Author

Topic: Vanitygen: Vanity bitcoin address generator/miner [v0.22] - page 148. (Read 1153383 times)

Activity: 48
Merit: 0
Total noob question...sorry...

Is there a reason why a pattern can not use a lower case "L"?

I want to generate pattern 1Akula but get a message about it being an invalid character. 
Activity: 576
Merit: 500
example usage:

oclvanitygen -d 0 1JohnGalt

The number after the -d switch is the GPU device #
oops, yeah that's what I mean, updated my original post. all it outputs is CPU hash, GPU hash, and delta. Shouldn't it output address and privkey just like vanitygen64.exe does?
Let me guess, you're using an ATI 7xxx card? Oclvanitygen seems to be broken with 7xxx cards, and it produces incorrect results. Workaround is to use the -S command, but your speeds will be much slower (1/4 to 1/3 of the speed).

Yeah, 7950 Sad

Finally got around to giving it a try, you are correct the -S command fixed the issue while using my 7950 and just like you said, it was about 1/3 slower. Better then nothing I guess. Thanks!
Activity: 566
Even then, I have not been able to get it to work. I get the same issue with my 5830. I'm not too worried now that I know its a "known" issue.

its fun to dump hundreds of thousands of addresses to a text file and search for cool things.
IIRC, older cards can have this issue fixed by using an older driver/SDK. 7xxx cards require newer drivers/SDK, so we don't have this option.

Yup, running 12.6 here. Explains a bit. It's my work rig, so I'm not worried about downgrading right now.
legendary
Activity: 952
Merit: 1000
Even then, I have not been able to get it to work. I get the same issue with my 5830. I'm not too worried now that I know its a "known" issue.

its fun to dump hundreds of thousands of addresses to a text file and search for cool things.
IIRC, older cards can have this issue fixed by using an older driver/SDK. 7xxx cards require newer drivers/SDK, so we don't have this option.
example usage: