Pages:
Author

Topic: Ethereum: 2nd gen cryptocurrency with contract programming, "dagger" hashing - page 5. (Read 84312 times)

Activity: 826
Merit: 500
I'm new to the concept of Ethereum (just learned about it from this morning's article on coindesk) but it appears to be worth investigating.

A few (related) questions I will be trying to answer:

1. Is Ethereum necessarily a competitor to bitcoin, or is it complementary?

2. Can Ethereum work in conjunction with bitcoin? eg can you write a contract in Ethereum that is denominated in bitcoin?

3. Could bitcoin be modified, in the words of Jeff Garzik, "to incorporate any highly desirable features into a future bitcoin revision" ? adopt the basic concept of Ethereum? From what I've learned so far, Ethereum seems sufficiently different from bitcoin that this would not be straightforward.

Ethereum seems to be focusing heavily on its contract function, as opposed to Bitcoin which appears to be more exclusively a currency or store of value. That doesn't mean that Ethereum can't or won't act as a currency, and thus compete with Bitcoin.

Ethereum should certainly be able to work in conjunction with Bitcoin. From what I've read, it will be possible to initiate Bitcoin transactions using Ethereum. I do not think that Bitcoin will incorporate the main functions of Ethereum. Take note of the fact that although Bitcoin could have had more functions, such as BitDNS, they were split into Namecoin instead. Bitcoin has its purpose and I don't think that the developers will try to deviate from that purpose to go in a different direction, such as where Ethereum is going.
Activity: 140
Merit: 100

What is the point of investing in a currency with inflation ?

The value of Bitcoin is going up. The value of a currency with inflation go down. The difference between the two is huge growing gap.

So why ? I'm open minded, I just want to understand.