cores, but it's not as funny as latest one and i think that it uses only 85-90% of the GPU.
hero member
Activity: 726
Merit: 500
February 15, 2011, 01:02:42 AM
I received a message "accepted" a couple of hours ago. Does that mean I found a block? Nothing has appeared in my wallet, though. Unfortunately I rebooted the PC by now, so I can't remember the value associated with the message - unless it is in some log file?

You will receive the 50 BTC once the block has been confirmed 100 times.  Less than a day usually.

I think it's 120 times, isn't it?

I thought it was 120 times too, then Gavin said 100.  I haven't dug through that part of the source code myself.
lfm
full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 104
February 15, 2011, 12:26:54 AM
what's the meaning of error message "verification failed, check hardware!"?
i get it generating on my amd gpu using  m0mchil's windows miner

Downclock, your GPU is clocked too high.

and make sure your gpu fan is still working right.
sr. member
Activity: 302
Merit: 250
February 14, 2011, 09:10:57 PM
what's the meaning of error message "verification failed, check hardware!"?
i get it generating on my amd gpu using  m0mchil's windows miner

Downclock, your GPU is clocked too high.
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
February 14, 2011, 08:49:13 PM
what's the meaning of error message "verification failed, check hardware!"?
i get it generating on my amd gpu using  m0mchil's windows miner
newbie
Activity: 6
Merit: 0
February 14, 2011, 02:14:13 PM
Hiya,

So I sprung for a 2gb HD6950, it will arrive tomorrow morning Smiley. I was mining with CPU's for a while but Im not sure how to get the best out of this card. I was using Linux previously on my array of CPU miners but the host machine for this card has XP on it at the moment. Any help of getting the most out of it will be appreciated. I was looking for info on the wiki but things seem to be moving a bit fast for that.

1. I will first flash the card to a 6970, ala http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18221844&page=32
2. What hash rate should I be getting? arround 340M#'s for this card. Seems people are reporitng up to that.
3. Will need XP to flash the bios, but does linux yield better results/speed? I'm more comfortable with a command line and it makes remote access easier...
4. PC its going in has onboard video that is auto disabled when a card is in... can the card doing the hashing still be used for video. How does this work?
5. Should I pool with this card or go it solo? Whats the advantages/disadvantages?
5. Any other advice would be really appreciated! Thanks all Smiley

1. I advise you not to flash a 6970 bios. Instead, unlock the additional shaders by modding your card's bios as describe here. Some people got artifacts and fried cards because of the 6970 bios in a 6950 (probably related to the higher core and memory voltage in the 6970 bios). I don't recall anyone having that problem with a modded 6950 bios.

3. Linux seems to yield more Mhash/s per core speed than Windows 7 in my system, but in Linux I can't overclock over the limits imposed by aticonfig/AMD Overdrive, while in Windows 7 I can do so with third-party tools.

You should have posted this in its own thread…
jr. member
Activity: 37
Merit: 2
February 14, 2011, 09:31:42 AM
Hiya,

So I sprung for a 2gb HD6950, it will arrive tomorrow morning Smiley. I was mining with CPU's for a while but Im not sure how to get the best out of this card. I was using Linux previously on my array of CPU miners but the host machine for this card has XP on it at the moment. Any help of getting the most out of it will be appreciated. I was looking for info on the wiki but things seem to be moving a bit fast for that.

1. I will first flash the card to a 6970, ala http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18221844&page=32
2. What hash rate should I be getting? arround 340M#'s for this card. Seems people are reporitng up to that.
3. Will need XP to flash the bios, but does linux yield better results/speed? I'm more comfortable with a command line and it makes remote access easier...
4. PC its going in has onboard video that is auto disabled when a card is in... can the card doing the hashing still be used for video. How does this work?
5. Should I pool with this card or go it solo? Whats the advantages/disadvantages?
5. Any other advice would be really appreciated! Thanks all Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 434
Merit: 251
Every saint has a past. Every sinner has a future.
February 14, 2011, 08:10:58 AM
I received a message "accepted" a couple of hours ago. Does that mean I found a block? Nothing has appeared in my wallet, though. Unfortunately I rebooted the PC by now, so I can't remember the value associated with the message - unless it is in some log file?

You will receive the 50 BTC once the block has been confirmed 100 times.  Less than a day usually.

I think it's 120 times, isn't it?
newbie
Activity: 23
Merit: 0
February 14, 2011, 05:13:31 AM
My main question is each of the instances of poclbm is maxing out a core.  I have noticed if I max out all 4 cores with prime95, my khash/s does not increase, so it seems the miner is just wasting cpu cycles?  Is there something I can do to address this or is it a problem with the program?

Win 7 64bit
Cats 11.1a
AMD Stream 2.3
Dual 6970s

I have the same issue on a new 2x 5870 + Phenom X6 / Win 7 64bit. It eats CPU. If I set affinity to 1 core it gets loaded 100%. And the strange thing is that I have another PC. All the same latest Catalyst and Stream. It's same 5870 + but core2duo. There's no CPU load problem on that PC. Maybe it is somehow related to CPU. Like there's a problem with AMD processors and not with Intel one? Or maybe related to the number of cores?

Forgot to mention another difference. Phenomx X6 has 64-bit Win7 system and core2duo is 32-bit win7.
Pages:
Jump to: