Pages:
Author

Topic: The real disastor that could happen (forking Bitcoin)... - page 4. (Read 4840 times)

legendary
Activity: 2744
Merit: 2462
https://JetCash.com
Why should they not monitor the other chain and instead close down completely? That makes no sense businesswise.

You can't just watch as you are risking the loss of your fiat - so any sensible business is going to put up a sign like this:

"Sorry - no fiat withdrawals until the fork situation has been resolved."

I did this before I read your post. Smiley

OK, so I'm only buying Satoshis, and I'm only a small node operator, but there must be many others who are starting to think like this.
legendary
Activity: 1890
Merit: 1078
Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer
Fake bitcoin classic nodes would not be able to raise the percent of support since they aren't actual miners. At the end the amount of hashrates are mattering.

Hashers can throw their power behind a classic miner then later withdraw their hashing power.

What would be the sense of doing so? You can't send a reasonable amount of hashingpower to fake nodes just to try raising the hashrate, you would need to put real power into it. And you would only do this when you are sure that the fork wins. You can't fake hashrate like you seem to suggest.

I am not talking about "faking hashrate" I am talking about a planned attack with real hashrate.

The motivation for such an attack would be financial (i.e. spend your BTC twice or convert it to fiat twice if exchanges end up on different forks).
legendary
Why should they not monitor the other chain and instead close down completely? That makes no sense businesswise.

You can't just watch as you are risking the loss of your fiat - so any sensible business is going to put up a sign like this:

"Sorry - no fiat withdrawals until the fork situation has been resolved."
legendary
Activity: 2674
Merit: 1082
Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile