Pages:
Author

Topic: [TEST RELEASE] Cryptonite binary for linux (NEW: Qt and Windows builds) - page 16. (Read 19296 times)

hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
the first block pruning release was working great for me, i am now using the second release but i am not able to get "Ready for committal"  and in my debug.log i see lots of:
2014-06-21 14:50:48 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool: : transaction already exists
2014-06-21 14:50:50 connect() to 66.45.239.67:18253 failed after select(): Connection refused
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
Tough week truthfully but the mrs had work shit to do last night so it was just going to be a romantic evening with the computer and myself... and the recently ported Civ V for linux... So of course this shit breaks on me right from the start.

sorry to hear about your week, i will have to check out the Civ V port.
legendary
Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000
Crackpot Idealist
Tough week truthfully but the mrs had work shit to do last night so it was just going to be a romantic evening with the computer and myself... and the recently ported Civ V for linux... So of course this shit breaks on me right from the start.
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
looking to break shit tonight

mhBpjn7iknihVoktgBkBERgPo9s5rXcKnD

[edit] is the testnet down? Not getting any connections


ok, keeps crashing on me while trying to synch

Code:
2014-06-21 00:34:31 AddToWallet a3199904ac62e9490511a5b31d023ceda9dcb545ddc9cf226167159db5fe0a58  
2014-06-21 00:34:31 ERROR: CheckTransaction() : vin empty
2014-06-21 00:34:31 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool: : CheckTransaction failed
2014-06-21 00:34:31 UpdateTip()

Three crashes, each the same error

log :: http://pastebin.com/tXEBxA1F

Tough day billo?  Guess breaking this is better then kicking the dog  Wink
full member
Activity: 288
Merit: 105
looking to break shit tonight

Well you are doing a good job. I am writing code as fast as I can but can't keep it running.

edit: seems the disappearing blocks happen when a block gets orphaned. not quite sure if it's fixed but 7fdf8b6164131867ae46e227a1ba9441 is better.
legendary
Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000
Crackpot Idealist
looking to break shit tonight

mhBpjn7iknihVoktgBkBERgPo9s5rXcKnD

[edit] is the testnet down? Not getting any connections


ok, keeps crashing on me while trying to synch

Code:
2014-06-21 00:34:31 AddToWallet a3199904ac62e9490511a5b31d023ceda9dcb545ddc9cf226167159db5fe0a58  
2014-06-21 00:34:31 ERROR: CheckTransaction() : vin empty
2014-06-21 00:34:31 ERROR: AcceptToMemoryPool: : CheckTransaction failed
2014-06-21 00:34:31 UpdateTip()

Three crashes, each the same error

log :: http://pastebin.com/tXEBxA1F
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
spam accepted here" n1V6XHG5RTwDaw1KymRjxYvsFM93Jbgjq2
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
Big news here. Latest release implements block pruning according to MBC scheme. So when you sync the new client it will be retrieving all of the block headers but only the contents of last 1k blocks. This version prints a lot of spam to the console. The driving force behind leaving the spam on for now is that the sync process is kind of involved and stuff like getinfo doesn't make any sense. It's really hard to tell if anything is going on until suddenly it is online. Getinfo also won't respond for a long period of time while the code is checking the downloaded data for consistency. So the spam kind of lets you know it is still working until we come up with improved UI. You can tell it's done syncing when the last line says "Ready for committal"

Restart after killing the client is also much slower now because of increased consistency checking. Again the spam will let you know what is going on.

As usual, expect lots of bugs. Performance enhancements are coming soon.

Mrvegad I am not confident in a fix for disappearing blocks yet. This could get especially interesting since all the blocks don't even exist anymore. I'm looking into it though. Complete rewrite of some temperamental code is on the short list.

Billotronic, yes you have to start with -testnet

http://gpile.it/files/cryptonited MD5 a3398cf9f07ec28705d08081a4dab210



nice! can't wait to break try it  Grin
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
legendary
Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000
Crackpot Idealist
lol i put a sticky note on my display to remind me.
full member
Activity: 288
Merit: 105
Big news here. Latest release implements block pruning according to MBC scheme. So when you sync the new client it will be retrieving all of the block headers but only the contents of last 1k blocks. This version prints a lot of spam to the console. The driving force behind leaving the spam on for now is that the sync process is kind of involved and stuff like getinfo doesn't make any sense. It's really hard to tell if anything is going on until suddenly it is online. Getinfo also won't respond for a long period of time while the code is checking the downloaded data for consistency. So the spam kind of lets you know it is still working until we come up with improved UI. You can tell it's done syncing when the last line says "Ready for committal"

Restart after killing the client is also much slower now because of increased consistency checking. Again the spam will let you know what is going on.

As usual, expect lots of bugs. Performance enhancements are coming soon.

Mrvegad I am not confident in a fix for disappearing blocks yet. This could get especially interesting since all the blocks don't even exist anymore. I'm looking into it though. Complete rewrite of some temperamental code is on the short list.

Billotronic, yes you have to start with -testnet

http://gpile.it/files/cryptonited MD5 a3398cf9f07ec28705d08081a4dab210

legendary
Activity: 1536
Merit: 1000
electronic [r]evolution
Edit: I restarted and let it run without mining, worked. Started up mining and let it run for a bit and had no problems. Not sure what to make of it.
Well I have no idea what is causing the issue because no one else seems to be having the same problem. We have to recode a lot of the syncing code anyway when we implement blockchain trimming, if the problem is still persisting after we do that then we'll pay more attention to it, but for now we have to focus on other things.
legendary
Activity: 1484
Merit: 1026
In Cryptocoins I Trust
Congrats on the test release! I am glad you finally found some developers and made this a reality! Props to you putting up the bounty.

Block chain bloat could prove troublesome to Cryptocoins, and even more so for coins that have quicker block speeds.. those blocks will add up over time. Also more and more features are being built on top of coins, and in new coins as well, which will bloat them even more. Due to the network effect transaction rates will go up in a parabolic arc, so I'm not sure everyone understands how big of a problem block chain bloat could be in the future if Cryptocoins are widely adopted.
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
Ok so I started with a clean db,wallet let it sink up then started to mine, within minutes of mining my blockcount started going down, i wasn't sending out txs and i didn't time my computer time.


Edit: I restarted and let it run without mining, worked. Started up mining and let it run for a bit and had no problems. Not sure what to make of it.
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
Well I never claimed to be smart or not forgetful...

but you are sexy  Wink
legendary
Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000
Crackpot Idealist
Well I never claimed to be smart or not forgetful...
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
@Billotronic 

    Perhaps could it be that you are not running the daemon with -testnet again? Smiley

@Mrvegad

    Not good. Any more info, logs maybe? Current theory is that if you get a crash at the right time, a good block can be marked invalid and saved to the database. Once this happens it starts going down the chain realizing there is no path to the current tip without hitting the bad block. So mostly I think we want to fix the original crash and not so much worry about the block deleting that happens later.



oh fuck me thats embarrassing.

 Cheesy Tongue
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
https://mega.co.nz/#!UoFmURBC!5S_t0__2Pf8KjgVtYvuOB8I_9u_iN6n0WkON5NZunoQ

https://mega.co.nz/#!xxt2GJSb!0caIsYbDM5ekXhCw5_3y9vPnitAbM1EDoo_4qdR0Kf8

Don't think it has nothing to do with me playing around with my computer time?
legendary
Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000
Crackpot Idealist
@Billotronic 

    Perhaps could it be that you are not running the daemon with -testnet again? Smiley

@Mrvegad

    Not good. Any more info, logs maybe? Current theory is that if you get a crash at the right time, a good block can be marked invalid and saved to the database. Once this happens it starts going down the chain realizing there is no path to the current tip without hitting the bad block. So mostly I think we want to fix the original crash and not so much worry about the block deleting that happens later.



oh fuck me thats embarrassing.
hero member
Activity: 616
Merit: 500
@Billotronic 

    Perhaps could it be that you are not running the daemon with -testnet again? Smiley

@Mrvegad

    Not good. Any more info, logs maybe? Current theory is that if you get a crash at the right time, a good block can be marked invalid and saved to the database. Once this happens it starts going down the chain realizing there is no path to the current tip without hitting the bad block. So mostly I think we want to fix the original crash and not so much worry about the block deleting that happens later.


Hang on I will upload log
Pages:
Jump to: