Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 837. (Read 5805221 times)

full member
Activity: 236
Merit: 109
Can anyone give a step-by-step instruction on how to properly configure this miner on Windows

THANX

create a .bat file in the cgminer directory with the commands

start_cgminer.bat
Code:
del /F /Q *.bin
cgminer.exe -o http://servername.com:8332 -u username -p password -I 9 -t 0


del /F /Q *.bin

what does this mean?

The miner quits itself w\o any errors in 10 secs
legendary
Activity: 910
Merit: 1000
Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank
I use  cgminer version 1.2.8  and I am getting:  
...
[2011-07-18 18:00:30] HTTP request failed: Empty reply from server
...
And those repeat every 60 seconds  


Thank you for the new version of this excellent miner.
Looks like previously reported problem has disappeared and I have gained about +21% of hashing power compared to poclbm-mod (that was faster than all the rest)
(Linux D2 2.6.38-gentoo-r6, ati-stream-sdk 2.3)

Me so happy! Smiley
member
Activity: 145
Merit: 10
Can anyone give a step-by-step instruction on how to properly configure this miner on Windows

THANX

create a .bat file in the cgminer directory with the commands

start_cgminer.bat
Code:
del /F /Q *.bin
cgminer.exe -o http://servername.com:8332 -u username -p password -I 9 -t 0
member
Activity: 145
Merit: 10
+1 or via an xml/ini/cfg file


I think the right way to implement failover and multiserver is the one adopted by
Code:
poclbm
and
Code:
hashkill
: several servers are placed in compact format user:pass@server:port (or user:pass:server:port) without flags; the first one is meant to be the favourite and the program will test it from time to time after its shutdown.

Moreover, hashkill allows input a text file with one server per line.


full member
Activity: 236
Merit: 109
Can anyone give a step-by-step instruction on how to properly configure this miner on Windows

THANX
sr. member
Activity: 252
Merit: 250
Major update version 1.3.0:

I'll test it as soon as possible, to see if stales are really drop down.

In a nutshell, apart from bugfixes, this version now implements smart failover support of virtually unlimited pools. It selectively probes each server for what it supports and adjusts accordingly how to manage poor network conditions. If a server supports x-roll-ntime it will use local generation of work for up to 5 minutes (half a block's duration) and then if it is still unable to connect it will then switch pools. If a server does not support local generation, it will wait for up to a minute and then switch pools. Once a switch has occurred it will try to switch longpolls to the appropriate server as well.

To use multiple pools, simply pass multiple urls and credentials. eg:

./cgminer -o http://url1:port -u user1 -p pass1 -o http://url2:port -u user2 -p pass2 ...

[note: url must come before username/password now]

I think the right way to implement failover and multiserver is the one adopted by poclbm and hashkill: several servers are placed in compact format user:pass@server:port (or user:pass:server:port) without flags; the first one is meant to be the favourite and the program will test it from time to time after its shutdown.

Moreover, hashkill allows input a text file with one server per line.

P.S. Edited for cosmetic changes
full member
Activity: 373
Merit: 100
With the latest git, when using the following JSON config file:
Code:
{
        "_comment1" : "Any long-format command line argument ",
        "_comment2" : "may be used in this JSON configuration file",

        "url" : "http://pit.deepbit.net:8332",
        "user" : "username",
        "pass" : "password",

        "_algo" : "sse2_64",
        "_threads" : "1",

        "_quiet" : false
}
I keep getting this error message:
Code:
[2011-07-19 10:18:15] cgminer: --config: Parsing JSON option --pass: No URL set for pass

The way I see it, I've got the URL first, so that is strange. Just in case the JSON parameters were read in reverse order, I tried putting the url option after the user and pass options - no change.
newbie
Activity: 59
Merit: 0
Hi ckolivas,

Your great work on cgminer is highly appreciated!

I have several questions for you:

1) Do you mind me posting my RPM updates in your thread, now that I was whitelisted on the forum?

2) cgminer < 1.3.0 segfaults on me from time to time (CPU mining only for the lack of GPUs), both on RHEL5 and Ubuntu 10.04.02 LTS. I was thinking that it was because of overheat, because on Ubuntu it seems to segfault more often, but in fact it doesn't fit with the subsequent observation that the computer is cool and otherwise stable. How do I collect useful information to find out what seems to be the problem?

3) I tried to wrap it around in a bash script like this:

Quote
#!/bin/bash

while :
do

    ionice -c 3 \
    nice -n 19 \
    /opt/cgminer/bin/cgminer \
        --misc-options ... \

    sleep 60 && echo "Attempting to re-start"

done

but it doesn't seem to work as expected. It is my impression that after a segfault it just gets stuck and does not end until I hit Ctrl+C... the restart message is never printed to the screen. Am I missing something obvious here?

4) With sse4_64 my hashrate improved from ~9 to 11 Mh/s! Very cool!
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Sample output on exiting now:
Code:
Summary of runtime statistics:

Started at [2011-07-19 14:40:09]
Runtime: 2 hrs : 31 mins : 18 secs
Average hashrate: 1680.1 Megahash/s
Queued work requests: 3317
Share submissions: 3489
Accepted shares: 3489
Rejected shares: 0
Reject ratio: 0.0
Hardware errors: 0
Efficiency (accepted / queued): 105%
Utility (accepted shares / min): 23.06/min

Discarded work due to new blocks: 0
Stale submissions discarded due to new blocks: 9
Unable to get work from server occasions: 16
Work items generated locally: 330
Submitting work remotely delay occasions: 33
New blocks detected on network: 10

Pool: http://ozco.in:8332
 Queued work requests: 3253
 Share submissions: 3426
 Accepted shares: 3426
 Rejected shares: 0
 Reject ratio: 0.0
 Efficiency (accepted / queued): 105%
 Discarded work due to new blocks: 0
 Stale submissions discarded due to new blocks: 9
 Unable to get work from server occasions: 15
 Submitting work remotely delay occasions: 33

Pool: http://bitcoinpool.com:8334
 Queued work requests: 64
 Share submissions: 63
 Accepted shares: 63
 Rejected shares: 0
 Reject ratio: 0.0
 Efficiency (accepted / queued): 98%
 Discarded work due to new blocks: 0
 Stale submissions discarded due to new blocks: 0
 Unable to get work from server occasions: 1
 Submitting work remotely delay occasions: 0

Summary of per device statistics:

 GPU 0: [419.9 Mh/s] [Q:913  A:901  R:0  HW:0  E:99%  U:5.96/m]
 GPU 1: [420.1 Mh/s] [Q:912  A:865  R:0  HW:0  E:95%  U:5.72/m]
 GPU 2: [420.5 Mh/s] [Q:908  A:865  R:0  HW:0  E:95%  U:5.72/m]
 GPU 3: [419.6 Mh/s] [Q:910  A:858  R:0  HW:0  E:94%  U:5.68/m]
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Major update version 1.3.0:
Source:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-1.3.0.tar.bz2

Windows binary:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-1.3.0-win32.zip

- Massive infrastructure update to support pool failover.
- Accept multiple parameters for url, user and pass and set up structures of
pool data accordingly.
- Probe each pool for what it supports.
- Implement per pool feature support according to rolltime support as
advertised by server.
- Do switching automatically based on a 300 second timeout of locally generated
work or 60 seconds of no response from a server that doesn't support rolltime.
- Implement longpoll server switching.
- Keep per-pool data and display accordingly.
- Make sure cgminer knows how long the pool has actually been out for before
deeming it a prolonged outage.
- Fix bug with ever increasing staged work in 1.2.8 that eventually caused
infinite rejects.
- Make warning about empty http requests not show by default since many
servers do this regularly.


In a nutshell, apart from bugfixes, this version now implements smart failover support of virtually unlimited pools. It selectively probes each server for what it supports and adjusts accordingly how to manage poor network conditions. If a server supports x-roll-ntime it will use local generation of work for up to 5 minutes (half a block's duration) and then if it is still unable to connect it will then switch pools. If a server does not support local generation, it will wait for up to a minute and then switch pools. Once a switch has occurred it will try to switch longpolls to the appropriate server as well.

To use multiple pools, simply pass multiple urls and credentials. eg:

./cgminer -o http://url1:port -u user1 -p pass1 -o http://url2:port -u user2 -p pass2 ...

[note: url must come before username/password now]
full member
Activity: 235
Merit: 100
1.2.8 from 1.2.7

efficiency dropped in half.
each longpoll is superseded by a "new block detected", so i guess this could be the cause of efficiency drop
Same here on my 5850, I've rolled back to 1.2.7.
newbie
Activity: 17
Merit: 0
1.2.8 from 1.2.7

efficiency dropped in half.
each longpoll is superseded by a "new block detected", so i guess this could be the cause of efficiency drop

Code:
[2011-07-18 18:57:12] Share 68ae9b5e accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-18 18:57:27] LONGPOLL detected new block on network, waiting on fresh work

[2011-07-18 18:57:27] New block detected on network before longpoll, waiting on fresh work

[2011-07-18 18:57:39] Share 44e7e90e accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-18 19:01:33] Share 47f829f8 accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-18 19:08:40] Share d59817b6 accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-18 19:09:18] Share ac69c346 accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-18 19:12:56] Share 9a2b3bc5 rejected from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-18 19:18:18] LONGPOLL detected new block on network, waiting on fresh work

[2011-07-18 19:18:18] New block detected on network before longpoll, waiting on fresh work

[2011-07-18 19:18:48] Share 52ded718 accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-18 19:19:19] LONGPOLL detected new block on network, waiting on fresh work

[2011-07-18 19:19:19] New block detected on network before longpoll, waiting on fresh work

[2011-07-18 19:20:08] Share 03f87323 accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
All my machines are 64bit..

use mingw to compile it ? been a while since ive compiled c/c++ in windows.
Yes. Instructions are in the README. You need to install a recent yasm to get the assembly to compile as well. gluck.
member
Activity: 145
Merit: 10
All my machines are 64bit..

use mingw to compile it ? been a while since ive compiled c/c++ in windows.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Update: GET is working fine for me. Great work.

Have you had a chance to look at the updated phatk kernel from 7-17? It would require interface changes between cgminer and the kernel, but it's the smallest kernel (least AUOPs) yet.
I suspect the timeout is just too long with the GET so that even if it works it's eventually reset. I'll change that shortly in my git tree.

Yes I've experimented with the updated phatk kernel and haven't been able to demonstrate any measurable advantage :s Nonetheless I'll eventually implement it.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
cgminer.exe  -I 8 -t 0
+
cgminer.exe -t6 -g 0
=
~781 + ~6.7
------------
cgminer.exe  -I 8 -t 0
=~782
-------------
cgminer.exe -t6 -g 0
=~6.9
-------------
cgminer.exe  -I 8 -t 0
+
ufasoft_cpu.exe -g no -t 6
= ~822 + ~22.1


~ = average

Ah yes. The windows binary version is a 32 bit compile which includes NONE of the high speed assembly code so it only has a very slow cpu mining algorithm. All the cpumining assembly included in cgminer is 64 bit only. I have no experience in assembly to make a 32 bit assembly version, but perhaps I can convince ycros to make a 64 bit windows build.
member
Activity: 145
Merit: 10
cgminer.exe  -I 8 -t 0
+
cgminer.exe -t6 -g 0
=
~781 + ~6.7
------------
cgminer.exe  -I 8 -t 0
=~782
-------------
cgminer.exe -t6 -g 0
=~6.9
-------------
cgminer.exe  -I 8 -t 0
+
ufasoft_cpu.exe -g no -t 6
= ~822 + ~22.1


~ = average
member
Activity: 111
Merit: 10
Nvidia cards under win7 are working 100% with 1.2.8

How do i run cgminer to only use the cpu (disable Gpu) ? so that i can run 2 instances ? (one for cpu, one for gpu)

Also getting
Quote
[2011-07-18 17:01:37] HTTP request failed: Recv failure: Connection was rese
[2011-07-18 17:01:51] Share e34b098c accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-18 17:01:53] Share cad4e4ac accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-18 17:01:56] Share 86bbdd54 accepted from GPU 0 thread 2
[2011-07-18 17:02:03] Share 0a93ea28 accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-18 17:02:03] Share 1d0a2b8d accepted from GPU 0 thread 2
[2011-07-18 17:02:07] longpoll failed, sleeping for 30s
[2011-07-18 17:02:13] Share 57c1eff6 accepted from GPU 0 thread 2
[2011-07-18 17:02:22] Share ed20f93e accepted from GPU 0 thread 2
[2011-07-18 17:02:24] Share f8b59049 accepted from GPU 1 thread 3
[2011-07-18 17:02:29] Share 37edc62c accepted from GPU 1 thread 1
[2011-07-18 17:02:38] HTTP request failed: Recv failure: Connection was reset

-g 0 will give you only CPU mining

Looks like the longpoll dies when communicating with your pool's server. Should be harmless since it can detect block changes itself, but it's not ideal. Something funny going on with longpoll, and it seems to be every time I try converting from post to get.

DiabloMiner also uses POST I believe, but poclbm uses GET. I have no issues using poclbm though.

Update: GET is working fine for me. Great work.

Have you had a chance to look at the updated phatk kernel from 7-17? It would require interface changes between cgminer and the kernel, but it's the smallest kernel (least AUOPs) yet.

Update2: Or not...seems same issue everyone else is getting.
Code:
[2011-07-18 08:36:13] New block detected on network before longpoll, waiting on
fresh work
[2011-07-18 08:36:25] longpoll failed, sleeping for 30s
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Nvidia cards under win7 are working 100% with 1.2.8

How do i run cgminer to only use the cpu (disable Gpu) ? so that i can run 2 instances ? (one for cpu, one for gpu)

Also getting
Quote
[2011-07-18 17:01:37] HTTP request failed: Recv failure: Connection was rese
[2011-07-18 17:01:51] Share e34b098c accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-18 17:01:53] Share cad4e4ac accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-18 17:01:56] Share 86bbdd54 accepted from GPU 0 thread 2
[2011-07-18 17:02:03] Share 0a93ea28 accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-18 17:02:03] Share 1d0a2b8d accepted from GPU 0 thread 2
[2011-07-18 17:02:07] longpoll failed, sleeping for 30s
[2011-07-18 17:02:13] Share 57c1eff6 accepted from GPU 0 thread 2
[2011-07-18 17:02:22] Share ed20f93e accepted from GPU 0 thread 2
[2011-07-18 17:02:24] Share f8b59049 accepted from GPU 1 thread 3
[2011-07-18 17:02:29] Share 37edc62c accepted from GPU 1 thread 1
[2011-07-18 17:02:38] HTTP request failed: Recv failure: Connection was reset

-g 0 will give you only CPU mining

Looks like the longpoll dies when communicating with your pool's server. Should be harmless since it can detect block changes itself, but it's not ideal. Something funny going on with longpoll, and it seems to be every time I try converting from post to get.
Jump to: