Pages:
Author

Topic: How do I make a coin? - page 4. (Read 27705 times)

legendary
Activity: 924
Merit: 1129
December 14, 2013, 02:37:53 PM
Has anyone made a coin recently they want to let us know about?

I checked out the bitcoin source a couple weeks ago.

Done: .. colored coins...changed ports... distributed stock exchange...encrypted protocol messages for privacy...new graphics...updated the source code and build defaults to c++2011... changed the reward structure ...

Still to do: ... make "standard" coin denominations... coinjoins... proof-of-stake.. scaling ... "day blocks" that record the outstanding txouts....trading between different types of existing cryptocurrencies ...

I mentioned it mostly because I need help.  I'm an okay c++ developer although still learning my way around the "boost" framework (which btw doesn't easily work in c++2011 and will eventually need to be hacked out of the code), but websites, forums, promotions, etc, I have limited knowledge of and need help.  

A bug database is needed but I don't really have time to administrate it.  

More developers would be a real help, in terms of testing and being able to respond to new bugs rapidly.  Also there's the "more eyes" thing, meaning that when a developer gets a bug report, it may be profoundly non-obvious to her why that bug is happening and how to fix it.  But when more developers see the same bug report, it'll likely be obvious to *somebody*, because they were in the middle of that code last week or because they had to learn about how something worked in order to fix something else a month ago, or ....  Just the simple fact of getting more eyes on it means there's a way to respond to more bugs.  

I mean, yes, I'm hacking a first cut of this thing together, but actually launching it really sort of requires a team.  I'm gonna be hella busy, and may not be able to keep up or do a good enough job, if I launch it by myself.

Activity: 308
Merit: 253
December 14, 2013, 01:26:07 PM