Pages:
Author

Topic: DiabloMiner GPU Miner - page 81. (Read 866206 times)

member
Activity: 64
Merit: 10
January 22, 2011, 11:47:26 AM
I'm curious what different people have found to be optimized flags for their cards. It seems like the tunables are the work size (larger for faster cards), and the -f flag can be set to higher values to increase responsiveness on the desktop, lower to get more hash/sec. I've got a 5870 with the 2.3 stream SDK and 10.12 driver, and I can't seem to get more than 292 khash/sec using -w 256. I can't go up to 512, and setting -f lower doesn't seem to help.

What are others finding?
legendary
Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000
DiabloMiner author
January 17, 2011, 07:11:26 AM
I installed ati-stream-sdk-bin-2.3

Code:
[1/17/11 12:32:14 AM] Started
Error: Compilation from LLVMIR binary to IL text failed!
[1/17/11 12:32:14 AM] ERROR: Failed to build program on ATI RV770 (#1)

Code:
# lspci
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV770 [Radeon HD 4850]

This is my first time trying DiabloMiner, so I'm uncertain how to proceed.

For those wondering, miz is not using SDK 2.1, and 2.3 may or may not require Catalyst 10.12, and he has 10.11 installed.
hero member
Activity: 574
Merit: 507
January 17, 2011, 02:35:23 AM
I installed ati-stream-sdk-bin-2.3

Code:
[1/17/11 12:32:14 AM] Started
Error: Compilation from LLVMIR binary to IL text failed!
[1/17/11 12:32:14 AM] ERROR: Failed to build program on ATI RV770 (#1)

Code:
# lspci
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV770 [Radeon HD 4850]

This is my first time trying DiabloMiner, so I'm uncertain how to proceed.

For those wondering, miz is not using SDK 2.1, and 2.3 may or may not require Catalyst 10.12, and he has 10.11 installed.

Particularly, as Diablo-D3 pointed out, do not use the Gentoo ebuild and instead

Quote
untar the ati-stream-sdk tarball
take the icd-registration.tgz, untar that in / as root
then export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/path/to/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/lib/x86_64/:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
thats _all_ you have to do

Also, as per Diablo-D3's suggestion, ati-stream-sdk v2.1 is faster than v2.3 and he suggested to pass switch "-w 64" to DiabloMiner
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
January 17, 2011, 02:02:49 AM
What are the chances of adding a

--device n

option to the command line options?

legendary
Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000
DiabloMiner author
January 16, 2011, 08:55:42 PM
My miner doesn't support this, and I don't think the Nvidia drivers do either. Try screwing with DISPLAY=:0.0 or :0.1
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
January 16, 2011, 03:08:57 PM
When using multiple GPUs on a machine.  What is the best way to turn off one and only allow diablo to run on the other?

Setup includes two gpus, nvidia 460 and 9600. I want to just use the 460 for mining and the 9600 for my displays.

Is it best if I try to use nvidia-smi to turn one off?  or is there a setting i can use to restrict diablo to just the 460 gpu.

The rest of the computer is AMD, Ubuntu linux 10.04

member
Activity: 91
Merit: 11
January 15, 2011, 05:00:21 AM
Just wanted to say that your miner is working really well for me. Thanks so much. If anyone wants some help setting up Diablo miner, using ATI cards, under Ubuntu Meerkat, I'm happy to help.
legendary
Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000
DiabloMiner author
January 14, 2011, 11:04:24 AM
Looks like it stays that way, it's been running for a few weeks that way (I can spare a core, heh).

It's Arch 64, OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.9.3) (ArchLinux-6.b20_1.9.3-1-x86_64), Core 2 Q6600, 8GB RAM, Radeon 5750.

Either your CPU is very slow, you're not using SDK 2.1, or your kernel is insane and you need to turn cpufreq off (sudo cpufreq-set -g performance -c 0, repeat and increment -c for each cpu core).
newbie
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
January 14, 2011, 08:15:40 AM
BTW, the java is using 100% CPU in my computer, not 0% as advertised. I want my money back! Wink

I'm using the last version. Do you want me to test anything?

It should only use 100% CPU for like 15-30 seconds, and then cut down to almost none.


Looks like it stays that way, it's been running for a few weeks that way (I can spare a core, heh).

It's Arch 64, OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.9.3) (ArchLinux-6.b20_1.9.3-1-x86_64), Core 2 Q6600, 8GB RAM, Radeon 5750.
legendary
Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000
DiabloMiner author
January 14, 2011, 07:25:19 AM
Update: Updated network code, blame slush
legendary
Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000
DiabloMiner author
January 09, 2011, 09:41:32 PM
EDIT: Looks like I just had to run bitcoind first. Getting about 49000 khash/s now. Any way to pause it whenever I want a usable GUI?

Yes, you must run bitcoind, or bitcoin -server, or connect to a pool. This goes for any miner,

Try using the miner with -f 180 (for ATI) or -f 1000 (for Nvidia), this usually vastly improves UI response. However, Nvidia drivers tend to be broken and even -f 1000 doesn't fix it for some people. You may also have to stop the miner altogether to play 3D games.
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250
January 09, 2011, 04:15:30 PM
...just use the binary instead.
Ok, just went with the binary and now I get this:
Code:
kurt@El-Jefe:~/DiabloMiner$ ./DiabloMiner-Linux.sh -u [redacted] -p [redacted]
[1/9/11 3:09:41 PM] Started
[1/9/11 3:09:42 PM] Added GeForce GTX 460 (#1) (7 CU, local work size of 512)
[1/9/11 3:09:42 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:42 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:42 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:48 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:48 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:48 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:53 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:54 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:53 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:59 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:59 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:59 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
Waiting...
That keeps repeating and eventually I get a hash rate in the bottom left corner of the terminal. My system also slows down. Seems like I'm getting somewhere and won't have to muck with my graphics driver. Not sure what I'm doing wrong though.

EDIT: Looks like I just had to run bitcoind first. Getting about 49000 khash/s now. Any way to pause it whenever I want a usable GUI?
legendary
Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000
DiabloMiner author
January 08, 2011, 08:02:42 AM
Heads up everyone: Catalyst 10.12 may be retarded.
legendary
Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000
DiabloMiner author
January 08, 2011, 08:00:48 AM
I figured out that it was because I didn't have an active X server. I went back and installed the proprietary ATI driver and rebooted into X and it works now!

Yup, thats the infamous LWJGL Needs X, No Matter What bug.

I have an Nvidia GeForce GTX 460 and am running Ubuntu 10.10. When I run this:
Code:
kurt@El-Jefe:~/Programs/Diablo-D3-DiabloMiner-e3c3bfb$ ./DiabloMiner-Linux.sh -u [redacted] -p [redacted]
I get this:
Code:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: com/diablominer/DiabloMiner/DiabloMiner
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.diablominer.DiabloMiner.DiabloMiner
[/quote]

You downloaded from git didn't you? Use [tt]mvn package [/tt]to build the jars, or just use the binary instead.
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250
January 07, 2011, 10:04:44 PM
I have an Nvidia GeForce GTX 460 and am running Ubuntu 10.10. When I run this:
Code:
kurt@El-Jefe:~/Programs/Diablo-D3-DiabloMiner-e3c3bfb$ ./DiabloMiner-Linux.sh -u [redacted] -p [redacted]
I get this:
Code:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: com/diablominer/DiabloMiner/DiabloMiner
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.diablominer.DiabloMiner.DiabloMiner
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:217)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:205)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:321)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:294)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:266)
Could not find the main class: com.diablominer.DiabloMiner.DiabloMiner. Program will exit.
Apparently, I'm using Nvidia's 260.19.06 driver. Not sure what the problem is. Can anyone help me out? Thanks.

I'm gonna try updating to the latest Nvidia driver per this guide. Hopefully that fixes the problem.
member
Activity: 91
Merit: 11
January 07, 2011, 12:57:37 AM
You can ignore this  Roll Eyes

I figured out that it was because I didn't have an active X server. I went back and installed the proprietary ATI driver and rebooted into X and it works now!

Without specifying a work size it's now churning out about 220,000 khash/sec. I'll let it run like this for a few days and see what goes down.
member
Activity: 91
Merit: 11
January 06, 2011, 05:07:30 PM
I'm trying to run this under Ubuntu Meerkat (i386) with an ATI 6870.

I installed the Ubuntu OpenCl packages from http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=390&threadid=125792&STARTPAGE=1&FTVAR_FORUMVIEWTMP=Linear

And am running Sun Java 6.

But when I try to start it I get:

[06/01/11 12:56:53 PM] Started
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: /home/humble/warez/DiabloMiner/target/libs/natives/linux/liblwjgl.so: /usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun-1.6.0.22/jre/lib/i386/libjawt.so: symbol awt_FreeDrawingSurface, version SUNWprivate_1.1 not defined in file libmawt.so with link time reference
   at java.lang.ClassLoader$NativeLibrary.load(Native Method)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary0(ClassLoader.java:1803)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1728)
   at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Runtime.java:823)
   at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(System.java:1028)
   at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:73)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
   at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:82)
   at org.lwjgl.Sys.(Sys.java:99)
   at org.lwjgl.opencl.CL.(CL.java:51)
   at com.diablominer.DiabloMiner.DiabloMiner.execute(DiabloMiner.java:176)
   at com.diablominer.DiabloMiner.DiabloMiner.main(DiabloMiner.java:90)


Meanwhile bitcoind has spun off 6 threads.

Thoughts?

((I'm pretty new to all this))
Rai
newbie
Activity: 12
Merit: 0
December 31, 2010, 09:42:17 PM
It does this on both Win7 (with Aero off) and WinXP.  So it's probably a combination of nVidia and Microsoft problems.
legendary
Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000
DiabloMiner author
December 31, 2010, 08:24:57 PM
Does it still blow up when Aero is off? It could very well just be Windows sucking, which can't be fixed. Microsoft, AMD, Nvidia, Intel, and Jesus Himself could all come together to fix it and they will surrender in disgust.
newbie
Activity: 19
Merit: 0
December 31, 2010, 05:08:43 PM
Try using -f 1000, this seems to fix the overall desktop interactivity problem, but loses performance.

Unfortunately, not in this case.  The performance did not drop, but the bogdown is still just as terrible.  I'll try it on my other computer though, that one is not Hybrid.  I'll let you know how it turns out.

EDIT:

My other computer has two GTS 250's, with an SLI setup.  With m0mchil's miner, I have to run two separate processes, and each clocks in around 33000 khps.  With DiabloMiner, I have to only run one process and I get approximately 72000 khps, but again there's a terrible bogdown.  Playing with -w and using -f 1000 again does not drop performance, but doesn't help either.  Sad  Oh well, looks like I have to stick with m0mchil's miner on both machines.

Actually I have a ATI Radeon 4850 on Windows 7 and using Diablo's miner makes my computer unusable even with -f 1000 so I stick with m0mchil's.
Pages:
Jump to: