Pages:
Author

Topic: Taxes on ETH staking rewards - page 2. (Read 216 times)

Activity: 54
Merit: 34
April 03, 2024, 03:49:05 AM
Nevertheless, staking reward is like your income, and it is target of tax by IRS, you will only be taxed if you claim your staking rewards and already get your initial capital deposited for staking back.

Because if you only claim staking rewards but your deposit is still on an exchange, you can lose it. Like FTX exchange collapse, Terra collapse, you will not get your initial money back.

Rather than get income, you end with loss. If it is during a calendar year, your tax report will end with big loss, not positive income so I don't believe it will be taxed.

I am not a lawyer and it is my thinking only.
Activity: 1
Merit: 0
April 03, 2024, 02:44:30 AM
 It's essential to approach tax-related matters with caution and seek professional advice or consult official sources. Tax laws and reporting requirements can be complex and may vary depending on individual circumstances. However, I can provide some general insights on this topic:geometry dash

1. Coinbase Reporting Staking Income: Coinbase's decision to report all staking income, including unrealized gains, to the IRS is a significant development. This means that individuals who have participated in staking activities on the platform may have tax obligations based on the value of their staking rewards, even if they haven't sold the rewards for fiat currency.

2. Tax Implications of Staking Rewards: Traditionally, taxes are due when cryptocurrency assets are sold or disposed of, resulting in a capital gain or loss. However, the taxation of staking rewards, especially when they remain as digital assets and are not converted to fiat currency, presents a unique challenge.