Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 566. (Read 5805546 times)

donator
Activity: 919
Merit: 1000
The Icarus code was fixed by xiangfu 3 weeks ago that seems to match your exact change you mentioned on the previous page so I guess that's where you got that code from?
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/commit/b1785d1f07d9482b5ed6104c87b39a3888fa8efb

BFL's - well - I'm not sure where the BFL code is going at the moment ...

Yes, I basically compared the difference between drivers and found that only the bitforce was missing the additional check for MIBSEB builds.

Not sure how to interpret your last sentence, but it would be a pity if the support for some devices got negatively influenced by political dissents Sad
donator
Activity: 919
Merit: 1000
Any reason not to use ntohl()/htonl() without explicit checking for endianess and let the the preprocessor taking care on that?
No

It is not a big issue and I'd have already submitted the related patch, but I can't test Windows builds ATM and refrained from posting untested code...
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
It's fixed in the git tree so grab a tarball instead from git or use git to grab the latest code.

You mean the endian thingy for BFLS? Not sure, the condition in driver-bitforce.c@HEAD:357 is still checked against __BIG_ENDIAN__, which seems to be not set in the gcc-Linaro-4.6 toolchain for building MIPS.

...
The Icarus code was fixed by xiangfu 3 weeks ago that seems to match your exact change you mentioned on the previous page so I guess that's where you got that code from?
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/commit/b1785d1f07d9482b5ed6104c87b39a3888fa8efb

BFL's - well - I'm not sure where the BFL code is going at the moment ...
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Any reason not to use ntohl()/htonl() without explicit checking for endianess and let the the preprocessor taking care on that?
No
donator
Activity: 919
Merit: 1000
It's fixed in the git tree so grab a tarball instead from git or use git to grab the latest code.

You mean the endian thingy for BFLS? Not sure, the condition in driver-bitforce.c@HEAD:357 is still checked against __BIG_ENDIAN__, which seems to be not set in the gcc-Linaro-4.6 toolchain for building MIPS.

Any reason not to use ntohl()/htonl() without explicit checking for endianess and let the the preprocessor taking care on that?

legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Compile it yourself - it's an option
I was trying not being a jerk. I think is more useful for the newbies not givin anything suspicius. Just in case its end bad.
Ah you mean to have it always like that.
No - I can't see that ever happening.

Though I would point out the obvious: you're solution would not fix the problem.
They would simply identify something else in cgminer to tag it as a virus.

Windows virus checkers are inherently crap in this case, since they identify part of cgminer rather than the virus that installed cgminer.

Of course if someone wrote a virus that installed the anti-virus program ... of course they would fix that problem ... but in this case I guess they are just a bunch of loser programmers who can't see the blatantly obvious crappyness of what they are doing in this case.
full member
Activity: 158
Merit: 100
aquí dice algo personal.
Compile it yourself - it's an option
I was trying not being a jerk. I think is more useful for the newbies not givin anything suspicius. Just in case its end bad.
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
Compile it yourself - it's an option
full member
Activity: 158
Merit: 100
aquí dice algo personal.
Is there a way to eliminate dependence on curses. There where a lot of antivirus reporting it as a keylogger and is probably a never ending cycle telling antivirus company to check correctly. Evry antivirus is reporting libpdcurses as a trojan.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
It's fixed in the git tree so grab a tarball instead from git or use git to grab the latest code.
donator
Activity: 919
Merit: 1000
Would CFLAG -D_BIG_ENDIAN_ not be an option?

Not if you want to remain endian agnostic, i.e. if you add -D_BIG_ENDIAN_ to CFLAGS in the OpenWRT Makefile, you'll need to remove it for little endian builds.

For Linux builds the way it is done in cgminer is wrong, but I guess it is so to compile on Windows. Usually you add bswapXX unconditionally to any network byte order (or big endian) value and the preprocessor resembles that call to an empty macro on big endian machines. In fact, building cgminer for OpenWRT warns about multiple definitions of bswap32 that are already defined in .

There is some potential to fix this, but since I can not test Windows builds I'd take it as is with the given workaround.
legendary
Activity: 1795
Merit: 1208
This is not OK.
Never mind, found the problem in __BIG_ENDIAN__ not being set for that target platform.

This patch is required to build cgminer with BFLS support for OpenWRT:

Code:
diff --git a/driver-bitforce.c b/driver-bitforce.c
index a59338c..d95f0eb 100644
--- a/driver-bitforce.c
+++ b/driver-bitforce.c
@@ -354,7 +354,7 @@ static uint64_t bitforce_scanhash(struct thr_info *thr, struct work *work, uint6
 
  while (1) {
  hex2bin((void*)&nonce, pnoncebuf, 4);
-#ifndef __BIG_ENDIAN__
+#if !defined (__BIG_ENDIAN__) && !defined(MIPSEB)
  nonce = swab32(nonce);
 #endif
 

Good Luck!

Would CFLAG -D_BIG_ENDIAN_ not be an option?
donator
Activity: 919
Merit: 1000
Never mind, found the problem in __BIG_ENDIAN__ not being set for that target platform.

This patch is required to build cgminer with BFLS support for OpenWRT:

Code:
diff --git a/driver-bitforce.c b/driver-bitforce.c
index a59338c..d95f0eb 100644
--- a/driver-bitforce.c
+++ b/driver-bitforce.c
@@ -354,7 +354,7 @@ static uint64_t bitforce_scanhash(struct thr_info *thr, struct work *work, uint6
 
  while (1) {
  hex2bin((void*)&nonce, pnoncebuf, 4);
-#ifndef __BIG_ENDIAN__
+#if !defined (__BIG_ENDIAN__) && !defined(MIPSEB)
  nonce = swab32(nonce);
 #endif
 

Good Luck!
donator
Activity: 919
Merit: 1000
Anyone being successful operating BFLS with cgminer from a big endian machine?

I am using the same device xiangfu does for operating his Icarus farm (TP-Link TL-MR3020), which is based on an Atheros MIPS core (big endian). Using the git HEAD this is the debug output:

Code:
[2012-05-31 18:45:24] BitForce block data: a4870512b33f467106a9907295eec4a7031e2149e6b90d81d6efbee03d8c7302eb755e1c4fc7bc401a0a8b5f
[2012-05-31 18:45:29] BitForce waited 5200ms until NONCE-FOUND:01A85E01,8AD1912A
[2012-05-31 18:45:29] Proof: 570e5ed30f82f60447dcf34a4f00f733bb05e1d2b0f1120e54e9817faffa2f84
                      Target: 00000000ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
                      TrgVal? no (false positive; hash > target)
[2012-05-31 18:45:29] Share below target
[2012-05-31 18:45:29] Proof: 1acf5c5b68608bf3858514064f899f439b030e30c5502c8e6020165414cadab7
                      Target: 00000000ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
                      TrgVal? no (false positive; hash > target)
[2012-05-31 18:45:29] Share below target
[2012-05-31 18:45:29] [thread 0: 4294967295 hashes, 812342882 khash/sec]

I suspect something is not fully endian aware in the driver-bitforce module. I compared to what xiangfu/kano did for Icarus, but the relevant code lines seem to match the bitforce counterpart.

Any idea where to look at first?

Thanks, zefir
legendary
Activity: 4592
Merit: 1851
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
everytime i try to run java api notify i get a constant tag 13 in class file
Well "code tag" the actual error so I can see.
Also include the output of "java -version"
and lastly - of course it is "java API notify"
(the capital letters I've typed before do matter)
(though that is probably nothing to do with the problem)

The fix may well be "javac API.java" but will require the java SDK
hero member
Activity: 502
Merit: 500
everytime i try to run java api notify i get a constant tag 13 in class file
full member
Activity: 210
Merit: 100
i wanted to try a new pool, and it happens to have empty paswords.
...
Is there any way to use a pool with no pasword without using .conf file ?
try -p ""
newbie
Activity: 78
Merit: 0
hi again

i wanted to try a new pool, and it happens to have empty paswords.

I can use that with the .conf file, but i have my stuff configured with scripts with each parameter.

i tried leaving just -p, nothing at all pasword related, or -p -1 (the config file has -1 for pasword when you manuallly run cgminer, input no pasword and generate it), and no luck.

Is there any way to use a pool with no pasword without using .conf file ?
full member
Activity: 196
Merit: 100
Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician
('Reaped' has nothing to do with it)

Doesn't 'Reaped curl' mean the sockets have closed, meaning no communication?
Nope.
The in-code comment is:
/* We reap curls if they are unused for over a minute */

It means that cgminer has decided that a single curl is no longer needed so it was shut down.

The fact that your message says '6' means that it certainly hasn't run out of curls quite yet ...
('6' means there are now 5 left for the pool ...)

Thanks for the explanation.
hero member
Activity: 518
Merit: 500
They will only clock back up if the temperature drops enough again.

How long will this take ? I left them about 15 minutes after the heat stopped and the cold begun and they did not clock back automatically ( I had to do it manually ).

Thanks !

Anybody know how much this "unthrottling" takes once the source of heat is gone ?

It seems that the cards do clock back up after some time ( as ckolivas said ) but I still have not managed to determine after how long.

I left them overnight and they did clock back up !
Jump to: