Pages:
Author

Topic: [TEST RELEASE] Cryptonite binary for linux (NEW: Qt and Windows builds) - page 14. (Read 19296 times)

hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
ok then silly question, can I have multiple daemons connect to one central daemon and just mine to one wallet?

You have a couple of options here. One is to take the wallet.dat file from your main machine and copy it over the file on any miners. This will cause all blocks to get mined into your same accounts, but it is risky because if any miner gets compromised the attacker would have all of your keys. Other possibility is that when you first setup a miner, run dumpwallet to export all keys and then import all keys from all miners into your main setup. So a little bit of work, but no master/slave thing is really needed.

hmmmm interesting. Option A would be a lot more feasible for my situation and a simple added layer of insurance would just to have the mining wallet feed into a separate wallet on a timer. Thank you for the brain candy sir.

I have been playing with my computer time settings and now my log has a ton of these messages:
2014-07-11 05:17:10 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool: : coinbase as individual tx
and now i can't connect to server.

Where have you been hiding? Playing with something other than you system clock I presume?

the last couple of weeks have been crazy busy at work plus hot weather made my old ass very tired at the end of the day  Grin

anything exciting your way?
legendary
Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000
Crackpot Idealist
ok then silly question, can I have multiple daemons connect to one central daemon and just mine to one wallet?

You have a couple of options here. One is to take the wallet.dat file from your main machine and copy it over the file on any miners. This will cause all blocks to get mined into your same accounts, but it is risky because if any miner gets compromised the attacker would have all of your keys. Other possibility is that when you first setup a miner, run dumpwallet to export all keys and then import all keys from all miners into your main setup. So a little bit of work, but no master/slave thing is really needed.

hmmmm interesting. Option A would be a lot more feasible for my situation and a simple added layer of insurance would just to have the mining wallet feed into a separate wallet on a timer. Thank you for the brain candy sir.

I have been playing with my computer time settings and now my log has a ton of these messages:
2014-07-11 05:17:10 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool: : coinbase as individual tx
and now i can't connect to server.

Where have you been hiding? Playing with something other than you system clock I presume?
full member
Activity: 288
Merit: 105
Can I get your log? How much are you moving time around? Stuff should pretty much stop working if you ever approach 2 hours off.
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
I have been playing with my computer time settings and now my log has a ton of these messages:
2014-07-11 05:17:10 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool: : coinbase as individual tx
and now i can't connect to server.
full member
Activity: 288
Merit: 105
ok then silly question, can I have multiple daemons connect to one central daemon and just mine to one wallet?

You have a couple of options here. One is to take the wallet.dat file from your main machine and copy it over the file on any miners. This will cause all blocks to get mined into your same accounts, but it is risky because if any miner gets compromised the attacker would have all of your keys. Other possibility is that when you first setup a miner, run dumpwallet to export all keys and then import all keys from all miners into your main setup. So a little bit of work, but no master/slave thing is really needed.
legendary
Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000
Crackpot Idealist
ok then silly question, can I have multiple daemons connect to one central daemon and just mine to one wallet?
full member
Activity: 288
Merit: 105
The miner itself is not hard, I can write it, but it's not useful without a pool. Currently we don't support getblocktemplate in the daemon, which is kind of thing you need for stratum. Originally I didn't think it was possible to do getblocktemplate with cryptonite, now i'm pretty sure that was wrong. It's kind of on the list to add that capability but until somebody is looking at making a pool, it's not real high priority.

Assuming coin can support stratum then it seems there are a number of opensource options to start from. I'm not 100% on where the dragons are, some changes likely required. We can probably work with anyone who is willing and able to deal with the pool software.

One of the advantages of cryptonite's reduced footprint is that it isn't such a big deal to be running full nodes on mining machines. In a way this reduces need for pool, of course if difficulty is very high and coin value is very high, then small miners probably are looking for the profit averaging effects of pool. So maybe we can put it off for a little while. If somebody wants to build it, i'm certainly willing to help.

Another thing we can't have is the coin launching with a single pool. This is almost worse than no pool. So if anybody needs our help on pool code, it will probably have to end up having to be open source in at least some usable form.
legendary
Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000
Crackpot Idealist
how hard would it be to make a stand alone miner for launch?
full member
Activity: 288
Merit: 105
cpu mined or gpu mined?

Release will include a CPU miner inside of the daemon. Someone will probably create GPU at some point. Also, unless someone steps forward to do it, there will probably not be any mining pools at launch.
full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 100
Any updated eta?
Well at this point we hope to do a pre-announcement within 1 or 2 weeks. Then it'll be a week after the pre-announcement that we do the actual announcement and release everything. We still have to do some Windows testing and QT testing, but we're aiming for 2 or 3 weeks at this stage.
cpu mined or gpu mined?
legendary
Activity: 1536
Merit: 1000
electronic [r]evolution
Any updated eta?
Well at this point we hope to do a pre-announcement within 1 or 2 weeks. Then it'll be a week after the pre-announcement that we do the actual announcement and release everything. We still have to do some Windows testing and QT testing, but we're aiming for 2 or 3 weeks at this stage.
sr. member
Activity: 560
Merit: 250
"Trading Platform of The Future!"
Lets just say it uses multiple hashing algorithms and it doesn't include any memory-hard qualities like scrypt.

When is this going to be released? cause i havent slept yet and i need to know Cheesy
Not really sure... a month or two, maybe more, maybe less.
Any updated eta?
full member
Activity: 288
Merit: 105
@Billotronic,   
     Try ed1ab115705979424f1d35ba6afe709e  There was a bug in binary from couple days ago that would cause it to get stuck on block 33. Not sure what is up with your wallet.dat error. Maybe it's somehow an artifact of not being synced.
legendary
Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000
Crackpot Idealist
hmmm I know I am johhny come lately to this test but can't seem to get past block 32/33? (yes, I remembered the -tesnet flag! lol)

Looking at my log seems like this repeats about twice a minute or so

Code:
2014-07-09 01:27:56 BitcoinMiner:
2014-07-09 01:27:56 proof-of-work found  
  hash: 00000356467094913d5f7a837057e345141a00617ea54fef866a3a1dbbbb251f  
target: 00000507e17a9d4068797d5657d4493bc23133a1cb0b5762c9b2c02fbd184b0e
2014-07-09 01:27:56 CBlock(hash=00000356467094913d5f7a837057e345141a00617ea54fef866a3a1dbbbb251f, ver=1, hashPrevBlock=000000cf8a29e0b5a25e769b1ce78e6b223c68df257e1640a7045cc71da32e7c, hashMerkleRoot=d648b0f484de5a1d3fe3c466ff5ad61f7ba6b4c2a35e920cff82d2052a396b13, nTime=1404869275, nNonce=14453956059621548966, vtx=1)
2014-07-09 01:27:56   CTransaction(hash=c4be0060b80b1aafe79c241cc1a87df7c50fa7596341ccb8b0cb09283742dbf4, ver=1, vin.size=1, vout.size=1, nLockHeight=33)
    CTxIn(, coinbase )
    CTxOut(nValue=24309.89748219, pubKey=7706deef1bbda2b8d816abefac13325780a4ce23)
2014-07-09 01:27:56   vMerkleTree: d648b0f484de5a1d3fe3c466ff5ad61f7ba6b4c2a35e920cff82d2052a396b13
2014-07-09 01:27:56 generated 24309.89748219
2014-07-09 01:27:56 Activate 000000cf8a29e0b5a25e769b1ce78e6b223c68df257e1640a7045cc71da32e7c
2014-07-09 01:27:56 Writing file 000000cf8a29e0b5a25e769b1ce78e6b223c68df257e1640a7045cc71da32e7c
2014-07-09 01:27:56 Serialized: 128 bytes
2014-07-09 01:27:56 ProcessBlock: ACCEPTED 33
2014-07-09 01:27:56 CreateNewBlock(): total size 1000
2014-07-09 01:27:56 Mining for trie hash: 626db2cfa1628d9d35851d9a22897133f76cfa85a7be34ea437ff65cdebf59fc
2014-07-09 01:27:56 Running BitcoinMiner with 1 transactions in block (195 bytes)
2014-07-09 01:27:56 Target: 00000507e183a753731ee46247716dc0ca326edee912d48643d3899b157fb0e6

Could the issue be the client is trying to mine before its synced?

[edit] Ok, weirder still. So I changed the gen in the conf, retried, still stuck. Deleted everything, retried, still stuck. This time in the log I am seeing this:

Code:
2014-07-09 01:34:02 Misbehaving: 66.45.239.67:18253 (0 -> 10)
2014-07-09 01:34:03 Misbehaving: 66.45.239.67:18253 (10 -> 20)

and now when I try to do getinfo I am getting this:

Code:
r00t@Hoverquarters ~/Downloads $ ./cryptonited -testnet getinfo
error: {"code":-1,"message":"CDB : Error -30974, can't open database wallet.dat"}

I can still run getmininginfo but nothing is being wrote to the log and restarting doesn't change anything

Which in my mind means its now time for a whiskey break

[edit2] log::: http://pastebin.com/ami8G25s shell output::: http://pastebin.com/qbyMuGz6
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
Yeah we changed the first letter to 'c' for testnet and 'C' for main net, so old addresses fail.

Mine are
[
    "cD5BZ9VBKKGabjLvKYeJXbYQAND6h6hA4n",
    "c27RVy6rSoNQD6vuyfJyQiGWm6pjHZ2vVG",
    "cP4xcmyGkSedZahK3fQb24SUSNu9YfDWr1",
    "cKcEKXv56hdNeHKHLUYRJ49fVgPUYsMGhr"
]

Sending to yourself doesn't necessarily work. Your not allowed to create a tx with the source and destination addresses the same. You can send to a different address with money, but in case where listaddressgroupings shows all your money in 1 address, sending to that same address won't work. At least i hope it won't, because tx's with source and destination the same are actually how we encode withdrawal limit setting.

working as planned then, i can send to your address but it fails when sending to same address but I am able to send to another address I made.
full member
Activity: 288
Merit: 105
Yeah we changed the first letter to 'c' for testnet and 'C' for main net, so old addresses fail.

Mine are
[
    "cD5BZ9VBKKGabjLvKYeJXbYQAND6h6hA4n",
    "c27RVy6rSoNQD6vuyfJyQiGWm6pjHZ2vVG",
    "cP4xcmyGkSedZahK3fQb24SUSNu9YfDWr1",
    "cKcEKXv56hdNeHKHLUYRJ49fVgPUYsMGhr"
]

Sending to yourself doesn't necessarily work. Your not allowed to create a tx with the source and destination addresses the same. You can send to a different address with money, but in case where listaddressgroupings shows all your money in 1 address, sending to that same address won't work. At least i hope it won't, because tx's with source and destination the same are actually how we encode withdrawal limit setting.
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
nice work Smiley

c51wpVLw9TFJmQpRoVcTd2QUNiifffN4ft my new address

Where can we send coins to? None of the address I have work.

I am trying to send to myself but i am getting "Insufficient funds" even though I have 122524.42444559ep

I deleted my old Cryptonite dir and started with a new one for this release.
full member
Activity: 288
Merit: 105
Hey Folks,

   Sorry for the hiatus there, I needed a little bit of rest. Things are back on track, I think this testing phase may be winding up. I had to reset the testnet blockchain so we are back to ~1522 right now. This was caused by changes needed for a new withdrawal limit feature. This allows you to prove that an address can only spend XXX per block for the next 100 blocks at least. So vendors can in theory be more confident in smaller number of confirmations because even a double spend attack wouldn't really work. Anyways, that makes the coin feature complete now. Everything slated is now included and hopefully working. I really got down and hammered on all those bugs, so unless new ones crop up there shouldn't be any problems.

The startup stuff is still weird, lots of spam. You can tell if it is synced by running getinfo. If getinfo works, and headers and blocks are the same number, you are good to go. I'm currently working on the QT client, so test builds of that will be coming soon. QT will require code with a greater understanding of if it is synced/not. Those utilities should trickle down into the CLI and we can get rid of spam. After QT is out we will be releasing windows builds, so really I think this is the home stretch.

http://gpile.it/files/cryptonited MD5 4924fa31a1e3c2dfe7876ce0b5508b0d

legendary
Activity: 1536
Merit: 1000
electronic [r]evolution
Well we're back to work but it might be another few days before we have anything new and worth testing.
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
boooo!

no wait,
yea! Been out of town on a much needed vacation... now its almost kill the English day so works out well.

Good for you billo! hope you and your family had a great time Smiley

kill the English day? I thought it was kill the Aliens day?  Huh
Pages:
Jump to: