Pages:
Author

Topic: [ mining os ] nvoc - page 352. (Read 418557 times)

newbie
Activity: 8
Merit: 0
April 28, 2017, 02:21:31 AM
#15
Thank you for this!  I was pulling my hair out trying to OC on 16.04.

I'm having trouble getting my ethernet to work, but I'm sure I'll figure it out. 16.04 server also didn't connect via ethernet until I tweaked a few things, but unfortunately the same tweaks aren't working for nvOC, and my usbstick is  too painfully slow to want to keep troubleshooting.  Wifi works no problem though.


As a token of my appreciation, I'll be mining ZEC with the default oneBash until I get a faster usbstick.
newbie
Activity: 1
Merit: 0
April 25, 2017, 09:41:54 AM
#14
Hello, good OC. But could you integrate fan control in the system. Something like this.
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# cool_gpu       This script will enable or disable fixed gpu fan speed
#
# chkconfig: 345 95 5
# description:  A script hack for GPU fan control on headless GPU nodes
#

# Copyright (c)2011, Axel Kohlmeyer

# locations of all the magic
dir=/opt/set-gpu-fans
smi=/usr/bin/nvidia-smi
set=/usr/bin/nvidia-settings

# if we have a previous GPU logger, terminate it
nvlpid=`pgrep -P 1 nvidia-smi`
if [ "x${nvlpid}" != "x" ]
then
    kill -TERM ${nvlpid}
fi

# determine major driver version
ver=`awk '/NVIDIA/ {print $8}' /proc/driver/nvidia/version | cut -d . -f 1`

# drivers from 285.x.y on allow persistence mode setting
# so we should not need the logger hack anymore
if [ ${ver} -ge 285 ]
then
  ${smi} -pm 1
else
  # initialize GPU logger printing status once per hour
  # to keep an active handle on the GPUs and we don't
  # "lose" the settings applied in the following section.
  nohup ${smi} -d -l -i 900 < /dev/null &> /dev/null &

  # it always takes some time to get all the GPUs initialized,
  # (about 5 seconds) so we give nvidia-smi a little while until
  # we launch any X servers to avoid unwanted race conditions.
  sleep 10
fi

# for multiple tesla devices, only one display is supported.
# thus we need to launch the X server once for each display
# making each of the PCI IDs the primary device in turn.

# command to set fan speed on primary GPU.
nvscmd="${set} -a [gpu:0]/GPUFanControlState=1 -a [fan:0]/GPUCurrentFanSpeed=85"

# go back to automatic, if called with stop argument
if [ "x$1" == "xstop" ]
then
  # with the newer driver, going back to default
  # is simple. we just turn off persistence mode
  # and trigger one reset by showing the GPU status
  if [ ${ver} -ge 285 ]
  then
    ${smi} -pm 0
    ${smi}
    exit
  else
    nvscmd="${set} -a [gpu:0]/GPUFanControlState=0"
  fi
fi

# get PCI bus ids of Nvidia cards and convert from hexadecimal to decimal. watch out for the falling toothpicks.
pciid=`lspci  | sed -n -e '/VGA compatib.*nVidia/s/^\(..\):\(..\).\(.\).*/printf "PCI:%d:%d:%d\\\\\\\\n" 0x\1 0x\2 0x\3;/p'`

for s in `eval ${pciid}`
do \
    cfg=`mktemp /tmp/xorg-XXXXXXXX.conf`
    sed -e s,@GPU_BUS_ID@,${s},    \
        -e s,@SET_GPU_DIR@,${dir}, \
        ${dir}/xorg.conf >> ${cfg}
    xinit ${nvscmd} --  :0 -once -config ${cfg}
    rm -f ${cfg}
done

# no need to keep the logger around
if [ "x$1" == "xstop" ]
then
    nvlpid=`pgrep -P 1 nvidia-smi`
    if [ "x${nvlpid}" != "x" ]
    then
        kill -TERM ${nvlpid}
    fi
fi
Just find another way, but after this overclock doesn't work/
Code:
sudo nvidia-xconfig
sudo nvidia-xconfig --cool-bits=4
Reboot your system and open NVIDIA X Server from Unity dash.
You will find an extra Thermal Settings entry has been added where you can adjust GPU fan speed using the slider.
sr. member
Activity: 372
Merit: 250
The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom
April 15, 2017, 06:21:27 AM
#13
This is all very interesting to me because I currently use Windows 8.1 for my Nvidia Rig but in the past I have mined with my AMD rigs using EthOS and found it much more stable and reliable, and using much lower resources, etc - so a Linux solution for an Nvidia rig sounds great. I was considering trying the PiMP Nvidia version but when I tried that for my AMD rigs it confused the hell out of me.

Anyway, I have one big question because it doesn't seem clear to me from the small amount of info in this thread whether it will suit my rig. Reason being, my rig is currently 2 x  Gigabyte  gtx1070 G1 Gaming cards and 2 x Galax gtx 1060 6GB cards.

It seems from what I read above that when you set cc & mc overclock and powerlimit - this is one setting to apply to all cards on the rig. This is obviously suitable for the typical situation where people commonly use  multiple instances of 1 type of card on a rig, which I understand - people choose a GPU, buy however many of them and populate the rig with them.

What about a situation like mine though, where I have 2 of one GPU and 2 of another, so I need to be able to specify different OC and powerlimits for the different cards.

Currently in Windows 8.1 I just use MSI afterburner and set each card individually, so for example I mine ZEC and the 1070s are powerlimited to around 68%, core OC to +70 and mem OC to +700, while the 1060s are powerlimited to about 75%, core OC to +50 and me OC to +500. Using EWBF this is giving me approximately 1400sol/s using 500W at the wall.

Since the powerlimit in Linux seems to be set in watts rather than percent, one setting in a percentage (70% would probably work) but I would need to be able to set the 1070s to around 125W and the 160s to around 85W. The CC could all conceivably be set to +60 and MC to +500 or +600 but is there a way to set powerlimits individually for each card?
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 250
April 13, 2017, 11:08:25 AM
#12
Version v0013 is up with all member requested changes.  If you only mine ZEC; unless you want to use individual overclocks for each card this update is not necessary.

Change Log:
v0013 (current release)
  dummy plug is no longer required
  added ccminer (both tpruvot and sp-hash)
  added CUDA 8.0
  updated Claymore to 9.0
  installed Ubuntu updates
  oneBash changes:
    moved pool addresses and ports to the top section
    added individual card cc and mc OC
    added 1050 switch (use if you have 1050's in your rig)
    added LBC, DUAL_ETC_PASC  DUAL_ETC_LBC  DUAL_ETH_PASC  DUAL_ETH_LBC

Thanks for the update!
Suggestion for future version:
http://glances.readthedocs.io/en/stable/aoa/gpu.html
Currently the best monitoring tool for Linux, IMHO.
full member
Activity: 145
Merit: 1009
April 08, 2017, 12:33:04 PM
#11
What to put in the .sh script  for power limit adjustment so it sticks on reboot?
When I set the PL in CLI with nvidia-smi -pl it asks for sudo
Would nvidia-settings -pl command work in a script?
And which comand to put in the script?
How did you formulate it in OneBash?

BTW: here goes my vote for xubuntu!

You have to use sudo; that is what I use expect for: to send the root password automatically in oneBash.sh.

this is the relevant section of oneBash.sh:
Quote
   # set wattage for powerlimit:
   if [ $POWERLIMIT == "YES" ]
   then
   sleep 4
   #change powerlimit by changing the number after -pl to the desired wattage
   expect -c 'spawn sudo nvidia-smi -pl 125
   expect "*password*:"
   send "miner1\r" '
   sleep 4
   fi
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 250
April 08, 2017, 09:41:12 AM
#10
What to put in the .sh script  for power limit adjustment so it sticks on reboot?
When I set the PL in CLI with nvidia-smi -pl it asks for sudo
Would nvidia-settings -pl command work in a script?
And which comand to put in the script?
How did you formulate it in OneBash?

BTW: here goes my vote for xubuntu!
full member
Activity: 145
Merit: 1009
April 08, 2017, 09:10:29 AM
#9
edid.bin trick was required for headless setup before nvidia introduced --allow-empty-initial-configuration
i also tried playing with edid.bin to fix issues with VGA resolution on remote VNC connection, no luck
if anybody managed to fix it please share
also, how to set power limit on boot-up, so I do not have to do it manually after every restart?
thanks and have a nice day everybody

edit: mr. fullzero, have you considered using Xubuntu in your next version?
It is much less memory and CPU hungry than vanilla Ubuntu which eats almost 500MB more memory compared to Xubuntu
https://www.reddit.com/r/linux/comments/5kdq92/linux_distros_ram_consumption_9_distros_compared/
I am unsing it right now on an machine with 1GB of memory and all important stuff like graphics-drivers PPA and Nvidia overclocking work like a charm.


I used expect; see http://expect.sourceforge.net/

install it; then you can use the same method I did in oneBash to set the powerlimit automatically

I could make an Xubuntu version if there is enough interest.
legendary
Activity: 4382
Merit: 9330
'The right to privacy matters'
April 08, 2017, 01:49:09 AM
#8
linux  nice.

I will test 1080 and 1080 ti cards on it.

I don't need the headless fix.
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 250
April 08, 2017, 01:36:19 AM
#7
edid.bin trick was required for headless setup before nvidia introduced --allow-empty-initial-configuration
i also tried playing with edid.bin to fix issues with VGA resolution on remote VNC connection, no luck
if anybody managed to fix it please share
also, how to set power limit on boot-up, so I do not have to do it manually after every restart?
thanks and have a nice day everybody

edit: mr. fullzero, have you considered using Xubuntu in your next version?
It is much less memory and CPU hungry than vanilla Ubuntu which eats almost 500MB more memory compared to Xubuntu
https://www.reddit.com/r/linux/comments/5kdq92/linux_distros_ram_consumption_9_distros_compared/
I am unsing it right now on an machine with 1GB of memory and all important stuff like graphics-drivers PPA and Nvidia overclocking work like a charm.
sr. member
Activity: 518
Merit: 250
April 06, 2017, 11:16:46 AM
#6
Nice man!! Im running nvidia mining rig and i will def test this!!
sr. member
Activity: 652
Merit: 266
April 06, 2017, 01:20:48 AM
#5
Hi,
I haven't seen your modded 16.04 yet but I intend to, meanwhile here is something to replace stupid dummy requirements:

/etc/X11/xorg.conf

Quote
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" 0 0
    Screen      2  "Screen2" 0 0
    Screen      3  "Screen3" 0 0
    Screen      4  "Screen4" 0 0
    Screen      5  "Screen5" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0"
    Option         "CustomEDID" "DFP-0:/etc/X11/edid.bin"
    Option         "Coolbits" "31
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option         "Coolbits" "31"
    BusID          "PCI:2:0:0"
    Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0"
    Option         "CustomEDID" "DFP-0:/etc/X11/edid.bin"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device2"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option         "Coolbits" "31"
    BusID          "PCI:3:0:0"
    Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0"
    Option         "CustomEDID" "DFP-0:/etc/X11/edid.bin"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device3"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option         "Coolbits" "31"
    BusID          "PCI:4:0:0"
    Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0"
    Option         "CustomEDID" "DFP-0:/etc/X11/edid.bin"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device4"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option         "Coolbits" "31"
    BusID          "PCI:5:0:0"
    Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0"
    Option         "CustomEDID" "DFP-0:/etc/X11/edid.bin"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device5"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option         "Coolbits" "31"
    BusID          "PCI:6:0:0"
    Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0"
    Option         "CustomEDID" "DFP-0:/etc/X11/edid.bin"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "Coolbits" "31"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Option         "Coolbits" "31"
    Option         "UseDisplayDevice" "none"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen2"
    Device         "Device2"
    Option         "Coolbits" "31"
    Option         "UseDisplayDevice" "none"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen3"
    Device         "Device3"
    Option         "Coolbits" "31"
    Option         "UseDisplayDevice" "none"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen4"
    Device         "Device4"
    Option         "Coolbits" "31"
    Option         "UseDisplayDevice" "none"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen5"
    Device         "Device5"
    Option         "Coolbits" "31"
    Option         "UseDisplayDevice" "none"
EndSection



Search on google for edid.bin, I can't remember where I got mine or I've generated it...
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 250
April 04, 2017, 11:00:42 PM
#4
The only downside is that you will be limited to VGA resolution when using remote VNC connection.
Dummy plug helps with that problem.
sr. member
Activity: 308
Merit: 250
April 04, 2017, 12:41:23 AM
#3
Thank you for contributing!
Regarding the need for dummy plugs, have you tried using  --allow-empty-initial-configuration in xorg.conf?
Quote
sudo nvidia-xconfig -a --cool-bits=28 --allow-empty-initial-configuration
This allows me to run headless without the need for plugs of any kind.
full member
Activity: 145
Merit: 1009
April 03, 2017, 08:13:41 PM
#2
Fellow miners,

this is the build I use with my Nvidia 1000 series rigs.

nvOC is a customized Ubuntu 16.04 build with Nvidia individual card OC and individual card powerlimit support, manual fan support, auto launching on boot, and a single easy to configure Bash Script (1bash) which can be configured from a windows pc using wordpad.

nvOC is easy-to-use (with v0017):

partially supported motherboard links:

ASUS B250 MINING EXPERT (13x gpu) Link

fully supported motherboard links:

ASRock H110 PRO BTC+ (13x gpu) Link

BIOSTAR TB250-BTC PRO (12x gpu) Link

ASRock H81 PRO BTC (6x gpu) Link

BIOSTAR TB85 (6x gpu) Link

MSI Z270-A PRO (6x gpu: 7x if you use 1x m2 adapter) Link

GIGABYTE GA-B250M-Gaming 3 (4x gpu) Link

BIOSTAR TB250-BTC (6x gpu) Link

ASUS Z270-F GAMING (7x gpu: 9x if you use 2x m2 adapters)  Link

MSI Z170A GAMING M5 (7x gpu) Link

ASUS PRIME Z270-A (7x gpu: 9x if you use 2x m2 adapters) Link

GIGABYTE GA-Z270P-D3 (6x gpu) Link

ASUS PRIME H270-PLUS (6x gpu: 8x if you use 2x m2 adapters) Link


If you are using an ASUS B250 MINING EXPERT ; ensure you enable Launch CSM option in the bios before connecting the nvOC USB.  


If you are using an ASRock H110 PRO BTC+ or ASRock H81 PRO BTC or BIOSTAR TB85; no changes to the bios settings are needed.


If you are using a BIOSTAR TB250-BTC PRO; ensure Mining Mode is enabled in the bios.  Also ensure Max TOLUD is set to 3.5 GB in the bios.
NOTE: you must first only connect 6x GPUs, boot, make Bios changes, save and reboot, shutdown, add the other 6x GPUs, attach the USB or SSD and boot


If you are using an MSI Z270-A PRO; ensure you enable Above 4G memory option in the bios before connecting the nvOC USB.  


If you are using a GIGABYTE GA-B250M-Gaming 3; ensure the Audio Controller is disabled in the bios.


If you are using a BIOSTAR TB250-BTC; ensure Miner Mode is enabled in the bios.  Also ensure Max TOLUD is set to 3.5 GB in the bios.


If you are using an ASUS Z270-F GAMING; ensure 'Above 4G Decoding' is enabled in the bios.  Also ensure PTP aware OS: is set to 'Not PTP Aware' in the bios.  Finally, ensure you 'Clear Secure Boot Keys' in the bios.


If you are using an MSI Z170-A GAMING M5; ensure 'Above 4G Decoding' is enabled in the bios.  Also download, unzip and copy to a usb key ( the 2016-12-19 Version 1.D ) Bios and follow instructions to flash the bios.


If you are using an ASUS PRIME Z270-A; ensure 'Above 4G Decoding' is enabled in the bios.  Also ensure PTP aware OS: is set to 'Not PTP Aware' in the bios.  Finally, ensure you 'Clear Secure Boot Keys' in the bios.


If you are using a GIGABYTE GA-Z270P-D3; ensure the Audio Controller is disabled in the bios.


If you are using a ASUS PRIME H270-PLUS; You must update the bios; with this motherboard it can be done by connecting an ethernet cable and entering the EZ Flash 3 Utility.  Select DHCP and download then install the update.  It should look like this.  After updating ensure 'Above 4G Decoding' is enabled in the bios.


If you are using a BIOSTAR RACING Z170GT7; Ensure you are only using the first 6 pcie slots closest to the CPU.  Ensure you set Security Device Support to: Disable Finally ensure you set the max TOLUD to 3.5 gb

full member
Activity: 145
Merit: 1009
April 03, 2017, 08:13:26 PM
#1
nvoc now falls under the mnh_license:  https://github.com/hartmanm/mnh_license/blob/main/license.md

SOFTWARE WARNING

IMPORTANT: READ THIS WARNING CAREFULLY BEFORE USING OR VIEWING THE SOFTWARE.

This Software Warning ("Warning") is issued by Michael Neill Hartman ("Licensor") to you ("Potential Violator"). By installing, copying, or viewing the software, methods, scripts, or architecture ("Software") in whole or in part, you ("Potential Violator") acknowledge that you are liable for any damages resulting from such actions.

1. No Grant of License

You are not granted any rights to use, copy, modify, distribute, or view the Software in any form. All rights to the Software are fully retained by the Licensor. The Software may never be used for any purpose, including personal, commercial, educational, governmental, or organizational use. Any interaction with the Software is strictly prohibited. The Licensor retains all rights, title, and interest in the Software, including all intellectual property rights.

2. Previous Versions

Any previous version of the license is void and is replaced with this version. Any existing copies of the ("Software") must be destroyed.

3. Violation Reporting and Reward

Individuals who notify the Licensor in writing of a specific violation of this Agreement are eligible for a reward of 10% of any successful legal settlement resulting from that violation, calculated after taxes. The written notice must provide sufficient details about the violation, and the individual must be the first to provide this information. If multiple individuals submit information that collectively enables a successful legal settlement, the Licensor shall, at their sole discretion, determine the division of the 10% reward after a successful legal settlement.

4. Limitation of Liability

In no event shall the Licensor be liable for any damages arising from the illegal or unauthorized use or interaction with the Software, even if the Licensor has been advised of the possibility of such damages.
Pages:
Jump to: