Pages:
Author

Topic: ATTN Litecoin GPU Miners - Scrypt support for cgminer - page 7. (Read 175855 times)

member
Activity: 136
Merit: 10
tester
try --shaders 2048 and --thread-concurrency 10240
I'm starting to think something is wrong with your cgminer build though, these should not give 0 memory values

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [2012-07-28 22:57:09] Started cgminer 2.5.0
 [2012-07-28 22:57:09] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-07-28 22:57:10] Long-polling activated for http://ltc.xurious.com:9332/LP
 [2012-07-28 22:57:23] LONGPOLL from pool 0 detected new block
 [2012-07-28 22:57:33] Pool 0 http://ltc.xurious.com:9332 alive
 [2012-07-28 22:57:33] Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueueNDRangeKernel)
 [2012-07-28 22:57:33] GPU 0 failure, disabling!
 [2012-07-28 22:57:33] Thread 0 being disabled
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
legendary
Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005
same whit --thread-concurrency 10240 .... Sad

try --shaders 2048 and --thread-concurrency 10240

I'm starting to think something is wrong with your cgminer build though, these should not give 0 memory values
member
Activity: 136
Merit: 10
tester
same whit --thread-concurrency 10240 .... Sad
legendary
Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005
Use cgminer and these settings
--scrypt -I 19 --shaders 1792 --thread-concurrency 8960 -g 1
Should get 500+ kh/s
also try --thread-concurrency of 17920, may be a little faster
for the 7xxx series you must always use -g 1 to achieve high intensities

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[2012-07-28 22:42:05] Started cgminer 2.5.0
 [2012-07-28 22:42:06] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-07-28 22:42:06] Long-polling activated for http://ltc.xurious.com:9332/LP
 [2012-07-28 22:42:28] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 536870912, your scrypt settings come to 0
 [2012-07-28 22:42:28] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease CT or increase LG
 [2012-07-28 22:42:28] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2012-07-28 22:42:28] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2012-07-28 22:42:28] Try restarting cgminer.
Press enter to continue:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
same for --thread-concurrency 8960 and 17920  Sad

Hum, that's strange, that's 5x the number of SPUs which should work.  You can try the 7970 setting of --thread-concurrency 10240, I don't know why that wouldn't work.

That is the normal error for incorrect buffer sizes though.  I wonder why it doesn't work?

Also --lookup-gap should always be 2, but that's the default
member
Activity: 136
Merit: 10
tester
Use cgminer and these settings
--scrypt -I 19 --shaders 1792 --thread-concurrency 8960 -g 1
Should get 500+ kh/s
also try --thread-concurrency of 17920, may be a little faster
for the 7xxx series you must always use -g 1 to achieve high intensities

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [2012-07-28 22:42:05] Started cgminer 2.5.0
 [2012-07-28 22:42:06] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-07-28 22:42:06] Long-polling activated for http://ltc.xurious.com:9332/LP
 [2012-07-28 22:42:28] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 536870912, your scrypt settings come to 0
 [2012-07-28 22:42:28] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease CT or increase LG
 [2012-07-28 22:42:28] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2012-07-28 22:42:28] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2012-07-28 22:42:28] Try restarting cgminer.
Press enter to continue:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
same for --thread-concurrency 8960 and 17920  Sad
legendary
Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005

i try use reaper v13 beta 4 x64 with that settings :
worksize 64
aggression 20
threads_per_gpu 1
lookup_gap 5
gpu_thread_concurrency 8192

its work , but only 240~220 kH/s for HD7950OC i think is too little.
my old HD6950 reached ~360 kH/s

but i stil lito to use cgminer
i try same worksize , thread_concurrency and lookup_gap but again fail.

Use cgminer and these settings

--scrypt -I 19 --shaders 1792 --thread-concurrency 8960 -g 1

Should get 500+ kh/s

also try --thread-concurrency of 17920, may be a little faster

for the 7xxx series you must always use -g 1 to achieve high intensities
member
Activity: 136
Merit: 10
tester
Your aggression seems like it's too high try this in cgminer or reaper
     worksize 64
     aggression 13
     threads_per_gpu 4 (or 2 or 1)
     sharethreads 18
     lookup_gap 2
     gpu_thread_concurrency 8192
105~130kH/s - going low

...... already thinking to drop mining LTC ......
newbie
Activity: 46
Merit: 0
Ok I found my issue, cgminer.conf was conflicting and it overrides the command line settings! So check your config file and make sure things like work size and intensity etc match what youre attempting on the command line. Currently cranking along at 203kh/s on my 5770 w/intensity 18, working on tuning the 6970 still it overheats way to easy and forces the machine to reboot.
legendary
Activity: 1118
Merit: 1002
Got it to work, thank you to everyone who donated and helped with improving the miner. I really appreciate it. Will donate some coins come friday
legendary
Activity: 1666
Merit: 1057
Marketing manager - GO MP
The highest I got with my 5770 is ~190KH, with intensity 18, concurrency 3500, old version without shaders option using the latest Catalyst pack this actually works but it gives me weird crashes.

I even got to 200KH with slight overclocking. (You gotta overclock engine and memory by the same amount to get results)
It's too bad since the latest driver even fixes the 100% cpu bug but apparently isn't really stable.
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0

Those are low numbers. My 6850 can pull 262 kh/s at intensity 17, and my 5770 can pull 207 kh/s at intensity 18.

First gpu is 6850, 2nd is 5770:

Code:
--worksize 128,256 --gpu-engine 900,885 --gpu-memclock 500,1235 --shaders 960,800 -g 1 --intensity 13,17

Yes both my cards have a core overclock, 5770 likes small overclocks, but 50mhz+ on both core and memory drops hashrate (?).

And yes on my 6850 I am downclocking the memory to 500, it doesn't change my hashrate. AT ALL. Smiley
Thanks Tittiez for sharing that. I cant get over 158kh/s even using your same command line options on my 5770. I guess until the voodoo gets worked out of this I can live with the hash rate on this and my 6970 being 158/306 kh/s.



I tried these settings and a couple others and still can't get it over ~145 kh/s.  I am wondering if this is being caused by my using a x1-x16 riser cable on the 5770.  I am going to switch things around and see if that makes a difference.
newbie
Activity: 46
Merit: 0

Those are low numbers. My 6850 can pull 262 kh/s at intensity 17, and my 5770 can pull 207 kh/s at intensity 18.

First gpu is 6850, 2nd is 5770:

Code:
--worksize 128,256 --gpu-engine 900,885 --gpu-memclock 500,1235 --shaders 960,800 -g 1 --intensity 13,17

Yes both my cards have a core overclock, 5770 likes small overclocks, but 50mhz+ on both core and memory drops hashrate (?).

And yes on my 6850 I am downclocking the memory to 500, it doesn't change my hashrate. AT ALL. Smiley
Thanks Tittiez for sharing that. I cant get over 158kh/s even using your same command line options on my 5770. I guess until the voodoo gets worked out of this I can live with the hash rate on this and my 6970 being 158/306 kh/s.

member
Activity: 136
Merit: 10
tester
Your aggression seems like it's too high try this in cgminer or reaper

worksize 64
aggression 13
threads_per_gpu 4 (or 2 or 1)
sharethreads 18
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 8192

105~130kH/s - going low
full member
Activity: 204
Merit: 100
problem :
..................

Is this on default clocks?

yes it is default clock.
every thing is stock.
first i try to run successful, after try overclock if possible.

i try use reaper v13 beta 4 x64 with that settings :
worksize 64
aggression 20
threads_per_gpu 1
lookup_gap 5
gpu_thread_concurrency 8192

its work , but only 240~220 kH/s for HD7950OC i think is too little.
my old HD6950 reached ~360 kH/s

but i stil lito to use cgminer
i try same worksize , thread_concurrency and lookup_gap but again fail.

Your aggression seems like it's too high try this in cgminer or reaper

worksize 64
aggression 13
threads_per_gpu 4 (or 2 or 1)
sharethreads 18
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 8192
member
Activity: 136
Merit: 10
tester
problem :
..................

Is this on default clocks?

yes it is default clock.
every thing is stock.
first i try to run successful, after try overclock if possible.

i try use reaper v13 beta 4 x64 with that settings :
worksize 64
aggression 20
threads_per_gpu 1
lookup_gap 5
gpu_thread_concurrency 8192

its work , but only 240~220 kH/s for HD7950OC i think is too little.
my old HD6950 reached ~360 kH/s

but i stil lito to use cgminer
i try same worksize , thread_concurrency and lookup_gap but again fail.
hero member
Activity: 686
Merit: 500
Has anyone got more then 207kh/s out of a 5770?

I can't get more than ~145 kh/s out of mine.  I am currently running it in a box with a 6870.  The 6870 is getting ~300 kh/s. I start CGMiner with the following command.

Code:
$ ./cgminer --scrypt -o http://litecoinpool.org:9332 -u XXX -p XXX -g 1 --thread-concurrency 7840,8000 -I 20,16

This is with the default clocks.  I did try a little overclocking but it still would not go over ~147 kh/s.  I am running Kubuntu on this box.

Those are low numbers. My 6850 can pull 262 kh/s at intensity 17, and my 5770 can pull 207 kh/s at intensity 18.

First gpu is 6850, 2nd is 5770:

Code:
--worksize 128,256 --gpu-engine 900,885 --gpu-memclock 500,1235 --shaders 960,800 -g 1 --intensity 13,17

Yes both my cards have a core overclock, 5770 likes small overclocks, but 50mhz+ on both core and memory drops hashrate (?).

And yes on my 6850 I am downclocking the memory to 500, it doesn't change my hashrate. AT ALL. Smiley
hero member
Activity: 535
Merit: 500
Finally, if you think the coins will never be worth the electricity paid for them, you have a pretty pessimistic outlook, why bother at all if the damn things will never be worth that much?
Why pay $10 electric for 1 BTC when you can buy them for $9 on MtGox?
Going this way network will be down in matter of days - no miners, everyone want to buy, but noone to close blocks.
No, because other miners can still get 1 BTC for $8 of electricity or less Wink
Insane miners? Don't see any reason to kill hardware for such a miserable profit. They can't even buy a toilet paper with this.
legendary
Activity: 2492
Merit: 1473
LEALANA Bitcoin Grim Reaper
Finally, if you think the coins will never be worth the electricity paid for them, you have a pretty pessimistic outlook, why bother at all if the damn things will never be worth that much?
Why pay $10 electric for 1 BTC when you can buy them for $9 on MtGox?
Going this way network will be down in matter of days - no miners, everyone want to buy, but noone to close blocks.
No, because other miners can still get 1 BTC for $8 of electricity or less Wink

Not all miners have this ability mind you. The suggestion was for those (i'm guessing) that are spending more money paying for electricity than to just outright buy it.
newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0
Has anyone got more then 207kh/s out of a 5770?

I can't get more than ~145 kh/s out of mine.  I am currently running it in a box with a 6870.  The 6870 is getting ~300 kh/s. I start CGMiner with the following command.

Code:
$ ./cgminer --scrypt -o http://litecoinpool.org:9332 -u XXX -p XXX -g 1 --thread-concurrency 7840,8000 -I 20,16

This is with the default clocks.  I did try a little overclocking but it still would not go over ~147 kh/s.  I am running Kubuntu on this box.
member
Activity: 136
Merit: 10
tester
problem :
..................

Is this on default clocks?

yes it is default clock.
every thing is stock.
first i try to run successful, after try overclock if possible.
Pages:
Jump to: