Author

Topic: [ mining os ] nvoc - page 140. (Read 418546 times)

full member
Activity: 224
Merit: 100
November 14, 2017, 05:57:02 AM
I want to use this OS but not 1bash. Can I delete the config file and configure everything my own way without problem?
No.
Care to elaborate?

for some reason, I never managed to have one of the dev tell me how to stop the auto mining so I could manually start mine. There is an obvious need for that that only us seems to notice.

They never made a FAQ either even if people have always the same problems/questions over and over.

Great OS, great devs and for free but I guess it comes with caveats too even nonsense ones.


full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
November 14, 2017, 05:41:28 AM
Another IAmNotAJeep_and_Maxximus007_WATCHDOG Mod

I had my Verizon FIOS service upgraded the other day and I was unable to shutdown all of my miners before the tech interrupted my internet. This made me scrutinize how the watchdog handles that situation (not very well, IMO) so I made the following modification to just wait on internet service to return rather than just looping, restarting mining, and restarting the host as usual.

Code:

      if [ $COUNT -le 0 ]
      then
# Begin Stubo Mod
# Wait for Internet
         while ! nc -vzw1 google.com 443;
         do
   echo "Internet is down, checking again in 30 seconds..." | tee -a ${LOG_FILE} ${ALERT_LOG_FILE}
            sleep 30
         done
#
#         INTERNET_IS_GO=0
#  
#         if nc -vzw1 google.com 443;
#         #if nc -vzw1 $POOL 80;
#         then
#            INTERNET_IS_GO=1
#         fi
         echo ""

#         if [[ $RESTART -gt 4 && $INTERNET_IS_GO == 1 ]]
         if [ $RESTART -gt 4 ]
         # End Stubo Mod
         then
            echo "$(date) - Utilization is too low: reviving did not work so restarting system in 10 seconds" | tee -a ${LOG_FILE} ${ALERT_LOG_FILE}


Let me know if you have any questions or see room for improvement in this modification.


I felt some thing is not right before when internet was down, but couldn't  figure out why

So isnt this :
Code:
         if [[ $RESTART -gt 4 && $INTERNET_IS_GO == 1 ]]

Should go to restart system only if both arguments are true ?
Restart greater than 4 and internet is go = 1  ?


Edit:
Think I found the problem,
It will wait for internet to comes up then restart system when restart is greater than 4, right?
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
November 14, 2017, 05:27:40 AM
For those who has multiple rigs and want to check all web info pages in one single page.
In one of your rigs :

Code:
sudo nano /var/www/html/multiminerinfo.html

Add :

Code:



  
  Multi Miner Info










You get this :






Edit for Stubo Smiley

If you just want the info for internal network use internal_rig_ip instead of external ip and no port needed
then open multi miner info by :
Code:
http:///multiminerinfo.html

If you want the info for external network use
then open multi miner info by :
Code:
http://:/multiminerinfo.html
member
Activity: 224
Merit: 13
November 14, 2017, 05:25:26 AM
Another IAmNotAJeep_and_Maxximus007_WATCHDOG Mod

I had my Verizon FIOS service upgraded the other day and I was unable to shutdown all of my miners before the tech interrupted my internet. This made me scrutinize how the watchdog handles that situation (not very well, IMO) so I made the following modification to just wait on internet service to return rather than just looping, restarting mining, and restarting the host as usual.

Code:

      if [ $COUNT -le 0 ]
      then
# Begin Stubo Mod
# Wait for Internet
         while ! nc -vzw1 google.com 443;
         do
    echo "Internet is down, checking again in 30 seconds..." | tee -a ${LOG_FILE} ${ALERT_LOG_FILE}
            sleep 30
         done
#
#         INTERNET_IS_GO=0
#  
#         if nc -vzw1 google.com 443;
#         #if nc -vzw1 $POOL 80;
#         then
#            INTERNET_IS_GO=1
#         fi
         echo ""

#         if [[ $RESTART -gt 4 && $INTERNET_IS_GO == 1 ]]
         if [ $RESTART -gt 4 ]
         # End Stubo Mod
         then
            echo "$(date) - Utilization is too low: reviving did not work so restarting system in 10 seconds" | tee -a ${LOG_FILE} ${ALERT_LOG_FILE}


Let me know if you have any questions or see room for improvement in this modification.
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
November 14, 2017, 04:22:26 AM
Please add Bitcoin Gold (BTG) to nvOC. Thank you !


Easy add :


That's my BTG settings:
in 1bash add:

Code:
COIN="BTG"
PAPAMPI_WTM_AUTO_SWITCH="NO"

BTG_WORKER="$WORKERNAME"
BTG_ADDRESS="$SUPRNOVA_NAME"
BTG_POOL="btg.suprnova.cc"
BTG_PORT="8816"

BTG is not on whattomine. So the switcher will not run.

fredeq in wtm thread said he is working on it to add it to wtm soon.

Mining pools are opening for Bitcoin Gold...
Any plans in near future to add it to wtm calculator?

Yes, will research this coin soon.


WOW i was quoted by a legend ;-)


lol ...
I'm no legend, but thanks for compliment.
newbie
Activity: 41
Merit: 0
November 14, 2017, 03:53:34 AM
Please add Bitcoin Gold (BTG) to nvOC. Thank you !


Easy add :


That's my BTG settings:
in 1bash add:

Code:
COIN="BTG"
PAPAMPI_WTM_AUTO_SWITCH="NO"

BTG_WORKER="$WORKERNAME"
BTG_ADDRESS="$SUPRNOVA_NAME"
BTG_POOL="btg.suprnova.cc"
BTG_PORT="8816"

BTG is not on whattomine. So the switcher will not run.

fredeq in wtm thread said he is working on it to add it to wtm soon.

Mining pools are opening for Bitcoin Gold...
Any plans in near future to add it to wtm calculator?

Yes, will research this coin soon.


WOW i was quoted by a legend ;-)
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
November 14, 2017, 03:15:46 AM
Please add Bitcoin Gold (BTG) to nvOC. Thank you !


Easy add :


That's my BTG settings:
in 1bash add:

Code:
COIN="BTG"
PAPAMPI_WTM_AUTO_SWITCH="NO"

BTG_WORKER="$WORKERNAME"
BTG_ADDRESS="$SUPRNOVA_NAME"
BTG_POOL="btg.suprnova.cc"
BTG_PORT="8816"
and in 3main add:
Code:
if [ $COIN == "BTG" ]
then

if [ $EWBF_VERSION == "3_3" ]
then
HCD='/home/m1/zec/v3_3/miner'
fi

if [ $EWBF_VERSION == "3_4" ]
then
HCD='/home/m1/zec/v3_4/miner'
fi

BTGADDR="$BTG_ADDRESS.$BTG_WORKER"

if [ $ZM_or_EWBF == "ZM" ]
then
HCD='/home/m1/zec/zm/5_2/zm_miner'
screen -dmSL miner $HCD --server $BTG_POOL --user $BTGADDR --pass z --port $BTG_PORT;
fi

if [ $ZM_or_EWBF == "EWBF" ]
then
screen -dmSL miner $HCD --eexit 3 --fee $EWBF_PERCENT --pec --server $BTG_POOL --user $BTGADDR --pass z --port $BTG_PORT;
fi

if [ $LOCALorREMOTE == "LOCAL" ]
then
screen -r miner
fi

BITCOIN="theGROUND"

while [ $BITCOIN == "theGROUND" ]
do
sleep 60
done
fi


BTG is not on whattomine. So the switcher will not run.

fredeq in wtm thread said he is working on it to add it to wtm soon.

Mining pools are opening for Bitcoin Gold...
Any plans in near future to add it to wtm calculator?

Yes, will research this coin soon.
newbie
Activity: 12
Merit: 0
November 14, 2017, 02:28:05 AM
Guys can you help me please
My rig has been crashed and couldn't reboot itself
this was last message
Code:
     
GPU_COUNT:  13

GPU UTILIZATION:  Unable to determine the device handle for GPU 0000:0B:00.0: GPU is lost. Reboot the system to recover this GPU
Sun Nov 12 12:24:15 EST 2017 - Lost GPU so restarting system. Found GPU's:
Unable to determine the device handle for GPU 0000:0B:00.0: GPU is lost.  Reboot the system to recover this GPU


Sun Nov 12 12:24:15 EST 2017 - reboot in 10 seconds

It has happen few times, since I was away from my rigs
it cost me massive down time
Eventually it was power cycled and manually rebooted


Is it because OC (gtx1080 pl150 cc0 mc600)?
or something else
 Huh

I have the exact same problem with my rig, but it picks a card at random to "lose".  I've replaced all the risers and usb cables and still get the same problem.  I thought it might be power related, but I am only at 550w each on my 2 x 750w power supplies.  I still haven't been able to figure it out.

I have the same problem. In my opinion, the problem is, when a GPU falls of the bus, the watchdog is unable to call nvidia-smi and I have to manually reset my rig.
newbie
Activity: 4
Merit: 0
November 14, 2017, 01:51:28 AM
Please add Bitcoin Gold (BTG) to nvOC. Thank you !
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
November 14, 2017, 01:35:32 AM
Hi, someone know how to recover an USB Key or HDD where nvOC was installed ? i can't format it, windows give me and error when i try to format...

thanks!

There are many programs for windows to read ext4 linux drives

ext2fsd
DiskInternals Linux Reader
Ext2explore

To fully format from windows you may need to do it from disk management
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
November 14, 2017, 01:07:10 AM

I don't want any scripts to run which is why I want to remove it.

Then why do you want it?

NVOC essentially is the scripts which are controlled by 1bash. Without them it is just Ubuntu Linux and doesn't mine anything. If that is what you want get Ubuntu.

What you are asking is kind of like saying I want to buy Microsoft office but I don't want it to have word, excel, powerpoint, outlook, or one note. The stuff you are saying you don't want is the core of it.

Installing Ubuntu is a PITA. I want an OS with the driver preinstalled to plug into headless rigs. I wrote my own ansible-playbook for configuration and running miners using systemd.

Disable integrated gpu, plug monitor with hdmi to your gpu, install ubuntu, then install nvidia drivers
Should not be any problems
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
November 14, 2017, 12:40:32 AM
Hi, someone know how to recover an USB Key or HDD where nvOC was installed ? i can't format it, windows give me and error when i try to format...

thanks!
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 502
November 14, 2017, 12:26:37 AM

I don't want any scripts to run which is why I want to remove it.

Then why do you want it?

NVOC essentially is the scripts which are controlled by 1bash. Without them it is just Ubuntu Linux and doesn't mine anything. If that is what you want get Ubuntu.

What you are asking is kind of like saying I want to buy Microsoft office but I don't want it to have word, excel, powerpoint, outlook, or one note. The stuff you are saying you don't want is the core of it.

Installing Ubuntu is a PITA. I want an OS with the driver preinstalled to plug into headless rigs. I wrote my own ansible-playbook for configuration and running miners using systemd.
full member
Activity: 132
Merit: 100
November 14, 2017, 12:17:54 AM
I want to use this OS but not 1bash. Can I delete the config file and configure everything my own way without problem?
No.
Care to elaborate?
It's the main setting for all the scripts running in nvOC, you can't remove it and expect them to run
You don't like it, you should use Ubuntu with no modifications
I don't want any scripts to run which is why I want to remove it.

Thats why I suggest to use standard Ubuntu or any other linux distro
You cant say I dont like windows control panel, can I remove it and make my own control panel?
nvOC is written to run those scripts, it will make so many problems without 1bash
Then how to make 1bash do the minimum it needs to do and nothing more?

It isn't a large file or overly complex. Download it it is free.
1bash is just a text file. read it and set the things you don't want it to do to NO
full member
Activity: 132
Merit: 100
November 14, 2017, 12:16:33 AM

I don't want any scripts to run which is why I want to remove it.

Then why do you want it?

NVOC essentially is the scripts which are controlled by 1bash. Without them it is just Ubuntu Linux and doesn't mine anything. If that is what you want get Ubuntu.

What you are asking is kind of like saying I want to buy Microsoft office but I don't want it to have word, excel, powerpoint, outlook, or one note. The stuff you are saying you don't want is the core of it.
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 502
November 14, 2017, 12:15:21 AM
I want to use this OS but not 1bash. Can I delete the config file and configure everything my own way without problem?
No.
Care to elaborate?
It's the main setting for all the scripts running in nvOC, you can't remove it and expect them to run
You don't like it, you should use Ubuntu with no modifications
I don't want any scripts to run which is why I want to remove it.

Thats why I suggest to use standard Ubuntu or any other linux distro
You cant say I dont like windows control panel, can I remove it and make my own control panel?
nvOC is written to run those scripts, it will make so many problems without 1bash
Then how to make 1bash do the minimum it needs to do and nothing more?
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
November 14, 2017, 12:09:09 AM
I want to use this OS but not 1bash. Can I delete the config file and configure everything my own way without problem?
No.
Care to elaborate?
It's the main setting for all the scripts running in nvOC, you can't remove it and expect them to run
You don't like it, you should use Ubuntu with no modifications
I don't want any scripts to run which is why I want to remove it.

Thats why I suggest to use standard Ubuntu or any other linux distro
You cant say I dont like windows control panel, can I remove it and make my own control panel?
nvOC is written to run those scripts, it will make so many problems without 1bash
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 502
November 13, 2017, 11:54:26 PM
I want to use this OS but not 1bash. Can I delete the config file and configure everything my own way without problem?
No.
Care to elaborate?
It's the main setting for all the scripts running in nvOC, you can't remove it and expect them to run
You don't like it, you should use Ubuntu with no modifications
I don't want any scripts to run which is why I want to remove it.
full member
Activity: 686
Merit: 140
Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!
November 13, 2017, 11:50:10 PM
I want to use this OS but not 1bash. Can I delete the config file and configure everything my own way without problem?
No.
Care to elaborate?
It's the main setting for all the scripts running in nvOC, you can't remove it and expect them to run
You don't like it, you should use Ubuntu with no modifications
hero member
Activity: 630
Merit: 502
November 13, 2017, 11:37:54 PM
I want to use this OS but not 1bash. Can I delete the config file and configure everything my own way without problem?
No.
Care to elaborate?
Jump to: