Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 546. (Read 5805546 times)

legendary
Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001
I'm playing with p2pool again.  I have 3 miners pointing to a local pool.  Two are cgminer 2.4.4, one is phoenix 2.0.0.  I get this in the p2pool log every so often for cgminers, not sure about the phoenix miner:

2012-07-05 15:28:18.808000 > Worker q6600 @ 127.0.0.1 submitted share more than once!

p2pool, cgminer, or something else causing this?

M
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
It already tries to restart the cards itself without any options unless you specify --no-restart, but it only does so if it knows it's safe. It almost certainly has tried and failed and you're just lucky that restarting cgminer fixes it. I suggest  clocking less or cooling better if you're routinely killing the driver like that.

Is there a way to make it keep trying to restart the dead card every X seconds?
It does so every minute already. If however the restart thread is killed by the driver destroying it, it does not try to restart it any further because that is usually when it will crash the entire of cgminer instead, so the safer option is to at least let any remaining devices keep mining. Most cards, when they go DEAD, usually cgminer will keep mining on the rest of the devices, but you have to actually reboot to get the dead one back.
hero member
Activity: 560
Merit: 500
It already tries to restart the cards itself without any options unless you specify --no-restart, but it only does so if it knows it's safe. It almost certainly has tried and failed and you're just lucky that restarting cgminer fixes it. I suggest  clocking less or cooling better if you're routinely killing the driver like that.

Is there a way to make it keep trying to restart the dead card every X seconds?
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I have a question related to the --gpu-map option. I'm using RDP to connect and manage my Windows 7 PC remotely.

Quote
[2012-07-05 08:00:24] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

 [2012-07-05 08:00:24] Platform 0 devices: 2
 [2012-07-05 08:00:24]  0       Tahiti
 [2012-07-05 08:00:24]  1       BeaverCreek

 [2012-07-05 08:00:25] ADL found less devices than opencl!
CL found 2 devices, so presumably adl is only finding one. Many remote access software thingamajigs only work with the first device. Dunno about losedows... but it's the equivalent of not doing EXPORT DISPLAY on linux.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I'm getting a "DEAD" signal after a few hours of mining on a card that works just fine if I close and re-open CGminer. I had the same issue with GUIminer where a simple stop/start (button in the program) would get the card going again, so the restart can be automated.

Kinda new to CGminer, so I'm guessing it's something with the code I fiddled with:

Is there a line I'm missing to restart dead cards?
It already tries to restart the cards itself without any options unless you specify --no-restart, but it only does so if it knows it's safe. It almost certainly has tried and failed and you're just lucky that restarting cgminer fixes it. I suggest  clocking less or cooling better if you're routinely killing the driver like that.
hero member
Activity: 769
Merit: 500
I have a question related to the --gpu-map option. I'm using RDP to connect and manage my Windows 7 PC remotely.
When I want to start mining, CGMINER tells me ADL and OpenCL devices do not match (which is no problem, when I sit in front of the PC and use it locally).

This is my cgminer.exe -n output:

Quote
[2012-07-05 08:00:24] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
 [2012-07-05 08:00:24] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
 [2012-07-05 08:00:24] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (938.1)
 [2012-07-05 08:00:24] Platform 0 devices: 2
 [2012-07-05 08:00:24]  0       Tahiti
 [2012-07-05 08:00:24]  1       BeaverCreek
 [2012-07-05 08:00:24] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -5
 [2012-07-05 08:00:24] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -5
 [2012-07-05 08:00:24] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -5
 [2012-07-05 08:00:24] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -5
 [2012-07-05 08:00:24] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -5
 [2012-07-05 08:00:24] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -5
 [2012-07-05 08:00:25] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -5
 [2012-07-05 08:00:25] ADL found less devices than opencl!
 [2012-07-05 08:00:25] There is possibly more than one display attached to a GPU
 [2012-07-05 08:00:25] Use the gpu map feature to reliably map OpenCL to ADL
 [2012-07-05 08:00:25] WARNING: Number of OpenCL and ADL devices did not match!
 [2012-07-05 08:00:25] Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!
 [2012-07-05 08:00:25] 2 GPU devices max detected

But now I'm unsure about how to map, as the listed devices 0 Tahiti and 1 BeaverCreek are correct (perhaps I should take a look at the output, when locally working on the machine though).

Thanks,
Dia
hero member
Activity: 560
Merit: 500
I'm getting a "DEAD" signal after a few hours of mining on a card that works just fine if I close and re-open CGminer. I had the same issue with GUIminer where a simple stop/start (button in the program) would get the card going again, so the restart can be automated.

Kinda new to CGminer, so I'm guessing it's something with the code I fiddled with:

Code:
{
"pools" : [

],

"intensity" : "9,9,9,9",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,95,95,95",

"expiry" : "120",
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"retry-pause" : "5",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",

"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

Is there a line I'm missing to restart dead cards?
hero member
Activity: 1596
Merit: 566
Eloncoin.org - Mars, here we come!
hero member
Activity: 560
Merit: 500
I've had strange issues with a cluster of 18 ztex boards connected through 2 separate powered hubs run by cgminer 2.4.2 and 2.4.4 on a Raspberry Pi. 1 random board dies (and gets a LED on). After 10 minutes cgminer pronounced it dead. I must stress that there's seems to be no logic in what board fails. It's completely erratic (4 different boards now after each restart of cgminer). Any clues?

EDIT: And now segfault:

Code:
 [2012-07-03 22:18:27] ZTEX 04A32Exxxx-1: Failed readHashData with err -1
 [2012-07-03 22:18:27] ZTEX 04A32Exxxx-1: Failed to read hash data with err -1, retrying
 [2012-07-03 22:18:27] ZTEX 04A32Exxxx-1: Failed readHashData with err -4
 [2012-07-03 22:18:27] ZTEX 04A32Exxxx-1: Disabling!
 [2012-07-03 22:18:27] ZTEX 04A32Exxxx-1: Failed to read hash data with err -4, giving upSegmentation fault

EDIT: removed 1 board, restarted. 1 random dead again.
hero member
Activity: 682
Merit: 500
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 250
Why is it so damn hot in here?
Darn. Guess I broke instead of fixed dynamic. I'll have to investigate again soon...
I've committed a change to the git tree which should fix it. Can anyone who has the problem and builds from git confirm please?

Negative, not fixed.  Fresh pull from git and built on a Win7 x64 system.  Same behavior.

Edit:  Did a new pull and tried it again.  This time it works, I must have borked something up the first time.  Going to let it run a bit and see how it does.


Edit #2:  Has been running now for 3 hours.  Seems to be stable.  Will update again in the morning (12 hours).  But so far it looks like a good candidate for a binary.

Edit #3: Coming up on 20 hours of running stable.  I would say go ahead and pack it CKolivas.  Only thing you might want to look at is I'm showing about 400% efficiency and a reject rate of 0.007%, so clearly something is wrong.   Grin
sr. member
Activity: 285
Merit: 250
Stable here with BFL's and 3 GPU's.  Seesm to get a few more Mh/s but the fans dont seems to slow back down as fast as they used to.
I think the update makes it adjust fan speeds much slower than previous versions.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Stable here too on 4 x icarus with 2.4.4.

Still cant decide between 2.4.4 and 2.4.3.

Any advantages between the two versions? anything changed for icarus?

I use a proxy pool so I cant really tell if stales are better or worse since the pool swings between high rejects and low depending on where the hashes are going.

kind regards
Apart from broken dynamic intensity, 2.4.4 should be better across the board.
member
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
Stable here too on 4 x icarus with 2.4.4.

Still cant decide between 2.4.4 and 2.4.3.

Any advantages between the two versions? anything changed for icarus?

I use a proxy pool so I cant really tell if stales are better or worse since the pool swings between high rejects and low depending on where the hashes are going.

kind regards
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Darn. Guess I broke instead of fixed dynamic. I'll have to investigate again soon...
I've committed a change to the git tree which should fix it. Can anyone who has the problem and builds from git confirm please?

Negative, not fixed.  Fresh pull from git and built on a Win7 x64 system.  Same behavior.

Edit:  Did a new pull and tried it again.  This time it works, I must have borked something up the first time.  Going to let it run a bit and see how it does.


Edit #2:  Has been running now for 3 hours.  Seems to be stable.  Will update again in the morning (12 hours).  But so far it looks like a good candidate for a binary.
Great, thanks a lot!
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 250
Why is it so damn hot in here?
Darn. Guess I broke instead of fixed dynamic. I'll have to investigate again soon...
I've committed a change to the git tree which should fix it. Can anyone who has the problem and builds from git confirm please?

Negative, not fixed.  Fresh pull from git and built on a Win7 x64 system.  Same behavior.

Edit:  Did a new pull and tried it again.  This time it works, I must have borked something up the first time.  Going to let it run a bit and see how it does.


Edit #2:  Has been running now for 3 hours.  Seems to be stable.  Will update again in the morning (12 hours).  But so far it looks like a good candidate for a binary.
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 500
YAY! 3.5 more MHash from my PowerColor 5870!!   Grin

How ? What settings ? Kernel ?

Did you change anything ? Total MH/s ?
legendary
Activity: 1204
Merit: 1000
฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!
YAY! 3.5 more MHash from my PowerColor 5870!!   Grin
sr. member
Activity: 378
Merit: 250
Why is it so damn hot in here?
Darn. Guess I broke instead of fixed dynamic. I'll have to investigate again soon...
I've committed a change to the git tree which should fix it. Can anyone who has the problem and builds from git confirm please?

Negative, not fixed.  Fresh pull from git and built on a Win7 x64 system.  Same behavior.

Edit:  Did a new pull and tried it again.  This time it works, I must have borked something up the first time.  Going to let it run a bit and see how it does.
sr. member
Activity: 471
Merit: 256
May want to take a look at the windows binary.

Getting 1.5Mh/s on my 5870s with the new 2.4.4.   Undecided

I haven't checked my intensity level but I have the same thing on my 6770m (a 5000 series card technically with add-in 6000-series features).
My 6950 and 6450 are enjoying an additional 10 and 4 MH/s... Interesting ratio...
Jump to: