Pages:
Author

Topic: FPGA development board "Icarus" - DisContinued/ important announcement - page 31. (Read 207279 times)

hero member
Activity: 592
Merit: 501
We will stand and fight.
here is the new error message

Code:
C:\javaminer>java -jar RG7Miner_prerelease.jar [email protected]_0 1234 http://pit.deepbit.net:8332 COM7
WARNING:  RXTX Version mismatch
        Jar version = RXTX-2.2pre1
        native lib Version = RXTX-2.2-20081207 Cloudhopper Build rxtx.cloudhopper.net
[2012-02-05 21:03:27,794]  [WARN]   [rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr][]: Getwork failed (networking problem).
java.io.IOException: Server returned HTTP response code: 401 for URL: http://pit.deepbit.net:8332
        at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getInputStream(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_30]
        at rg7.rg7miner.rpc.RPCControl.send(RPCControl.java:56) ~[rsrc:./:na]
        at rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr.run(WorkMngr.java:66) ~[rsrc:./:na]
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source) [na:1.6.0_30]
[2012-02-05 21:03:27,798]  [TRACE]  [rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr][]: Waiting 1 second(s), then retry.
[2012-02-05 21:03:30,042]  [WARN]   [rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr][]: Getwork failed (networking problem).
java.io.IOException: Server returned HTTP response code: 401 for URL: http://pit.deepbit.net:8332
        at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getInputStream(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_30]
        at rg7.rg7miner.rpc.RPCControl.send(RPCControl.java:56) ~[rsrc:./:na]
        at rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr.run(WorkMngr.java:66) ~[rsrc:./:na]
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source) [na:1.6.0_30]
[2012-02-05 21:03:30,043]  [TRACE]  [rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr][]: Waiting 2 second(s), then retry.
[2012-02-05 21:03:33,287]  [WARN]   [rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr][]: Getwork failed (networking problem).
java.io.IOException: Server returned HTTP response code: 401 for URL: http://pit.deepbit.net:8332
        at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getInputStream(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_30]
        at rg7.rg7miner.rpc.RPCControl.send(RPCControl.java:56) ~[rsrc:./:na]
        at rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr.run(WorkMngr.java:66) ~[rsrc:./:na]
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source) [na:1.6.0_30]
[2012-02-05 21:03:33,287]  [TRACE]  [rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr][]: Waiting 3 second(s), then retry.

i must say this stuff is stable. during a bad network condition, no fault appears. the stale rate is about 3%.


now the nonce is transmit from high to low byte. if you need a byte inverse after received them, i think the off-set value must be add to the inverted nonce.
hero member
Activity: 527
Merit: 500


Try adding http:// to the url, it doesn't recognize it as an url. Currently there is no validation of input parameters, that code part was added in a hurry to be able to share a first usable edition. But still, you found the first bug, it should abort on MalformedURLException because further tries won't ever succeed. Default behaviour is to try for ever to make sure it starts working again after networking problems occured.
Multiple boards with one miner instance and LP are on the todo list Smiley.
I'm not sure about scanning the ports though, I wouldn't want a miner to automatically write to all my serial connections. But something like a startup flag would probably be fine.

i just add a "http://" but looks like no use... maybe deepbit is a little different? BTW, i'm using windows7 64bit.

an additional beg: is it possible to add a valid nonce offset parameter to the program as a debug function? it means add or subtract a constant value to the calculated nonce. this will help me a lot on the debug flow.

thankyou~

...

Hm seems I have to look into that deeper. Did the error message change after adding 'http://'?
About the nonce offset, I can add this. Right now I inverse the nonce as soon as I receive it (the displayed value in the log/console is also already inverted). Does the offset have to be added to the inverted nonce or to the nonce as it's received?.
hero member
Activity: 592
Merit: 501
We will stand and fight.


Try adding http:// to the url, it doesn't recognize it as an url. Currently there is no validation of input parameters, that code part was added in a hurry to be able to share a first usable edition. But still, you found the first bug, it should abort on MalformedURLException because further tries won't ever succeed. Default behaviour is to try for ever to make sure it starts working again after networking problems occured.
Multiple boards with one miner instance and LP are on the todo list Smiley.
I'm not sure about scanning the ports though, I wouldn't want a miner to automatically write to all my serial connections. But something like a startup flag would probably be fine.

i just add a "http://" but looks like no use... maybe deepbit is a little different? BTW, i'm using windows7 64bit.

an additional beg: is it possible to add a valid nonce offset parameter to the program as a debug function? it means add or subtract a constant value to the calculated nonce. this will help me a lot on the debug flow.

thankyou~


Looks like I'm gonna jump on the FPGA bandwagon too. Just placed my first order today. Hope everything goes smooth.

Question for ngzhang (apologies if it's been asked before): Can the dev kits be ordered separately? Or they must be bundled with a FPGA board?


i replayed your mail, and certainly , the Dev kit can order separately (with the same price).
sr. member
Activity: 242
Merit: 251
Looks like I'm gonna jump on the FPGA bandwagon too. Just placed my first order today. Hope everything goes smooth.

Question for ngzhang (apologies if it's been asked before): Can the dev kits be ordered separately? Or they must be bundled with a FPGA board?
hero member
Activity: 527
Merit: 500
hero member
Activity: 592
Merit: 501
We will stand and fight.
it works good on abcpool.co ,but can not get work on deepbit.net

Code:
C:\javaminer>java -jar RG7Miner_prerelease.jar [email protected]_0 1234 pit.deepbit.net:8332 COM7
WARNING:  RXTX Version mismatch
        Jar version = RXTX-2.2pre1
        native lib Version = RXTX-2.2-20081207 Cloudhopper Build rxtx.cloudhopper.net
[2012-02-05 00:17:12,697]  [WARN]   [rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr][]: Getwork failed (networking problem).
java.net.MalformedURLException: unknown protocol: pit.deepbit.net
        at java.net.URL.(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_30]
        at java.net.URL.(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_30]
        at java.net.URL.(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_30]
        at rg7.rg7miner.rpc.RPCControl.send(RPCControl.java:32) ~[rsrc:./:na]
        at rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr.run(WorkMngr.java:66) ~[rsrc:./:na]
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source) [na:1.6.0_30]
[2012-02-05 00:17:12,704]  [TRACE]  [rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr][]: Waiting 1 second(s), then retry.
[2012-02-05 00:17:13,704]  [WARN]   [rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr][]: Getwork failed (networking problem).
java.net.MalformedURLException: unknown protocol: pit.deepbit.net
        at java.net.URL.(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_30]
        at java.net.URL.(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_30]
        at java.net.URL.(Unknown Source) ~[na:1.6.0_30]
        at rg7.rg7miner.rpc.RPCControl.send(RPCControl.java:32) ~[rsrc:./:na]
        at rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr.run(WorkMngr.java:66) ~[rsrc:./:na]
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source) [na:1.6.0_30]
[2012-02-05 00:17:13,705]  [TRACE]  [rg7.rg7miner.WorkMngr][]: Waiting 2 second(s), then retry.

it's certainly will be better if it can auto scan whole com port (using the dummy midstate&data), support multi-boards with one miner instance, and long pool...
maybe i'm tooooo greed.  Grin

good work!
hero member
Activity: 592
Merit: 501
We will stand and fight.
If someone wants to test the miner I'm currently working on, I prepared a litte prerelease for testing purposes. I'm using it to mine since about 12 hours now. PM me and I send you a copy (I don't currently have any hosting ready where I could put the file). The miner is written in java and should not be affected to much by a bad network connection. Long polling is not yet supported but it's the next thing on my list. I probably release the miner as open source when it's ready. Feedback is highly welcome Smiley.

Why not host it on Github?
Hm not sure if that works. Github is free for open source only, and I'm not ready yet to fully release it.

email me:

[email protected]

 Grin
hero member
Activity: 527
Merit: 500
If someone wants to test the miner I'm currently working on, I prepared a litte prerelease for testing purposes. I'm using it to mine since about 12 hours now. PM me and I send you a copy (I don't currently have any hosting ready where I could put the file). The miner is written in java and should not be affected to much by a bad network connection. Long polling is not yet supported but it's the next thing on my list. I probably release the miner as open source when it's ready. Feedback is highly welcome Smiley.

Why not host it on Github?
Hm not sure if that works. Github is free for open source only, and I'm not ready yet to fully release it.
newbie
Activity: 55
Merit: 0
If someone wants to test the miner I'm currently working on, I prepared a litte prerelease for testing purposes. I'm using it to mine since about 12 hours now. PM me and I send you a copy (I don't currently have any hosting ready where I could put the file). The miner is written in java and should not be affected to much by a bad network connection. Long polling is not yet supported but it's the next thing on my list. I probably release the miner as open source when it's ready. Feedback is highly welcome Smiley.

Why not host it on Github?
hero member
Activity: 527
Merit: 500
I expect all new products to have problems
and brought icarus to test fpga mining and the product
and 1 X 380 mh/s miner locking up is not a problem at all - so take your time to fix it

in next 6 months I want to get rid of my all GPU's based miners
and buy about 200 fpga based miners

it's certainly a problem. and present working is around the miner software.



If someone wants to test the miner I'm currently working on, I prepared a litte prerelease for testing purposes. I'm using it to mine since about 12 hours now. PM me and I send you a copy (I don't currently have any hosting ready where I could put the file). The miner is written in java and should not be affected to much by a bad network connection. Long polling is not yet supported but it's the next thing on my list. I probably release the miner as open source when it's ready. Feedback is highly welcome Smiley.
hero member
Activity: 592
Merit: 501
We will stand and fight.
I expect all new products to have problems
and brought icarus to test fpga mining and the product
and 1 X 380 mh/s miner locking up is not a problem at all - so take your time to fix it

in next 6 months I want to get rid of my all GPU's based miners
and buy about 200 fpga based miners

it's certainly a problem. and present working is around the miner software.

hero member
Activity: 784
Merit: 1009
firstbits:1MinerQ
For what it's worth it's been my experience that BTCGuild has been the most stable with the least number of rejects of many pools I've tried (by a wide margin too such that it's even worth the fee). You may want to test pointing your hashing there and see if it works better.

oh, that pool is very unstable here. you know I'm in the Great Fire Wall. now i'm using ABCpool.co
Oh. Weird. I figured since I was in Thailand it ought to be even more stable for others. I think our data mostly goes thru Singapore so maybe some other routes are worse. (We have a crazy number of hops before it even leaves Thailand.)
sr. member
Activity: 265
Merit: 250
Football President
I expect all new products to have problems
and brought icarus to test fpga mining and the product
and 1 X 380 mh/s miner locking up is not a problem at all - so take your time to fix it

in next 6 months I want to get rid of my all GPU's based miners
and buy about 200 fpga based miners
hero member
Activity: 592
Merit: 501
We will stand and fight.
For what it's worth it's been my experience that BTCGuild has been the most stable with the least number of rejects of many pools I've tried (by a wide margin too such that it's even worth the fee). You may want to test pointing your hashing there and see if it works better.

oh, that pool is very unstable here. you know i'm in the Great Fire Wall. now i'm using ABCpool.co
hero member
Activity: 784
Merit: 1009
firstbits:1MinerQ
For what it's worth it's been my experience that BTCGuild has been the most stable with the least number of rejects of many pools I've tried (by a wide margin too such that it's even worth the fee). You may want to test pointing your hashing there and see if it works better.
hero member
Activity: 592
Merit: 501
We will stand and fight.
"the  "upstream result: False"  means stale, or just a wrong data.
miner stuck is a known issue, by my first plan, i don't want to do any fix on this miner, because i want to change to another common use miner software.
but looks like this progress needs some time.
"

Thanks for the update

since the miner stuck is a known issue -- there is no point in me changing pc or trying another mining pool

i will wait till you have a fix

regards

Luke

by my plan, miner software may change in this month. before that, a watchdog timer may add to present miner to solve this problem as a temporary solution.
a experience is , if your pool is stable, the miner stuck may rarely happens.

sr. member
Activity: 265
Merit: 250
Football President
"the  "upstream result: False"  means stale, or just a wrong data.
miner stuck is a known issue, by my first plan, i don't want to do any fix on this miner, because i want to change to another common use miner software.
but looks like this progress needs some time.
"

Thanks for the update

since the miner stuck is a known issue -- there is no point in me changing pc or trying another mining pool

i will wait till you have a fix

regards

Luke
hero member
Activity: 592
Merit: 501
We will stand and fight.
let's discuss about the pool selection.

in brief, if you have a large ping, please use the queue version of the miner software, but it will cause a higher stale rate.  about 1-2%. but the FPGA could run at a full speed.
but if your connection is unstable, it has already been found that both miner software sometimes get stuck.

the both simple and queue miner will not continue or fix. we will change to a more common use miner, like CGminer or some other stuff who want to support icarus. there are already some people working on this.


Quote
I'm sure it hasn't yet. My question was more a what if scenario aimed at understanding the dependence between the FPGAs. If one were to be damaged/abused how would the other one be affected. If one gets sick/dead does that render the other also inoperable? I'm not saying anything is wrong but it's good to understand how they relate to each other. From looking at the code it seems like the first dead would knock out the second, but not the other way around; unless I'm wrong about how the second communicates via the first.

hmmmm, the FPGA simply act as a wire. pass the host data to the next one, and store-and-forward data to the host.


I have changed to queue miner  and now get 374.25 +/- 5.93 MHash/s

I also get "upstream result: False"  about every day and the mining stops  --- I throught it may be my pc -- so I am in process of setting up a new pc to run software/icarus

I will run some traceroutes and ping test and post results and respond to ecki

the  "upstream result: False"  means stale, or just a wrong data.
miner stuck is a known issue, by my first plan, i don't want to do any fix on this miner, because i want to change to another common use miner software.
but looks like this progress needs some time.

我想请问一下张博士,这个用人民币买多少钱一个?本人住的离北航不远,运费可以忽略不计的,或者自己去取也行啊?

没有现货哦,目前订货状态,小批量大约3周。价格是3650¥。
sr. member
Activity: 265
Merit: 250
Football President
OF
Hello Hardpick,

how important is ping time?
I am getting 360 mh/s from 2nd batch icarus on deepbit which has a ping time of 410 ms
(my isp ping time is 11ms -- have adsl2 at 12.34 mbps/ 0.83 mbps -- I live in sydney australia)
I have tested other pools
...
ecki.net.-----361ms
...

361 ms from Australia to Thailand? This is very bad... Sad
Which Internet Provider do you use? Telstra?
I have less than 200ms to my customers in Sydney from here (Thailand)... so it is the same distance!

Antwort von 203.37.115.162: Bytes=32 Zeit=189ms TTL=236
Antwort von 203.37.115.162: Bytes=32 Zeit=190ms TTL=236
Antwort von 203.37.115.162: Bytes=32 Zeit=188ms TTL=236
Antwort von 203.37.115.162: Bytes=32 Zeit=184ms TTL=236

Ping-Statistik für 203.37.115.162:
    Pakete: Gesendet = 4, Empfangen = 4, Verloren = 0
    (0% Verlust),
Ca. Zeitangaben in Millisek.:
    Minimum = 184ms, Maximum = 190ms, Mittelwert = 187ms


Could you PM me your traceroute to miner.ecki.net please?
Note: NOT ecki.net, because this will be in Germany and not Thailand where the pool server is located!

The ping time is important, but the variance is also very important.
The difference between Minimum, Maximum and Average should be as little as possible!
But most important for mining are the number of packet drops!

So just ping the target 10000 times and have a look about the % of packet losses.
Ping is important, but it is not all...
If you have a high number of packet drops to your current pool, then choose another one and it will increase your current hash rate of 360 MH/s!

For more answers or information about network questions please PM me, this is off topic here in this thread (I assume)... even you are using an Icarus board.

Cu,
 Ecki

Hi Ecki
Thanks for the help
I have changed to queued mining and now get 380 mh/sec --
only problem that need to be resolved is miner lockup (I am in process of changing PC - if this does not resolve problem will then try other pools)

I no longer think ping time is a problem unless it is causing the lockup

below is the info

Tracing route to miner.ecki.net [110.77.137.88]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192-168-100-1.tpgi.com.au [192.168.100.1]
  2    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  donduck.gateway [192.168.0.1]
  3    19 ms    20 ms    19 ms  xx.xx.xx.xxx (hiden by me  ie  my ip)
  4    20 ms    20 ms    20 ms  202.7.173.149
  5    20 ms    19 ms    19 ms  syd-sot-ken-crt2-ge-6-0-0.tpgi.com.au [202.7.171.105]
  6    19 ms    20 ms    19 ms  syd-sot-ken-crt-4-Ten-9-1.tpgi.com.au [203.29.135.157]
  7    20 ms    19 ms    19 ms  syd-sot-ken-crt-4-Ten-9-1.tpgi.com.au [203.29.135.157]
  8   120 ms   120 ms   120 ms  ix-11-1-0-507.tcore2.TV2-Tokyo.as6453.net [116.0.88.21]
  9   188 ms   188 ms   212 ms  if-6-2.tcore1.SVW-Singapore.as6453.net [180.87.12.109]
 10   203 ms   204 ms   204 ms  if-12-0-0.core1.SVQ-Singapore.as6453.net [180.87.36.21]
 11   203 ms   210 ms   216 ms  Vlan1107.icore1.SVQ-Singapore.as6453.net [120.29.214.2]
 12   193 ms   197 ms   194 ms  Vlan563.icore1.SVQ-Singapore.as6453.net [120.29.215.78]
 13   232 ms   232 ms   232 ms  61.19.9.149
 14   217 ms   216 ms   221 ms  61.19.9.29
 15   222 ms   222 ms   222 ms  61.19.9.34
 16   232 ms   232 ms   234 ms  61.19.15.186
 17   217 ms   218 ms   216 ms  110.77.255.38
 18   236 ms   238 ms   236 ms  110.77.252.142
 19   265 ms   281 ms   310 ms  mail2.ecki.net [110.77.137.88]

Trace complete.


ping test below to miner.ecki.net ---- 1000 times

Pinging miner.ecki.net [110.77.137.88] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 110.77.137.88: bytes=32 time=372ms TTL=49
Reply from 110.77.137.88: bytes=32 time=290ms TTL=49

Ping statistics for 110.77.137.88:
    Packets: Sent = 1000, Received = 986, Lost = 14 (1% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 241ms, Maximum = 566ms, Average = 307ms


ping test to deepbit below 10,000 times


Pinging deepbit.net [46.4.121.118] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 46.4.121.118: bytes=32 time=411ms TTL=44
Reply from 46.4.121.118: bytes=32 time=411ms TTL=44

Ping statistics for 46.4.121.118:
    Packets: Sent = 10000, Received = 10000, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 409ms, Maximum = 637ms, Average = 410ms


my intenet provider is tpg.com.au 

regards

Luke
legendary
Activity: 1134
Merit: 1005
-Let's say that in theory, I have a motherboard with 8 USB ports and 4 PCI-Express slots. So, always in theory, I could plug 8 FGPA board and 4 GPU in that motherboard and they could all mine together, correct?
You can use USB hubs and additional USB controllers too.
In THEORY, you could have 127 USB devices per port. But again, that is just THEORY.
The speed will be so slow that hashing would probably stop.
Pages:
Jump to: