Pages:
Author

Topic: Colored Coins and Coinprism takes Bitcoin to a whole new level - page 9. (Read 11105 times)

Activity: 882
Merit: 1000
Question:

I'm a farmer and have 100 apples. Am i correct in that I can issue 100 shares for my apples?

When I sell an apple colored coin what happens to the coin when the apple is eaten? Does the time-stamp just act like a receipt?
When the apple is eaten, the counterparty assigns it to another apple or recolors it.

So for clarity, the buyer destroys the coin upon taking possession of the apple? or only after the apple has been eaten?
(edit)
or do they just keep both apple and coin and who cares if the apple has been eaten, we're not buying it back.
donator
Activity: 1736
Merit: 1006
Let's talk governance, lipstick, and pigs.
Question:

I'm a farmer and have 100 apples. Am i correct in that I can issue 100 shares for my apples?

When I sell an apple colored coin what happens to the coin when the apple is eaten? Does the time-stamp just act like a receipt?
When the apple is eaten, the counterparty assigns it to another apple or recolors it.
Activity: 882
Merit: 1000
Question:

legendary
Activity: 1162
Merit: 1007
Is there a white paper that explains the colored-coins accounting protocol that you can link us to?

EDIT: found it myself: https://github.com/OpenAssets/open-assets-protocol/blob/master/specification.mediawiki
Activity: 266
Merit: 257
Enthusiast

One of the most exciting technologies that build on top of Bitcoin is called Colored Coins and it launched Today with Coinprism, a web based wallet that brings Colored Coins and the Open Assets open source protocol to life.

Colored Coins allows users to take small fractions of bitcoins and add a secondary value to them. In practice this lets people create new assets and use Bitcoin's network to secure and trade these assets. This simple idea opens up a wide range of possibilities.