Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 471. (Read 5806015 times)

member
Activity: 623
Merit: 11
Proof-of-Stake Blockchain Network
I have three rigs - all Ubuntu 10.04LTS - ADL4.0 - SDK2.4 - and I followed the same instructions as everyone....

Why do these look different - (I don't get the nice layout on one of my rigs)Huh

Any ideas - anyone?
It looks like you didn't have curses-development files installed when building cgminer on that rig.

That would be a quick fix - Will rebuild this evening - Thanks!
(Great piece of code BTW - expect a donation)
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
I have 2 rigs with 2 gpus each (2 5830 and one with a 5830 and a 5850).

ONe has debian and the other ubuntu... both 32bits Tongue

is there any place to get precompiled binaries ? i compiled up to 2.3.something, and stoped Tongue

It was ... complicated xD

Might as well format the hell out of them and install ubuntu 12.04 x64, but that would take some time Tongue (and me getting to my parents home).
Yes ... reinstall to x64 Tongue
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I have three rigs - all Ubuntu 10.04LTS - ADL4.0 - SDK2.4 - and I followed the same instructions as everyone....

Why do these look different - (I don't get the nice layout on one of my rigs)Huh

Any ideas - anyone?
It looks like you didn't have curses-development files installed when building cgminer on that rig.
member
Activity: 623
Merit: 11
Proof-of-Stake Blockchain Network
I have three rigs - all Ubuntu 10.04LTS - ADL4.0 - SDK2.4 - and I followed the same instructions as everyone....

Why do these look different - (I don't get the nice layout on one of my rigs)Huh

Any ideas - anyone?

newbie
Activity: 78
Merit: 0
I have 2 rigs with 2 gpus each (2 5830 and one with a 5830 and a 5850).

ONe has debian and the other ubuntu... both 32bits Tongue

is there any place to get precompiled binaries ? i compiled up to 2.3.something, and stoped Tongue

It was ... complicated xD

Might as well format the hell out of them and install ubuntu 12.04 x64, but that would take some time Tongue (and me getting to my parents home).
legendary
Activity: 1361
Merit: 1003
Don`t panic! Organize!
Trying to compile on windows, it not see OpenCL...
Drivers installed, SDK etc installed, files copied...
Any ideas?

CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure --enable-scrypt --enable-cpumining

Code:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
cgminer 2.8.3
------------------------------------------------------------------------


Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: pdcurses
  OpenCL...............: NOT FOUND. GPU mining support DISABLED
  scrypt...............: Disabled (needs OpenCL)
  ADL..................: SDK NOT found, GPU monitoring support DISABLED

  BitForce.FPGAs.......: Disabled
  Icarus.FPGAs.........: Disabled
  ModMiner.FPGAs.......: Disabled
  Ztex.FPGAs...........: Disabled

  CPU Mining...........: Enabled
  ASM.(for CPU mining).: false

Compilation............: make (or gmake)
  CPPFLAGS.............:
  CFLAGS...............: -O2 -msse2
  LDFLAGS..............:
  LDADD................:  -LC:/MinGW/lib -lcurl -lcurldll   compat/jansson/libja
nsson.a -lpthread    -lws2_32 -lm

Installation...........: make install (as root if needed, with 'su' or 'sudo')
  prefix...............: /usr/local
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I still have problems with 2.8.3.
Now i made a logfile : blogya.de/downloadsonlyforyou/logfile.txt
I crosscompile it for ARM7 maybe that is the problem.

is it normal, that in stratum protocol the nonce is different endian, than the nonce that is submitted by the worker ?

 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] Pushing submit work to work thread
 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] (3:5) submitted de65d291
 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] (3): entering poll loop
 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] (10): entering poll loop
 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] Popping work to work thread
 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] Creating extra submit work thread
 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] Submitting share 241c7c3e to pool 0
 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] SEND: {"params": ["MyUsername", "43402", "00000000", "5077f59c", "91d265de"], "id": 5, "method": "mining.submit"}

Later in the log you can see, that my driver is working together with 50BTC.com

Any Ideas ?
Are you saying your shares get refused? It is possible that it's an endian issue to do with ARM indeed.

These are the lines that convert the nonce value to a hex value to send to the server in cgminer.c:2849 if you wish to play...
Code:
		nonce = *((uint32_t *)(work->data + 76));
noncehex = bin2hex((const unsigned char *)&nonce, 4);
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Also what I edited my post - but after you read it:

... API requires privileged access enabled.
Also miner.php has a enable/disable button if it has API privileged access ...
and set
$readonly = false;
hero member
Activity: 560
Merit: 500
ok, so im dragging my gaming rig in to mining aswell, but im having some trouble finding out how to only mine on 1 card while gaming,

im running this while not gaming "cgminer -o us2.eclipsemc.com:8337 -u xxxxxx -p xxxxx --shaders 1792 --intensity 12 --worksize 256 -v 1"

but how can i cut out gpu 0 when running bf3?

Two options:

-i d,12,12,12,12,12 (however many gpus you have) - if dynamic works OK on your setup

Or run it as you were and when you want to play BF3, if you want to totally disable GPU0 mining you can via the screen or the API
screen: G D 0
API: java API "gpudisable|0"

and enable again
screen: G E 0
API: java API "gpuenable|0"

thank you verry much mate Smiley
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
ok, so im dragging my gaming rig in to mining aswell, but im having some trouble finding out how to only mine on 1 card while gaming,

im running this while not gaming "cgminer -o us2.eclipsemc.com:8337 -u xxxxxx -p xxxxx --shaders 1792 --intensity 12 --worksize 256 -v 1"

but how can i cut out gpu 0 when running bf3?

Two options:

-i d,12,12,12,12,12 (however many gpus you have) - if dynamic works OK on your setup

Or run it as you were and when you want to play BF3, if you want to totally disable GPU0 mining you can via the screen or the API
screen: G D 0
API: java API "gpudisable|0"

and enable again
screen: G E 0
API: java API "gpuenable|0"

... API requires privileged access enabled.
Also miner.php has a enable/disable button if it has API privileged access ...
and set
$readonly = false;
newbie
Activity: 43
Merit: 0
I still have problems with 2.8.3.
Now i made a logfile : blogya.de/downloadsonlyforyou/logfile.txt
I crosscompile it for ARM7 maybe that is the problem.

is it normal, that in stratum protocol the nonce is different endian, than the nonce that is submitted by the worker ?

 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] Pushing submit work to work thread
 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] (3:5) submitted de65d291
 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] (3): entering poll loop
 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] (10): entering poll loop
 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] Popping work to work thread
 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] Creating extra submit work thread
 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] Submitting share 241c7c3e to pool 0
 [2012-10-12 12:49:27] SEND: {"params": ["MyUsername", "43402", "00000000", "5077f59c", "91d265de"], "id": 5, "method": "mining.submit"}

Later in the log you can see, that my driver is working together with 50BTC.com

Any Ideas ?
full member
Activity: 195
Merit: 100
New version: 2.8.3, 12th October 2012

Fixed a critical windows bug and added some goodies. Hopefully this version brings us close to making a stratum capable release the current stable version.

...

Thanx for the fast updates.
I replaced libpdcurses.dll that AVG virus warns about to other that AVG likes, and cgminer is still running fine =)
hero member
Activity: 560
Merit: 500
ok, so im dragging my gaming rig in to mining aswell, but im having some trouble finding out how to only mine on 1 card while gaming,

im running this while not gaming "cgminer -o us2.eclipsemc.com:8337 -u xxxxxx -p xxxxx --shaders 1792 --intensity 12 --worksize 256 -v 1"

but how can i cut out gpu 0 when running bf3?
legendary
Activity: 4634
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
cut/paste ...

2.8.3
An Xubuntu 11.04 x86_64 executable is in my github downloads called cgminer-2.8.3a
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/downloads
(it also works on Fedora 16 and 17)

For anyone who didn't realise, it's just the executable file to put in place of 'cgminer'
Nothing else needs changing
First get and extract the full binary release from ckolivas and then copy my file in place of 'cgminer'

No problems so far on my BFL or my '2xGPU+2xIcarus' (for 20 minutes so far) on normal pools

The same configure options as cvolivas' binary version
In case anyone was wondering:
CFLAGS="-O2 -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-ztex --enable-modminer --enable-scrypt
make clean
make
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
New version: 2.8.3, 12th October 2012

Fixed a critical windows bug and added some goodies. Hopefully this version brings us close to making a stratum capable release the current stable version.


Human readable changelog
Fixed the windows bug in 2.8.2 which made it submit no shares.
Fixed the bug with dynamic intensity which would make it go straight to 14 and get stuck there.
Updated the device display code now to be able to show kilo/mega/giga/tera/peta/exa when the value is too high, thus supporting hashrates of devices up to exahashes (10^18).
Cgminer now displays the actual share difficulty target it hit as well as the current pool difficulty like so:
Code:
 [2012-10-12 21:00:31] Accepted 2687d42a Diff 6/3 GPU 1 pool 2
 [2012-10-12 21:00:41] Accepted 00f98044 Diff 262/3 GPU 3 pool 2
 [2012-10-12 21:00:45] Accepted 3840818b Diff 4/3 GPU 2 pool 2
 [2012-10-12 21:00:55] Accepted 35777786 Diff 4/3 GPU 1 pool 2


Full changelog
- Left align values that are suffix_string generated.
- Share_diff should not be converting the work data to hex.
- Off by one error.
- Prevent overflows of the port char array in extract_sockaddr.
- Disable stratum detection with scrypt.
- Use the suffix string function when displaying device hashrates.
- Be consistent with the get_statline function.
- Use the suffix string function for displaying hashrate with 4 significant
digits.
- Display the actual share diff next to the pool required diff, using a suffix
creation function to prevent values of >1000 being shown in their entirety.
- Fix 4 * 0 being 0 that would break dynamic intensity mode.
- Fix wrong byteswap macro being used on mingw32 which was breaking target
generation on stratum.
newbie
Activity: 43
Merit: 0
--Fix-protocol brings 2.8.2 with my own driver to run. Now it works with external Proxy like expecteded. It works with Diff 16.
When i try with the internal stratum protocol, it only shows diff 1 and never goes up.

Has anybody tested the stratum implementation on an ARM7 ?
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
--fix-protocol on windows 2.8.2 works and is submitting shares. If I try to let it default to stratum it's a no go.
Stratum works in 2.8.1 hope this helps.

Thanks, that's what I needed to know. I'm guessing the target generation code doesn't work in windows. Will rework soon.
Found the bug which would affect windows and it was a trivial typo change. I will rush out yet another release, correcting this and dynamic intensity mode today.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I open cgminer 2.8.2 and type in btcguild.com:8332, then my username and then I leave password blank. My gpus start working and i get 360 mhash per gpu which is normal however no shares are accepted. Any ideas? Ive never used stratum before
It appears the windows stratum support doesnt work. Try using --fix-protocol to prevent it using stratum.

Linux users are unaffected by this bug, stratum works fine there.

It works fine for me with 2.7.5. What advantages would swtiching to 2.8.2 do for me if I use normal mining method?
It would only be helping me to debug where the problem might be to see if it only affects the stratum code.

--fix-protocol on windows 2.8.2 works and is submitting shares. If I try to let it default to stratum it's a no go.
Stratum works in 2.8.1 hope this helps.

Thanks, that's what I needed to know. I'm guessing the target generation code doesn't work in windows. Will rework soon.
member
Activity: 85
Merit: 10
I open cgminer 2.8.2 and type in btcguild.com:8332, then my username and then I leave password blank. My gpus start working and i get 360 mhash per gpu which is normal however no shares are accepted. Any ideas? Ive never used stratum before
It appears the windows stratum support doesnt work. Try using --fix-protocol to prevent it using stratum.

Linux users are unaffected by this bug, stratum works fine there.

It works fine for me with 2.7.5. What advantages would swtiching to 2.8.2 do for me if I use normal mining method?
It would only be helping me to debug where the problem might be to see if it only affects the stratum code.

--fix-protocol on windows 2.8.2 works and is submitting shares. If I try to let it default to stratum it's a no go.
Stratum works in 2.8.1 hope this helps.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Dynamic intensity seems to be broken on Linux in 2.8.2. It just stays at 14 and spits out hardware errors.
Thanks, spotted that myself too. Heh...   Undecided
Jump to: