Pages:
Author

Topic: [GUIDE] GridSeed GC3355 5 Chip Setup/power/windows/linux/rpi by UnicornHasher - page 24. (Read 365633 times)

legendary
Activity: 1778
Merit: 1003
NodeMasters
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 505
Hi everyone, I keep getting kernel issues on the RPI wth 10 gridseeds connected and cgminer running.

First I got the 'kernel paging request' error. This one is pretty known these forum lately:
Code:
[ 4565.377848] Unable to handle kernel paging request at virtual address 00002055
[ 4565.385255] pgd = c9df8000
[ 4565.393214] [00002055] *pgd=c9df8000, *pte=00000000, *ppte=00000000
[ 4565.404992] Internal error: Oops: 17 [#1] PREEMT ARM

Here is a screenshot:


I was able to fix this enabling the SLUB_DEBUG options as found in this thread:

sudo nano /boot/cmdline.txt

Add the following code at the end of the first line (on the same line as the other text, DO NOT add new line!)
Code:
slub_debug=FP

Save the file then reboot your Raspberry Pi.

Anyways, now the paging request error is gone, I'm getting various new kernel panics:

One error is something with LIBUSB and 'out of memory':

Code:
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] GSD 1 SendWork usb write err:(-7) LIBUSB_ERROR_TIMEOUT
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] GSD 3 SendWork usb write err:(-7) LIBUSB_ERROR_TIMEOUT
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] GSD 9 SendWork usb write err:(-7) LIBUSB_ERROR_TIMEOUT
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] GSD 0 SendWork usb write err:(-7) LIBUSB_ERROR_TIMEOUT
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] GSD 8 SendWork usb write err:(-7) LIBUSB_ERROR_TIMEOUT
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] GSD 5 SendWork usb write err:(-7) LIBUSB_ERROR_TIMEOUT
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] GSD 4 SendWork usb write err:(-7) LIBUSB_ERROR_TIMEOUT
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] work prepare failed, exiting mining thread 1
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] work prepare failed, exiting mining thread 3
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] work prepare failed, exiting mining thread 9
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] work prepare failed, exiting mining thread 0
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] work prepare failed, exiting mining thread 8
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] work prepare failed, exiting mining thread 5
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] work prepare failed, exiting mining thread 4
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] GSD 6 SendWork usb write err:(-7) LIBUSB_ERROR_TIMEOUT
 [2014-03-29 11:21:19] work prepare failed, exiting mining thread 6
[ 2774.756228] Out of memory: Kill process 374 (systemd-coredum) score 212 or sacrifice child
[ 2774.781023] Killed process 374 (systemd-coredum) total-vm:198648kB, anon-rss:103644kB, file-rss:32kB



Another error is another kernel panic 'null pointer dereference':

Code:
[ 139.863679] Unable to handle kernel NULL pointer dereference at virtual address 00000034
[ 139.877328] pgd = c9cfc000
[ 139.885586] [00000034] *pgd=09cca831, *pte=00000000, *ppte=00000000
[ 139.897643] Internal error: Oops: 817 [#1] PREEMT ARM




It seems I cant get this horse running stable! Any ideas?

Running RPI with ArchLinuxARM and CGMiner.
legendary
Activity: 3654
Merit: 8909
https://bpip.org
Question for those using Windows and Cgminer.... How can i get multiple instances of cgminer to work? I know how to do it for multi gpu setups. I would like to run my gridseeds in batches of 10, rather than everything on one single window.

Use --usb-list to determine IDs of devices, and then --usb (or "usb" : ... in config) to specify a comma-separated list of IDs.
hero member
Activity: 910
Merit: 501
Question for those using Windows and Cgminer.... How can i get multiple instances of cgminer to work? I know how to do it for multi gpu setups. I would like to run my gridseeds in batches of 10, rather than everything on one single window.
sr. member
Activity: 266
Merit: 250
and don;t try the instruction on the first page with ubuntu 12 for cgminer - autogen nightmares - one problem yields another and another - I'm wiping system and trying 13.04

ugh!

cpuminer works fine but not autogen for cgminer

what a friggin waste of a few hours today installing ubunru 12 only to have tp wipe it and install 13.04

hopefully it will be worth it.... in terms of stability

root@ubuntu:~/usb-miner/software/cgminer# ./autogen.sh
bash: ./autogen.sh: No such file or directory

legendary
Activity: 3654
Merit: 8909
https://bpip.org
On scrypt N it will probably work but as I have seen the hashrate is halved.

Gridseed will NOT work with Scrypt-N aka adaptive N-factor where N != 10, i.e. Vertcoin and clones. For "regular" Scrypt coins (Litecoin, Doge, etc) N = 10, and that's all the Gridseed miners can do.
sr. member
Activity: 453
Merit: 261
Look Morty magic internet money
That is what i thought thx for the confirmation!  Smiley
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 250
I have a question

I red that the gridseed is limited in mining different scryptcoins cause of the algorithm it uses? Does someone know more about this. I want to be able to mine different coins and also new ones coming out.

Thanks  Smiley

Hay bam, De grid kan alle scryptcoins minen, allen zoals Usao zegd geen scrypt N en Jane. dus voorlopig geen probleem Wink


On scrypt N it will probably work but as I have seen the hashrate is halved.

look at this chart for 3200khs for example http://whatmine.com/

EDIT : yes I was right 400kh/s is 200 in scypt N and 70 in jane.
legendary
Activity: 1109
Merit: 1000
I have a question

I red that the gridseed is limited in mining different scryptcoins cause of the algorithm it uses? Does someone know more about this. I want to be able to mine different coins and also new ones coming out.

Thanks  Smiley

It should mine any scrypt coin, but probably won't be able to do scrypt-jane or scrypt-n coins.
Ive used mine on a scrypt multipool successfully, so I know it will work with all the scrypt coins in the multipool...
sr. member
Activity: 453
Merit: 261
Look Morty magic internet money
I have a question

I red that the gridseed is limited in mining different scryptcoins cause of the algorithm it uses? Does someone know more about this. I want to be able to mine different coins and also new ones coming out.

Thanks  Smiley
legendary
Activity: 3654
Merit: 8909
https://bpip.org
I'm running a single GS device directly attached to a pc with bfgminer.
Regardless of the clock speed, I get about 1 HW error every 3 minutes.
Any clues?

How is your network and pool connectivity? I know that at least cgminer and cpuminer would report hardware errors when in fact it was a network connection issue. bfgminer might be doing the same. If you are using wireless try wired for a few minutes to see if that helps. Also check the usual suspects, USB cable, connect to another port etc.
legendary
Activity: 2716
Merit: 1094
Black Belt Developer
I'm running a single GS device directly attached to a pc with bfgminer.
Regardless of the clock speed, I get about 1 HW error every 3 minutes.
Any clues?
hero member
Activity: 910
Merit: 501
So it'd be better to either run a 10A power brick, or cut the number down to 6 or so Gridseeds per 7A brick?

I just measured 4 Gridseeds hanging on an 18-gauge wire from an ATX power supply. Pulling somewhere between 2.8 and 3.1 amps, not vold-modded, with fans. So yeah, 7A for ten is not good. Might be a fire hazard. 5-6 should be ok. Or 10-12A power supply for 10.

These are running at 900 MHz. Don't know if that makes any difference, too lazy to check if 800-850 MHz would be less "ampy" Smiley

Cool, I'll grab one of the 10A bricks for this batch. I have been running for 12 hours now, no problems, but it can't hurt to play it safe.  Cheers.
legendary
Activity: 3654
Merit: 8909
https://bpip.org
So it'd be better to either run a 10A power brick, or cut the number down to 6 or so Gridseeds per 7A brick?

I just measured 4 Gridseeds hanging on an 18-gauge wire from an ATX power supply. Pulling somewhere between 2.8 and 3.1 amps, not vold-modded, with fans. So yeah, 7A for ten is not good. Might be a fire hazard. 5-6 should be ok. Or 10-12A power supply for 10.

These are running at 900 MHz. Don't know if that makes any difference, too lazy to check if 800-850 MHz would be less "ampy" Smiley
legendary
Activity: 3654
Merit: 8909
https://bpip.org
So it'd be better to either run a 10A power brick, or cut the number down to 6 or so Gridseeds per 7A brick?

I just measured 4 Gridseeds hanging on an 18-gauge wire from an ATX power supply. Pulling somewhere between 2.8 and 3.1 amps, not vold-modded, with fans. So yeah, 7A for ten is not good. Might be a fire hazard. 5-6 should be ok. Or 10-12A power supply for 10.
hero member
Activity: 910
Merit: 501
So it'd be better to either run a 10A power brick, or cut the number down to 6 or so Gridseeds per 7A brick?
legendary
Activity: 1109
Merit: 1000
Hey guys, I got two 12v power adapter bricks in my latest Gridseed order (10 units)....what on earth is the 2nd brick used for?
Probably 1 brick per 5 GSDs. That's how my kit came anyhow, 2x 12V @ 30A PSUs, 5 GSDs per PSU...

So not enough juice in 1 brick to run all 10?  I've had them running off of just the one for about 7 hours now, wondering if I'm pushing it though?

Also, I had rigged an old power supply to run my first 20 gridseeds and that works great, but these new little power bricks with the cctv DC plug splitters are sooooo slick. I see the 12V power bricks for like $2 on fleabay...is there a reason we should not be using them (scrypt-only) for say 5-8 Gridseed units?


Depends on if you are running LTC or LTC+BTC. The current draw per GSD is about 1A for LTC and about 8A for dual-mode.
If you are doing LTC only, then you probably need about 10A for 5-8 GSD devices. You don't want to run the PSU at 100% (probably cant, actually). I think there is suposto be a 20% margin, so 10A per 5-8 is probably about right.

Been running all 10 off of just the one 7A power brick for about 10.5 hours now. Seems pretty solid. I understood that the units only used 7 watts. So if watts = amps * volts and its a 12V power supply, then 7 = a * 12.  "a" would then equal 7/12 or about 0.59amps. Therefore all 10 Gridseeds would only by using about 6 amps, therefore a 7A power brick should easily be enough.  No? Should I splurge for the 10A bricks?

Those numbers are pretty marginal and may represent a best-case situation. Im not sure that when you power-on or restart you may get spikes higher than the 6A you are computing. Not saying it won't work, but again, I like to have 20% overhead and I also like to over estimate the usage at 1A... It just makes me feel better that my PSU won't flame-up while im not at home...
hero member
Activity: 910
Merit: 501
Hey guys, I got two 12v power adapter bricks in my latest Gridseed order (10 units)....what on earth is the 2nd brick used for?
Probably 1 brick per 5 GSDs. That's how my kit came anyhow, 2x 12V @ 30A PSUs, 5 GSDs per PSU...

So not enough juice in 1 brick to run all 10?  I've had them running off of just the one for about 7 hours now, wondering if I'm pushing it though?

Also, I had rigged an old power supply to run my first 20 gridseeds and that works great, but these new little power bricks with the cctv DC plug splitters are sooooo slick. I see the 12V power bricks for like $2 on fleabay...is there a reason we should not be using them (scrypt-only) for say 5-8 Gridseed units?


Depends on if you are running LTC or LTC+BTC. The current draw per GSD is about 1A for LTC and about 8A for dual-mode.
If you are doing LTC only, then you probably need about 10A for 5-8 GSD devices. You don't want to run the PSU at 100% (probably cant, actually). I think there is suposto be a 20% margin, so 10A per 5-8 is probably about right.

Been running all 10 off of just the one 7A power brick for about 10.5 hours now. Seems pretty solid. I understood that the units only used 7 watts. So if watts = amps * volts and its a 12V power supply, then 7 = a * 12.  "a" would then equal 7/12 or about 0.59amps. Therefore all 10 Gridseeds would only by using about 6 amps, therefore a 7A power brick should easily be enough.  No? Should I splurge for the 10A bricks?
hero member
Activity: 910
Merit: 501
Hey guys, I got two 12v power adapter bricks in my latest Gridseed order (10 units)....what on earth is the 2nd brick used for?
Probably 1 brick per 5 GSDs. That's how my kit came anyhow, 2x 12V @ 30A PSUs, 5 GSDs per PSU...

So not enough juice in 1 brick to run all 10?  I've had them running off of just the one for about 7 hours now, wondering if I'm pushing it though?

Also, I had rigged an old power supply to run my first 20 gridseeds and that works great, but these new little power bricks with the cctv DC plug splitters are sooooo slick. I see the 12V power bricks for like $2 on fleabay...is there a reason we should not be using them (scrypt-only) for say 5-8 Gridseed units?


Got a link for those $2 bricks?
I'd like to see what you're talking about.
Thanks
Wolfey2014

My bad, I was looking at the 1A and 2A ones. But the 7A, 8A, and 10A ones are pretty reasonable:

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/100-240V-to-DC-12V-5A-6A-7A-8A-Adapter-Power-Supply-US-EU-UK-For-LED-Light-5050-/261364059982?pt=US_Lighting_Parts_and_Accessories&var&hash=item3cda830f4e&_uhb=1
Pages:
Jump to: