Pages:
Author

Topic: Another reason bitcoin will succeed: US to target Putin's $40 billion stash - page 2. (Read 5814 times)

legendary
Activity: 1302
Merit: 1008
Core dev leaves me neg feedback #abuse #political
Haha, great question and I am far from an expert.

My understanding is that there are various clearing houses that manage the balance sheets between banks, and those clearing houses are in turn accountable to the central bank of their respective countries.

Thanks Jonald, that's my understanding too.  But I don't have a good handle on exactly who those clearing houses are or how they operate (I thought the big clearing house was SWIFT but I really don't know).  So I guess if the US knows that Putin has say $2 billion in Bank X, then with sufficient influence they could tell the clearing houses not to "clear" certain funds, or cut off Bank X completely. Why not? 

Yeah it's funny how "no one" really knows how it all works.  Even the people at the local bank branch who work for the bank don't know.  I'm sure it could be easily researched with all the info that's online today, but isn't it funny how uneducated we are about the global banking system that we all have historically put our trust in ?
legendary
Activity: 3752
Merit: 1217
That is so not true.  Russia would not have ever bailed out for more than what was already done.  Russia is known for writing off uncollectable debt but not for actual giving out billions to overseas private banks.  

From what I've heard Russia offered billions of $$$ to Cyprus for having a naval base in the island. The Cypriot politicians were worried that if they did so, then they'll be kicked out of the Euro Zone. So instead, they stole the money from their citizens' bank accounts.
legendary
Activity: 1162
Merit: 1007

My understanding is that there are various clearing houses that manage the balance sheets between banks, and those clearing houses are in turn accountable to the central bank of their respective countries.