Pages:
Author

Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Abe 0.7: Open Source Block Explorer Knockoff - page 3. (Read 220757 times)

legendary
Activity: 2058
Merit: 1015
It is more or less done. What's left was just a few string for the pages served to the user and invert the sign of the minted value.
Bitcore v0.1.18 has this issue:
{ '0': 'livenet', '1': '1 of 1 peers connected' }
{ '0': 'livenet', '1': '1 of 1 peers connected' }
{ '0': 'livenet', '1': '1 of 1 peers connected' }
FATAL ERROR: CALL_AND_RETRY_2 Allocation failed - process out of memory
Aborted

npm ERR! weird error 134
npm WARN This failure might be due to the use of legacy binary "node"
npm WARN For further explanations, please read
/usr/share/doc/nodejs/README.Debian

npm ERR! not ok code

But we shouldn't discuss this in this in John's thread. It's completely off-topic. I already raised this on Github and labs.bitpay.com
I stick with ABE: It serves its purpose well and is quite elegant in its use Smiley And if you don't like the look & feel it has, you can immitate Insight's. I believe someone already did this by the way, using bootstrap.


That sounds like you ran out of RAM, is this being ran on a small vps?
sr. member
Activity: 411
Merit: 250
It is more or less done. What's left was just a few string for the pages served to the user and invert the sign of the minted value.
Bitcore v0.1.18 has this issue:
{ '0': 'livenet', '1': '1 of 1 peers connected' }
{ '0': 'livenet', '1': '1 of 1 peers connected' }
{ '0': 'livenet', '1': '1 of 1 peers connected' }
FATAL ERROR: CALL_AND_RETRY_2 Allocation failed - process out of memory
Aborted

npm ERR! weird error 134
npm WARN This failure might be due to the use of legacy binary "node"
npm WARN For further explanations, please read
/usr/share/doc/nodejs/README.Debian

npm ERR! not ok code

But we shouldn't discuss this in this in John's thread. It's completely off-topic. I already raised this on Github and labs.bitpay.com
I stick with ABE: It serves its purpose well and is quite elegant in its use Smiley And if you don't like the look & feel it has, you can immitate Insight's. I believe someone already did this by the way, using bootstrap.
hero member
Activity: 750
Merit: 500
No disrespect to altcoins but are you saying that insight is pretty *stable* for bitcoin? Or do we have similar issues with bitcoin as well?
I think it's okay to state that Insight is stable for Bitcoin and safe to use as it's intended for Bitcoin in the first place and Bitpay's business after all. Altcoin support is basically a bunch of hacks that work for some and doesn't for others. POS is basically not supported at all. That being said, they are moving from Bitcore to Bitnode for the fundamentals of their products. I didn't have a look at it, but the way bitcore has evolved over time, altcoins might be a definite no-go with this explorer.
The issue I have is probably specific to the version I use. If I take a more recent version in my case, it's back from scratch and the success rate might just be as miserable.

Yes POS isn't included but its not on bitpay to make sure it is and as far as other alts go it really isn't all that hard... https://github.com/bitpay/bitcore/blob/master/lib/networks.js#L115 or you could clone the repos from digibyte and follow along with the commits we have pushed https://github.com/digibyte/insight You will need to make changes to the 3 main repos (URL's can be found in package.json) Insight, Insight-api and bitcore.

Also not sure what you mean about them switching to 'bitnodes' as a large majority of bitpay's projects are based around bitcore.

All things being equal Insight is probably about as hard to setup for a new coin as Abe is but Abe has a nicer API in my opinion.

If you are looking for an explorer thats relatively easy to setup and supports a vast amount of coins then check out https://github.com/iquidus/explorer It grabs all the required transactions via RPC so its slower to sync than Insight/Abe and you need to make sure txindex=1 is in your coins conf.

Cheers.

sr. member
Activity: 411
Merit: 250
No disrespect to altcoins but are you saying that insight is pretty *stable* for bitcoin? Or do we have similar issues with bitcoin as well?
I think it's okay to state that Insight is stable for Bitcoin and safe to use as it's intended for Bitcoin in the first place and Bitpay's business after all. Altcoin support is basically a bunch of hacks that work for some and doesn't for others. POS is basically not supported at all. That being said, they are moving from Bitcore to Bitnode for the fundamentals of their products. I didn't have a look at it, but the way bitcore has evolved over time, altcoins might be a definite no-go with this explorer.
The issue I have is probably specific to the version I use. If I take a more recent version in my case, it's back from scratch and the success rate might just be as miserable.
legendary
Activity: 1001
Merit: 1003
Ufff, people still fight with getting old Abe to work?

Why not use something simple to install like Insight or RPC Ace?

Insight is quite a challenging or rather problematic block explorer to set up.

In the the newer versions of bitcore it's even more unclear where to go to re-configure it to match your coin's properties if you already managed to change it from SHA to whatever algo your coin uses.

Those using older insight/insight-api/bitcore versions which were easier to configure, will notice that Insight runs no longer than 15 minutes before losing its connections to the insight api/bitcore due to a memory leak, stalling the Node process and ultimately clogging up the whole server if not restarted right after the 'crash'. I guess it's doable with enough resources, time and effort. The Reddcoin and Startcoin team managed to get it done. Startcoin crowdfunded the conversion to X11 POW for START on Startjoin to get a pro do it for them. I don't know about Reddcoin's team though.

Furthermore, Bitpay ignores every single "issue" on Github or question asked on their Labs forum if you even dare to include the word altcoin or a subject that is something else than Bitcoin concerning their products. I'm waiting for over a month now concerning this memory leak. They don't even take 5 seconds to tell you to fuck off with your altcoin. Nothing. I find this quite disrespectful. You are free to choose not to support users who use your product in a different way than intended, but at least have the decency to write a statement about it and put it on the website or the fine print at the bottom: "We do not support altcoins". Is that too difficult?

Until they embrace altcoins or that a skilled developer decides to build a universal block explorer, Abe is basically the only accessible block explorer we have.


No disrespect to altcoins but are you saying that insight is pretty *stable* for bitcoin? Or do we have similar issues with bitcoin as well?
full member
Activity: 203
Merit: 100
Ufff, people still fight with getting old Abe to work?

Why not use something simple to install like Insight or RPC Ace?

Insight is quite a challenging or rather problematic block explorer to set up.

In the the newer versions of bitcore it's even more unclear where to go to re-configure it to match your coin's properties if you already managed to change it from SHA to whatever algo your coin uses.

Those using older insight/insight-api/bitcore versions which were easier to configure, will notice that Insight runs no longer than 15 minutes before losing its connections to the insight api/bitcore due to a memory leak, stalling the Node process and ultimately clogging up the whole server if not restarted right after the 'crash'. I guess it's doable with enough resources, time and effort. The Reddcoin and Startcoin team managed to get it done. Startcoin crowdfunded the conversion to X11 POW for START on Startjoin to get a pro do it for them. I don't know about Reddcoin's team though.

Furthermore, Bitpay ignores every single "issue" on Github or question asked on their Labs forum if you even dare to include the word altcoin or a subject that is something else than Bitcoin concerning their products. I'm waiting for over a month now concerning this memory leak. They don't even take 5 seconds to tell you to fuck off with your altcoin. Nothing. I find this quite disrespectful. You are free to choose not to support users who use your product in a different way than intended, but at least have the decency to write a statement about it and put it on the website or the fine print at the bottom: "We do not support altcoins". Is that too difficult?

Until they embrace altcoins or that a skilled developer decides to build a universal block explorer, Abe is basically the only accessible block explorer we have.


RPC Ace is universal and doesnt care for coin algorithm. Takes 1 minute to setup. But yeah it's not "advanced" explorer in the way Abe is.
newbie
Activity: 3
Merit: 0
Just wanted to let everyone know that as promised I posted a fork on Github: https://github.com/alferz/worldcoin-abe - this version simplifies things a bit to display just one chain - there is no /chains screen and calls to "/" return the screen normally presented by /chain/coin. Also with this version the API pages under /q do not need a /chain/coin prefix. Note this version is specific to Worldcoin but could just as easily be modified for other coins use. Hope it helps!
sr. member
Activity: 411
Merit: 250
Ufff, people still fight with getting old Abe to work?

Why not use something simple to install like Insight or RPC Ace?

Insight is quite a challenging or rather problematic block explorer to set up.

In the the newer versions of bitcore it's even more unclear where to go to re-configure it to match your coin's properties if you already managed to change it from SHA to whatever algo your coin uses.

Those using older insight/insight-api/bitcore versions which were easier to configure, will notice that Insight runs no longer than 15 minutes before losing its connections to the insight api/bitcore due to a memory leak, stalling the Node process and ultimately clogging up the whole server if not restarted right after the 'crash'. I guess it's doable with enough resources, time and effort. The Reddcoin and Startcoin team managed to get it done. Startcoin crowdfunded the conversion to X11 POW for START on Startjoin to get a pro do it for them. I don't know about Reddcoin's team though.

Furthermore, Bitpay ignores every single "issue" on Github or question asked on their Labs forum if you even dare to include the word altcoin or a subject that is something else than Bitcoin concerning their products. I'm waiting for over a month now concerning this memory leak. They don't even take 5 seconds to tell you to fuck off with your altcoin. Nothing. I find this quite disrespectful. You are free to choose not to support users who use your product in a different way than intended, but at least have the decency to write a statement about it and put it on the website or the fine print at the bottom: "We do not support altcoins". Is that too difficult?

Until they embrace altcoins or that a skilled developer decides to build a universal block explorer, Abe is basically the only accessible block explorer we have.
newbie
Activity: 3
Merit: 0
RPC Ace says:
Quote
RPC Ace's primary use is quick access to oversight of a block chain; for in-depth needs it's recommended to run a tallying explorer such as Abe.
full member
Activity: 203
Merit: 100
Ufff, people still fight with getting old Abe to work?

Why not use something simple to install like Insight or RPC Ace?
newbie
Activity: 3
Merit: 0
blockexplorer.com is NOT running abe. so no, they dont do that.
why bother?

Got it, its just a cosmetic thing, the chains screen is nice if you are presenting testnet or more than one coin but the site I'm building will be presenting just one chain so I was hoping to have the ability to have GET / requests just present the one chain. I'll take a stab at modifying abe.py and post a commit or fork on github if I'm successful.
legendary
Activity: 1792
Merit: 1008
/dev/null
This is a fantastic asset to the crypto coin community. I was able to get my instance of ABE up and running, but was wondering how I would go about getting Apache to redirect requests for the root directory directly to a specific chain, instead of showing the "chains" screen. This is how https://blockexplorer.com/ does it, the main screen is actually /chain/Bitcoin behind the scenes. I tried various combinations of AliasMatch and Rewrite rules similar to:

Code:
       
Alias /favicon.ico /home/alfer/abe/Abe/htdocs/favicon.ico
Alias / /usr/lib/cgi-bin/abe.fcgi/
AliasMatch ^/(.*) /usr/lib/cgi-bin/abe.fcgi/chain/Bitcoin/$1
Alias / /usr/lib/cgi-bin/abe.fcgi/chain/Bitcoin

but havent been able to get it working. It seems to be the way the various handler functions use wsgiref.util.shift_path_info(page['env']) to determine what to display. Has anyone been able to figure out how to accomplish this?
blockexplorer.com is NOT running abe. so no, they dont do that.
why bother?
newbie
Activity: 3
Merit: 0
This is a fantastic asset to the crypto coin community. I was able to get my instance of ABE up and running, but was wondering how I would go about getting Apache to redirect requests for the root directory directly to a specific chain, instead of showing the "chains" screen. This is how https://blockexplorer.com/ does it, the main screen is actually /chain/Bitcoin behind the scenes. I tried various combinations of AliasMatch and Rewrite rules similar to:

Code:
       
Alias /favicon.ico /home/alfer/abe/Abe/htdocs/favicon.ico
Alias / /usr/lib/cgi-bin/abe.fcgi/
AliasMatch ^/(.*) /usr/lib/cgi-bin/abe.fcgi/chain/Bitcoin/$1
Alias / /usr/lib/cgi-bin/abe.fcgi/chain/Bitcoin

but havent been able to get it working. It seems to be the way the various handler functions use wsgiref.util.shift_path_info(page['env']) to determine what to display. Has anyone been able to figure out how to accomplish this?
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
legendary
Activity: 1078
Merit: 1042
www.explorerz.top
whywefight

don't remember the exact option but in the config file set inttype to string or something along those lines

Edit:
Abe.conf
Quote
# Some databases have trouble with the large integers that Abe uses
# for statistics.  Setting int-type=str causes Abe to pass certain
# integers to the database as strings and cast them to floating point
# in SQL expressions that calculate statistics.  Try this if SQLite
# complains "OverflowError: long too big to convert".
#int-type str

thx for that, saw it and tried it but using MySQL. Still the same. known error in python 2.7 -> http://bugs.python.org/issue21816 ?
legendary
Activity: 2058
Merit: 1015
whywefight

don't remember the exact option but in the config file set inttype to string or something along those lines

Edit:
Abe.conf
Quote
# Some databases have trouble with the large integers that Abe uses
# for statistics.  Setting int-type=str causes Abe to pass certain
# integers to the database as strings and cast them to floating point
# in SQL expressions that calculate statistics.  Try this if SQLite
# complains "OverflowError: long too big to convert".
#int-type str
legendary
Activity: 1078
Merit: 1042
www.explorerz.top
hey guys,

trying to get abe working for Lottocoin, getting this:

Failed to catch up {'blkfile_number': 1, 'dirname': '/root/.lottocoin', 'chain_id': 8, 'id': Decimal('5'), 'blkfile_offset': 104226}
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 2422, in catch_up
    store.catch_up_dir(dircfg)
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 2475, in catch_up_dir
    store.import_blkdat(dircfg, ds, filename[0])
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 2596, in import_blkdat
    b = store.parse_block(ds, chain_id, magic, length)
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 2630, in parse_block
    d['transactions'].append(deserialize.parse_Transaction(ds))
  File "Abe/deserialize.py", line 90, in parse_Transaction
    for i in xrange(n_vout):
OverflowError: Python int too large to convert to C long


did try several things, nothings helps...
sr. member
Activity: 411
Merit: 250
Hello

I've migrated my super node and dns seed to a high performance VPS. The last thing to do is moving bitcoin-abe.
Because my host gave me an offloaded mysql database, I couldn't import the SQL files genereted by mysqldump due to not having mysql "super privileges".
The only option left is rebuilding the database. This seems to fail unfortunately:

Code:
python -m Abe.abe --config minerals-abe/abe-min.conf --commit-bytes 100000 --no-serve
Reconnecting after rollback error: (2002, "Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)")
Reconnecting to database.
Reconnecting after rollback error: (2002, "Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)")
Reconnecting to database.
Reconnecting after rollback error: (2002, "Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)")
Reconnecting to database.
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/runpy.py", line 162, in _run_module_as_main
    "__main__", fname, loader, pkg_name)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/runpy.py", line 72, in _run_code
    exec code in run_globals
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/abe.py", line 2101, in
    sys.exit(main(sys.argv[1:]))
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/abe.py", line 2095, in main
    store = make_store(args)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/abe.py", line 159, in make_store
    store = DataStore.new(args)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/DataStore.py", line 3277, in new
    return DataStore(args)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/DataStore.py", line 187, in __init__
    store.initialize()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/DataStore.py", line 629, in initialize
    store.configure()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/DataStore.py", line 927, in configure
    config = store._sql.configure()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/SqlAbstraction.py", line 614, in configure
    sql.configure_ddl_implicit_commit()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/SqlAbstraction.py", line 699, in configure_ddl_implicit_commit
    if sql._test_ddl():
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/SqlAbstraction.py", line 706, in _test_ddl
    sql.drop_table_if_exists("%stest_1" % sql.prefix)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/SqlAbstraction.py", line 677, in drop_table_if_exists
    sql._drop_if_exists("TABLE", obj)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/SqlAbstraction.py", line 674, in _drop_if_exists
    sql.rollback()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/SqlAbstraction.py", line 603, in rollback
    sql.reconnect()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/SqlAbstraction.py", line 292, in reconnect
    return sql.conn()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/SqlAbstraction.py", line 275, in conn
    sql._conn = sql.connect()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Abe/SqlAbstraction.py", line 233, in connect
    conn = sql.module.connect()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/MySQLdb/__init__.py", line 81, in Connect
    return Connection(*args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/MySQLdb/connections.py", line 187, in __init__
    super(Connection, self).__init__(*args, **kwargs2)
_mysql_exceptions.OperationalError: (2002, "Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)")

The connect-args are:
Code:
connect-­args {"user":"XXX","db":"XXX","passwd":"XXX","host":"19X.2X1.X5X.X4X","port":3306}

Although I can connect with the mysql command to my database, bitcoin-abe seems to be obstinately trying to connect using a unix socket. How is that even possible? If you don't give a remote server's IP, leave it empty or just enter 127.0.0.1 or localhost, it connects to the local MySQL DB by default, using the socket, but as soon as you specify and IP address, it should connect over TCP. Unless I misread the error log above, it still want to connect to a local MySQL DB? How do you use bitcoin-abe with a remote  database?
sr. member
Activity: 476
Merit: 250
Hi all,

Does anyone know the address_version for Bitbay or Mue
/Abe/Chain/ no Bitbay chain

and:
    {"chain":"Bitbay", "policy":"Sha256Chain",
     "code3":"BAY", "address_version":"\x49", "magic":"\xfb\xc0\xb6\xdb"},

    {"chain":"Bitbay", "policy":"XXX",
     "code3":"BAY", "address_version":XXX, "magic":"XXX"},

The XXX part I used from a other currency..

where is the source code of bitbay/mue?
full member
Activity: 168
Merit: 100
Hi all,

Does anyone know the address_version for Bitbay or Mue
/Abe/Chain/ no Bitbay chain

and:
    {"chain":"Bitbay", "policy":"Sha256Chain",
     "code3":"BAY", "address_version":"\x49", "magic":"\xfb\xc0\xb6\xdb"},

    {"chain":"Bitbay", "policy":"XXX",
     "code3":"BAY", "address_version":XXX, "magic":"XXX"},

The XXX part I used from a other currency..
Pages:
Jump to: