Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 308. (Read 5806015 times)

hero member
Activity: 826
Merit: 1000
Now is now more then 3 days since I post my problem and no replays.

https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.2359449

Can you please help mi figure this out... It works on BTC even if I don't have GPUs on 99% but about 75 to 90% but it will not for LTC that GPU will soon only be good for. So can you please help me figuring out why I can't go over 8 on intensity.

Any question I will be happy to answer.
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
[edit] using sudo got around the permission issue, is there a better solution? I'M MINING!!!!!

ls -lh /dev/ttyUSB0
ull see that it likely had group permissions for dialout.

u need to add that to the user ur logged in as.
Code:
sudo usermod -a -G dialout yourusername

Then your user has permission to talk to those interfaces

It didn't seem to help, i saw something about not having permission woosh by but couldn't read it. I'm content using sudo until i get a chance to figure it out. I probably  need to redirect the output to a file so that i can see what it said.

Thanks again for your help!
All versions of cgminer have documented how to deal with permission errors on linux
It varies on the version of cgminer (and devices) you are using - but it's listed in FPGA-README ...
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
i keep getting Stratum connection to pool 0 interrupted :stratum  from pool 0 requested work restart.

how do i resolve this? i am using same setting that never had this error before until i just started a new miner on different pool.
That's your pool having instability. Use a different pool.
hero member
Activity: 490
Merit: 501
[edit] using sudo got around the permission issue, is there a better solution? I'M MINING!!!!!

ls -lh /dev/ttyUSB0
ull see that it likely had group permissions for dialout.

u need to add that to the user ur logged in as.
Code:
sudo usermod -a -G dialout yourusername

Then your user has permission to talk to those interfaces

It didn't seem to help, i saw something about not having permission woosh by but couldn't read it. I'm content using sudo until i get a chance to figure it out. I probably  need to redirect the output to a file so that i can see what it said.

Thanks again for your help!
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250
Supersonic
[edit] using sudo got around the permission issue, is there a better solution? I'M MINING!!!!!

ls -lh /dev/ttyUSB0
ull see that it likely had group permissions for dialout.

u need to add that to the user ur logged in as.
Code:
sudo usermod -a -G dialout yourusername

Then your user has permission to talk to those interfaces
hero member
Activity: 826
Merit: 1000
i keep getting Stratum connection to pool 0 interrupted :stratum  from pool 0 requested work restart.

how do i resolve this? i am using same setting that never had this error before until i just started a new miner on different pool.
Did you use 2.x before that? I know for some pools that have problems with 3.x... don't know why but I know it is happening and that admins are looking into this. I can't run 3.x on Bitparking and I had also some porblems with it on Slush or BtcGuild. So I went back to 2.11.4. But now that I will get ASICminer USB I will have no option to use 2.x... Or is there?

been using 3.1 , didnt have any problems until i switched miner pools.
Pool? I think it is pool related... Merged mining... There is something now in 3.x version that is different... If I put 3.x miner to Bitparking I get a lot of thous. But non if I use 2.x
hero member
Activity: 526
Merit: 500
Its all about the Gold
i keep getting Stratum connection to pool 0 interrupted :stratum  from pool 0 requested work restart.

how do i resolve this? i am using same setting that never had this error before until i just started a new miner on different pool.
Did you use 2.x before that? I know for some pools that have problems with 3.x... don't know why but I know it is happening and that admins are looking into this. I can't run 3.x on Bitparking and I had also some porblems with it on Slush or BtcGuild. So I went back to 2.11.4. But now that I will get ASICminer USB I will have no option to use 2.x... Or is there?

been using 3.1 , didnt have any problems until i switched miner pools.
hero member
Activity: 490
Merit: 501
*sniff* *sniff* ok, i need some hand holding. I grabbed the tarball from GIT for the latest version. I copied the files into my cgminer directory (this is 32 bit Ubuntu), over writing the existing files. I ran autogen.sh and then make. I plugged in an ASICminer USB stick. the green light is on. then i ran ./cgminer with no parameters. It started GPU mining fine, but didn't show anything about the ASICminer. Do i need to reboot with the USB stick plugged in? or is there a start parameter that i need? Please don't tell me to read the readmes, i did. and i'm terrible at searching 100s of pages of a thread. I did the group join thing in the Readme.

stop cgminer

now unplug the USB thing
plug in the usb thing back in.

^ Not troling. im serious.

save this file https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/01-cgminer.rules as /etc/udev/rules.d/01-cgminer.rules

sudo service udev restart

download cgminer 3.1.1 (for sake of clarity into new directory)
Code:
./autogen
./configure --enable-icarus
make


ls /dev/ttyUSB*
make note of the devices.

run cgminer
Code:
cgminer  --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S /dev/ttyUSB0 -S /dev/ttyUSB1  


thank you!

this seemed to work, no i just have Privilege issues on USBtty0

[edit] using sudo got around the permission issue, is there a better solution? I'M MINING!!!!!
hero member
Activity: 826
Merit: 1000
i keep getting Stratum connection to pool 0 interrupted :stratum  from pool 0 requested work restart.

how do i resolve this? i am using same setting that never had this error before until i just started a new miner on different pool.
Did you use 2.x before that? I know for some pools that have problems with 3.x... don't know why but I know it is happening and that admins are looking into this. I can't run 3.x on Bitparking and I had also some porblems with it on Slush or BtcGuild. So I went back to 2.11.4. But now that I will get ASICminer USB I will have no option to use 2.x... Or is there?
hero member
Activity: 526
Merit: 500
Its all about the Gold
i keep getting Stratum connection to pool 0 interrupted :stratum  from pool 0 requested work restart.

how do i resolve this? i am using same setting that never had this error before until i just started a new miner on different pool.
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250
Supersonic
*sniff* *sniff* ok, i need some hand holding. I grabbed the tarball from GIT for the latest version. I copied the files into my cgminer directory (this is 32 bit Ubuntu), over writing the existing files. I ran autogen.sh and then make. I plugged in an ASICminer USB stick. the green light is on. then i ran ./cgminer with no parameters. It started GPU mining fine, but didn't show anything about the ASICminer. Do i need to reboot with the USB stick plugged in? or is there a start parameter that i need? Please don't tell me to read the readmes, i did. and i'm terrible at searching 100s of pages of a thread. I did the group join thing in the Readme.

stop cgminer

now unplug the USB thing
plug in the usb thing back in.

^ Not troling. im serious.

save this file https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/01-cgminer.rules as /etc/udev/rules.d/01-cgminer.rules

sudo service udev restart

download cgminer 3.1.1 (for sake of clarity into new directory)
Code:
./autogen
./configure --enable-icarus
make


ls /dev/ttyUSB*
make note of the devices.

run cgminer
Code:
cgminer --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S /dev/ttyUSB0 -S /dev/ttyUSB1  
hero member
Activity: 481
Merit: 500
Both 3.1.1 and 3.2.0 return this message:

[2013-06-06 15:55:12] BitForceSC detect (2:9) get details returned nothing (0:0)

What does this mean? Is the Jalapeno busted or am I missing something?


 [2013-06-06 15:58:55] Started cgminer 3.2.0
 [2013-06-06 15:58:55] Started cgminer 3.2.0
 [2013-06-06 15:58:55] USB all: found 16 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 2 Device 3 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 1: Bus 2 Device 6 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 2: Bus 2 Device 7 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 3: Bus 2 Device 8 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 4: Bus 2 Device 9 ID: 0403:6014
  Manufacturer: 'Butterfly Labs'
  Product: 'BitFORCE SHA256 SC'
 [2013-06-06 15:58:55] 5 known USB devices
 [2013-06-06 15:59:00] BitForceSC detect (2:9) get details returned nothing (0:0)
 [2013-06-06 15:59:00] Need to specify at least one pool server.
Input server details.
hero member
Activity: 826
Merit: 1000
*sniff* *sniff* ok, i need some hand holding. I grabbed the tarball from GIT for the latest version. I copied the files into my cgminer directory (this is 32 bit Ubuntu), over writing the existing files. I ran autogen.sh and then make. I plugged in an ASICminer USB stick. the green light is on. then i ran ./cgminer with no parameters. It started GPU mining fine, but didn't show anything about the ASICminer. Do i need to reboot with the USB stick plugged in? or is there a start parameter that i need? Please don't tell me to read the readmes, i did. and i'm terrible at searching 100s of pages of a thread.
Cgminer version? 3.2.0 has some problems... Windows parameters are  -S \\.\COM"X" ("X" beeing number of com port) for 3.1.1 not complitly sure about linux. I guess something like /dev/"something"

EDIT: I hope I pointed you in the right direction...
hero member
Activity: 490
Merit: 501
*sniff* *sniff* ok, i need some hand holding. I grabbed the tarball from GIT for the latest version. I copied the files into my cgminer directory (this is 32 bit Ubuntu), over writing the existing files. I ran autogen.sh and then make. I plugged in an ASICminer USB stick. the green light is on. then i ran ./cgminer with no parameters. It started GPU mining fine, but didn't show anything about the ASICminer. Do i need to reboot with the USB stick plugged in? or is there a start parameter that i need? Please don't tell me to read the readmes, i did. and i'm terrible at searching 100s of pages of a thread. I did the group join thing in the Readme.
hero member
Activity: 752
Merit: 500

+1.  Need to reinstall silabs drivers for 3.1.1 or bfgminer.
I'm just going to go with a different miner software.  Can't get it to work.  Thanks guys for trying.
hero member
Activity: 737
Merit: 500
Using cgminer on windows 7

Drivers installed with zadig as described and can view in device manager

I set up a .bat file and I when I try to run it, it flashes on the screen and automatically closes. Says "-S unrecognized option" Any ideas why?  I unchecked "hide extensions for all file types" as instructed when creating a .bat file.

My text in the bat file reads as follows: (replacing user/pass with xxx/yyy)

C:\cgminer\cgminer-nogpu.exe -o http://rr.btcmp.com:8332 -u xxx -p yyy d --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3

The pathway is correct.  Can anyone see any problems?  Only 1 miner plugged into usb port. Thanks!

Use version 3.1.1 for Icarus/Lancelot/Erupter devices.  I thought it suppose to be -S \\.\COM3

Tried v3.1.1, tried / & \ both ways.  Still same thing.

In addition.  When I start cgminer-nogpu.exe manually, enter my pool/user/pass...  It says this:

http://db.tt/5LSsuujs

Any help?

if u used 3.2.0 and then tried to go back to 3.1.1 , make sure u unplug and re-plug the device . atleast on linux you have to...

You probably also have to undo whatever zadig did in order to use 3.1.1 after having set everything up for 3.2.0.  I use linux, so I can't tell you for sure what those steps are.
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250
Supersonic
Using cgminer on windows 7

Drivers installed with zadig as described and can view in device manager

I set up a .bat file and I when I try to run it, it flashes on the screen and automatically closes. Says "-S unrecognized option" Any ideas why?  I unchecked "hide extensions for all file types" as instructed when creating a .bat file.

My text in the bat file reads as follows: (replacing user/pass with xxx/yyy)

C:\cgminer\cgminer-nogpu.exe -o http://rr.btcmp.com:8332 -u xxx -p yyy d --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3

The pathway is correct.  Can anyone see any problems?  Only 1 miner plugged into usb port. Thanks!

Use version 3.1.1 for Icarus/Lancelot/Erupter devices.  I thought it suppose to be -S \\.\COM3

Tried v3.1.1, tried / & \ both ways.  Still same thing.

In addition.  When I start cgminer-nogpu.exe manually, enter my pool/user/pass...  It says this:

http://db.tt/5LSsuujs

Any help?

if u used 3.2.0 and then tried to go back to 3.1.1 , make sure u unplug and re-plug the device . atleast on linux you have to...
hero member
Activity: 752
Merit: 500
Using cgminer on windows 7

Drivers installed with zadig as described and can view in device manager

I set up a .bat file and I when I try to run it, it flashes on the screen and automatically closes. Says "-S unrecognized option" Any ideas why?  I unchecked "hide extensions for all file types" as instructed when creating a .bat file.

My text in the bat file reads as follows: (replacing user/pass with xxx/yyy)

C:\cgminer\cgminer-nogpu.exe -o http://rr.btcmp.com:8332 -u xxx -p yyy d --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3

The pathway is correct.  Can anyone see any problems?  Only 1 miner plugged into usb port. Thanks!

Use version 3.1.1 for Icarus/Lancelot/Erupter devices.  I thought it suppose to be -S \\.\COM3

Tried v3.1.1, tried / & \ both ways.  Still same thing.

In addition.  When I start cgminer-nogpu.exe manually, enter my pool/user/pass...  It says this:



Any help?
hero member
Activity: 737
Merit: 500
Using cgminer on windows 7

Drivers installed with zadig as described and can view in device manager

I set up a .bat file and I when I try to run it, it flashes on the screen and automatically closes. Says "-S unrecognized option" Any ideas why?  I unchecked "hide extensions for all file types" as instructed when creating a .bat file.

My text in the bat file reads as follows: (replacing user/pass with xxx/yyy)

C:\cgminer\cgminer-nogpu.exe -o http://rr.btcmp.com:8332 -u xxx -p yyy d --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3

The pathway is correct.  Can anyone see any problems?  Only 1 miner plugged into usb port. Thanks!

The command line you posted is for the 3.1.1 version of cgminer (which does not use zadig).  The 3.2 version of cgminer does not need --icarus-options --icarus-timing or -S.

Also, the 3.2 version often doesn't work for asicminer USB devices.  The issue is under investigation.  The most reliable way to get this working is to use the older 3.1.1 version of cgminer with the command line you posted above.
hero member
Activity: 752
Merit: 500
Using cgminer on windows 7

Drivers installed with zadig as described and can view in device manager

I set up a .bat file and I when I try to run it, it flashes on the screen and automatically closes. Says "-S unrecognized option" Any ideas why?  I unchecked "hide extensions for all file types" as instructed when creating a .bat file.

My text in the bat file reads as follows: (replacing user/pass with xxx/yyy)

C:\cgminer\cgminer-nogpu.exe -o http://rr.btcmp.com:8332 -u xxx -p yyy d --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3

The pathway is correct.  Can anyone see any problems?  Only 1 miner plugged into usb port. Thanks!
Jump to: