Pages:
Author

Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board - page 73. (Read 286370 times)

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000
Items flashing here available at btctrinkets.com
July 04, 2012, 07:12:06 AM

As an experiment try taking out one or two of the board returning good results and see if that changes anything. Unpowered hubs do have some problems as any current taken will multiply up with the number of boards. It doesn't take much to overload an unpowered hub. Powered hubs are definately better and I would suggest this as a good thing to use for the short term

One other general issue with USB is that the way it timeslots data can mean that the USB can run out bandwidth on relatively low bandwidth applications e.g. serial coms with a relatively small number of boards. I would be surprised if 5 boards caused this issue but I am not an expert in USB protocol so I can't be more specific. It can be worth spreading your boards aroung your PCs ports. This isn't always a solution as an occasional PC has an internal hub for multiple ports which only actually has one USB controller but for most PCs this is a good way forward. Once we get the up/down function sorted out these potential USB problems should more or less dissappear.

Ok, I will try this a bit later, once I figure out which board it is, Would you care to comment on why the boards only work in usb3 ports for me ?
Activity: 462
Merit: 251
July 04, 2012, 06:46:17 AM
What do you think my issue here is:

3 Cairnsmores plugged in at an unpowered usb hub, all running the twintest bitstream and enterpoints cgminer for it. Windows seven, quad core, plenty of ram (it's a gaming pc).
5 first cores are pushing shares as is to be expected (0-4) But CM5 is doing less than a third of the shares of the other cores, with 0 rejects showing up at cgminer, whereas the other cores have a normal invalid rate (6-16 invalids at aroud 3300 shares hashed per core).