Pages:
Author

Topic: the Block Discarding Attack / shellfish mining - page 3. (Read 28646 times)

Activity: 23
Merit: 0
Technically I am a newbie, so unable to post this text at a more appropriate forum, such as the technical forum. Will it be possible to transmit this thread out of the newbies forum? it was written mainly to the technical-oriented audience.
Another possibility is if someone seeing this thread will kindly agree to copy-paste it to a new opened thread on my behalf.
Activity: 23
Merit: 0
Dear community of Bitcoiners,

My name is Lear Bahack and I am an Israeli student for mathematics working lately on Bitcoin security analysis and possible constructions of pure proof-of-stake crypto-coins.

Today I had to pinch myself several times because I felt like I am in a bad dream: several months ago I thought of two less-than-50% hash-power theoretical attacks, and waited quietly until November 13th, the IEEE Security and Privacy conference submission deadline. Meanwhile another team has publicly published a simultaneously obtained research, regarding my "Block-Discarding-Attack" which they call shellfish-mining.

The authors propagated their independently obtained results in a rush, in order to make artificial panic around the world. Intentionally misleading blog post written by the authors and titled "Bitcoin is Broken", claims that a pool having 25% of the total hash power can destroy the Bitcoin system right now. Well, this is simply untrue. I can only hope the authors did so in order to promote their first-published paper and not as a way to make easy money, by exploiting the volatile exchange rate.

So there are several things need to be said:

1.   First of all, the attack is not new. Both me and the other researchers independently discovered the attack on 2013, however the idea have been tracked to a thread of this forum as early as 2010: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.30064, https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.30083.