Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 840. (Read 5805998 times)

-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
*Very* interesting project!

Some weirdness:

- Startup appears to compile a kernel for each thread for each GPU. In the case of the default number of threads, 2, that's double work for no benefit.

- If multiple, identical GPUs are present in the system, the same OpenCL kernel will be compiled for each of them.

- If there really is a need to compile a specific kernel for each GPU, it might be more efficient to do the compilation within a worker thread, this allowing the compiles to run in parallel on multi-core machines.

- Finally, where do the generated .bin files actually get stored on linux?
No it does not. It compiles one kernel once for all similar hardware and then loads the binary from that point on. Since you have to run cgminer from the source directory currently, that's where it also stores the binary file.
sr. member
Activity: 360
Merit: 250
*Very* interesting project!

Some weirdness:

- Startup appears to compile a kernel for each thread for each GPU. In the case of the default number of threads, 2, that's double work for no benefit.

- If multiple, identical GPUs are present in the system, the same OpenCL kernel will be compiled for each of them.

- If there really is a need to compile a specific kernel for each GPU, it might be more efficient to do the compilation within a worker thread, this allowing the compiles to run in parallel on multi-core machines.

- Finally, where do the generated .bin files actually get stored on linux?
member
Activity: 77
Merit: 10
About shares rejected:

When doing solo mining, you are constantly trying to find a block for yourself and anything that looks like it might be a block is submitted to the network. Most of the time it will be rejected because it's not the real block you've found.

Aah that explains it nicely. Thanks Smiley No, I'm not in a pool at present.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
New version (windows build soon):
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-1.2.7.tar.bz2

Changelog:
- Show last 8 characters of share submitted in log.
- Display URL connected to and user logged in as in status.
- Display current block and when it was started in the status line.
- Only pthread_join the mining threads if they exist as determined by
pthread_cancel and don't fail on pthread_cancel.
- Create a unique work queue for all getworks instead of binding it to thread 0
to avoid any conflict over thread 0's queue.
- Clean up the code to make it clear it's watchdog thread being messaged to
restart the threads.
- Check the current block description hasn't been blanked pending the real
new current block data.
- Re-enable signal handlers once the signal has been received to make it
possible to kill cgminer if it fails to shut down.
- Disable restarting of CPU mining threads pending further investigation.
- Update longpoll messages.
- Add new block data to status line.
- Fix opencl tests for osx.
- Only do local generation of work if the work item is not stale itself.
- Check for stale work within the mining threads and grab new work if
positive.
- Test for idle network conditions and prevent threads from being restarted
by the watchdog thread under those circumstances.
- Make sure that local work generation does not continue indefinitely by
stopping it after 10 minutes.
- Tweak the kernel to have a shorter path using a 4k buffer and a mask on the
nonce value instead of a compare and loop for a shorter code path.
- Allow queue of zero and make that default again now that we can track how
work is being queued versus staged. This can decrease reject rates.
- Queue precisely the number of mining threads as longpoll_staged after a
new block to not generate local work.


Sample display:

 cgminer version 1.2.6 - Started: [2011-07-16 23:28:05]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [(5s):173.9  (avg):182.0 Mh/s] [Q:36  A:37  R:0  HW:0  E:103%  U:3.00/m]
 TQ: 1  ST: 1  LS: 0  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 1  LW: 1  LO: 1  RF: 0  I: 3
 Connected to http://ozco.in:8332 as user ckolivas.1
 Block 0001c18ef64e55b54f0d8cbabb09ff12  started: [2011-07-16 23:35:48]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 GPU 0: [182.5 Mh/s] [Q:36  A:37  R:0  HW:0  E:106%  U:3.02/m]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[2011-07-16 23:28:28] Share fbbbfd7a accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-16 23:28:38] Share 366da5b7 accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-16 23:28:46] Share fce072de accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:29:47] Share e7918c2d accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:29:47] Share 3ca2631b accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:30:11] Share 2c8ceab5 accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:30:58] Share b556d2f9 accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-16 23:31:27] Share cc065b5a accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:35:46] Server not providing work fast enough, generating work locally
[2011-07-16 23:35:48] New block detected on network before longpoll, waiting on fresh work
[2011-07-16 23:35:48] Resuming with work from server
[2011-07-16 23:35:58] Share e99bc71d accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
newbie
Activity: 49
Merit: 0
debian wheezy
Kernel 2.6.39-2-amd64
Athlon X2 2.2GHz
6950 @ 910MHz
5850 @ 895Mhz
AMD APP 2.4
AMD Catalyst 11.6

Code:
cgminer version 1.2.6 - Started: [2011-07-16 13:12:21]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [(5s):739.5  (avg):730.2 Mh/s] [Q:1451  A:1411  R:21  HW:0  E:97%  U:10.42/m]

 TQ: 2  ST: 2  LS: 0  SS: 12  DW: 39  LW: 10  LO: 6  RF: 1  I: 8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 GPU 0: [370.5 Mh/s] [Q:721  A:714  R:11  HW:0  E:99%  U:5.27/m]
 GPU 1: [359.9 Mh/s] [Q:699  A:698  R:10  HW:0  E:100%  U:5.16/m]

Currently ~7% CPU usage by cgminer!
Regard that intensity is set to 8 as auto gives me 50% CPU load

What does the "SS" mean? The statistics are handy but as of now I cannot remember the abreviations... and SS is not in the readme.

Can we please have the current URL used shown and for the future profiles for each card at once?!

For further things I'd love to see in the futur have a look at http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=28168.0 please.


Very nice so far!

EDIT join #cgminer on freenode if you like!
member
Activity: 145
Merit: 10
What does "Share rejected from GPU 0 Thread 0" mean?

basically means the share you uploaded has expired / become stale, and thus has been rejected.

If you get allot of them switch mining pools.
hero member
Activity: 658
Merit: 500
And why did you even think that? Currently, no miner under Windows offers no cpu usage at all due to the unconfirmed bug in the drivers.
I don't get any CPU usage at all under Windows 7 with a 5750
full member
Activity: 373
Merit: 100
About the OSX build:

It should build if you have the right tools for it. Ycros is helping me out there.
Since the machine with the fastest graphics card I currently have access to is a Mac, I'm kinda interested in this, too. I recently tried to build cgminer 1.2.6-1 on it and there was a compiler error and configure couldn't find the Mac OpenCL implementation.
So if there's any testing you need done, I'll be happy to do it as I have time, since I would like to use something other than DiabloMiner there (which keeps segfaulting as of recently).

Edit: And yes, I've seen the entry in the news file about fixing the OpenCL tests, I'm just waiting for the next release to try this.
full member
Activity: 235
Merit: 100
Stupid question time, How do I exit a cmd window in Windows 7? the only way I know how is by closing said window.
Ctrl + C

actually it currently isn't working. Use Ctrl+Break
While that DOES technically work, It doesn't output the summary and just closes the window like normal. Does this feature only work in a Linux environment?
sr. member
Activity: 252
Merit: 250
(...)
The miner just changes the ntime header (+1 every second),
(...)

That's the point! Thanks!
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
About cpu usage:

Currently the windows build always uses a lot more CPU than the linux build. It has to do with the windows library that gives support for the linux features and I'm not sure there's anything to do about it. Beyond that, some drivers use a lot more CPU when more than one card is in use. The other big CPU user is when dynamic mode is enabled, as it constantly monitors the GPU usage and throttles it accordingly, but conversely spends more CPU time doing this. To decrease CPU usage, disable dynamic mode by choosing an intensity with -I.

About dynamic mode:

The intensity level is determined by cgminer to be that which will keep the desktop GUI fluid based on how quickly it refreshes. If you have a low power card, the intensity will almost always be low because of this. If you have a high power GPU, it may well get to quite high intensity levels even when still in use.

About the OSX build:

It should build if you have the right tools for it. Ycros is helping me out there.

About shares rejected:

When doing solo mining, you are constantly trying to find a block for yourself and anything that looks like it might be a block is submitted to the network. Most of the time it will be rejected because it's not the real block you've found.

About stopping in windows:

I'm working on trying to make it more robust, but ctrl-break is the only way to stop it at the moment.

Other stuff:

Low priority while I try to get cgminer as stable as possible with the most frequently requested or sponsored features. While I have spent a LOT of time on this project, I do not have infinite time to implement everything in such a short time space.
member
Activity: 77
Merit: 10
I saw almost no CPU usage on my rig for the 10 minutes it lived...
full member
Activity: 126
Merit: 100
And why did you even think that? Currently, no miner under Windows offers no cpu usage at all due to the unconfirmed bug in the drivers.
hi
sr. member
Activity: 256
Merit: 250
Hi

I thought this cgminer had low CPU usage when GPU mining?  I have a quadcore cpu and 2 6870's on one rig and when I gpu mine, the cpu is pegged at 50%...am I missing a switch or something?

Hi
member
Activity: 77
Merit: 10
What does "Share rejected from GPU 0 Thread 0" mean?

Started mining for fun for the first time today, but not understanding the output. Only one Google match, and it's a Pastebin.

Code:
cgminer version 1.2.6 - Started: [2011-07-16 14:34:58]
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
[(5s):262.6  (avg):262.3 Mh/s] [Q:47  A:0  R:46  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]

TQ: 1  ST: 1  LS: 0  SS: 0  DW: 0  LW: 0  LO: 0  RF: 0  I: 4
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
GPU 0: [263.3 Mh/s] [Q:46  A:0  R:48  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

2011-07-16 14:44:21] Share rejected from GPU 0 thread 1
2011-07-16 14:44:53] Share rejected from GPU 0 thread 0
2011-07-16 14:45:28] Share rejected from GPU 0 thread 1
2011-07-16 14:45:33] Share rejected from GPU 0 thread 1
2011-07-16 14:45:36] Share rejected from GPU 0 thread 1
2011-07-16 14:45:42] Share rejected from GPU 0 thread 1
2011-07-16 14:46:12] Share rejected from GPU 0 thread 0
2011-07-16 14:46:17] Share rejected from GPU 0 thread 1
2011-07-16 14:46:22] Share rejected from GPU 0 thread 1

This is on an MSI 6870, on a Pentium IV mainboard, with a 500W psu

The Power Consumption according to my meter is only 100 watts, although the unpleasant hot plastic smell seems to disagree so I'm not sure what to believe at the moment.

Edit: Shut it down for now. The "Brytek" PSU appears to be the source of the smell - it might think it's 500 watts, but that might not be distributed over the rails correctly for this type of usage since it does not have any PCI-E connectors - have ordered an Antec 650W instead.
hero member
Activity: 602
Merit: 502
Is there any documentation on how to run this in OS X? I might try it later on
newbie
Activity: 17
Merit: 0
Stupid question time, How do I exit a cmd window in Windows 7? the only way I know how is by closing said window.
Ctrl + C

actually it currently isn't working. Use Ctrl+Break
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
Luke... why do you fix the time to blown up the full nonce in ONE second?  400 MH/s miner does the work in about 10 seconds, which is not bad... isn't it? So, It seems to me, that your goal is to tune the nonce length to be submitted, accordingly to miner power, in such way that miner finish its part of the nonce in only 1 second, then ask for new one piece... perhaps too much traffic overload.
Because you start over every second. You don't need to ask for a new piece, the same one is still valid for up to (on Eligius) 2 minutes. The miner just changes the ntime header (+1 every second), and then it scans its nonce range until the next second.
sr. member
Activity: 252
Merit: 250
As far as i know, per each getwork you have to try 2^32 nonces, if you dont find any hashes that match the diff, you request new work, and the process repeats itself.
Then you don't know. You can do up to 2^32 nonces per second (with X-Roll-Ntime), which is 4 GH/s. You only need to get new work when longpoll returns it, or the pool sets a time limit on the work it gives you (2 minutes with pushpool).

Luke... why do you fix the time to blown up the full nonce in ONE second?  400 MH/s miner does the work in about 10 seconds, which is not bad... isn't it? So, It seems to me, that your goal is to tune the nonce length to be submitted, accordingly to miner power, in such way that miner finish its part of the nonce in only 1 second, then ask for new one piece... perhaps too much traffic overload.

Well, you are entangled in pools, so perhaps you can clarify the question.
Jump to: