Pages:
Author

Topic: RPC Miners (CPU/4way/CUDA/OpenCL) - page 5. (Read 548298 times)

newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
April 28, 2011, 11:48:02 PM
I'm new to all this.

I just got my first working binary for rpcminer working for CUDA on Ubuntu 10.10 after screwing around with the source for half a day.  I wanted to roughly document the steps for anyone trying to follow in my footsteps.  Many of the problems were discussed in this thread but I wanted to put them together in one place.

1.  Open up the CMakeLists.txt.  There's a group of seven options (lines 5-11 in my version of the file for me).  I set "Enable CUDA miner" and "Build RPC miner" to ON and everythign else to OFF.
2.  Ran cmake .
3.  Cleaned up some compile errors:
3A.  Added "#include " to serialize.h after the rest of the #includes
3B.  Added "using namespace boost;" just after the includes
3C.  Modified bitcoinminercuda.cu to "#define _BITCOIN_MINER_CUDA_" right above the #ifdef that checks for it.
4.  Ran make
5.  Got .cubin files by running
nvcc ../src/cuda/bitcoinminercuda.cu -gencode arch=compute_10,\"code=sm_10,compute_10\" -gencode arch=compute_11,\"code=sm_11,compute_11\" --keep -gencode arch=compute_20,\"code=sm_20,compute_20\" --keep
6.  Ran the rpcminer binary from step 4.  It will complain about not being able to run.  Take one of the three .cubin files and put it in your target directory.  You'll have to rename it to the file that rpcminer is looking for.  (in my case, I renamed bitcoinminercuda.compute_20.sm_20.cubin to bitcoinminercuda_20.cubin")
7.  Opened an account on deepbit.net and then ran
./rpcminer [email protected] -password=my_password -url=http://deepbit.net:8332/
(of course I changed user and password to whatever I registered with)

Hopefully I didn't leave anything out.
There may be better ways to solve some of those issues, but that's how I solved them and I got a working binary that does hashes using CUDA.

Good luck and happy bitmining.
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
Testing
April 28, 2011, 05:41:51 PM
Ok I have a 5970 (dual gpu) card as a secondary, GTX 460 (for games) as primary adapter

I want to mine on both GPU for 5970


rpcminer-opencl.exe -url=http://deepbit.net:8332 [email protected] -password=XXX-gpu

I have not tested it at all, how would I get this going on both GPUs for a secondary card?
hero member
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
April 28, 2011, 05:36:53 PM
OSX - I was able to compile but linking fails with undefined symbols (_cu*) in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o.
I'm only trying to compile a rpc cuda miner, so BITCOIN_ENABLE_CUDA and BITCOIN_BUILD_RPC_MINER options are on and others are off.

I tried with various options, even reoganized the linker line but no success so far. Tried with both cuda sdk 3.2 and cuda sdk 4.0rc2.

The same error occurs for me on Fedora 15 Beta 64-bit with CUDA 3.2:

Code:
error@underground ~/Desktop/rpcminer $ make rpcminer
Linking CXX executable rpcminer
CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/src/cuda/bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o: In function `CUDARunner::CUDARunner()':
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x9a): undefined reference to `cuInit'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0xb7): undefined reference to `cuDeviceGetCount'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x12f): undefined reference to `cuDeviceGet'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x171): undefined reference to `cuDeviceGet'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x19e): undefined reference to `cuDeviceComputeCapability'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x1bc): undefined reference to `cuCtxCreate_v2'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x271): undefined reference to `cuModuleLoad'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x299): undefined reference to `cuCtxDestroy'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x2c3): undefined reference to `cuModuleGetFunction'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x2f0): undefined reference to `cuModuleUnload'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x300): undefined reference to `cuCtxDestroy'
CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/src/cuda/bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o: In function `CUDARunner::~CUDARunner()':
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x3d2): undefined reference to `cuModuleUnload'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x3e2): undefined reference to `cuCtxDestroy'
CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/src/cuda/bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o: In function `CUDARunner::AllocateResources(int, int)':
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x4c7): undefined reference to `cuMemAlloc_v2'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x518): undefined reference to `cuMemAlloc_v2'
CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/src/cuda/bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o: In function `CUDARunner::DeallocateResources()':
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x5b4): undefined reference to `cuMemFree_v2'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x606): undefined reference to `cuMemFree_v2'
CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/src/cuda/bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o: In function `CUDARunner::FindBestConfiguration()':
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x74e): undefined reference to `cuMemcpyHtoD_v2'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x797): undefined reference to `cuParamSetv'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x7d4): undefined reference to `cuParamSetv'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x801): undefined reference to `cuParamSeti'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x82e): undefined reference to `cuParamSeti'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x84c): undefined reference to `cuParamSetSize'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x869): undefined reference to `cuFuncSetBlockShape'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x8a2): undefined reference to `cuLaunchGrid'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0x8ed): undefined reference to `cuMemcpyDtoH_v2'
CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/src/cuda/bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o: In function `CUDARunner::RunStep()':
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0xac0): undefined reference to `cuMemcpyHtoD_v2'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0xb15): undefined reference to `cuParamSetv'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0xb52): undefined reference to `cuParamSetv'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0xb7f): undefined reference to `cuParamSeti'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0xbac): undefined reference to `cuParamSeti'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0xbca): undefined reference to `cuParamSetSize'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0xbee): undefined reference to `cuFuncSetBlockShape'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0xc0f): undefined reference to `cuLaunchGrid'
bitcoinminercuda.cpp:(.text+0xc46): undefined reference to `cuMemcpyDtoH_v2'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[3]: *** [cmake-rpcminer/rpcminer] Error 1
make[2]: *** [cmake-rpcminer/CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/all] Error 2
make[1]: *** [cmake-rpcminer/CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/rule] Error 2
make: *** [rpcminer] Error 2

Some Google searching turned up a lot of people having similar problems compiling NVIDIA's sample code but no actual solutions.
newbie
Activity: 41
Merit: 0
April 28, 2011, 04:14:25 PM
OSX - I was able to compile but linking fails with undefined symbols (_cu*) in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o.
I'm only trying to compile a rpc cuda miner, so BITCOIN_ENABLE_CUDA and BITCOIN_BUILD_RPC_MINER options are on and others are off.

Code:
Linking CXX executable rpcminer
Undefined symbols:
  "_cuMemcpyDtoH_v2", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::RunStep()      in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::FindBestConfiguration()       in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuCtxDestroy", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::~CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::~CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::~CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuMemAlloc_v2", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::AllocateResources(int, int)in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::AllocateResources(int, int)in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuParamSeti", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::RunStep()      in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::RunStep()      in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::FindBestConfiguration()       in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::FindBestConfiguration()       in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuParamSetv", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::RunStep()      in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::RunStep()      in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::FindBestConfiguration()       in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::FindBestConfiguration()       in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuDeviceGetCount", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuCtxCreate_v2", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuInit", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuLaunchGrid", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::RunStep()      in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::FindBestConfiguration()       in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuModuleUnload", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::~CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::~CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::~CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuParamSetSize", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::RunStep()      in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::FindBestConfiguration()       in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuMemcpyHtoD_v2", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::RunStep()      in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::FindBestConfiguration()       in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuMemFree_v2", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::DeallocateResources()       in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::DeallocateResources()       in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuDeviceComputeCapability", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuDeviceGet", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuModuleGetFunction", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuFuncSetBlockShape", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::RunStep()      in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::FindBestConfiguration()       in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
  "_cuModuleLoad", referenced from:
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
      CUDARunner::CUDARunner()in bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o
ld: symbol(s) not found
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [cmake-rpcminer/rpcminer] Error 1
make[1]: *** [cmake-rpcminer/CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2

here's what the linker runs (contents of cmake-rpcminer/CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/link.txt)
Code:
/usr/bin/c++    -Wl,-search_paths_first -headerpad_max_install_names  CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/sha256.cpp.o CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/rpcminer/hex.cpp.o CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/rpcminer/httprequest.cpp.o CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/rpcminer/rpcminerclient.cpp.o CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/rpcminer/rpcminermain.cpp.o CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/rpcminer/rpcminerthreadcpu.cpp.o CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/rpcminer/rpcrequest.cpp.o CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/json/json_spirit_reader.cpp.o CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/json/json_spirit_value.cpp.o CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/json/json_spirit_writer.cpp.o CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/minercommon/base64.c.o CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/cryptopp/cpu.cpp.o CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/cryptopp/sha.cpp.o CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/rpcminer/rpcminerthreadgpu.cpp.o CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/__/cuda/bitcoinminercuda.cpp.o ./rpcminer_generated_bitcoinminercuda.cu.o  -o rpcminer  /usr/local/cuda/lib/libcudart.dylib -Wl,-rpath -Wl,/usr/local/cuda/lib /opt/local/lib/libboost_date_time-mt.a /opt/local/lib/libboost_filesystem-mt.a /opt/local/lib/libboost_program_options-mt.a /opt/local/lib/libboost_regex-mt.a /opt/local/lib/libboost_system-mt.a /opt/local/lib/libboost_thread-mt.a /usr/lib/libssl.dylib /usr/lib/libcrypto.dylib /usr/lib/libcurl.dylib -lpthread /usr/local/cuda/lib/libcudart.dylib -Wl,-rpath -Wl,/usr/local/cuda/lib /opt/local/lib/libboost_date_time-mt.a /opt/local/lib/libboost_filesystem-mt.a /opt/local/lib/libboost_program_options-mt.a /opt/local/lib/libboost_regex-mt.a /opt/local/lib/libboost_system-mt.a /opt/local/lib/libboost_thread-mt.a /usr/lib/libssl.dylib /usr/lib/libcrypto.dylib /usr/lib/libcurl.dylib -lpthread

I tried with various options, even reoganized the linker line but no success so far. Tried with both cuda sdk 3.2 and cuda sdk 4.0rc2.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
April 28, 2011, 02:54:02 PM
Hello, I've installed all the dependencies and whatnot, but get an error when trying to make. Can anyone help me out?

craig@aspire5930:~/RpcMiner/src$ make -f makefile.unix
g++ -c -O2 -Wno-invalid-offsetof -Wformat -g -D__WXDEBUG__ -D__WXGTK__ -DNOPCH -DFOURWAYSSE2 -DUSE_SSL -I"/usr/local/include/wx-2.9" -I"/usr/local/lib/wx/include/gtk2-unicode-debug-static-2.9" -DGUI -o obj/util.o util.cpp
g++ -c -O2 -Wno-invalid-offsetof -Wformat -g -D__WXDEBUG__ -D__WXGTK__ -DNOPCH -DFOURWAYSSE2 -DUSE_SSL -I"/usr/local/include/wx-2.9" -I"/usr/local/lib/wx/include/gtk2-unicode-debug-static-2.9" -DGUI -o obj/script.o script.cpp
g++ -c -O2 -Wno-invalid-offsetof -Wformat -g -D__WXDEBUG__ -D__WXGTK__ -DNOPCH -DFOURWAYSSE2 -DUSE_SSL -I"/usr/local/include/wx-2.9" -I"/usr/local/lib/wx/include/gtk2-unicode-debug-static-2.9" -DGUI -o obj/db.o db.cpp
g++ -c -O2 -Wno-invalid-offsetof -Wformat -g -D__WXDEBUG__ -D__WXGTK__ -DNOPCH -DFOURWAYSSE2 -DUSE_SSL -I"/usr/local/include/wx-2.9" -I"/usr/local/lib/wx/include/gtk2-unicode-debug-static-2.9" -DGUI -o obj/net.o net.cpp
g++ -c -O2 -Wno-invalid-offsetof -Wformat -g -D__WXDEBUG__ -D__WXGTK__ -DNOPCH -DFOURWAYSSE2 -DUSE_SSL -I"/usr/local/include/wx-2.9" -I"/usr/local/lib/wx/include/gtk2-unicode-debug-static-2.9" -DGUI -o obj/irc.o irc.cpp
g++ -c -O2 -Wno-invalid-offsetof -Wformat -g -D__WXDEBUG__ -D__WXGTK__ -DNOPCH -DFOURWAYSSE2 -DUSE_SSL -I"/usr/local/include/wx-2.9" -I"/usr/local/lib/wx/include/gtk2-unicode-debug-static-2.9" -DGUI -o obj/main.o main.cpp
g++ -c -O2 -Wno-invalid-offsetof -Wformat -g -D__WXDEBUG__ -D__WXGTK__ -DNOPCH -DFOURWAYSSE2 -DUSE_SSL -I"/usr/local/include/wx-2.9" -I"/usr/local/lib/wx/include/gtk2-unicode-debug-static-2.9" -DGUI -o obj/rpc.o rpc.cpp
g++ -c -O2 -Wno-invalid-offsetof -Wformat -g -D__WXDEBUG__ -D__WXGTK__ -DNOPCH -DFOURWAYSSE2 -DUSE_SSL -I"/usr/local/include/wx-2.9" -I"/usr/local/lib/wx/include/gtk2-unicode-debug-static-2.9" -DGUI -o obj/init.o init.cpp
g++ -c -O2 -Wno-invalid-offsetof -Wformat -g -D__WXDEBUG__ -D__WXGTK__ -DNOPCH -DFOURWAYSSE2 -DUSE_SSL -I"/usr/local/include/wx-2.9" -I"/usr/local/lib/wx/include/gtk2-unicode-debug-static-2.9" -O3 -o cryptopp/obj/sha.o cryptopp/sha.cpp
Assembler messages:
Fatal error: can't create cryptopp/obj/sha.o: Not a directory
make: *** [cryptopp/obj/sha.o] Error 1
legendary
Activity: 1855
Merit: 1016
April 27, 2011, 03:14:09 PM
edit: different question

the client reports 60Mhash/s but the site, deepbit.net, is now reporting a significantly less average hash/s

any idea for this?
Its normal. The site reports taking in to account of how much share u requested & how much u solved.....
What your client reports is the correct hash/s you get.
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
Testing
April 27, 2011, 02:22:15 PM
edit: different question

the client reports 60Mhash/s but the site, deepbit.net, is now reporting a significantly less average hash/s

any idea for this?
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
Testing
April 27, 2011, 01:58:38 PM
rpcminer-cuda.exe start -url=http://deepbit.net:8332 [email protected] -password=XXXX -gpu
Not working still
could not retrieve work from rpc server CURL return value = 22
If it was working with poclbm I guess your network settings should be OK. CURL return code is a fairly generic code that means the HTTP response was >= 400, that can include not found, internal server errors etc and I'm not sure what deepbit would return if the authentication failed for some reason.

I can see you have "start" in the command line though and don't see a mention of that in readme.txt, so that would be worth removing in case it's trying to use the first parameter by default as a URL. Also I guess it wouldn't cause a problem but -gpu shouldn't be required, according to the documentation it should select the first GPU but I didn't have to use it for that version, I guess it's implied you want to use a GPU because you're running the CUDA version.

Yeah, I removed the start flag and its working fine now lol... 60khash/s which is better than poclbm at 50kash/s Cheesy  yay

would i be better off with proportional payout or pps in mining pool?
full member
Activity: 294
Merit: 100
April 27, 2011, 08:25:22 AM
rpcminer-cuda.exe start -url=http://deepbit.net:8332 [email protected] -password=XXXX -gpu
Not working still
could not retrieve work from rpc server CURL return value = 22
If it was working with poclbm I guess your network settings should be OK. CURL return code is a fairly generic code that means the HTTP response was >= 400, that can include not found, internal server errors etc and I'm not sure what deepbit would return if the authentication failed for some reason.

I can see you have "start" in the command line though and don't see a mention of that in readme.txt, so that would be worth removing in case it's trying to use the first parameter by default as a URL. Also I guess it wouldn't cause a problem but -gpu shouldn't be required, according to the documentation it should select the first GPU but I didn't have to use it for that version, I guess it's implied you want to use a GPU because you're running the CUDA version.
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
Testing
April 27, 2011, 06:42:22 AM
So I'm trying to use this Cuda miner on my nvidia GTX 460 as I'm curious if its faster than poclbm.... however i cant get it to work.

I'm getting CURL return value = 22, couldn't retreive work from RPC server.... how do I correct this.... I'm using this parameters:

rpcminer-cuda.exe -host=http://deepbit.net -port=8332 [email protected] -pass=XXXXXXXX -gpu

currently poclbm runs at ~60 khash/s according to deepbit, the window itself though reads 48,350 khash/s... not sure for the variance but oh well

Help testing the cuda miner?

I have poclbm working with deepbit before anyone tries to suggest arbitrary "make sure your info is good". Unless I need to make a second worker?


edit1; tweaked the startup command a bit, still not working, added info
Try the following syntax, it's what I was using on deepbit fairly recently:

rpcminer-cuda.exe -url=http://deepbit.net:8332 [email protected] -password=XXXXXXXX

The deepbit speeds are an approximation over time as it doesn't know the true speeds, what poclbm was reporting will be a more accurate number.


rpcminer-cuda.exe start -url=http://deepbit.net:8332 [email protected] -password=XXXX -gpu
Not working still
could not retrieve work from rpc server CURL return value = 22

also says 'no blocks being hashed right now. this can happen if the application is still starting up, you supplied incorrect parameters, or there is a communications error connecting to the server

I dont run anti virus/firewall other than what comes with windows 7 (defender/firewall).
full member
Activity: 294
Merit: 100
April 27, 2011, 06:32:18 AM
So I'm trying to use this Cuda miner on my nvidia GTX 460 as I'm curious if its faster than poclbm.... however i cant get it to work.

I'm getting CURL return value = 22, couldn't retreive work from RPC server.... how do I correct this.... I'm using this parameters:

rpcminer-cuda.exe -host=http://deepbit.net -port=8332 [email protected] -pass=XXXXXXXX -gpu

currently poclbm runs at ~60 khash/s according to deepbit, the window itself though reads 48,350 khash/s... not sure for the variance but oh well

Help testing the cuda miner?

I have poclbm working with deepbit before anyone tries to suggest arbitrary "make sure your info is good". Unless I need to make a second worker?


edit1; tweaked the startup command a bit, still not working, added info
Try the following syntax, it's what I was using on deepbit fairly recently:

rpcminer-cuda.exe -url=http://deepbit.net:8332 [email protected] -password=XXXXXXXX

The deepbit speeds are an approximation over time as it doesn't know the true speeds, what poclbm was reporting will be a more accurate number.
member
Activity: 98
Merit: 10
Testing
April 27, 2011, 06:15:12 AM
So I'm trying to use this Cuda miner on my nvidia GTX 460 as I'm curious if its faster than poclbm.... however i cant get it to work.

I'm getting CURL return value = 22, couldn't retreive work from RPC server.... how do I correct this.... I'm using this parameters:

rpcminer-cuda.exe -host=http://deepbit.net -port=8332 [email protected] -pass=XXXXXXXX -gpu

currently poclbm runs at ~60 khash/s according to deepbit, the window itself though reads 48,350 khash/s... not sure for the variance but oh well

Help testing the cuda miner?

I have poclbm working with deepbit before anyone tries to suggest arbitrary "make sure your info is good". Unless I need to make a second worker?


edit1; tweaked the startup command a bit, still not working, added info
legendary
Activity: 1500
Merit: 1021
I advocate the Zeitgeist Movement & Venus Project.
April 23, 2011, 08:24:43 PM
Is it possible to modify the thread priority on RPC4Way to idle? It's causing difficulties with other programs trying to run at the same time while it is using all available cycles at normal priority.
newbie
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
April 22, 2011, 09:33:08 PM
When i stop the cuda miner my gpu starts to work at less than 40% Usage. (Like 450mhz). It's a 560 ti.

Currently i'm not using parameters with the cuda miner, do you any suggestion? (currently using vga at 39% fan speed and 68ºC maximum).
newbie
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
April 22, 2011, 12:17:13 PM
Ok, I did a make rpcminer, and it builds the kernel and everything fine, but fails on linking (undefined reference to `cuInit').  I have added the cuda lib directory to the ld config file and ran ldconfig as root.  I also tried setting the LD_LIBRARY_PATH with no success.  Perhaps there's a -lcuda missing somewhere, but I've never worked with CMake, so I have no idea where look.  Any ideas?

I'm facing the same problem. I manually added -lcuda to cmake-rpcminer/CMakeFiles/rpcminer.dir/link.txt but linker can not find '-lcuda'. libcuda.so is present in ldconfig -v.

Did you manage to solve it?

member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
April 20, 2011, 06:18:32 PM
I want to install this miner as a service in windows 7. Is it possible? I tried to create a service using Sc.exe (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/251192) but the service didn't started up.

I'm using it with Win7 64 bit
Win 7 is fussy about what it runs as a service
you could run it as a scheduled task at startup

Thanks. I will try. Can I make a scheduled task invisible for user?

the running miner wont be visable
you can even hide the scheduled task that starts the miner

Thanks!

I hid it using this utility http://www.ntwind.com/software/utilities/hstart.html

done that too
but in win7 it's not nessary
newbie
Activity: 33
Merit: 0
April 20, 2011, 01:53:31 PM
I want to install this miner as a service in windows 7. Is it possible? I tried to create a service using Sc.exe (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/251192) but the service didn't started up.

I'm using it with Win7 64 bit
Win 7 is fussy about what it runs as a service
you could run it as a scheduled task at startup

Thanks. I will try. Can I make a scheduled task invisible for user?

the running miner wont be visable
you can even hide the scheduled task that starts the miner

Thanks!

I hid it using this utility http://www.ntwind.com/software/utilities/hstart.html
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
April 20, 2011, 08:26:52 AM
I want to install this miner as a service in windows 7. Is it possible? I tried to create a service using Sc.exe (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/251192) but the service didn't started up.

I'm using it with Win7 64 bit
Win 7 is fussy about what it runs as a service
you could run it as a scheduled task at startup

Thanks. I will try. Can I make a scheduled task invisible for user?

the running miner wont be visable
you can even hide the scheduled task that starts the miner
newbie
Activity: 33
Merit: 0
April 20, 2011, 08:18:13 AM
I want to install this miner as a service in windows 7. Is it possible? I tried to create a service using Sc.exe (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/251192) but the service didn't started up.

I'm using it with Win7 64 bit
Win 7 is fussy about what it runs as a service
you could run it as a scheduled task at startup

Thanks. I will try. Can I make a scheduled task invisible for user?
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
April 20, 2011, 07:54:05 AM
I want to install this miner as a service in windows 7. Is it possible? I tried to create a service using Sc.exe (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/251192) but the service didn't started up.

I'm using it with Win7 64 bit
Win 7 is fussy about what it runs as a service
you could run it as a scheduled task at startup
Pages:
Jump to: