Pages:
Author

Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only) - page 59. (Read 1958475 times)

hero member
Activity: 839
Merit: 507
Is there a hardware wiki where we can put this information for LTC ?

https://github.com/coblee/litecoin/wiki/Mining-hardware-comparison

Most of the information seems outdated, so new benchmarks are very welcome.
Please, always specify the miner version.
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 500
Just for the fun of it :

Intel U2500 processors ( does not even support 64 bits ! ) doing 0.93 on each thread so 1.85-1.86 khash/s in total

LOL. Running on a Dell D420 laptop with custom cooling solution. Max temps are about 70 degrees. Not bad considering on Skype before the custom mod it was 78 !

Is there a hardware wiki where we can put this information for LTC ?

Any better miner than this one of Intel CPUs ?

Thanks !
hero member
Activity: 590
Merit: 500
does 8.04 khash/s(like 2khash/s per thread) look right for an opeteron 2374HE @ 2.2ghz? just hopeing i didnt do something wrong in the compile

Being based on the K10 microarchitecture (specs), that processor should be able to do about 16 kh/s in 64-bit mode.
If you're in 32-bit mode, I'd say 8 kh/s is fine.

Thanks, I fixed that. Now to get a bunch more server up.... I hope it becomes self sustaining
hero member
Activity: 839
Merit: 507
does 8.04 khash/s(like 2khash/s per thread) look right for an opeteron 2374HE @ 2.2ghz? just hopeing i didnt do something wrong in the compile

Being based on the K10 microarchitecture (specs), that processor should be able to do about 16 kh/s in 64-bit mode.
If you're in 32-bit mode, I'd say 8 kh/s is fine.
hero member
Activity: 590
Merit: 500
does 8.04 khash/s(like 2khash/s per thread) look right for an opeteron 2374HE @ 2.2ghz? just hopeing i didnt do something wrong in the compile
full member
Activity: 225
Merit: 100
Hi pooler,

as discussed in IRC yesterday I've managed to compile your miner on a SPARC box (running Solaris 10). Actually there was only minor problem for which I created a PULL request.

Two additionals hints when using the GCC 3.4.3 (/usr/sfw/bin/gcc) shipped with Solaris:
When using this compiler you must add "-std=gnu99" to you CFLAGS otherwise cannot be included. Second the preprocessor will choke on the *.S files as it does not recognize the copyright statement as comments. Either remove lines 1-23 or comment them out explicitly ("/* ...*/").
These two issues did not occur when using a custom GCC 4.4.4 with CFLAGS="-mcpu=v9 -m64 -O3".

Btw, the 64bit binary is slightly slower then the 32bit one (0.48 vs. 0.51 KH/s per Thread on a SPARC64-VII).
Edit: Bullshit. Tested with the wrong binary. Shocked 64bit is almost at double speed (0.98 vs. 0.51 KH/s).


Code:
$~> uname -srp
SunOS 5.10 sparc

$~> psrinfo -v
[...]
Status of virtual processor 63 as of: 03/01/2012 09:57:30
  on-line since 09/04/2011 18:29:31.
  The sparcv9 processor operates at 2400 MHz,
        and has a sparcv9 floating point processor.

$~> ./minerd -q -t 16 --url http://lc.ozco.in:9332/ --userpass pontius.xx:secret
[2012-03-01 10:00:25] 16 miner threads started, using 'scrypt' algorithm.
[2012-03-01 10:00:25] Long-polling activated for http://lc.ozco.in:9332/LP
[2012-03-01 10:00:26] accepted: 1/1 (100.00%), 0.97 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2012-03-01 10:00:27] accepted: 2/2 (100.00%), 1.96 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2012-03-01 10:00:27] accepted: 3/3 (100.00%), 2.93 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2012-03-01 10:00:56] accepted: 4/4 (100.00%), 15.85 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2012-03-01 10:00:59] accepted: 5/5 (100.00%), 15.83 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2012-03-01 10:01:05] accepted: 6/6 (100.00%), 15.79 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2012-03-01 10:01:11] accepted: 7/7 (100.00%), 15.83 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2012-03-01 10:01:12] accepted: 8/8 (100.00%), 15.79 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2012-03-01 10:01:15] accepted: 9/9 (100.00%), 15.82 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2012-03-01 10:01:17] accepted: 10/10 (100.00%), 15.81 khash/s (yay!!!)
[...]
donator
Activity: 490
Merit: 500
solid improvement, gained a couple more tenths of khash/s on each machine
hero member
Activity: 686
Merit: 500
Version 2.1.4

  • ~2% speed increase for 64-bit systems (excluding K8-based CPU's, i.e. Athlon 64's and older Opterons).
  • Support for SOCKS 4/5 proxies via the new --proxy option (see README file).
  • Username and password are no longer mandatory (I'm sure p2pool users will appreciate this).
  • Support for building on Mac OS X (see README file).

The source code is, as always, available at GitHub. Binaries will be available soon available here.

Went from 18.1-18.4kHash/s to 18.9kHash/s on my Phenom ii x4 at 3 threads, good job!

Edit:

Overclocked my x4 955 to 3.8GHz and ran on 4 threads, reaching 27khash/s. Holy shit!
member
Activity: 60
Merit: 10
Just about to test it on my fx8150, (gota compile for win64 first)
Any use for the instruction sets that the fx8150 has?

(MMX, SSE 1 2 3 3S 4.1 4.2 4A, amd-v, aes, avx, xop ?

try my branch out til pooler implement it with assembler
compile with avx, please report results aswell

https://github.com/shakt1/cpuminer

you need gcc >=4.6 for best results
CFLAGS="-O3 -mavx " ./configure
member
Activity: 95
Merit: 10
Just about to test it on my fx8150, (gota compile for win64 first)
Any use for the instruction sets that the fx8150 has?

(MMX, SSE 1 2 3 3S 4.1 4.2 4A, amd-v, aes, avx, xop ?
hero member
Activity: 839
Merit: 507
Version 2.1.4

  • ~2% speed increase for 64-bit systems (excluding K8-based CPU's, i.e. Athlon 64's and older Opterons).
  • Support for SOCKS 4/5 proxies via the new --proxy option (see README file).
  • Username and password are no longer mandatory (I'm sure p2pool users will appreciate this).
  • Support for building on Mac OS X (see README file).

The source code is, as always, available at GitHub. Binaries will be available soon available here.
legendary
Activity: 1834
Merit: 1020
How do I modify the .BAT files to allow me to mine solo?

I know it's port 9332, but what should I put for the url, username, and userpass?

You should use the values of "rpcuser" and "rpcpassword" from your litecoin.conf file.
For the URL you should use the IP of the machine that is running litecoind; if you're using just one machine, the default value (http://127.0.0.1:9332/) should do.

Where's the litecoin.conf file?  Do I have to create this?  I've been pool-mining just fine.

You need to have the Litecoin client running if you want to mine solo.
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/ann-litecoin-a-lite-version-of-bitcoin-launched-47417
(coblee's post contains all the info about the litecoin.conf file.)

No luck so far...

I created the litecoin.conf file and I changed only the rpcuser and rpcpassword values.  Then, I edited one of my .BAT files and tried both my own IP address and http://127.0.0.1:9332/ as the URL, and I switched the user and password values to match the ones in the .conf file.

I tried to open the BAT file to run the miner (with Litecoin-QT open) and it says "HTTP request failed: couldn't connect to host" and "json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds."

I'm not sure what I'm missing here.  Any ideas?

Edit:  Well, I think I fixed it.  I'm actually not 100% sure how I fixed it.  I think what happened is I was editing some of the files (the .bat, the .conf) but I didn't restart Litecoin-QT after making changes to these files.  When I restarted Litecoin-QT, it allowed me to connect to the host.  Sweet Smiley  Let's see if I can repeat the process on my other computer with similar results.

Important Your config should have :
rpcpassword=
rpcuser=
rpcport=9332
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1 (if you connect only from localhost)

than use :
minerd --url http://127.0.0.1:9332 --userpass :

config should have :


Question:  Is the password really that important when mining from the local client?
YES !! with this password and rpcallowip=* anyone can make transactions with your wallet. can steal your coins.

Good to know lol.
member
Activity: 60
Merit: 10
How do I modify the .BAT files to allow me to mine solo?

I know it's port 9332, but what should I put for the url, username, and userpass?

You should use the values of "rpcuser" and "rpcpassword" from your litecoin.conf file.
For the URL you should use the IP of the machine that is running litecoind; if you're using just one machine, the default value (http://127.0.0.1:9332/) should do.

Where's the litecoin.conf file?  Do I have to create this?  I've been pool-mining just fine.

You need to have the Litecoin client running if you want to mine solo.
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/ann-litecoin-a-lite-version-of-bitcoin-launched-47417
(coblee's post contains all the info about the litecoin.conf file.)

No luck so far...

I created the litecoin.conf file and I changed only the rpcuser and rpcpassword values.  Then, I edited one of my .BAT files and tried both my own IP address and http://127.0.0.1:9332/ as the URL, and I switched the user and password values to match the ones in the .conf file.

I tried to open the BAT file to run the miner (with Litecoin-QT open) and it says "HTTP request failed: couldn't connect to host" and "json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds."

I'm not sure what I'm missing here.  Any ideas?

Edit:  Well, I think I fixed it.  I'm actually not 100% sure how I fixed it.  I think what happened is I was editing some of the files (the .bat, the .conf) but I didn't restart Litecoin-QT after making changes to these files.  When I restarted Litecoin-QT, it allowed me to connect to the host.  Sweet Smiley  Let's see if I can repeat the process on my other computer with similar results.

Important Your config should have :
rpcpassword=
rpcuser=
rpcport=9332
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1 (if you connect only from localhost)

than use :
minerd --url http://127.0.0.1:9332 --userpass :

config should have :


Question:  Is the password really that important when mining from the local client?
YES !! with this password and rpcallowip=* anyone can make transactions with your wallet. can steal your coins.
legendary
Activity: 1834
Merit: 1020
How do I modify the .BAT files to allow me to mine solo?

I know it's port 9332, but what should I put for the url, username, and userpass?

You should use the values of "rpcuser" and "rpcpassword" from your litecoin.conf file.
For the URL you should use the IP of the machine that is running litecoind; if you're using just one machine, the default value (http://127.0.0.1:9332/) should do.

Where's the litecoin.conf file?  Do I have to create this?  I've been pool-mining just fine.

You need to have the Litecoin client running if you want to mine solo.
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/ann-litecoin-a-lite-version-of-bitcoin-launched-47417
(coblee's post contains all the info about the litecoin.conf file.)

No luck so far...

I created the litecoin.conf file and I changed only the rpcuser and rpcpassword values.  Then, I edited one of my .BAT files and tried both my own IP address and http://127.0.0.1:9332/ as the URL, and I switched the user and password values to match the ones in the .conf file.

I tried to open the BAT file to run the miner (with Litecoin-QT open) and it says "HTTP request failed: couldn't connect to host" and "json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds."

I'm not sure what I'm missing here.  Any ideas?

Edit:  Well, I think I fixed it.  I'm actually not 100% sure how I fixed it.  I think what happened is I was editing some of the files (the .bat, the .conf) but I didn't restart Litecoin-QT after making changes to these files.  When I restarted Litecoin-QT, it allowed me to connect to the host.  Sweet Smiley  Let's see if I can repeat the process on my other computer with similar results.

Important Your config should have :
rpcpassword=
rpcuser=
rpcport=9332
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1 (if you connect only from localhost)

than use :
minerd --url http://127.0.0.1:9332 --userpass :

config should have :


Question:  Is the password really that important when mining from the local client?
member
Activity: 60
Merit: 10
How do I modify the .BAT files to allow me to mine solo?

I know it's port 9332, but what should I put for the url, username, and userpass?

You should use the values of "rpcuser" and "rpcpassword" from your litecoin.conf file.
For the URL you should use the IP of the machine that is running litecoind; if you're using just one machine, the default value (http://127.0.0.1:9332/) should do.

Where's the litecoin.conf file?  Do I have to create this?  I've been pool-mining just fine.

You need to have the Litecoin client running if you want to mine solo.
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/ann-litecoin-a-lite-version-of-bitcoin-launched-47417
(coblee's post contains all the info about the litecoin.conf file.)

No luck so far...

I created the litecoin.conf file and I changed only the rpcuser and rpcpassword values.  Then, I edited one of my .BAT files and tried both my own IP address and http://127.0.0.1:9332/ as the URL, and I switched the user and password values to match the ones in the .conf file.

I tried to open the BAT file to run the miner (with Litecoin-QT open) and it says "HTTP request failed: couldn't connect to host" and "json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds."

I'm not sure what I'm missing here.  Any ideas?

Edit:  Well, I think I fixed it.  I'm actually not 100% sure how I fixed it.  I think what happened is I was editing some of the files (the .bat, the .conf) but I didn't restart Litecoin-QT after making changes to these files.  When I restarted Litecoin-QT, it allowed me to connect to the host.  Sweet Smiley  Let's see if I can repeat the process on my other computer with similar results.

Important Your config should have :
rpcpassword=
rpcuser=
rpcport=9332
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1 (if you connect only from localhost)

than use :
minerd --url http://127.0.0.1:9332 --userpass :

config should have :
legendary
Activity: 1834
Merit: 1020
How do I modify the .BAT files to allow me to mine solo?

I know it's port 9332, but what should I put for the url, username, and userpass?

You should use the values of "rpcuser" and "rpcpassword" from your litecoin.conf file.
For the URL you should use the IP of the machine that is running litecoind; if you're using just one machine, the default value (http://127.0.0.1:9332/) should do.

Where's the litecoin.conf file?  Do I have to create this?  I've been pool-mining just fine.

You need to have the Litecoin client running if you want to mine solo.
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/ann-litecoin-a-lite-version-of-bitcoin-launched-47417
(coblee's post contains all the info about the litecoin.conf file.)

No luck so far...

I created the litecoin.conf file and I changed only the rpcuser and rpcpassword values.  Then, I edited one of my .BAT files and tried both my own IP address and http://127.0.0.1:9332/ as the URL, and I switched the user and password values to match the ones in the .conf file.

I tried to open the BAT file to run the miner (with Litecoin-QT open) and it says "HTTP request failed: couldn't connect to host" and "json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds."

I'm not sure what I'm missing here.  Any ideas?

Edit:  Well, I think I fixed it.  I'm actually not 100% sure how I fixed it.  I think what happened is I was editing some of the files (the .bat, the .conf) but I didn't restart Litecoin-QT after making changes to these files.  When I restarted Litecoin-QT, it allowed me to connect to the host.  Sweet Smiley  Let's see if I can repeat the process on my other computer with similar results.
  
Edit 2:  55 k/hash chuggin' away   Grin  I hope I have the same luck flying solo as I did in the pool.  I've only pooled in about 50 LTC but I solved 4 blocks already.
full member
Activity: 147
Merit: 100
Do I see any information in the daemon or gui client regarding my connected miners when solo mining? I guess there is nothing to be seen but the increasing balance of LTC if I am lucky and my miners find a block right? What does this "unconfirmed" mean anyway? Smiley I have some LTC in a pool and did not cash out yet because I am thinking about some good wallet security practice...
hero member
Activity: 839
Merit: 507
How do I modify the .BAT files to allow me to mine solo?

I know it's port 9332, but what should I put for the url, username, and userpass?

You should use the values of "rpcuser" and "rpcpassword" from your litecoin.conf file.
For the URL you should use the IP of the machine that is running litecoind; if you're using just one machine, the default value (http://127.0.0.1:9332/) should do.

Where's the litecoin.conf file?  Do I have to create this?  I've been pool-mining just fine.

You need to have the Litecoin client running if you want to mine solo.
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/ann-litecoin-a-lite-version-of-bitcoin-launched-47417
(coblee's post contains all the info about the litecoin.conf file.)
legendary
Activity: 1834
Merit: 1020
How do I modify the .BAT files to allow me to mine solo?

I know it's port 9332, but what should I put for the url, username, and userpass?

You should use the values of "rpcuser" and "rpcpassword" from your litecoin.conf file.
For the URL you should use the IP of the machine that is running litecoind; if you're using just one machine, the default value (http://127.0.0.1:9332/) should do.

Where's the litecoin.conf file?  Do I have to create this?  I've been pool-mining just fine.
Pages:
Jump to: