Pages:
Author

Topic: RPC Miners (CPU/4way/CUDA/OpenCL) - page 7. (Read 548298 times)

newbie
Activity: 55
Merit: 0
March 29, 2011, 10:33:35 AM
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
March 29, 2011, 10:25:33 AM
newbie
Activity: 55
Merit: 0
March 29, 2011, 09:32:32 AM
downloaded boost from here: http://www.boost.org/users/download/ and im lost again
If it helps (and it may not, I'm not a regular OSX person) Boost is in MacPorts. May make life easier, you should just be able to...
Code:
sudo port install boost

Obviously this relies on you having MacPorts installed, but I assume that that's a regular OSX install, no compilation required.

okay installing boost with macports worked. Also had to install the cuda toolkit from here: http://developer.nvidia.com/object/cuda_3_2_downloads.html#MacOS

after running cmake i get this:
Code:
Jespers-MacBook-Pro:build jepper_broge$ cmake ..
-- The C compiler identification is GNU
-- The CXX compiler identification is GNU
-- Checking whether C compiler has -isysroot
-- Checking whether C compiler has -isysroot - yes
-- Checking whether C compiler supports OSX deployment target flag
-- Checking whether C compiler supports OSX deployment target flag - yes
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc -- works
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Checking whether CXX compiler has -isysroot
-- Checking whether CXX compiler has -isysroot - yes
-- Checking whether CXX compiler supports OSX deployment target flag
-- Checking whether CXX compiler supports OSX deployment target flag - yes
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++ -- works
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
-- Boost version: 1.46.1
-- Found the following Boost libraries:
--   date_time
--   filesystem
--   program_options
--   regex
--   system
--   thread
-- Found wxWidgets: TRUE
-- Found OpenSSL: /usr/lib/libssl.dylib;/usr/lib/libcrypto.dylib
-- Found CUDA: /usr/local/cuda
-- Found CURL: /usr/lib/libcurl.dylib
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: /Users/jepper_broge/Downloads/bitcoin-remote-rpc-20110227-src/build
Jespers-MacBook-Pro:build jepper_broge$ ls
CMakeCache.txt cmake-bitcoin cmake-rpcminer
CMakeFiles cmake-bitcoind cmake_install.cmake
Makefile cmake-bitcoinr
Jespers-MacBook-Pro:build jepper_broge$

What do i do now? i though running the initial cmake would start compiling the source but just created what you see in the ls. Remember i am completely new to this so what exactly should i do from here to get some working binaries?
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
March 29, 2011, 05:07:51 AM
No file with that name in here, theres a bitcoinmineropencl.cl but i already have that in the folder

Oh yeah, you're right.  I was looking at poclbm mistakenly.  Well, for some reason, it's still not loading the .cl file.  As far as the screensaver goes, both the .scr file and the .cl file have to be in system32 (32-bit Windows) or syswow64 (64-bit Windows) in order for it to work.  As far as the standard OpenCL miner not working, I'm kind of lost there.  There might be some possible issues, though.

Are you starting it from a shortcut?  If so, make sure the "Start in" field is set to the miner directory.

Are you starting from a batch file?  If so, either the batch file has to execute from the same directory as the miner or the batch file has to manually change paths to the same directory as the miner.

The main point is, the miner doesn't go looking around your drive for the .cl file.  It just hopes that it's in the current working directory.

EDIT: The point about the batch file also applies to the command line.  If you type the full path in front of the miner executable and you're not in that directory when you type it, it won't find the .cl file.  Just to give you an idea what I mean, here's what I'm using for the CUDA miner:
Code:
cd /D E:\bitcoin-0.3.20.2\bitcoin-rpcminer-20110227-win32bin
rpcminer-cuda.exe -url=http://mining.bitcoin.cz:8332 -user=user.worker -password=password -workrefreshms=8000 -gpu=0 -gpugrid=128 -gputhreads=128
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
March 28, 2011, 08:12:37 PM

Looking elsewhere in this thread, the issue is you're not seeing 'Build program rval=0'.  Download the binary package from the first post and look for a BitcoinMiner.cl file.  This is apparently what you're missing.

EDIT: Also, puddinpop.  Is it possible to get a check in there to see if the file exists or can be loaded?

No file with that name in here, theres a bitcoinmineropencl.cl but i already have that in the folder
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
March 28, 2011, 06:55:57 PM
Can't get it to work (opencl miner), but the CPU miner works fine
Same for the screensavers
Heres what it gives me

Looking elsewhere in this thread, the issue is you're not seeing 'Build program rval=0'.  Download the binary package from the first post and look for a BitcoinMiner.cl file.  This is apparently what you're missing.

EDIT: Also, puddinpop.  Is it possible to get a check in there to see if the file exists or can be loaded?
newbie
Activity: 56
Merit: 0
March 28, 2011, 05:35:42 PM
Can't get it to work (opencl miner), but the CPU miner works fine
Same for the screensavers
Heres what it gives me
Code:
C:\mining\Screensavers>rpcminer-opencl.exe -url=http://deepbit.net:8332 -user=xxxx -password=xxxx
Client will start 1 miner threads
Work will be refreshed every 4000 ms
1 OpenCL platforms found
1 OpenCL GPU devices found on platform 0
Setting OpenCL device to first device found
Available extensions : cl_khr_global_int32_base_atomics cl_khr_global_int32_exte
nded_atomics cl_khr_local_int32_base_atomics cl_khr_local_int32_extended_atomics
 cl_khr_3d_image_writes cl_khr_byte_addressable_store cl_khr_gl_sharing cl_amd_d
evice_attribute_query cl_amd_printf cl_amd_media_ops cl_amd_popcnt cl_khr_d3d10_
sharing
Defining AMDMEDIAOPS
Create context rval=0
Target = 00000000ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
Create command queue rval=0
Creating program with source
Building program with options -D AMDMEDIAOPS
0 khash/s
0 khash/s
0 khash/s
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
March 28, 2011, 01:38:18 PM
unzip the download
noting where it unzips to

you may have to tell make where it is

or check the make to see where it wants boost and make sure it goes there


Better is follow the instruction of the last post
hero member
Activity: 644
Merit: 502
March 28, 2011, 01:36:25 PM
downloaded boost from here: http://www.boost.org/users/download/ and im lost again
If it helps (and it may not, I'm not a regular OSX person) Boost is in MacPorts. May make life easier, you should just be able to...
Code:
sudo port install boost

Obviously this relies on you having MacPorts installed, but I assume that that's a regular OSX install, no compilation required.
newbie
Activity: 55
Merit: 0
March 28, 2011, 01:25:39 PM
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
March 28, 2011, 01:13:09 PM
Hi

i got this far trying to compile on OS X 10.6.7
Code:
Jespers-MacBook-Pro:build jepper_broge$ cmake ..
-- The C compiler identification is GNU
-- The CXX compiler identification is GNU
-- Checking whether C compiler has -isysroot
-- Checking whether C compiler has -isysroot - yes
-- Checking whether C compiler supports OSX deployment target flag
-- Checking whether C compiler supports OSX deployment target flag - yes
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc -- works
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Checking whether CXX compiler has -isysroot
-- Checking whether CXX compiler has -isysroot - yes
-- Checking whether CXX compiler supports OSX deployment target flag
-- Checking whether CXX compiler supports OSX deployment target flag - yes
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++ -- works
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
CMake Error at /Applications/CMake 2.8-4.app/Contents/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindBoost.cmake:1128 (message):
  Unable to find the requested Boost libraries.

  Unable to find the Boost header files.  Please set BOOST_ROOT to the root
  directory containing Boost or BOOST_INCLUDEDIR to the directory containing
  Boost's headers.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  CMakeLists.txt:79 (FIND_PACKAGE)


-- Found wxWidgets: TRUE
-- Found OpenSSL: /usr/lib/libssl.dylib;/usr/lib/libcrypto.dylib
CMake Error at cmake-modules/FindCUDA.cmake:465 (message):
  Specify CUDA_TOOLKIT_ROOT_DIR
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  CMakeLists.txt:117 (FIND_PACKAGE)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
Jespers-MacBook-Pro:build jepper_broge$

i am a complete novice and have never compiled my own source before so it would be of great help if someone could spell it out what is going wrong and how do i fix it?

newbie
Activity: 55
Merit: 0
March 28, 2011, 12:59:54 PM
Hi

i got this far trying to compile on OS X 10.6.7
Code:
Jespers-MacBook-Pro:build jepper_broge$ cmake ..
-- The C compiler identification is GNU
-- The CXX compiler identification is GNU
-- Checking whether C compiler has -isysroot
-- Checking whether C compiler has -isysroot - yes
-- Checking whether C compiler supports OSX deployment target flag
-- Checking whether C compiler supports OSX deployment target flag - yes
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc -- works
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Checking whether CXX compiler has -isysroot
-- Checking whether CXX compiler has -isysroot - yes
-- Checking whether CXX compiler supports OSX deployment target flag
-- Checking whether CXX compiler supports OSX deployment target flag - yes
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++ -- works
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
CMake Error at /Applications/CMake 2.8-4.app/Contents/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindBoost.cmake:1128 (message):
  Unable to find the requested Boost libraries.

  Unable to find the Boost header files.  Please set BOOST_ROOT to the root
  directory containing Boost or BOOST_INCLUDEDIR to the directory containing
  Boost's headers.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  CMakeLists.txt:79 (FIND_PACKAGE)


-- Found wxWidgets: TRUE
-- Found OpenSSL: /usr/lib/libssl.dylib;/usr/lib/libcrypto.dylib
CMake Error at cmake-modules/FindCUDA.cmake:465 (message):
  Specify CUDA_TOOLKIT_ROOT_DIR
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  CMakeLists.txt:117 (FIND_PACKAGE)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
Jespers-MacBook-Pro:build jepper_broge$

i am a complete novice and have never compiled my own source before so it would be of great help if someone could spell it out what is going wrong and how do i fix it?
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
March 27, 2011, 06:21:32 PM
I'd like to see you support long pole
I use your miner because it was the only one I could get to work as a newbee
only prob I've had with it  is with fairuser and his askrate that he could not explain
... funny later it was answered here
... he couldn't understand it before I asked you
if askrate was workrefresh ... and then they changed their instructions

anyway
I support you
keep up the good work
 
newbie
Activity: 20
Merit: 0
March 27, 2011, 05:29:33 PM
Is rpc-cuda supporting long polling? If not, will be implemented?

Thanks!
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
March 14, 2011, 09:18:03 AM
is -workrefreshms=xxxx the same as askrate ?
fairuser demands an ask rate of 10 sec to use his pool but refuses to answer what he's talking about

Use the following command to connect and run on bitcoinpool.com:
Code:
rpcminer-cpu.exe -url=http://bitcoinpool.com:8334 -user=USERNAME -password=PASSWORD -workrefreshms=20000

Replace USERNAME and PASSWORD with your own credentials.

Would have been nice to just say that in your own thread
And I would not have had to bother to ask here
sr. member
Activity: 258
Merit: 250
March 14, 2011, 08:35:03 AM
is -workrefreshms=xxxx the same as askrate ?
fairuser demands an ask rate of 10 sec to use his pool but refuses to answer what he's talking about

Use the following command to connect and run on bitcoinpool.com:
Code:
rpcminer-cpu.exe -url=http://bitcoinpool.com:8334 -user=USERNAME -password=PASSWORD -workrefreshms=20000

Replace USERNAME and PASSWORD with your own credentials.
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
March 14, 2011, 08:21:45 AM
is -workrefreshms=xxxx the same as askrate ?
fairuser demands an ask rate of 10 sec to use his pool but refuses to answer what he's talking about
legendary
Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097
March 12, 2011, 09:53:51 PM
It receives work and calculates hashes, but no shares are ever reflected in the profile. How to fix this?

Depends on your hashrate, it can take a hour to find a share. It is very approximately 1 share/hour for every 1 Mhash/s in average.
newbie
Activity: 1
Merit: 0
March 12, 2011, 09:09:49 PM
Hi. Thanks for the miner. Until I update my video drivers, trying out the CPU miner, and it doesn't post work to http://mining.bitcoin.cz/

It receives work and calculates hashes, but no shares are ever reflected in the profile. How to fix this?

Running command: C:\...\bitcoin-rpcminer-20110227-win32bin\rpcminer-cpu.exe -url=http://mining.bitcoin.cz:8332/ -user=xxx.xxx -password=xxx -threads=1 -statsurl=http://mining.bitcoin.cz/stats/json/
full member
Activity: 136
Merit: 100
March 11, 2011, 03:52:28 PM
It's not a question of codecs or players. Alternate players will work if I set them to full software mode (so they don't use VMR9 or EVR). But I can't set anything like that for Youtube (no video settings in CCC make a difference, neither does disabling hardware acceleration in Flash).

Moreover, GPU-Z triggers this as well, but only on startup. Load poclbm-mod first, then gpu-z = hangs. Load gpu-z first, then poclbm-mod = runs fine. Since all gpu-z does is poll the functions of the card, that makes me think that the cause of the hang is when Stream functions + UVD functions are accessed at the same time.

Like I said, I've been plagued by the same issue back with my 5850, using vista x86. That was fixed in Catalyst 10.3. Now, on Win7 x64 and a 6950, the problem persists with catalyst 10.12 to 11.4p.
Pages:
Jump to: