Author

Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin Release - First Scientific Computing Cryptocurrency - page 143. (Read 688812 times)

sr. member
Activity: 476
Merit: 250
Anytime I use more than one thread my pps goes down.
Yep, I was absolutely seeing this. (On OS X.)

Any time using more than one thread I was seeing a pps of 0-3.
More often 0 or 1 than 2 or 3.

Running a single thread I've seen upwards of 35.

So, I'm now running a separate instance of primecoind for each core and I'm seeing 'reasonable' pps reported from each instance.

2013-07-10 16:34:27 primemeter    129136 prime/h    966899 test/h
2013-07-10 16:35:31 primemeter    124329 prime/h    970444 test/h
2013-07-10 16:36:36 primemeter    135273 prime/h   1089035 test/h
2013-07-10 16:37:40 primemeter    108500 prime/h    848492 test/h
2013-07-10 16:38:44 primemeter    114016 prime/h    900447 test/h
2013-07-10 16:39:49 primemeter    119136 prime/h    932809 test/h
2013-07-10 16:41:49 primemeter    123106 prime/h   1013342 test/h
2013-07-10 16:42:50 primemeter    128928 prime/h   1064533 test/h


-- edit

Relevant to several of the posts on the last two or three pages:

btw, I'm merely reporting this because it is trivial and it irritated the hell out of me last night. (In fact, last night I reached the conclusion that this is a pile of shit and not worth my incremental electricity cost.)

However, if I had done something massively non-trivial, like reprogrammed and reflashed some of the FPGA's sitting around here and started getting a block a minute, no, I would probably not just be tossing that out to the community as a freebie.
full member
Activity: 210
Merit: 100
I not use any kind of messenger beware of scammers
I don't get the entitlement either.

FWIW I have 5 systems mining, my original unoptimized one has found 90% of my blocks. My optimized rigs have found only a single block. At this point it is all luck based. The optimizations are not giving you a 100x increase or anything like that.

This is about as silly as saying: Everyone with a CPU faster than a dual core atom is stealing my blocks. Please someone buy me a 3930k!
hero member
Activity: 820
Merit: 1000
I can see how someone could get frustrated mining this.  luck of the draw can be a bitch.  I have 4 computers mining this, as of last night, 2500k has gotten 17 blocks, 4770k has gotten 11 blocks, 3570k has gotten 1 block, and a dual core Intel 1155 has gotten 1 block.  All are on w7 x64.
you have 30 blocks with those machines??  Shocked
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 250
I can see how someone could get frustrated mining this.  luck of the draw can be a bitch.  I have 4 computers mining this, as of last night, 2500k has gotten 17 blocks, 4770k has gotten 11 blocks, 3570k has gotten 1 block, and a dual core Intel 1155 has gotten 1 block.  All are on w7 x64.

I've been mining since launch on an i7 with Debian, found 10 blocks no optimizations and an AM3-3300 which has found 2 blocks on Windows 7x64. All in all I'm satisfied with my ~240ish, its worth nearly 2BTC at the Coins-e rates.

~Edit, someone PLEASE make a Mac-QT of this Cheesy I'll donate a few XPMs!
hero member
Activity: 770
Merit: 500
I can see how someone could get frustrated mining this.  luck of the draw can be a bitch.  I have 4 computers mining this, as of last night, 2500k has gotten 17 blocks, 4770k has gotten 11 blocks, 3570k has gotten 1 block, and a dual core Intel 1155 has gotten 1 block.  All are on w7 x64.

Made any changes to the code ?
member
Activity: 87
Merit: 10
I can see how someone could get frustrated mining this.  luck of the draw can be a bitch.  I have 4 computers mining this, as of last night, 2500k has gotten 17 blocks, 4770k has gotten 11 blocks, 3570k has gotten 1 block, and a dual core Intel 1155 has gotten 1 block.  All are on w7 x64.
legendary
Activity: 1066
Merit: 1098
People are getting upset because some people not sharing their compiled code are damaging their own reputation and the reputation of the coin. Also, it's just flat out unethical to steal blocks. 'Of course they are! This is the internetz where anything goes!' is the typical argument, however I'd like to think the crypto-community and particularly XPM miners are for the most part much better than the worst posters on the /b forums. Right now there are a lot of people proving me wrong. All you have to do is look at the statistics.

Exactly where does your entitlement to the work of others spring from?  It's not clear to me why you appear to think you are owed something.

Stop typing these inanities and start studying the code and optimize it yourself.  If you then feel obligated to the rest of humanity, please feel free to give away your efforts to anyone you choose - but please stop asking others to do what you either cannot or will not.
sr. member
Activity: 350
Merit: 250
member
Activity: 182
Merit: 10
sr. member
Activity: 350
Merit: 250
member
Activity: 182
Merit: 10
hero member
Activity: 770
Merit: 500
It seems my blocks come in waves (3 in 1 hour) and then silence for 5-6 hours and again a wave of 3. And this keeps repeating for the last 24 hours.
Could this be an issue with the connection to the Primecoin network? Anyone having the same mining experience?

Precisely the same here. My last 6 have been 2 blocks of 3 within 40-odd minutes.
I had some blocks arrive at the same time - I wondered if it had something to do with twin-primes.

+1
legendary
Activity: 1792
Merit: 1000
It seems my blocks come in waves (3 in 1 hour) and then silence for 5-6 hours and again a wave of 3. And this keeps repeating for the last 24 hours.
Could this be an issue with the connection to the Primecoin network? Anyone having the same mining experience?

Precisely the same here. My last 6 have been 2 blocks of 3 within 40-odd minutes.
I had some blocks arrive at the same time - I wondered if it had something to do with twin-primes.
sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
Code:
CSieveOfEratosthenes(unsigned int nSieveSize, unsigned int nBits, uint256 hashBlockHeader, CBigNum& bnFixedMultiplier)
{
        this->nSieveSize = nSieveSize;
        this->nBits = nBits;
        this->hashBlockHeader = hashBlockHeader;
        this->bnFixedFactor = bnFixedMultiplier * CBigNum(hashBlockHeader);
        nPrimeSeq = 0;
        vfCompositeCunningham1 = std::vector (1000000, false);
        vfCompositeCunningham2 = std::vector (1000000, false);
        vfCompositeBiTwin = std::vector (1000000, false);
        nCandidateMultiplier = 0;
    }

    // Get total number of candidates for power test
    unsigned int GetCandidateCount()
    {
        unsigned int nCandidates = 0;
        for (unsigned int nMultiplier = 0; nMultiplier < nSieveSize; nMultiplier++)
        {
            if (!vfCompositeCunningham1[nMultiplier] ||
                !vfCompositeCunningham2[nMultiplier] ||
                !vfCompositeBiTwin[nMultiplier])
                nCandidates++;
        }
        return nCandidates;


I think it's here where the code check 3 time the block.
But it's just an assumption
hero member
Activity: 802
Merit: 1003
GCVMMWH
If people spent half the time trying to improve stuff as they do begging others to just give them the fruits of their work, they would be a lot wealthier - and wiser.


sr. member
Activity: 350
Merit: 250
"Don't go in the trollbox, trollbox, trollbox"
It seems my blocks come in waves (3 in 1 hour) and then silence for 5-6 hours and again a wave of 3. And this keeps repeating for the last 24 hours.
Could this be an issue with the connection to the Primecoin network? Anyone having the same mining experience?

Precisely the same here. My last 6 have been 2 blocks of 3 within 40-odd minutes.
hero member
Activity: 820
Merit: 1000
Here's a diff/patch I made off a freash git clone with the changes mentioned and some makefile changes I used.


Thanks much, oroqen. Changes compile fine and make sense.
ughn I've tried this several times with the same bugnum error shortly after launching Sad
full member
Activity: 238
Merit: 100
Here's a diff/patch I made off a freash git clone with the changes mentioned and some makefile changes I used.


Thanks much, oroqen. Changes compile fine and make sense.

Why  +USE_UPNP:=1 ?  I thought setting this flag to 0 made it embed PNP (hence faster and more distributable to other machines).
sr. member
Activity: 401
Merit: 250
Here's a diff/patch I made off a freash git clone with the changes mentioned and some makefile changes I used.


Thanks much, oroqen. Changes compile fine and make sense.
legendary
Activity: 1652
Merit: 1016
Hi,

as the search function didn't show any matches I kindly want to ask, if someone can tell me whether IPv6 is supported by primecoin or not. I found out that it is supported by bitcoin since 0.7. Although i assume that a lot of the code has been forked from bitcoin, I would really like not only to assume, but to know if IPv6 is supported by primecoin...
"getpeerinfo" shows only IPv4 connections, but that might be due to the fact that my current internet access is IPv4 only. But that will change soon...

Kind regards

Yes if compiled with the USE_IPV6 flag.
Jump to: