Pages:
Author

Topic: TradeFortress stole 30 of my BTC - page 2. (Read 2105 times)

Activity: 149
Merit: 100
November 07, 2013, 11:28:21 AM
i have the same problem

he wrote some stuff but i got nothing back yet, gave him another btc adresse to send the money to.
Activity: 364
Merit: 253
November 07, 2013, 11:19:32 AM
I thought people with more than 1BTC does offline wallets.
Activity: 616
Merit: 250
November 07, 2013, 11:16:20 AM
You put ALL of your funds into an online wallet that is completely seperate to the main blockchain?!? :O

I'm still a total noob to the Bitcoin world, but even I know thats incredibly risky. I was using inputs.io for collecting from free faucets only.
Still, I guess you just didn't realise the implication of this and read stuff about it being secure so fair enough, I hope you get refunded, good luck.

And you are correct in saying that he gave NO indication on the inputs website whatsoever that there had been a hack, there was nothing at all on the news/blog page about it. I only found out from going to free inputs type faucets and reading a text message on there that it had been hacked, which then lead me to check here on the bittalk forum which confirmed this. I managed to get most of the funds I had in there out in time.

You've learnt an important lesson here, do LOTS of research when shifting a large amount of funds to a new account, a painful lesson, but a good one.
Activity: 10
Merit: 0
November 07, 2013, 11:06:19 AM
ok, admittedly I'm freaking out here

But all I got from them was 10 out of my 40.

In this message: https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.3506034
he writes:
if you deposited very recently you should get 100%. It'll be handled on a case by case basis
but the response to that I got from inputs.io is "That was after the API hack".
My refund request yielded just 10. They owe me another 30.

Activity: 10
Merit: 0
November 07, 2013, 10:56:17 AM
Hello everyone,

Today I am very upset because user TradeFortress stole 30 BTC.