Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 841. (Read 5805221 times)

newbie
Activity: 49
Merit: 0
1. 1.2.7 will not run on a HIS 5830, crashes to desktop, 1.2.6 runs fine
2.  LOTS OF STALES COMPARED TO OTHER GPU MINERS!!!!

1. have you started it with any settings? executed in the source dir? what msgs do you get if any and have you entered verbose and or debugging flags?
2. I get about the same with any miner if I do compare on the same pool mining on the same pit... what differes are hashes/second and shares/minute
in terms of what the cgminer interface says I get 0 (NULL, zero, nada) stale shares and 73 rejected shares past 6h

hi
sr. member
Activity: 256
Merit: 250
Hi

two problems:

1. 1.2.7 will not run on a HIS 5830, crashes to desktop, 1.2.6 runs fine

2.  LOTS OF STALES COMPARED TO OTHER GPU MINERS!!!!


Hi
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
You need to run aclocal before autogen.sh or ./configure. If you dont have it, install automake or autotool.

Thanks, I installed automake and got a bit further but now I get the error

Code:
configure.ac:125: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.

Do you have the needed build dependancies installed? You might get this error if autotools cannot find a definition for LIBCURL_CHECK_CONFIG (the only macro in configure.ac that actually  calls AC_MSG_ERROR)

Try:
Code:
sudo apt-get install libcurl4-openssl-dev
full member
Activity: 373
Merit: 100
Actually, just installing the right package should do the trick. My guess would be the autoconf-archive package.
full member
Activity: 126
Merit: 100
You need to run aclocal before autogen.sh or ./configure. If you dont have it, install automake or autotool.

Thanks, I installed automake and got a bit further but now I get the error

Code:
configure.ac:125: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.

You know, i've also gotten this error, but not on cgminer. Try doing ./autogen.sh m4_pattern_allow or ./configure m4_pattern_allow or even "m4_pattern_allow ./autogen.sh" and so on.
member
Activity: 82
Merit: 10
You need to run aclocal before autogen.sh or ./configure. If you dont have it, install automake or autotool.

Thanks, I installed automake and got a bit further but now I get the error

Code:
configure.ac:125: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.
full member
Activity: 126
Merit: 100
You need to run aclocal before autogen.sh or ./configure. If you dont have it, install automake or autotool.
member
Activity: 82
Merit: 10
This looks really cool and I would like to switch to it but I'm having a couple issues on ubuntu 11.04.

Already have appsdk 2.1 installed (was using phoenix)
did: git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer cgminer
but sudo ./autogen.sh just yields "./autogen.sh: 8: aclocal: not found"
I tried some of the other steps to see if it got any further, but I think it's obviously failing on the first step because:

CFLAGS="-O3 -Wall -march=native -I/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.1-lnx64/include" LDFLAGS="-L/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/lib/x86_64" ./configure

gives "./configure: no such file or directory"
newbie
Activity: 53
Merit: 0
Im getting 5% rejected.. Recently switched from phoenix and i got < 3% there

Using a hd6850 with phatk kernel
member
Activity: 111
Merit: 10
Still using HTTP POST for long poll? Sad

Quote
cgminer version 1.2.6 - Started: [2011-07-16 10:39:11]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [(5s):2.6  (avg):4.9 Mh/s] [Q:13  A:0  R:0  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]

 TQ: 3  ST: 0  LS: 0  SS: 0  DW: 17  LW: 10  LO: 2  RF: 0  I: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 GPU 0: [11.7 Mh/s] [Q:16  A:0  R:0  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


[2011-07-16 10:39:17] Resumed retrieving work from server
[2011-07-16 10:39:18] LONGPOLL detected new block on network, flushing work queue
[2011-07-16 10:39:20] Server not providing work fast enough, generating work locally
[2011-07-16 10:39:20] LONGPOLL detected new block on network, flushing work queue
[2011-07-16 10:39:21] LONGPOLL detected new block on network, flushing work queue
[2011-07-16 10:39:22] LONGPOLL detected new block on network, flushing work queue
[2011-07-16 10:39:22] Resumed retrieving work from server
[2011-07-16 10:39:23] LONGPOLL detected new block on network, flushing work queue
full member
Activity: 126
Merit: 100
no gpu, can not use
show can not find opencl.dll error
You need to install newer drivers for AMD card.
newbie
Activity: 14
Merit: 0
What is considered a "Prolonged outage"? Look at the timestamps on this:

Code:
[2011-07-16 12:40:33] Share a89dc2bb accepted from GPU 1 thread 1
[2011-07-16 12:40:43] New block detected on network before longpoll, waiting on fresh work
[2011-07-16 12:40:54] LONGPOLL received after new block already detected
[2011-07-16 12:40:54] Share 14572bd0 rejected from GPU 1 thread 4
[2011-07-16 12:41:05] Server not providing work fast enough, generating work locally
[2011-07-16 12:41:05] Prolonged outage. Going idle till network recovers.
[2011-07-16 12:41:05] Resuming with work from server
[2011-07-16 12:41:13] Share 933d1b38 accepted from GPU 1 thread 1

(running build from git version 1.2.7)
newbie
Activity: 24
Merit: 0
no gpu, can not use
show can not find opencl.dll error
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
*Very* interesting project!

Some weirdness:

- Startup appears to compile a kernel for each thread for each GPU. In the case of the default number of threads, 2, that's double work for no benefit.

- If multiple, identical GPUs are present in the system, the same OpenCL kernel will be compiled for each of them.

- If there really is a need to compile a specific kernel for each GPU, it might be more efficient to do the compilation within a worker thread, this allowing the compiles to run in parallel on multi-core machines.

- Finally, where do the generated .bin files actually get stored on linux?
No it does not. It compiles one kernel once for all similar hardware and then loads the binary from that point on. Since you have to run cgminer from the source directory currently, that's where it also stores the binary file.
sr. member
Activity: 360
Merit: 250
*Very* interesting project!

Some weirdness:

- Startup appears to compile a kernel for each thread for each GPU. In the case of the default number of threads, 2, that's double work for no benefit.

- If multiple, identical GPUs are present in the system, the same OpenCL kernel will be compiled for each of them.

- If there really is a need to compile a specific kernel for each GPU, it might be more efficient to do the compilation within a worker thread, this allowing the compiles to run in parallel on multi-core machines.

- Finally, where do the generated .bin files actually get stored on linux?
member
Activity: 77
Merit: 10
About shares rejected:

When doing solo mining, you are constantly trying to find a block for yourself and anything that looks like it might be a block is submitted to the network. Most of the time it will be rejected because it's not the real block you've found.

Aah that explains it nicely. Thanks Smiley No, I'm not in a pool at present.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
New version (windows build soon):
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-1.2.7.tar.bz2

Changelog:
- Show last 8 characters of share submitted in log.
- Display URL connected to and user logged in as in status.
- Display current block and when it was started in the status line.
- Only pthread_join the mining threads if they exist as determined by
pthread_cancel and don't fail on pthread_cancel.
- Create a unique work queue for all getworks instead of binding it to thread 0
to avoid any conflict over thread 0's queue.
- Clean up the code to make it clear it's watchdog thread being messaged to
restart the threads.
- Check the current block description hasn't been blanked pending the real
new current block data.
- Re-enable signal handlers once the signal has been received to make it
possible to kill cgminer if it fails to shut down.
- Disable restarting of CPU mining threads pending further investigation.
- Update longpoll messages.
- Add new block data to status line.
- Fix opencl tests for osx.
- Only do local generation of work if the work item is not stale itself.
- Check for stale work within the mining threads and grab new work if
positive.
- Test for idle network conditions and prevent threads from being restarted
by the watchdog thread under those circumstances.
- Make sure that local work generation does not continue indefinitely by
stopping it after 10 minutes.
- Tweak the kernel to have a shorter path using a 4k buffer and a mask on the
nonce value instead of a compare and loop for a shorter code path.
- Allow queue of zero and make that default again now that we can track how
work is being queued versus staged. This can decrease reject rates.
- Queue precisely the number of mining threads as longpoll_staged after a
new block to not generate local work.


Sample display:

 cgminer version 1.2.6 - Started: [2011-07-16 23:28:05]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [(5s):173.9  (avg):182.0 Mh/s] [Q:36  A:37  R:0  HW:0  E:103%  U:3.00/m]
 TQ: 1  ST: 1  LS: 0  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 1  LW: 1  LO: 1  RF: 0  I: 3
 Connected to http://ozco.in:8332 as user ckolivas.1
 Block 0001c18ef64e55b54f0d8cbabb09ff12  started: [2011-07-16 23:35:48]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 GPU 0: [182.5 Mh/s] [Q:36  A:37  R:0  HW:0  E:106%  U:3.02/m]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[2011-07-16 23:28:28] Share fbbbfd7a accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-16 23:28:38] Share 366da5b7 accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-16 23:28:46] Share fce072de accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:29:47] Share e7918c2d accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:29:47] Share 3ca2631b accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:30:11] Share 2c8ceab5 accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:30:58] Share b556d2f9 accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-16 23:31:27] Share cc065b5a accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:35:46] Server not providing work fast enough, generating work locally
[2011-07-16 23:35:48] New block detected on network before longpoll, waiting on fresh work
[2011-07-16 23:35:48] Resuming with work from server
[2011-07-16 23:35:58] Share e99bc71d accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
newbie
Activity: 49
Merit: 0
debian wheezy
Kernel 2.6.39-2-amd64
Athlon X2 2.2GHz
6950 @ 910MHz
5850 @ 895Mhz
AMD APP 2.4
AMD Catalyst 11.6

Code:
cgminer version 1.2.6 - Started: [2011-07-16 13:12:21]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [(5s):739.5  (avg):730.2 Mh/s] [Q:1451  A:1411  R:21  HW:0  E:97%  U:10.42/m]

 TQ: 2  ST: 2  LS: 0  SS: 12  DW: 39  LW: 10  LO: 6  RF: 1  I: 8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 GPU 0: [370.5 Mh/s] [Q:721  A:714  R:11  HW:0  E:99%  U:5.27/m]
 GPU 1: [359.9 Mh/s] [Q:699  A:698  R:10  HW:0  E:100%  U:5.16/m]

Currently ~7% CPU usage by cgminer!
Regard that intensity is set to 8 as auto gives me 50% CPU load

What does the "SS" mean? The statistics are handy but as of now I cannot remember the abreviations... and SS is not in the readme.

Can we please have the current URL used shown and for the future profiles for each card at once?!

For further things I'd love to see in the futur have a look at http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=28168.0 please.


Very nice so far!

EDIT join #cgminer on freenode if you like!
member
Activity: 145
Merit: 10
What does "Share rejected from GPU 0 Thread 0" mean?

basically means the share you uploaded has expired / become stale, and thus has been rejected.

If you get allot of them switch mining pools.
Jump to: