Pages:
Author

Topic: Users experiencing the BDM error message - page 4. (Read 5801 times)

legendary
Activity: 3738
Merit: 1360
Armory Developer
If you want to forcefully trigger the issue, you can point Armory to a copy of the blockchain it wasn't sync'ed against. Core 0.10 chains will definitely trigger it.
Instead of doing that, I decided to see what would happen if I just deleted the most recent block file (blk00238.dat) entirely.

Turns out that Armory can't repair that.

That's an interesting approach. First of all Armory is not supposed to recover from that. It expects to always start at the same or higher height than it saw on its last run. If it fails to find its highest known block, that's an acceptable condition to fail and ask for a factory reset. I don't think it should step away from that assumption at the risk of rolling back history or failing to detect newly available blocks, which are issues harder to identify.

The weird thing about your log is that you say you deleted the most recent block file, yet Armory detected 239 available block files, which deserves an investigation on its own.
legendary
Activity: 1400
Merit: 1013
If you want to forcefully trigger the issue, you can point Armory to a copy of the blockchain it wasn't sync'ed against. Core 0.10 chains will definitely trigger it.
Instead of doing that, I decided to see what would happen if I just deleted the most recent block file (blk00238.dat) entirely.

Turns out that Armory can't repair that.

Code:
Log file opened at 1425420603: redacted/.armory/armorycpplog.txt
-INFO  - 1425420605: (BlockUtils.cpp:861) blkfile dir: redacted/bitcoin/blocks
-INFO  - 1425420605: (BlockUtils.cpp:862) lmdb dir: redacted/armory
-INFO  - 1425420605: (lmdb_wrapper.cpp:478) Opening databases...
-INFO  - 1425420605: (BlockUtils.cpp:1184) Executing: doInitialSyncOnLoad
-INFO  - 1425420605: (BlockUtils.cpp:1255) Total number of blk*.dat files: 239
-INFO  - 1425420605: (BlockUtils.cpp:1256) Total blockchain bytes: 31,901,658,075
-INFO  - 1425420605: (BlockUtils.cpp:1597) Reading headers from db
-INFO  - 1425420609: (BlockUtils.cpp:1623) Found 346096 headers in db
-DEBUG - 1425420609: (Blockchain.cpp:211) Organizing chain w/ rebuild
-WARN  - 1425420611: (BlockUtils.cpp:1285) --- Fetching SSH summaries for 1345 registered addresses
-ERROR - 1425420611: (BlockUtils.cpp:639) File: redacted/bitcoin/blocks/blk00238.dat is less than 88 bytes!
-WARN  - 1425420611: (BlockUtils.cpp:235) Couldn't find top block hash in last seen blk file. Searching for it further down the chain
-ERROR - 1425420611: (BDM_mainthread.cpp:427) BDM thread failed: Block file 'redacted/bitcoin/blocks/blk00238.dat' is the wrong network! File: 00000000, expecting f9beb4d9
legendary
Activity: 3738
Merit: 1360
Armory Developer
Also have not been a been able to trigger a repair log entry.

Everything just works so far.

Also have not been a been able to trigger a repair log entry.

Everything just works so far.

As long as it works I'm happy. If you want to forcefully trigger the issue, you can point Armory to a copy of the blockchain it wasn't sync'ed against. Core 0.10 chains will definitely trigger it.
legendary
Activity: 1400
Merit: 1013
Also have not been a been able to trigger a repair log entry.

Everything just works so far.
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 504
a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub
I've been running a4561d1 since my last post. No issues, however no "repair" log entries either (nor any other unusual log entries).
legendary
Activity: 3738
Merit: 1360
Armory Developer
bump
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 504
a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub
Is it displaying the correct top block now?

Yes.
legendary
Activity: 3738
Merit: 1360
Armory Developer
The unscanned block numbers 345607 to 345717 roughly correspond with the timestamps in the log file I sent you, that's why I'm guessing it wasn't on the top block.

Edit: sorry I'm wrong, 345607 was the most recent block after initially starting Armory (in the logs I sent). The odd logging symptom didn't start until a couple of hours later, so I'm not sure how to interpret the log pasted in above.

Is it displaying the correct top block now?
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 504
a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub
This looks like a benign symptom of the same general issue. Did you make sure Armory was displaying the proper top block?

I didn't, sorry, but I would guess it wasn't. I shut down Armory just before sending out those log files. I started it back up shortly after (and the symptom did not reoccur). Here's the log from that start:

Code:
-INFO  - 1425231061: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1597) Reading headers from db
-INFO  - 1425231062: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1623) Found 345730 headers in db
-DEBUG - 1425231062: (..\Blockchain.cpp:211) Organizing chain w/ rebuild
-WARN  - 1425231063: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1285) --- Fetching SSH summaries for 417 registered addresses
-INFO  - 1425231063: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1298) Left off at file 237, offset 47797915
-INFO  - 1425231063: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1301) Reading headers and building chain...
-INFO  - 1425231063: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1302) Starting at block file 237 offset 47797915
-INFO  - 1425231063: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1304) Block height 345607
-DEBUG - 1425231063: (..\Blockchain.cpp:211) Organizing chain w/ rebuild
-INFO  - 1425231065: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1339) Looking for first unrecognized block
-INFO  - 1425231065: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1488) Loading block data... file 237 offset 47797907
-ERROR - 1425231065: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:536) Next block header found at offset 47797915
-INFO  - 1425231065: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:564) Reading raw blocks finished at file 237 offset 86249538
-INFO  - 1425231065: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1356) Wrote blocks to DB in 0.029s
-WARN  - 1425231065: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1074) Scanning from 345607 to 345717
-INFO  - 1425231065: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1450) Scanned Block range in 0.86s
-INFO  - 1425231065: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1453) Finished loading at file 237, offset 86249538
-INFO  - 1425231065: (..\BlockDataViewer.cpp:155) Enabling zero-conf tracking

The unscanned block numbers 345607 to 345717 roughly correspond with the timestamps in the log file I sent you, that's why I'm guessing it wasn't on the top block.

Edit: sorry I'm wrong, 345607 was the most recent block after initially starting Armory (in the logs I sent). The odd logging symptom didn't start until a couple of hours later, so I'm not sure how to interpret the log pasted in above.
legendary
Activity: 3738
Merit: 1360
Armory Developer
Sorry, I should have been more specific. Ticket: ARMORY00000469, I did mention your name in the ticket body.

This looks like a benign symptom of the same general issue. Did you make sure Armory was displaying the proper top block?
legendary
Activity: 3738
Merit: 1360
Armory Developer
I've no idea if it's related to this branch, but I sent you the full logs just in case.

In the support channel? Ticket #? Or did you add a link to this thread, or asked for me by name? The migration to the new ticket system left the support channel in a weird state.

Sorry, I should have been more specific. Ticket: ARMORY00000469, I did mention your name in the ticket body.

Ok great
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 504
a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub
I've no idea if it's related to this branch, but I sent you the full logs just in case.

In the support channel? Ticket #? Or did you add a link to this thread, or asked for me by name? The migration to the new ticket system left the support channel in a weird state.

Sorry, I should have been more specific. Ticket: ARMORY00000469, I did mention your name in the ticket body.
legendary
Activity: 3738
Merit: 1360
Armory Developer
I've no idea if it's related to this branch, but I sent you the full logs just in case.

In the support channel? Ticket #? Or did you add a link to this thread, or asked for me by name? The migration to the new ticket system left the support channel in a weird state.
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 504
a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub
I don't have any of the "repair" messages yet, but something odd did happen. I've no idea if it's related to this branch, but I sent you the full logs just in case. The only thing odd was the content of the armorycpplog file, there were no other symptoms.
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 504
a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub
February 28, 2015, 06:45:58 PM
#11
updated the fix some more, people running this fix please pull and build again.

Thanks, done.

You can quick search for the word "repair". If that shows up, you had the issue again, and the fix worked.

Will do (nothing yet).
legendary
Activity: 3738
Merit: 1360
Armory Developer
February 28, 2015, 05:49:13 PM
#10
updated the fix some more, people running this fix please pull and build again.
legendary
Activity: 3738
Merit: 1360
Armory Developer
February 28, 2015, 03:31:31 PM
#9
I hit the BDM error yesterday. I'm running the 0.93-bugfix branch as of this afternoon. The initial rebuild finished without issue.

I'll post back if I see any of the new log messages in armorycpplog (none so far).

You can quick search for the word "repair". If that shows up, you had the issue again, and the fix worked.
sr. member
Activity: 255
Merit: 250
Senior Developer - Armory
February 28, 2015, 03:30:54 PM
#8
I keep getting this BDM error when starting my Armory. I have to rebuild the blockchain almost every time.
Is there a solution for this? It happens not only after catching up. Last time it appeared 3 hours after previous rebuilding of my blockchain so there was no significant catching up.

Are you running 0.93 or have you built and run the version goatpig mentioned?

0.93 which I downloaded directly via Armory installer.

You need to either build the version I mentioned or wait for the next release. This was mentioned in the OP.
hero member
Activity: 672
Merit: 504
a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub
February 28, 2015, 02:53:43 PM
#7
I hit the BDM error yesterday. I'm running the 0.93-bugfix branch as of this afternoon. The initial rebuild finished without issue.

I'll post back if I see any of the new log messages in armorycpplog (none so far).
Pages:
Jump to: