Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 470. (Read 5806015 times)

newbie
Activity: 58
Merit: 0
2.8.3 on Win7 x64 and XP x32 crashes eventually.

Last time it crashed on 2 different XP rigs at the same time so I think it could be related to some network events processing.

Sorry, no logs Sad
hero member
Activity: 1162
Merit: 500
@ckolivas: Will cgminer support BFL ASICs? Are you already working on this?
It will, along with ASICs from other manufacturers. I am not directly working on the driver for it yet because they have not released any specifications yet.

On the other hand, there have been numerous changes made to cgminer in preparation for those ASICs. This is precisely why cgminer now supports the stratum protocol, has massive rolltime support and can display devices up to exahash speed.

Did Josh/BFL already contact you?

From https://forums.butterflylabs.com/showthread.php/125-Can-you-send-a-%28beta%29-ASIC-device-to-ckolivas-%28developer-cgminer%29?p=1667&viewfull=1#post1667
Q: Would it be possible that you send one of your (beta) ASIC devices to ckolivas (the developer of cgminer) so that he can start supporting it?
A: Yes, as soon as we have something available, we will be sending him one.
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
However Smiley Smiley
If you see something with 3M and it isn't a BLOCK! - then it is time to weep Cry
(coz it has to actually be above 3054627.5... at the moment)
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I'm loving the new difficulty stats. It's cool getting to see what each share is. Smiley
Yes it makes it far more interesting just watching hashes go by... though of course it's a complete time waster. But if you see anything 3M or bigger, that would be exciting cause it would be a block solve  Wink
hero member
Activity: 591
Merit: 500
Dynamic intensity is still messed up in 2.8.3. Now it's going up to 15. Shocked
Eh? I tested it on windows and linux... Tongue
Hmm I dunno then. It took about a minute or two for it to start happening after I started up 2.8.3; it was happening instantly in 2.8.2.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Dynamic intensity is still messed up in 2.8.3. Now it's going up to 15. Shocked
Eh? I tested it on windows and linux... Tongue
hero member
Activity: 591
Merit: 500
Dynamic intensity is still messed up in 2.8.3. Now it's going up to 15. Shocked

I'm loving the new difficulty stats. It's cool getting to see what each share is. Smiley
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I played a little around an found out, that the nonce does'nt have to change the endian on arm.

Is it normal that a Generated target looks like this:

Generated target 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ffff00020d7800780d

on a working stratum machine, it look like this:

[2012-10-13 00:01:34] Generated target 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ffff00000000

No it is not normal. The last 8 hex characters should always be zero. The working stratum example is what a normal diff 1 target should look like.

after the call  swab256(target, rtarget); the last bytes of target are destroyed.

But rtarget looks good.  Huh
Very weird. swab256 is a pretty simple function swapping the 8x4byte array members (which means 8 hex values) of rtarget to target and then byteswapping the values of each 4 byte value. It looks like something is stomping on the last few bytes on your arm build though. The endian issue could be coincidence and not the real problem.
I changed the default size of target and rtarget like this:
Code:
static void set_work_target(struct work *work, int diff)
{
        unsigned char rtarget[36], target[36];
Now i got targets like expected..
[2012-10-13 01:39:50] Generated target 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ffff00000000

But still the same problem that i get rejected on stratum

 [2012-10-13 01:40:01] RECVD: {"error": [-2, "lowdifficulty", null], "id": 68, "result": false}
 [2012-10-13 01:40:01] PROOF OF WORK RESULT: false (booooo)
 [2012-10-13 01:40:01] Rejected 4e8ec61a Diff 3/1 MM 6 pool 0 (lowdifficulty)

Hmm come to think of it, arm has an issue with needing to allocate memory aligned to a certain size. Presumably that's now a problem on the share submission side now that you've sort of fixed the target generation.
newbie
Activity: 43
Merit: 0
I played a little around an found out, that the nonce does'nt have to change the endian on arm.

Is it normal that a Generated target looks like this:

Generated target 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ffff00020d7800780d

on a working stratum machine, it look like this:

[2012-10-13 00:01:34] Generated target 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ffff00000000

No it is not normal. The last 8 hex characters should always be zero. The working stratum example is what a normal diff 1 target should look like.

after the call  swab256(target, rtarget); the last bytes of target are destroyed.

But rtarget looks good.  Huh
Very weird. swab256 is a pretty simple function swapping the 8x4byte array members (which means 8 hex values) of rtarget to target and then byteswapping the values of each 4 byte value. It looks like something is stomping on the last few bytes on your arm build though. The endian issue could be coincidence and not the real problem.
I changed the default size of target and rtarget like this:
Code:
static void set_work_target(struct work *work, int diff)
{
        unsigned char rtarget[36], target[36];
Now i got targets like expected..
[2012-10-13 01:39:50] Generated target 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ffff00000000

But still the same problem that i get rejected on stratum

 [2012-10-13 01:40:01] RECVD: {"error": [-2, "lowdifficulty", null], "id": 68, "result": false}
 [2012-10-13 01:40:01] PROOF OF WORK RESULT: false (booooo)
 [2012-10-13 01:40:01] Rejected 4e8ec61a Diff 3/1 MM 6 pool 0 (lowdifficulty)
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I played a little around an found out, that the nonce does'nt have to change the endian on arm.

Is it normal that a Generated target looks like this:

Generated target 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ffff00020d7800780d

on a working stratum machine, it look like this:

[2012-10-13 00:01:34] Generated target 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ffff00000000

No it is not normal. The last 8 hex characters should always be zero. The working stratum example is what a normal diff 1 target should look like.

after the call  swab256(target, rtarget); the last bytes of target are destroyed.

But rtarget looks good.  Huh
Very weird. swab256 is a pretty simple function swapping the 8x4byte array members (which means 8 hex values) of rtarget to target and then byteswapping the values of each 4 byte value. It looks like something is stomping on the last few bytes on your arm build though. The endian issue could be coincidence and not the real problem.
newbie
Activity: 43
Merit: 0
I played a little around an found out, that the nonce does'nt have to change the endian on arm.

Is it normal that a Generated target looks like this:

Generated target 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ffff00020d7800780d

on a working stratum machine, it look like this:

[2012-10-13 00:01:34] Generated target 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ffff00000000

No it is not normal. The last 8 hex characters should always be zero. The working stratum example is what a normal diff 1 target should look like.

after the call  swab256(target, rtarget); the last bytes of target are destroyed.

But rtarget looks good.  Huh
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I played a little around an found out, that the nonce does'nt have to change the endian on arm.

Is it normal that a Generated target looks like this:

Generated target 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ffff00020d7800780d

on a working stratum machine, it look like this:

[2012-10-13 00:01:34] Generated target 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ffff00000000

No it is not normal. The last 8 hex characters should always be zero. The working stratum example is what a normal diff 1 target should look like.
newbie
Activity: 43
Merit: 0
I played a little around an found out, that the nonce does'nt have to change the endian on arm.

Is it normal that a Generated target looks like this:

Generated target 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ffff00020d7800780d

on a working stratum machine, it look like this:

[2012-10-13 00:01:34] Generated target 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ffff00000000
member
Activity: 623
Merit: 11
Proof-of-Stake Blockchain Network
I have three rigs - all Ubuntu 10.04LTS - ADL4.0 - SDK2.4 - and I followed the same instructions as everyone....

Why do these look different - (I don't get the nice layout on one of my rigs)Huh

Any ideas - anyone?
It looks like you didn't have curses-development files installed when building cgminer on that rig.

That would be a quick fix - Will rebuild this evening - Thanks!
(Great piece of code BTW - expect a donation)

Like a charm - 2BTC sent!
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
@ckolivas: Will cgminer support BFL ASICs? Are you already working on this?
It will, along with ASICs from other manufacturers. I am not directly working on the driver for it yet because they have not released any specifications yet.

On the other hand, there have been numerous changes made to cgminer in preparation for those ASICs. This is precisely why cgminer now supports the stratum protocol, has massive rolltime support and can display devices up to exahash speed.
hero member
Activity: 1162
Merit: 500
@ckolivas: Will cgminer support BFL ASICs? Are you already working on this?
full member
Activity: 195
Merit: 100
New version: 2.8.3, 12th October 2012

Fixed a critical windows bug and added some goodies. Hopefully this version brings us close to making a stratum capable release the current stable version.

...

Thanx for the fast updates.
I replaced libpdcurses.dll that AVG virus warns about to other that AVG likes, and cgminer is still running fine =)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNsrK6P9QvI&noredirect=1

Or you could have just read the README which shows you that it is a false positive and setup AVG to ignore it. Or you could have read this forum thread and also come to the same conclusion.

I have read the README and the forums... just that now I don't get that false positive at all =)
sr. member
Activity: 383
Merit: 250
New version: 2.8.3, 12th October 2012

Fixed a critical windows bug and added some goodies. Hopefully this version brings us close to making a stratum capable release the current stable version.

...

Thanx for the fast updates.
I replaced libpdcurses.dll that AVG virus warns about to other that AVG likes, and cgminer is still running fine =)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNsrK6P9QvI&noredirect=1

Or you could have just read the README which shows you that it is a false positive and setup AVG to ignore it. Or you could have read this forum thread and also come to the same conclusion.
sr. member
Activity: 322
Merit: 250
im running this while not gaming "cgminer -o us2.eclipsemc.com:8337 -u xxxxxx -p xxxxx --shaders 1792 --intensity 12 --worksize 256 -v 1"

but how can i cut out gpu 0 when running bf3?

An alternate method that Kano didn't suggest is in the command line, use --device 1[,2,3,4,n] to turn "OFF" device 0, which is GPU 0.  If you are using batch files to start cgminer, use two files, one for gaming with "--device 1" and one for when not gaming.
Jump to: