Pages:
Author

Topic: HELP! struggling to make 6 gpu R9 290 rig to run on windows 7 (SOLVED) - page 4. (Read 33642 times)

Activity: 420
Merit: 250
wait a minute I am confused, I thought that you need 1x 16x Risers if your GPU has a 16x Slot? How can you use 1x to 1x? The slots are totally different?

Confusion!!!!   Huh

I have 4 x 16x on my motherboards and 2 x 1x slots and 1 MiniPCIe Slot

I thought 16x to 16x Risers do not need power because the slot handles the draw, But people use powered risers from the 1x - 16x cables..

I am totally baffled now that I see OP using 1x > 1x On a 16x GPU.... Doesnt the GPU NEED the adapter riser which converts 16x down to 1x?  If not how does it fit into the Longer slot?

I already bought my risers this is purely educational , Im just learning

This is not the place to ask silly questions. Everything you've asked has been covered millions of times on this forum.

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=pci-e+riser+cable+for+mining

very top link...

Sorry Pro... your awesome!!

Anywayysss

.. That site didnt answer my question I knew how to put a 1x into a 1x slot and 16x into a 16x slot. .. But dont worry, Dont stress , Relax , take a breather. I will find my answer elsewhere - I may go look through the thousands of posts hoping I come across it Roll Eyes Like I have not already.. LOL

Its not important I was just curious , I did not want to go on a search trying to find out if you can plug 1x Plugs into 16x slots without Converting them to 16x plugs. Because when I typed - 1x to 1x For 16x GPU... My answer did not come up as expected.

cuByeee
Activity: 364
wait a minute I am confused, I thought that you need 1x 16x Risers if your GPU has a 16x Slot? How can you use 1x to 1x? The slots are totally different?

Confusion!!!!   Huh

I thought 16x to 16x Risers do not need power because the slot handles the draw, But people use powered risers from the 1x - 16x cables..