Pages:
Author

Topic: Tertiary/Higher Education - page 3. (Read 4818 times)

Activity: 354
Merit: 250
May 06, 2013, 08:50:42 PM
You are given data to memorize, the state hands you a test, you regurgitate the data, and then forget it all a week later. You're expected to go to college if you want to make anything above minimum wage, then 4+ years and a mountain of debt later most people are entering into shitty jobs they shouldn't have needed a degree for in the first place.

Sounds like something a person without a college degree would say  Grin

i'm actually in my 3rd year of college right now, doing pretty well.

it doesn't take a genius to see that our education system as a whole runs counter to most of the principles we claim to instill in kids.
Activity: 532
Merit: 500
FIAT LIBERTAS RVAT CAELVM
May 01, 2013, 05:25:44 PM
I'd be careful with that one. There are a lot of philosophical beliefs that are kinda of.................

Ehh two different concepts; philosophy is the pursuit of knowledge, whereas philosophical beliefs are the fruit of philosophers--the after product.  A philosopher doesn't necessarily have to subscribe to any or even most philosophical beliefs; I'm not sure if this is possible without contradicting oneself.  With that said, someone who earned a degree in philosophy is only guaranteed to understand a variety of philosophical beliefs.  A real philosopher is not one who pursues such a degree, but one who asks questions and follows answers to the end.  On the other side of this concept, a philosopher may have knowledge of common philosophical beliefs, but is guaranteed to be equipped with their own interpretations of life, which will happen to coincide with others, as opposed to someone who is largely aware of philosophical concepts but spends more time learning that than asking their own questions.

This post is full of so much win.
legendary
Activity: 1078
Merit: 1003
May 01, 2013, 05:20:23 PM