Pages:
Author

Topic: SILENTARMY v5: Zcash miner, 115 sol/s on R9 Nano, 70 sol/s on GTX 1070 - page 85. (Read 209286 times)

mrb
legendary
Activity: 1512
Merit: 1027
Is the NV support being done in OpenCL or porting kernel to cuda?

sure windows support is needed, but NV should have priority, tested linux fee miner it goes 50+ on 1070 so I guess a lot more optimization is possible

It's going to be in OpenCL. It's only going to be a <200-line patch to silentarmy. Way simpler than rewriting everything in CUDA.
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 250
any body know how to set fanspeed gpu at ubuntu 16.40??
cause at sensor, speed just run max 30% with temperature 78-79C,
make throttling..
i try to modded bios, but not make change..
im appreciated for solutions...

For my 6 GPUs:

echo 150 > /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0/hwmon/hwmon1/pwm1
echo 150 > /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.0/0000:02:00.0/hwmon/hwmon2/pwm1
echo 150 > /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.1/0000:03:00.0/hwmon/hwmon3/pwm1
echo 150 > /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.2/0000:04:00.0/hwmon/hwmon4/pwm1
echo 150 > /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.4/0000:06:00.0/hwmon/hwmon5/pwm1
echo 150 > /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.5/0000:07:00.0/hwmon/hwmon6/pwm1
legendary
Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000
Is the NV support being done in OpenCL or porting kernel to cuda?

sure windows support is needed, but NV should have priority, tested linux fee miner it goes 50+ on 1070 so I guess a lot more optimization is possible

I think NV support is V4 and windows is V5 which is better . i use AMD but also want a stable version for windows i hope is fee free i will donate mine every day for week or 2 20 mins a day freely if so . to show my ty
legendary
Activity: 1899
Merit: 1024
Is the NV support being done in OpenCL or porting kernel to cuda?

sure windows support is needed, but NV should have priority, tested linux fee miner it goes 50+ on 1070 so I guess a lot more optimization is possible
mrb
legendary
Activity: 1512
Merit: 1027
@mrb

Keep getting this error with your miner:
Code:
Task exception was never retrieved
future: exception=KeyError('1.0',)>
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python3.5/asyncio/tasks.py", line 239, in _step
    result = coro.send(None)
  File "./silentarmy", line 228, in show_stats
    rate_gpus = sorted(gpus(last_sols, last_times, period_gpu))
  File "./silentarmy", line 193, in gpus
    sols[devid] = last_sols[0][devid] - last_sols[idx][devid]
KeyError: '1.0'

Get the latest github version. These errors were fixed recently: https://github.com/mbevand/silentarmy/commit/c6851571e159e9aa952c76dbeb5bca9890a51e30
legendary
Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000
I'm waiting for windows support  please don't rush i'll  suxx up paying that 2.5 % free with Claymore's ZCash that how much i would rather use windows i didn't go back to windows  from Ubuntu either to use Claymore's ZCash i would rather use windows. i switched back because i like windows more and  Claymore's ZCash just happens to be all there is that actually works well in windows till yours gets support or Genoil Miner it updated better  i had no other choice. I'm ware of Ubuntu in windows 10 , i saw some one in this post used it and got it working .
mrb
legendary
Activity: 1512
Merit: 1027

For the record, I commited nerdralph's improvement: https://github.com/mbevand/silentarmy/commit/a33a9065528599f5821c4ca02c5f63fa167e9afd
See also https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.16788712
It appears to neither improve no degrade performance on an R9 Nano. But some people report an improvement. And "sa-solver --nonces 100" reports a 15% degradation. So it's really inconclusive...
mrb
legendary
Activity: 1512
Merit: 1027
Connecting to eu1-zcash.flypool.org:3333
Stratum server sent us the first job
Mining on 5 devices
Stratum: invalid msg from server: type object 'bytes' has no attribute 'hex': {'method': 'mining.notify', 'id': 0, 'params': ['9357f5ac3b7cde47996f', '04000000', '152e2ebe2f52e46c9a88d2b9759e30c321e34891ef49aa7bafab930500000000', 'e16d1c6a08bd3b5e226906ab9cd5f62d25fc916e79b913d70968fd88b0e06e85', '0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000', '9aa21d58', '8e1e031d', True]}

Am I missing something here???

"bytes.hex" was a Python 3.5-only feature. I fixed it: https://github.com/mbevand/silentarmy/commit/506cadc21162177b06de9528bb444166fb337459 Make sure you get the latest github version of SILENTARMY.
mrb
legendary
Activity: 1512
Merit: 1027
@mrb, could you please work on some small patches to improve compatibility with our NiceHash.com stratum servers?
First of all, you should properly implement client.reconnect (https://slushpool.com/help/#!/manual/stratum-protocol)
[...]
And secondly, it would be excellent if you could add a small stratum extension, called extranonce.subscribe. Please see here for the instructions (really easy): https://www.nicehash.com/?p=software#devs

Yes I saw your 2 github issues that you filed. I will work on them eventually. I don't have much time, so I am happy to review pull requests. I have a question for you: why does 1 of your 2 servers behind equihash.eu.nicehash.com returns a 17 bytes nonce (37.58.117.214) and the other a 5 bytes nonce (5.153.50.217)? Only the latter is supported by silentarmy.
newbie
Activity: 37
Merit: 0
Ok so starting from scratch, brand new ssd it took me about 20 minutes to get a mining rig up on ubuntu 16.04 with SA3.

My findings were initially it was pretty much the same as claymore on windows. So technically slightly better as there is no fee. However, then I noticed GPUs dropping out like with Genoil miner.

I then unplugged the ubuntu hd and re-plugged in the windows ssd and that's what I'm sticking with for now.
legendary
Activity: 885
Merit: 1006
NiceHash.com
@mrb, could you please work on some small patches to improve compatibility with our NiceHash.com stratum servers?

First of all, you should properly implement client.reconnect (https://slushpool.com/help/#!/manual/stratum-protocol)

Code:
Stratum: SILENTARMY is not compatible with servers fixing the first 17 bytes of the nonce
Connecting to equihash.eu.nicehash.com:3357
Stratum server sent us the first job
Mining on 6 devices
Stratum: invalid msg from server: Unimplemented method: client.reconnect: {'method': 'client.reconnect', 'params': [], 'id': None}

And secondly, it would be excellent if you could add a small stratum extension, called extranonce.subscribe. Please see here for the instructions (really easy): https://www.nicehash.com/?p=software#devs

Thank you, and keep up the excellent work!

Best regards,
NiceHash team.
newbie
Activity: 38
Merit: 0
any body know how to set fanspeed gpu at ubuntu 16.40??
cause at sensor, speed just run max 30% with temperature 78-79C,
make throttling..
i try to modded bios, but not make change..
im appreciated for solutions...

For card 0 :

Go to /sys/class/drm/card0/device/hwmon/hwmon1
and look up the min and max values for fanspeed for your card (files pwm1_min and pwm1_max).
Say, the pwm1_max says 255 and you want to set fanspeed to ~40%

Enter these commands, either diretly in a bash shell or in a shell script.

export PTH=/sys/class/drm/card0/device/hwmon/hwmon1
cat $PTH/pwm1
sudo bash -c "echo 102 > $PTH/pwm1"
cat $PTH/pwm1

The cat command will show you the value before and after you set the speed.
Hopefully, you may hear a change in the fanspeed.

For other cards locate the corresponding files.
Cheers


Can this be done Via ssh?

as I am getting a few errors with this program.. seems to set cards 1 and 3 but not 2... so would like to set them myself

root@streetlight:~/amdgpu-pro-fans# chmod +x amdgpu-pro-fans.sh
root@streetlight:~/amdgpu-pro-fans# ./amdgpu-pro-fans.sh --speed=75-100
Checking for elivated privlidges . . .
echo: write error: Invalid argument

***************************
* Request Returned Errors *
***************************

ERROR: could not set fan speed for Card2\n

full member
Activity: 279
Merit: 104
any body know how to set fanspeed gpu at ubuntu 16.40??
cause at sensor, speed just run max 30% with temperature 78-79C,
make throttling..
i try to modded bios, but not make change..
im appreciated for solutions...

For card 0 :

Go to /sys/class/drm/card0/device/hwmon/hwmon1
and look up the min and max values for fanspeed for your card (files pwm1_min and pwm1_max).
Say, the pwm1_max says 255 and you want to set fanspeed to ~40%

Enter these commands, either diretly in a bash shell or in a shell script.

export PTH=/sys/class/drm/card0/device/hwmon/hwmon1
cat $PTH/pwm1
sudo bash -c "echo 102 > $PTH/pwm1"
cat $PTH/pwm1

The cat command will show you the value before and after you set the speed.
Hopefully, you may hear a change in the fanspeed.

For other cards locate the corresponding files.
Cheers
full member
Activity: 279
Merit: 104
Ubuntu noob here.  Can someone give instructions how to compile this?

Go back a few pages.
Greaterninja has given an excellent description.
sr. member
Activity: 291
Merit: 250
Ubuntu noob here.  Can someone give instructions how to compile this?

maybe these can help:

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.16774048
legendary
Activity: 1260
Merit: 1046
there is a chance to add cuda support to this? speed is not good on nvidia, and with opencl, you only get high cpu usage, which is not ideal

also windows support would be better, since many here use windows
The most important is the NVidia support, better with Cuda than OpeCl.
Pesonnally, I don't care about Windows support : there is many nheqmines with Windows support : no one with Cuda support in Linux.

The most important : Cuda miner/Ubuntu (Linux)
newbie
Activity: 29
Merit: 0
Ubuntu noob here.  Can someone give instructions how to compile this?
legendary
Activity: 3164
Merit: 1003
No real nvidia support. How about next upgrade, concentrate on nvidia. thx
newbie
Activity: 38
Merit: 0
Try this....

Have it working on 2 Rigs...

cant get the 3rd working tho....

https://github.com/DominiLux/amdgpu-pro-fans
Pages:
Jump to: