Pages:
Author

Topic: [ANN] Bitcoin Cash - Pro on-chain scaling - Cheaper fees - page 11. (Read 703509 times)

Activity: 315
Merit: 120
Bitcoin Cash was cool for a minute. But it became less cool when they kept hard-forking. Anybody else feel this way?   Undecided
legendary
Activity: 2982
Merit: 7986
How much is maximum supply of bcha?

AFAIK, its the exact same as it is for Bitcoin, which is very slightly less than 21 million. I've been watching BCHA and can't help but wonder if its going to grow into its own thing at some point. Who knows what the fair price for it is as there's barely any exchange or merchant support.
Activity: 374
Merit: 101
I am a student
How much is maximum supply of bcha?
Activity: 1834
Merit: 639
*Brute force will solve any Bitcoin problem*
...snip...

I can see why you felt the importance of pointing this out.

Now that these forks/counterfeits/competing versions are out there, isn't the 'ugly' scenario Satoshi referred to,  virtually inevitable in the long-run ?

The problem (probably unforseen) has always been that a fork effectively creates a large number of holders with a significant stake in supporting both chains, in the same way that airdrops kick start projects. I'm not sure how that can be democratically mitigated.

It is inevitable in the long-run and cannot be democratically mitigated. That is exactly what satoshi meant with the last two sentences in that quote.

Again, this is why all Bitcoin forks are counterfeit derivatives of original bitcoin (BTC).

- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Derivative_(finance)

Excerpt quote; "In finance, a derivative is a contract that derives its value from the performance of an underlying entity ..."

One cannot simply split from the underlying asset and expect the value to gain above the underlying and majority consensus.

The 'fallout' in this regard will always be worse for the split chain. Hence, 'ugly'.