Pages:
Author

Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner - page 48. (Read 1239039 times)

sr. member
Activity: 292
Merit: 250
Apparently I inspired this image.
November 09, 2010, 10:00:07 AM
By the way, I'd like to add an accuracy-checking opencl code to make sure the video cards are working right before starting generation, or as an optional run-mode. Art is using something similar to do precision overclocking.

I'll probably get around to it eventually, but if someone would like to contribute it feel free. Basically it should take known inputs and hashed outputs, and verify that the card correctly hashes the inputs to the outputs.
sr. member
Activity: 292
Merit: 250
Apparently I inspired this image.
November 08, 2010, 08:29:51 PM
Linux Miner Howto

Donations: 1Nw7aQcdtGVPmMsMtSJrDoQPEu1FJspyfd

I'll probably miss something, so please propose changes if you see fit.

1. Install Linux. For now I recommend Ubuntu 10.04 LTS Server, and I will be targeting it in this guide.

2. Install prerequisites, including compilers.

Code:
sudo aptitude install build-essential linux-headers-`uname -r`

3. Install the ATI drivers. The ubuntu packages are old. First,

Code:
wget https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/ati-driver-installer-10-10-x86.x86_64.run

(then build dpkgs, need to add instructions here)

-OR-

Try
Code:
apt-cache search fglrx
on debian-based systems (including ubuntu). If it's available, do
Code:
sudo apt-get install fglrx
, otherwise, download (and you may want to check for an update) using

Code:
wget https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/ati-driver-installer-10-10-x86.x86_64.run

4. Run the installer with
Code:
sudo sh ./ati-driver-installer-10-10-x86.x86_64.run
You may instead want to build packages. This may be added later.

5. Do the initial X configuration with
Code:
sudo aticonfig --initial --adapter=all -f
as root. And restart X. Logging out of X and back in should work. If you get a black screen, try ctrl-alt-f1, hopefully this will get you to a terminal where you can log in and recover.

6. Get the ATI streaming SDK v2.1 NOT v2.2, from here: http://developer.amd.com/gpu/ATIStreamSDK/pages/ATIStreamSDK-Archive.aspx

7. Untar it somewhere, I just used ~/ since it's a dedicated mining machine.

8. Edit your ~/.bashrc and add these lines:

Code:
ATISTREAMSDKSAMPLESROOT=/path/to/the/sdk
ATISTREAMSDKROOT=/path/to/the/sdk





sr. member
Activity: 292
Merit: 250
Apparently I inspired this image.
November 08, 2010, 01:38:52 PM
I am working on a daemon-like version of this miner via a fork on github. The script is minerd.py, and it uses a config file.

It's still in development / testing, but if you'd like to give it a try here it is:

https://github.com/brocktice/poclbm
newbie
Activity: 29
Merit: 0
November 05, 2010, 03:56:06 PM
great work m0mchil!!!
laptop with an ATI HD5650 running at 46Mhash/s

thanks a lot for this app and i hope you can put your work in the official trunk asap
sr. member
Activity: 520
Merit: 253
555
November 05, 2010, 11:47:41 AM
59.5 Mhash/s on a Radeon HD 5570. Cheers to m0mchil Smiley

Edit:

This is using --frames 1. With the default frames, I only get about 52 Mhash/s.

After updating the Radeon Linux drivers from 10.9 to 10.10, the rate decreased slightly to 59.2. However, I then tried the vectors option, which gave a small boost up to 60.65 Mhash/s. The motherboard only has 1x PCIe slots, which may affect things.

donator
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
November 03, 2010, 06:22:07 PM
Solved  by reinstalling all drivers. Smiley

Yes, installed both.
I have a Radeon HD 5850 and Windows 7 x64.

Thank you.
donator
Activity: 588
Merit: 500
November 03, 2010, 05:51:51 PM
Hi,

I hope I can get an answer, although my question might seem stupid to some of you.
I try to run poclbm.exe after I downloaded the files from the first post in this thread and I only get this message:

C:\Users\First\Desktop\my>poclbm.exe
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "poclbm.py", line 5, in
  File "pyopencl\__init__.pyc", line 3, in
  File "pyopencl\_cl.pyc", line 12, in
  File "pyopencl\_cl.pyc", line 10, in __load
ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified procedure could not be found.

Thank you.
newbie
Activity: 4
Merit: 0
November 03, 2010, 09:42:53 AM
OK - Have it working now!  I needed to fix some hidden characters that snuck in during the creation of my .conf file.  Also, I was previously not running bitcoin in server mode.

  Only 20740 khash/s with my ATI HD 4600 (work computer) but it sure beats 4600 from the CPU.  Thanks for the help.
sr. member
Activity: 292
Merit: 250
Apparently I inspired this image.
November 03, 2010, 09:02:41 AM
Ah, that did it, thanks!
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
November 03, 2010, 08:48:19 AM
Its not for the masses obviously.  Sad

Edit btc_miner.cl

Insert at the top

#pragma OPENCL EXTENSION cl_amd_media_ops : enable

change

#define rot(x, y) rotate(x, (uint)y)

to

#define rot(x, y) amd_bitalign(x, x, (uint)(32-y))

See Stream SDK OpenCL Programming Guide for details.

I'll try to add some macro to resolve this by default.
sr. member
Activity: 292
Merit: 250
Apparently I inspired this image.
November 03, 2010, 08:20:45 AM
Got my new 5970 and it's only showing half performance it should. I'm on Linux with SDK 2.1 and catalyst drivers 10.10. I know others have seen this problem, but I don't know whether I've seen a resolution. Does anyone know how to fix it?
legendary
Activity: 860
Merit: 1026
November 03, 2010, 08:11:09 AM
I was on Bitcoin client 3.08 beta and now have also installed and tried 3.14 beta.  My bitcoin.conf file is located in directory "c:\Users\\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin"

It contains 2 lines with syntax : rcpuser=
 rcppassword=

I am running poclbm from a windows command line with syntax:
poclbm.exe --user= --pass=

It recognizes my CPU and GPU, then when I choose one, I get the "Unable to communicate with bitcoin RPC"

Thank you in advance for any help.
Hmm, are you aware of that you have to start bitcoin in server mode for this to work ?
Code:
bitcoin.exe -server
newbie
Activity: 26
Merit: 0
November 02, 2010, 09:29:32 PM
Like BitLex told, I think it's the getwork-patch. Just replace the old bitcoin.exe by the one from the getwork and it should work. Enjoy your Bitcoin !

Malouin
hero member
Activity: 532
Merit: 505
November 02, 2010, 08:32:14 PM
Did you build your client yourself?
it needs to have the getwork-patch included, so if you didn't,
just grab the win32-binary in the first post of this thread (works fine for me on 64bit XP&win7).

If you did (compile with patch, or grab),
you need to start the bitcoin-client with the -server switch (maybe -rpcallowip= if a miner is running on a remote machine).
newbie
Activity: 4
Merit: 0
November 02, 2010, 07:09:39 PM
I was on Bitcoin client 3.08 beta and now have also installed and tried 3.14 beta.  My bitcoin.conf file is located in directory "c:\Users\\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin"

It contains 2 lines with syntax : rcpuser=
 rcppassword=

I am running poclbm from a windows command line with syntax:
poclbm.exe --user= --pass=

It recognizes my CPU and GPU, then when I choose one, I get the "Unable to communicate with bitcoin RPC"

Thank you in advance for any help.
newbie
Activity: 4
Merit: 0
November 02, 2010, 06:11:55 PM
Sorry, I'm behind the curve.  I am running the pocl binary (Win 7 64) and it says "Unable to communicate with bitcoin RPC"  I have tried installing json-rpc in my Python26 directory using: setup.py install   and it seems to complete without error.  I already have checked my ATI 4600 drivers and ATI Stream so that Open CL is available. 

Also, what user name and password are we supposed to use?   

Again, I apologize if these questions are dumb.  Until today my only experience with bitcoin is the GUI client hashing on my CPU (4600 k/s = not enough). 
sr. member
Activity: 292
Merit: 250
Apparently I inspired this image.
November 02, 2010, 10:27:12 AM
Wow, zipslack, that's almost as much as I get on my GTS 250!
newbie
Activity: 43
Merit: 0
November 01, 2010, 09:51:15 PM
Thank you for your hard work, m0mchil!

I seem to have this working properly on my GeForce 8800 GTS. I was pretty proud of my 32000 khash/s until I saw what some of you guys are getting. Wink
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
November 01, 2010, 05:15:50 AM
Just fixed problem with getwork (different miners were showing same results). Updated to SVN 173. See for windows build in first post.
sr. member
Activity: 292
Merit: 250
Apparently I inspired this image.
October 31, 2010, 08:10:20 PM
Hey, anyone interested in discussing mining, especially with this miner, please join us in #bitcoin-mining on freenode IRC.

I think it'd be a good idea for everyone to be on the same page, and currently most of the mining discussion is happening in #bitcoin-dev, which may not be appropriate.
Pages:
Jump to: