Pages:
Author

Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner - page 44. (Read 1239035 times)

legendary
Activity: 1372
Merit: 1008
1davout
December 10, 2010, 03:47:46 PM
Now that the noobish mistake is solved I get:

Code:
bruno@bruno-desktop:~/bitcoin-0.3.17$ python ./poclbm.py
  File "./poclbm.py", line 27
    print 'No device specified or device not found, use -d to specify one of the following\n'
        ^
IndentationError: expected an indented block

No offense intended Smiley, I asked questions that probably seemed stupid to the people that answered me.
Now I'm happily crunching at 600mh/s thanks to the people that helped me out.

Maybe you should simply clone the git repo so you can transparently get upgrades and forget about this kind of issues altogether
You need to apt-get install git-core and then
git clone
and then you can just git pull from time to time to upgrade.
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
December 10, 2010, 02:15:26 PM
Apparently you copy-pasted the file, loosing some important details. Use raw view instead (https://github.com/m0mchil/poclbm/raw/master/poclbm.py). Perhaps for other files too.
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
December 10, 2010, 12:57:55 PM
Now that the noobish mistake is solved I get:

Code:
bruno@bruno-desktop:~/bitcoin-0.3.17$ python ./poclbm.py
  File "./poclbm.py", line 27
    print 'No device specified or device not found, use -d to specify one of the following\n'
        ^
IndentationError: expected an indented block
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
December 10, 2010, 12:26:55 PM
I am a linux noob and don't know anything about python.
And the how to above is for ATI, I am on Nvidia GT9800
legendary
Activity: 1372
Merit: 1008
1davout
December 10, 2010, 11:42:53 AM
I have pyopencl installed from packaged deb on launchpad, and when I try to run
Code:
python poclbm.py
I get:
Code:
  File "poclbm.py", line 6
        ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

thanks

lol
newbie
Activity: 9
Merit: 0
December 10, 2010, 11:36:37 AM
I have pyopencl installed from packaged deb on launchpad, and when I try to run
Code:
python poclbm.py
I get:
Code:
  File "poclbm.py", line 6
        ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

thanks
legendary
Activity: 1937
Merit: 1001
December 09, 2010, 07:45:01 PM
I'm trying gpu mining with my new gtx 470 on win7-64
but i get only 77 khash/s

i tried changing -w and -v, doesn't  change much on -w, changing -v crashes the process.

i'd estimate this card would generate about 300000khash

any idea what could be wrong?


[EDIT]

Issue resolved, seems nVidia just has realy bad OpenCL performance

[/EDIT]
sr. member
Activity: 520
Merit: 253
555
December 09, 2010, 03:07:39 PM
Please provide full information about your platform - driver, SDK, OS. Did you tried with different values for worksize, '-f'? With catalyst 10.11, SDK 2.2 on windows I actually see slight improvement with vectors against previous version.

First of all, going back to commit 99c57637ca0d1db70187 fixes the issue, so the problem seems to be isolated to the last revision.

The system is a Gentoo Linux, kernel 2.6.36.1, with catalyst 10.11 drivers and SDK 2.2. I have not tried any other performance options besides -v and -f 1.

Work size 256 seems to bring the performance back to the expected levels, or at least very close. I should probably keep trying more of these options Smiley

Edit: I chose 256 as it is the default/maximum for my card. Smaller powers of two seem to work better, -w 64 gives 63.0 Mhash/s.

Edit 2: It seems I had failed to update back to the latest version for these tests (I'm a complete newbie with git Smiley). The issue with the latest version is not much improved by the -w options.
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
December 09, 2010, 02:30:29 PM
Please provide full information about your platform - driver, SDK, OS. Did you tried with different values for worksize, '-f'? With catalyst 10.11, SDK 2.2 on windows I actually see slight improvement with vectors against previous version.
sr. member
Activity: 520
Merit: 253
555
December 09, 2010, 12:17:27 PM
The latest revision seems to have a problem with vectors. So far, I get about 59 Mhash/s without, and 60.7 with, on a HD5570. However, the latest version slows down to 53.7 with vectors, while it stays at 59 without them.
donator
Activity: 826
Merit: 1060
December 09, 2010, 09:29:56 AM
According to that python error, no you don't have pyopencl installed. Go figure.

On Fedora 12, the standard pyopencl installation doesn't work properly. I got it to work by following the instructions here:
http://wiki.tiker.net/PyOpenCL/Installation/Linux
but I had to use the second (longer) procedure in section 3, with locations specified explicitly.

Also, in step 2 of that document, I couldn't get Numpy to install using that method. But it installed properly when I used the GUI rpm installer ("System | Administration | Add/Remove Software").
legendary
Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000
DiabloMiner author
December 09, 2010, 09:09:23 AM
Not to sound n00bish, but when I follow the instructions I get:

[mithrandir@fedora poclbm]$ python ./poclbm.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./poclbm.py", line 3, in
    import pyopencl as cl
ImportError: No module named pyopencl

Funny thing is, I did install pyopencl with an rpm I got.  Huh (I tried it with the src, and got errors. RPM install worked fine.)

My system is: Fedora 14, 32 bit, Python 2.7, ATI Radeon 3100 Graphics, AMD Sempron LE-1300

EDIT: GPUCap via Wine says I don't have OpenCL support, but it also says I don't even have a GPU.  Undecided Is there a way to find out if I have OpenCL support on GNU/Linux?

According to that python error, no you don't have pyopencl installed. Go figure.

Also, you need at least a Radeon 4xxx to use OpenCL, 3xxx isnt enough.
legendary
Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097
December 09, 2010, 05:06:29 AM
After downloading the latest drivers, I'm getting 15 Mhash/sec on a Geforce 9600 GT. Pretty cool, though I wish it worked with the pooled mining... I am too impatient to wait days for a result ^_^

Anyone know if there are plans to support GPU pooled mining? That would be fantastic.

Yes, I'm working on that: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1976.40 . It is already working. Want to go live until Sunday. m0mchil's miner working well with that.
Kiv
full member
Activity: 162
Merit: 100
December 04, 2010, 08:17:24 AM
After downloading the latest drivers, I'm getting 15 Mhash/sec on a Geforce 9600 GT. Pretty cool, though I wish it worked with the pooled mining... I am too impatient to wait days for a result ^_^

Anyone know if there are plans to support GPU pooled mining? That would be fantastic.
sr. member
Activity: 360
Merit: 250
December 02, 2010, 08:11:25 PM
Then could you run another instance on python poclbm.py -d 1 ?

Sure, and then the aggregate performance would be about 112Mhashes/sec.
sr. member
Activity: 360
Merit: 250
December 02, 2010, 07:37:28 PM
Thanks Mike!

Could you  please try to run it on a single device? Or use '-d 0' and '-d 1' in two separate processes. poclbm is not optimized to run on more than one device (needs to maintain different queues to avoid choking one or the other). Perhaps there's better way to do this, don't know.

Anyway, even if you manage to get more of them it won't be 27x.
Code:
[root@ip-10-17-144-204 m0mchil-poclbm-db8597c]# python poclbm.py -d 0
55981 khash/s
[root@ip-10-17-144-204 m0mchil-poclbm-db8597c]# python poclbm.py -d 0 -v
35398 khash/s

Okay, point proven. Similar performance when using a single device, so the payoff factor is more like 13.5x rather than 27x, at least on this hardware.
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
December 02, 2010, 07:16:54 AM
Thanks Mike!

Could you  please try to run it on a single device? Or use '-d 0' and '-d 1' in two separate processes. poclbm is not optimized to run on more than one device (needs to maintain different queues to avoid choking one or the other). Perhaps there's better way to do this, don't know.

Anyway, even if you manage to get more of them it won't be 27x.
hero member
Activity: 532
Merit: 505
December 02, 2010, 07:08:53 AM
thanks for trying,
nice to know that it's worthless.

even a HD5570 is faster than that (mine does 64M) and can run a few years for $378.  Cheesy
sr. member
Activity: 360
Merit: 250
December 02, 2010, 06:57:19 AM
Tried this out for fun on Amazon EC2, on a GPU instance described as:

Cluster GPU Quadruple Extra Large 22 GB memory, 33.5 EC2 Compute Units, 2 x NVIDIA Tesla “Fermi” M2050 GPUs, 1690 GB of local instance storage, 64-bit platform, 10 Gigabit Ethernet

For $2.10/hour. Fought like hell to finally get it working.

Code:
[root@ip-10-17-129-89 m0mchil-poclbm-db8597c]# python poclbm.py 
No device specified, you may use -d to specify ONLY ONE of the following

Choose device(s):
[0]
[1]
Choice, comma-separated [0]:0,1
53481 khash/s

With -v it runs at about 32Mhash/s.

http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/calculator.php tells me that generating a block is going to cost about $378 at this rate, and take a week on average.

Needless to say, I shut it off Smiley If something 27x faster becomes available, that's breakeven.

Very nice work on the project, though, m0mchil.
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
December 02, 2010, 12:52:18 AM
This is pretty nice and workly correctly for me.

With Bitcoin UI using my CPU (Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600: 4 cores at ~3GHz), I get about 5200 khash/s.
With my Radeon HD 5830 GPU (~800MHz - 1GiB of memory), I get about 200500 khash/s.

This is on Windows 7 64 bits with Bitcoin 0.3.17 and poclbm_py2exe_20101126.

Thanks and keep up the good work! Wink
Pages:
Jump to: