Author

Topic: OLD: BFGMiner 3.10.0: modular ASIC+FPGA, GBT+Strtm, RPC, Mac/Lnx/W64, AntU1, DRB - page 136. (Read 1193231 times)

legendary
Activity: 922
Merit: 1003
Yes, you can set the window to any size wanted, but is there a way to get BFGMiner to display devices in two columns?
Part of BFGminer's design philosophy is to maximize stability and reliability. The program's user interface is kept deliberately minimal to reduce the chance of issues creeping in to what should be a rock-solid mining controller.

Having said that, there is nothing stopping you or anyone else from creating your own user interface having whatever features you want, simply by calling up the BFGminer API. That is why it is there: to allow people to customize their own user interface, monitoring interface, and control interface to the core core engine. And many have already done just that.

Adding 'bells and whistles' that serve very little practical purpose is not what this program is about. This is just a general statement, not meant as a direct comment to your specific question about dual-column display. I've never run more than 16 mining devices on an instance of BFGminer and I've always found its current GUI to be more than adequate.
full member
Activity: 368
Merit: 100
right click on that window, choose the last option (I think its properties in english), then go to layout. There you can change window size and position. When you restart bfgminer it will use that new layout.


Yes, you can set the window to any size wanted, but is there a way to get BFGMiner to display devices in two columns?

newbie
Activity: 30
Merit: 0
BFGminer for Debian from source:

Code:
apt-get update && apt-get install make screen mc autoconf libtool libncurses-dev yasm curl libcurl4-openssl-dev libjansson-dev pkg-config libudev-dev uthash-dev libusb-dev htop php5 apache2
wget http://beehost.org/bfgminer-3.1.4.zip
unzip bfgminer-3.1.4.zip
mv bfgminer-3.1.4 bfgminer
cd bfgminer && ./configure
make

Cheers
r50zyry5
newbie
Activity: 45
Merit: 0
Hello,

there isn´t version for Debian. How i can use BFGMiner on debian? add-apt-repository ppa:unit3/bfgminer don´t work
full member
Activity: 158
Merit: 100
Hi Luke-Jr,

bfgminer crashes every day, when my internet connection gets a forced disconnect by the provider (the 24h disconnect is normal and is used to assign me a new ip-address. Comes from the "if you want a static ip-address, then pay more" philosophy).

I have a pc in lan, router with builtin dsl-modem, nat. The router reconnects automatically if the provider drops the connection.

This is the crash
Code:
user@i2600k:~/Bitcoin/bfgminer-3.1.4/bfgminer$ gdb bfgminer core
GNU gdb (Ubuntu/Linaro 7.4-2012.04-0ubuntu2.1) 7.4-2012.04
Copyright (C) 2012 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "x86_64-linux-gnu".
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
...
Reading symbols from /home/user/Bitcoin/bfgminer-3.1.4/bfgminer/bfgminer...done.
[New LWP 15788]
[New LWP 15784]
[New LWP 15775]
[New LWP 15778]
[New LWP 15787]
[New LWP 15786]
[New LWP 15757]
[New LWP 15782]
[New LWP 15776]
[New LWP 15774]
[New LWP 15789]
[New LWP 15758]
[New LWP 15780]
[New LWP 15785]
[New LWP 15777]
[New LWP 15779]
[New LWP 15781]
[New LWP 15773]
[New LWP 15783]

warning: Can't read pathname for load map: Input/output error.
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libthread_db.so.1".
Core was generated by `./bfgminer -c btc.conf'.
Program terminated with signal 11, Segmentation fault.
#0  0x0000000000414c94 in clear_stratum_shares (pool=0x210e9d0) at miner.c:6959
6959                    if (sshare->work->pool == pool && work->thr_id < my_mining_threads) {
(gdb) bt
#0  0x0000000000414c94 in clear_stratum_shares (pool=0x210e9d0) at miner.c:6959
#1  0x000000000041dea8 in stratum_thread (userdata=0x210e9d0) at miner.c:7196
#2  0x00007f09ba506e9a in start_thread () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0
#3  0x00007f09b92c6ccd in clone () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#4  0x0000000000000000 in ?? ()
(gdb) frame 0
#0  0x0000000000414c94 in clear_stratum_shares (pool=0x210e9d0) at miner.c:6959
6959                    if (sshare->work->pool == pool && work->thr_id < my_mining_threads) {
(gdb) list
6954                    thr_cleared[i] = 0;
6955            }
6956   
6957            mutex_lock(&sshare_lock);
6958            HASH_ITER(hh, stratum_shares, sshare, tmpshare) {
6959                    if (sshare->work->pool == pool && work->thr_id < my_mining_threads) {
6960                            HASH_DEL(stratum_shares, sshare);
6961                           
6962                            work = sshare->work;
6963                            sharelog("disconnect", work);
(gdb) info locals
my_mining_threads = 16
sshare = 0x7f098000e2d0
tmpshare = 0x0
work =
cgpu =
diff_cleared =
thr_diff_cleared = 0x7f096bffea80
cleared =
thr_cleared = 0x7f096bffea30
(gdb)
sr. member
Activity: 290
Merit: 250

Ahh... you are one of those...

Good Luck!
newbie
Activity: 32
Merit: 0

-T is text only right? Not test.

What happens when you replace your -S with "-S erupter:all"

more than 90% run linux.... it's just that 90% of the trouble you see posted is from windows users  Tongue

I know what -T does its the best way to see a debug output
but hay thanks for nothing.
sr. member
Activity: 290
Merit: 250
@Luke-Jr or anyone that can help me.

I hope its ok I post this in here.

I have a usb Block Erupter that I run on my Gentoo-3.7.9 Linux box but I cant get it to run on bfgminer  Huh
it runs on cgminer fine so its not a driver problem, I just don't like cgminer

I did a debug with -T -S /dev/bus/usb/001/007
[2013-08-26 09:37:33] Icarus Detect: Attempting to open /dev/bus/usb/001/007                   
 [2013-08-26 09:37:33] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/bus/usb/001/007: get 12011001, should: 000187a2



-T is text only right? Not test.

What happens when you replace your -S with "-S erupter:all"

more than 90% run linux.... it's just that 90% of the trouble you see posted is from windows users  Tongue
newbie
Activity: 32
Merit: 0
@Luke-Jr or anyone that can help me.

I hope its ok I post this in here.

I have a usb Block Erupter that I run on my Gentoo-3.7.9 Linux box but I cant get it to run on bfgminer  Huh
it runs on cgminer fine so its not a driver problem, I just don't like cgminer

I did a debug with -T -S /dev/bus/usb/001/007
[2013-08-26 09:37:33] Icarus Detect: Attempting to open /dev/bus/usb/001/007                   
 [2013-08-26 09:37:33] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/bus/usb/001/007: get 12011001, should: 000187a2

lsusb
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 10c4:ea60 Cygnal Integrated Products, Inc. CP210x UART Bridge / myAVR mySmartUSB light


I have looked all over the net for something that could help but like 90% of the ppl out there use usb Block Erupter with windows.  Roll Eyes

one more thing I have tried bfgminer from the gentoo package system as well as compiling it on my own.
I also have a d-link DUB-H7 witch the Block Erupter is plugged into but I have also plugged the Block Erupter into usb port of the computer as well and got the same thing. 
legendary
Activity: 1066
Merit: 1098
wget http://luke.dashjr.org/programs/bitcoin/files/bfgminer/testing/openwrt/12.09/ar71xx/Packages.gz
--2013-08-26 09:24:12--  http://luke.dashjr.org/programs/bitcoin/files/bfgminer/testing/openwrt/12.09/ar71xx/Packages.gz
Resolving luke.dashjr.org... 127.0.0.1
Connecting to luke.dashjr.org|127.0.0.1|:80... failed: Connection refused

It looks like the address is resolving to 127.0.0.1 - which is your local machine.  It may be that some AV software has blocked the site by adding it to your LMHOSTS file so it resolves to localhost (assuming you are using Windows)?
hero member
Activity: 658
Merit: 500
CCNA: There i fixed the internet.
wget http://luke.dashjr.org/programs/bitcoin/files/bfgminer/testing/openwrt/12.09/ar71xx/Packages.gz
--2013-08-26 09:24:12--  http://luke.dashjr.org/programs/bitcoin/files/bfgminer/testing/openwrt/12.09/ar71xx/Packages.gz
Resolving luke.dashjr.org... 127.0.0.1
Connecting to luke.dashjr.org|127.0.0.1|:80... failed: Connection refused

Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe he has retired that site and moved it to a sub part of eligius.st
hero member
Activity: 560
Merit: 500
https://www.owvpn.com
donator
Activity: 4760
Merit: 4323
Leading Crypto Sports Betting & Casino Platform
Sent my buddy a USB Miner to start mining... He's getting an error, "Do not have user privileges required to open //com1"

I'm not familiar with that issue... Any quick suggestions?
I usually get that when the driver failed to initialize the device or whenever I forget to turn on my internet connection.

BFGMINER works without having to install the drivers right? Isn't it plug and play? Been a long time since I set mine up... There also is most definitely an Internet connection.
legendary
Activity: 1081
Merit: 1001
right click on that window, choose the last option (I think its properties in english), then go to layout. There you can change window size and position. When you restart bfgminer it will use that new layout.
Thanks for the reply.  So, it was the "restart" that I missed.  It drove me batty  Smiley.  Thanks again.
full member
Activity: 140
Merit: 100
In POS we trust
right click on that window, choose the last option (I think its properties in english), then go to layout. There you can change window size and position. When you restart bfgminer it will use that new layout.
legendary
Activity: 1081
Merit: 1001
While I'm on here, can anybody please tell me how to increase the default console size to full screen and show all my miners by scrolling through them.  For the life of me, I couldn't figure it out.  I'm a BFGMiner as well as a CLI console virgin, BTW.
legendary
Activity: 1081
Merit: 1001
Sent my buddy a USB Miner to start mining... He's getting an error, "Do not have user privileges required to open //com1"

I'm not familiar with that issue... Any quick suggestions?
I usually get that when the driver failed to initialize the device or whenever I forget to turn on my internet connection.
donator
Activity: 4760
Merit: 4323
Leading Crypto Sports Betting & Casino Platform
Sent my buddy a USB Miner to start mining... He's getting an error, "Do not have user privileges required to open //com1"

I'm not familiar with that issue... Any quick suggestions?
legendary
Activity: 2955
Merit: 1049
bfgminer from GIT sources
Code:
In file included from httpsrv.c:15:0:
/usr/include/microhttpd.h:497:3: Fehler: unbekannter Typname: »intptr_t«
/usr/include/microhttpd.h:830:5: Fehler: unbekannter Typname: »uint64_t«
/usr/include/microhttpd.h:868:46: Fehler: unbekannter Typname: »uint64_t«
/usr/include/microhttpd.h:893:55: Fehler: unbekannter Typname: »va_list«
/usr/include/microhttpd.h:1085:57: Fehler: unbekannter Typname: »uint64_t«
/usr/include/microhttpd.h:1087:57: Fehler: unbekannter Typname: »MHD_ContentReaderCallback«
/usr/include/microhttpd.h:1197:54: Fehler: unbekannter Typname: »MHD_PostDataIterator«
make[2]: *** [bfgminer-httpsrv.o] Fehler 1
have done all pre-reqs (Ubuntu LTS)
Jump to: