Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 457. (Read 5806004 times)

newbie
Activity: 58
Merit: 0
Testing 2.8.6 on Win7 x64.

There are lots of messages "Accepted untracked stratum share" among regular "Accepted 68132465..." ones.
What do they mean?

p.s. It took about 50 sec to recover normal operations when I switched to another wifi network.
And it died when I switched back.
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
cut/paste ...

2.8.6
An Xubuntu 11.04 x86_64 executable is in my github downloads called cgminer-2.8.6a
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/downloads
(it also works on Fedora 16 and 17)

For anyone who didn't realise, it's just the executable file to put in place of 'cgminer'
Nothing else needs changing
First get and extract the full binary release from ckolivas and then copy my file in place of 'cgminer'

No problems so far on my '2xGPU+2xIcarus', 'BFL' or 'MMQ' rigs (1.5hrs so far) on OzCoin (i.e. no Stratum)

The same configure options as cvolivas' binary version
In case anyone was wondering:
CFLAGS="-O2 -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-ztex --enable-modminer --enable-scrypt
make clean
make

---

N.B. MMQ still not working on Windows but of course works great on Linux Smiley

Edit: updated - 1.5hrs
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
New versions -> 2.8.7, 29th October 2012

Mainly stratum fixes for windows plus minor tweaks and cosmetic changes.


Human readable changelog

After much wrestling I've discovered that windows happily sends stuff into sockets for a long time after they're dead and finally found a workaround that would realise it couldn't send them. I'm assuming the crashes people were seeing on windows are related to overflows with this phenomenon and hopefully this will improve stratum reliability further on windows.
Pool timeouts on unresponsive pools with stratum should be picked up sooner.
Failure to submit shares with stratum now also registers as an RF remote failure.
Kano tracked down a longstanding memory leak which was small but did add up over time when GPU mining.
There is a new "compact" display mode you can specify with --compact or enable it in the menu during runtime which only shows the summary stats and not a line for each device, in case you have heaps of devices and they don't fit on screen.
The best share difficulty is now displayed in the status window at the top, and in the summary on exiting.
Some details have been trimmed from the pool listing in the status window in the interest of screen real estate efficiency.


Full changelog

- Fail on select() failing in stratum thread without needing to attempt
recv_line.
- Add share to stratum database before sending it again in case we get a
response from the pool before it's added.
- Shorten the initiate stratum connect timeout to 30 seconds.
- Shorten the stratum timeout on read to 90 seconds to detect unresponsive pool.
- Display best share difficulty on exit.
- Make stratum socket fail more robust on windows by disabling the send buffer.
- Reuse the same curl handle forcing a new connection instead of risking
derefencing.
- Add information about submission failure to stratum send.
- Only add stratum share to database if we succeeded in submitting it, with a
debug output saying it succeeded.
- Use keepalive with stratum sockets to improve its ability to detect broken
connections.
- Show only the URL in the status bar to avoid long prefixes making for extra
long lines.
- Display compact status in menu and update README to reflect current menu
entries.
- Add a compact display mode that does not list per device statistics in the
status window.
- Add blank spaces after best share displayed.
- Round a few static string arrays up to 4 byte boundaries for ARM.
- Display best share diff for scrypt as well.
- Show the best diff share as "best share" and add info to the README.
- Display the best diff share submitted so far.
- Redundant check.
- The work struct pointer in struct pc_data in findnonce is never freed yet
there is no need to allocate it separately so make struct work a static part of
the struct pc_data.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
been running great under windows vista/7 so far.

Thanks!

EDIT: say, what does "rejected job '57f7' not found" mean?
With stratum mining that's whatever return code the server has given you for the rejection. That one usually means it has asked you to start on new work and that share is from the old work. i.e. stale.
legendary
Activity: 4354
Merit: 3614
what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?

Already underway Wink

This is new in the display of the next version:
Code:
 Block: 029a31ecc6e1269154fd5c6b...  Started: [08:12:07]  Best share: 7.58M


I wondered when that snuck in (compiled from git yesterday). best share so far 104k.

been running great under windows vista/7 so far.

Thanks!

EDIT: say, what does "rejected job '57f7' not found" mean?
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
As a side note, I also have been getting a lot of BFL0 Comms Error or garbled message lately.  I also tried moving the BFL single over to a USB 3.0 port on the same rig, but I'm still getting the same messages.
Usually caused by either of throttling or bad USB cables
member
Activity: 75
Merit: 10
As a side note, I also have been getting a lot of BFL0 Comms Error or garbled message lately.  I also tried moving the BFL single over to a USB 3.0 port on the same rig, but I'm still getting the same messages.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Already underway Wink

This is new in the display of the next version:
Code:
 Block: 029a31ecc6e1269154fd5c6b...  Started: [08:12:07]  Best share: 7.58M

Very cool, can't wait. Cheesy

How does cgminer know if it found a block? It doesn't know the network difficulty, does it?
It does, from the work.
hero member
Activity: 591
Merit: 500
Already underway Wink

This is new in the display of the next version:
Code:
 Block: 029a31ecc6e1269154fd5c6b...  Started: [08:12:07]  Best share: 7.58M

Very cool, can't wait. Cheesy

How does cgminer know if it found a block? It doesn't know the network difficulty, does it?
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I got a share that registered a diff of 7.58M  Grin

That was a block solve for mtred since current difficulty is just over 3 million. Smiley
You should add a stat upon shutdown for highest difficulty achieved. I noticed you already put in one for telling you when you found a block. Smiley
Already underway Wink

This is new in the display of the next version:
Code:
 Block: 029a31ecc6e1269154fd5c6b...  Started: [08:12:07]  Best share: 7.58M
hero member
Activity: 591
Merit: 500
I got a share that registered a diff of 7.58M  Grin

That was a block solve for mtred since current difficulty is just over 3 million. Smiley
You should add a stat upon shutdown for highest difficulty achieved. I noticed you already put in one for telling you when you found a block. Smiley
legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001
I got a share that registered a diff of 7.58M  Grin

That was a block solve for mtred since current difficulty is just over 3 million. Smiley

nice!  the biggest I've seen is a few k so far.

M
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I got a share that registered a diff of 7.58M  Grin

That was a block solve for mtred since current difficulty is just over 3 million. Smiley
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Thanks for the reply.  I don't think that REST and re-enabling a GPU should be causing it to crash.  I'm currently mining on a pool that uses var diff also.  Not sure it that help.
I wasn't saying that was necessarily the cause of the crash, but it's worth noting that you had an overheat anyway.
member
Activity: 75
Merit: 10
Thanks for the reply.  I don't think that REST and re-enabling a GPU should be causing it to crash.  I'm currently mining on a pool that uses var diff also.  Not sure it that help.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
CGminer crashed on me again today with the "Cgminer program has stopped suddenly" or something to that sort.  Anyhow, I could see behind the message popup, and it looks like Cgminer put a GPU to REST mode, and then tried to re-enable it, and this is when it crashed.  I'm currently on W7 with version 2.8.5.  Thanks!
REST is usually due to an overheat event, unlike SICK and DEAD.
member
Activity: 75
Merit: 10
CGminer crashed on me again today with an error message "Cgminer program has stopped suddenly" or something to that sort.  Anyhow, I could see behind the error message popup, and it looks like Cgminer put a GPU to REST mode, and then tried to re-enable it, and this is when it crashed.  I'm currently on W7 with version 2.8.5.  Thanks!
member
Activity: 103
Merit: 10
crashed again ( windows XP) and no restart this time ...

would be nice to get rid of the stratum thing for now ...

again is there a --fix syntax for the cgminer.conf file ?

thanks

Works the same for every simple boolean option in cgminer:
(if you look in your cgminer.conf at other examples)

Since the option (as per the README) is --fix-protocol then you use:
Code:
"fix-protocol" : true

You need to add a comma after it if it isn't the last one ...

done!  thanks (I will see if still crashing ... or not)
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
crashed again ( windows XP) and no restart this time ...

would be nice to get rid of the stratum thing for now ...

again is there a --fix syntax for the cgminer.conf file ?

thanks

Works the same for every simple boolean option in cgminer:
(if you look in your cgminer.conf at other examples)

Since the option (as per the README) is --fix-protocol then you use:
Code:
"fix-protocol" : true

You need to add a comma after it if it isn't the last one ...
member
Activity: 103
Merit: 10
crashed again ( windows XP) and no restart this time ...

would be nice to get rid of the stratum thing for now ...

again is there a --fix syntax for the cgminer.conf file ?

thanks
Jump to: