Pages:
Author

Topic: [ANN] YACMiner - AMD GPU miner for Scrypt-Chacha, N-Scrypt, and Scrypt coins - page 7. (Read 47379 times)

hero member
Activity: 693
Merit: 500

I'm surprised that 64-bit rotate works as well as it does; perhaps it's newer drivers. The chi step in Keccak is slow, though, and while this doesn't matter for performance, what in the flying fuck is this?

Code:
uint Nfactor = 0;
uint tmp = N >> 1;

/* Determine the Nfactor */
while ((tmp & 1) == 0) {
tmp >>= 1;
Nfactor++;
}

That shit just bugs me. It's far simpler to do this:

Code:
const uint Nfactor = 31 - clz((N >> 1) & -(N >> 1));

I'm guessing because looping and incrementing is easier to grok than bitwise comparison?  Heck, looking at what you've written, I had to do the manual look-and-see to even know that it comes up with the same answer, but then again, C is not my native language.  Today I learned the CLZ function... wouldn't a simpler formula:

Code:
const uint Nfactor = 31 - clz(N >> 1);

or even

Code:
const uint Nfactor = 30 - clz(N);

give the same result as flipping the number and bitwise-anding it?
member
Activity: 81
Merit: 1002
It was only the wind.
I'm working on improving the code.

Because
Anyone who wants to do it has the ability - the code is all on github.  I no longer have the time or ambition to work on it.
, you could post where we can follow your work. sgminer v5 thread? Any tests with R7 240 4GB?  Smiley

I don't have an R7 240 - I'm just working on making it faster.
hero member
Activity: 693
Merit: 500
Works on 14.9 now; not sure if it did before, though.

Are you sure you're posting in the right thread?  Are you saying you've updated YACMiner, or are you just trolling?

I've done some work on the OpenCL, but nothing on the host code.

Ahhh.  Other then the chacha-flexible branch of yacminer, I haven't really touched it since Mikaelh did some optimizing, and only then it was just updates so that lookup-gap wasn't compiled into the binary and could be changed in the host during runtime.
hero member
Activity: 693
Merit: 500
I'm working on improving the code.

Because
Anyone who wants to do it has the ability - the code is all on github.  I no longer have the time or ambition to work on it.
, you could post where we can follow your work. sgminer v5 thread? Any tests with R7 240 4GB?  Smiley

The link to the github for this software is in my signature:

https://github.com/Thirtybird/YACMiner
hero member
Activity: 693
Merit: 500
Works on 14.9 now; not sure if it did before, though.

Are you sure you're posting in the right thread?  Are you saying you've updated YACMiner, or are you just trolling?
member
Activity: 81
Merit: 1002
It was only the wind.
is scrypt jane(scrypt chacha) nfactor is 12 ?how much the scrypt jane(scrypt chacha) nfactor?please excuse me my english is bad.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Aj3vcsuY-JFNdC1ITWJrSG9VeWp6QXppbVgxcm0tbGc&usp=drive_web#gid=0




Oh, dear. That keccak, too... needs help.

EDIT: On second thought - it's not so bad. The chacha helped, but not as much as I thought. Looks like most improvements are non-obvious.

 Huh

can you explain

I'm working on improving the code.
hero member
Activity: 644
Merit: 500
I'm working on improving the code.

Because
Anyone who wants to do it has the ability - the code is all on github.  I no longer have the time or ambition to work on it.
, you could post where we can follow your work. sgminer v5 thread? Any tests with R7 240 4GB?  Smiley

Don't get your hopes up yet Tongue
hero member
Activity: 509
Merit: 500
Can't upload avatar
I'm working on improving the code.

Because
Anyone who wants to do it has the ability - the code is all on github.  I no longer have the time or ambition to work on it.
, you could post where we can follow your work. sgminer v5 thread? Any tests with R7 240 4GB?  Smiley
member
Activity: 81
Merit: 1002
It was only the wind.
Oh, dear. That keccak, too... needs help.

EDIT: On second thought - it's not so bad. The chacha helped, but not as much as I thought. Looks like most improvements are non-obvious.
hero member
Activity: 509
Merit: 500
Can't upload avatar
is scrypt jane(scrypt chacha) nfactor is 12 ?how much the scrypt jane(scrypt chacha) nfactor?please excuse me my english is bad.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Aj3vcsuY-JFNdC1ITWJrSG9VeWp6QXppbVgxcm0tbGc&usp=drive_web#gid=0




Oh, dear. That keccak, too... needs help.

EDIT: On second thought - it's not so bad. The chacha helped, but not as much as I thought. Looks like most improvements are non-obvious.

 Huh

can you explain
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
is scrypt jane(scrypt chacha) nfactor is 12 ?how much the scrypt jane(scrypt chacha) nfactor?please excuse me my english is bad.
member
Activity: 81
Merit: 1002
It was only the wind.
Please,update YACminer for driver 14

You should also ask for a speed increase, lol. Dat chacha...
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
what is scrypt-jane(scrypt-chacha) nfactor?
hero member
Activity: 693
Merit: 500
Please,update YACminer for driver 14

Anyone who wants to do it has the ability - the code is all on github.  I no longer have the time or ambition to work on it.
full member
Activity: 236
Merit: 100
Please,update YACminer for driver 14
hero member
Activity: 693
Merit: 500
okay, I overlooked an item on your config

./yacminer --scrypt-chacha --worksize 256 --lookup-gap 2 -g 1 -R 1792 --thread-concurrency 14080 --buffer-size 1664 -o  stratum+tcp://yac.m-s-t.org:3333 -u RiseOfTH.1 -p th --nfmin 4 --nfmax 30 --starttime 1367991200

--lookup-gap of 2 is WAY too low.  with that buffer size you need a LG of 8 and a -R of 1664 to avoid HW errors at NF=15

these coins require way more memory than you're trying to give it, so you have to go big on the LG. 
newbie
Activity: 33
Merit: 0
Thanks for reply Smiley

I have tried with 13.12 with same problem.

But I am able to mine X11 coins like DarkCoin.

Also, I have tried other Scrypt-jane coins like CACHEcoin but having same problem.
hero member
Activity: 693
Merit: 500
Uninstall 14.10 drivers and install 13.12.  Noone has had any luck with any 14.X drivers
newbie
Activity: 33
Merit: 0
Hi all,

I am running yacminer from https://github.com/Thirtybird/YACMiner

My GPU is Gigabyte HD 7950 and driver is 14.10

Looks like I am not getting any shares even after couple of hours running. Any help HuhHuhHuhHuhHuh

./yacminer --scrypt-chacha --worksize 256 --lookup-gap 2 -g 1 -R 1792 --thread-concurrency 14080 --buffer-size 1664 -o  stratum+tcp://yac.m-s-t.org:3333 -u RiseOfTH.1 -p th --nfmin 4 --nfmax 30 --starttime 1367991200

5s):1.861K (avg):1.891Kh/s | A:0  R:0  HW:5  U:0.00/m  WU:1.41/m  FB:0
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 5  LW: 35  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to yac.m-s-t.org diff 2 NF 15 with stratum as user RiseOfTH.1
 Block: 47a3fbd9d4a1fe97...  Diff:248  Started: [03:31:33]  Best share: 4

 [P]ool management [G]PU management ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  62.0C 2851RPM | 1.900K/1.916Kh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:5 U:0.00/m T:1 rI:1792

 [2014-07-24 03:29:05] Started yacminer 3.5.0-yac2
 [2014-07-24 03:29:05] Probing for an alive pool
 [2014-07-24 03:29:09] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 2
 [2014-07-24 03:29:10] GPU 0: bufsize for thread @ 1664MB based on buffer-size
 [2014-07-24 03:29:10] Network diff set to 248
 [2014-07-24 03:30:11] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2014-07-24 03:30:31] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2014-07-24 03:31:06] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2014-07-24 03:31:33] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block


sr. member
Activity: 506
Merit: 252
is there any other n-factor miner which works with 14.x ?
Pages:
Jump to: